1986 World Exposition on Transportation and Communication - Vancouver - Expo'86

Transport and Communication

May 2, 1986 - October 13, 1986


Back - List of Pavilions

Canada Pavilion

Canada Pavilion at the Exhibition Expo Vancouver 1986

© Guide Officiel - Expo'86

The Canada Pavilion is the largest and most spectacular pavilion ever designed by the Canadian government for an International Exhibition. It looms like a huge ocean liner in the middle of Vancouver's bustling harbour. The host country pavilion, with its sleek, luxurious cruise ship silhouette, unfurled five majestic white sails.
Under the shadow of these sails, the world will discover a Canada it never knew existed. The pavilion invites you to discover new horizons. You will meet Canadian pioneers who solved the most difficult problems of transportation and communication on earth. You'll see a real flying saucer fly through the pavilion. You'll thrill to the giant screen of CN's IMAX® theatre as a goods train hurtles down a Rocky Mountain cannon. The theatre features the world premiere of the Canadian-designed IMAX process combined with the ever-exciting art of 3D film.

The pavilion offers a pleasure cruise to the most comprehensive cultural festival ever presented in Canada. You'll see why Canadian artists are making such a splash on the world stage. Dazzling technological innovations enhance the creativity of exceptional dancers, actors and musicians. One of the world's best documentary filmmakers reveals his vision of Canada in a super-realistic production that allows viewers to be part of the action.

The genius who invented multi-screen audio-visual presentations chronicles the history of communications, using his own revolutionary cinematic techniques. Located both indoors and outdoors,
the pavilion's stages are home to a variety of performers who will delight you with their folklore and other shows.

At the entrance, for example, a goose and a beaver dressed in flamboyant costumes perform satirical sketches by our best comic authors. Along the scenic promenades, the wonderful characters of a travelling theatre, a new Canadian version, appear here and there to recreate the spontaneous atmosphere of the fairground theatre. On the seaside, a veritable firework display of laser and light explodes and in the sky, hot-air balloons and hang-gliders pay tribute to the wind. In the harbour, a strange symphony is created, with the participation of tugs and boats of all kinds. Anchored alongside the pavilion, which is also a ferry terminal, magnificent cruise ships welcome passengers bound for Alaska.

Children can explore a marine world of dreams. The pavilion's shops sell typical Canadian souvenirs and you can relax in the cafés, in the large buffet where shows are presented at all hours, or in the attractive restaurant at the bow of the Canada Pavilion. From here you can look out over Stanley Park, the mountains of the Coast Range and the grandest harbour on the West Coast of the Americas.


EXPO 86 FRONT DOOR

This fabulous pavilion occupies a prime location in downtown Vancouver on Burrard Inlet where it reaches far out into the distance. You can take advantage of the Canada Pavilion's prime location and make it your very first stop. The Canada Gate, marked by a Canadian flag, marks the entrance to the pavilion at the north end of Howe Street.

Through this gate, you have access to the rest of the International Exhibition. It takes only four minutes to get to the site on the edge of False Creek. A thrilling experience awaits you aboard the SkyTrain, a state-of-the-art Canadian-made transportation system. The SkyTrain is a light, fast, single-rail transit system with cars powered by electromagnetic induction.

The shuttle service is free. At False Creek, the SkyTrain terminus overlooks the Canada Gateway, recognizable from afar by its gigantic, uniquely Canadian symbols: a hockey stick leaning against the world's tallest freestanding pole and a huge Canadian flag. Hosts and hostesses in stylish uniforms, created by Alfred Sung, an internationally renowned Canadian fashion designer, welcome visitors to the Gateway esplanade.


UNUSUAL WORLDS

The pavilion presents a compelling vision of Canada in four dimensions. A time machine and spaceship will take you on a journey of discovery through the scientific, technological, cosmic, space, underwater and arctic fields in which Canadians have always been pioneers.

In the Terravision room, come and admire the country whose images have been captured by Canadian satellites such as the Radarsat super-transmitter. The Terravision story begins with images of the world's beginnings and then describes the determination of Canadians to meet the challenge of their geography.

Terravision derives its extraordinary originality from the Showscan process, which represents a major advance in filmmaking. Showscan creates super-realistic cinema by using very large 70 millimetre images projected at 60 per second, two and a half times faster than normal, and which are four times brighter and larger than a normal projection.

