1986 World Exposition on Transportation and Communication - Vancouver - Expo'86

Transport and Communication

May 2, 1986 - October 13, 1986


Back - List of Pavilions

Saskatchewan

Saskatchewan at the Exhibition Vancouver 1986

© Ian Alexander Martin

A ten-storey tower, part grain silo, part potash mine, dominates the Saskatchewan pavilion and is its symbol. Clad in polished copper and silver glass, the tower houses lifts that take visitors up to a viewing deck 32 metres above ground. Before enjoying the view from the top, visitors learn about the history of grain handling on the prairies. On the way down, they feel like they are entering the depths of a potash mine.

In the pavilion, traditional rural life contrasts with the province's new role in modern communications. Saskatchewan manufactures state-of-the-art switches and satellite communication systems. It has the world's largest fibre-optic communications network.

In transportation, Saskatchewan has always been at the forefront with the first official airport and the first licensed pilot in Canada. The pavilion also features the "Mileage Maker", the world's most fuel-efficient vehicle.

The pavilion includes a two-storey auditorium with a restaurant. Hundreds of singers and dancers entertain visitors throughout the day and into the night. Artisans demonstrate the prestigious art of wheat braiding and the unique technique of "bark biting".

©Official Guide - Expo'86

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Saskatchewan


Saskatchewan à l'exposition de Vancouver 1986

© Ian Alexander Martin

Une tour de dix étages, à la fois silo à céréales et mine de potasse, domine le pavillon de la Saskatchewan, dont elle est le symbole. Recouverte de cuivre poli et de verre argenté, cette tour abrite des ascenseurs qui emportent les visiteurs jusqu’à une terrasse panoramique à 32 mètres du sol. Avant de jouir de la vue qu’offre la montée, les visiteurs apprennent l’histoire de la manutention des céréales dans les Prairies. En descendant, ils ont l’impression d’entrer au plus profond d’une mine de potasse.

Dans le pavillon, la vie rurale et traditionnelle contraste avec le nouveau rôle que joue cette province dans le domaine des communications modernes. La Saskatchewan fabrique des commutateurs ultra-modernes et des systèmes de communication par satellite. Elle s’est dotée du plus grand réseau de communications par fibres optiques.

En matière de transports, la Saskatchewan a toujours été à l’avant-garde avec le premier aéroport officiel et le premier pilote diplômé du Canada. Dans le pavillon, on peut également voir le “Mileage Maker”, véhicule qui détient le record mondial d’économie de carburant.

Le pavillon comprend une salle de spectacles de deux étages avec restaurant. Des centaines de chanteurs et de danseurs divertissent les visiteurs pendant la journée et jusque tard dans la nuit. Les artisans démontrent l’art prestigieux du tressage du blé et de la technique exceptionnelle du “mordillement de l’écorce”.

©Guide Officiel - Expo'86