The New Worlds Theatre, an incredible combination of staging and trickery, takes the audience on a journey of discovery to unknown times and places. Shudder at the launch of the Space Shuttle. Admire the Canadarm, the first remote manipulator in space. Dive twenty thousand leagues under the sea in an underwater jeep, following your expedition leader in the futuristic Canadian "Newt suit", which shortens decompression time after a deep dive.

Canadians are involved in the conquest of space and the sea. These are no longer hostile domains and their exploration is a new challenge for humans.


A WORLD OF WONDERS

Under the pavilion's canopy of fibreglass and Teflon, the vast enclosure of the Great Hall extends. Discover an unusual Canada, born from the fusion of art, science and fantasy.

The Hystar is certainly the most amazing thing to see in the Great Hall. This circular aircraft of the future performs unprecedented aerial feats. The huge reflective walls of the Great Hall reflect the acrobatic rotations of this new Canadian flying saucer. No other aircraft has such speed control, heading changes, hovering and flying low over the ground or water.

On the east side, a wall decoration of 108 video screens is constantly being created and recreated. The vivid images tell the story of how Canadians have imaginatively integrated transportation and communications into their country. This presentation is a first in Canada.

In this part of the pavilion, a model depicts the intricate structure and mechanics of an Arctic icebreaker that appears to rise from the ice. Another sculpture reveals the complexity of the blown wing, a Canadian invention that transforms conventional aircraft into short take-off and landing aircraft. A third model illustrates the Maglev, a new Canadian magnetic levitation train.
On the west wall, other Canadian technological innovations allow visitors to participate while having fun. For example, Listening in Space gives them the opportunity to try out the vococoder on an MSAT satellite. This device transforms the voice into digital data before playing it back at the frequency previously set by the visitor. The Hands consist of an industrial robot arm that makes paper aeroplanes and launches them across the hall.

Everywhere, young Canadian artists, the stars of tomorrow, exhibit works that express the myths, symbols and scientific and technological achievements of their country in surprising and sometimes amusing ways.

Toronto's Tim Jocelyn's New Dimensions mobile sculpture expresses the four dimensions of the physical world (space, atmosphere, land and sea floor). Patrick Amiot of Montreal and Vancouver created humorous clay sculptures of five Canadian inventors. Richard Prince of Vancouver's The Chemistry of Invention symbolizes the creative spirit.

Beau Dick of Alert Bay, B.C., created a large transformation mask that evokes the myth of the raven and the first human of the Northwest Coast Indians. Edward Poitras of Regina carved a half-man, half-eagle figure whose sexual desires, according to Prairie Indian legend, precipitated his demise.

Vancouver ceramist Katherine J McLean composed variations on the theme of Canada's fish with intriguing sounds, an unusual mode of expression, while Vancouver sculptor John Watts fashioned bird forms from moving pieces of polished steel.

In the Canada Pavilion, the perpetual motion of Canadian folk art is represented by Alex Wyse of Ottawa, who has made wacky contraptions such as fish carts and flying clouds; Stephen Denslow of Vancouver, who has embellished his cut-out silhouettes with extraordinary detail; and Rebecca Burke of Sackville, New Brunswick, who has drawn inspiration from Greek and Latin mythology to create larger-than-life, almost real-life animated figures.


VIEW FROM THE POLE

Outside the Great Hall, an Arctic microcosm has been recreated, showing the transformations that satellite
satellite communications are transforming the desolate northern territories. Lasers serve as indicators and receiving ground stations become video screens. A large relief map gives visitors a new view of southern Canada from the North Pole. A satellite sends images of Inuit hunters on snowmobiles and artificial island builders in the Arctic Ocean to the receiving stations.


A BATH OF CULTURE
The Canada Pavilion offers a true cultural festival featuring the most original Canadian actors, dancers, singers and musicians.
The Amiga Studio Theatre features nine shows daily. The theatre is equipped with an automated lighting system. Remote-controlled video cameras produce visual effects of the performers on stage.

The stage has been designed so that it can be used for either the solo show of Toronto's fabulous Nion, or for Encore! Encore! a show by a major dance theatre company. Brian Macdonald, former Artistic Director of Les Grands Ballets Canadiens, directed and choreographed this work written by John Gray who won the Governor General's Award for Billy Bishop Goes To War.

Other big names coming to the Studio-théâtre include
Toronto's Children's Chorus, with world-renowned contralto Maureen Forrester, Montreal's Théâtre Sans Fils and its 85 giant puppets, and Vancouver's Jumpstart troupe, in a multi-media choreography.

Montreal choreographer Michel Lemieux, whose wild imagination invents new forms of dance, the human puppets of Theatre Beyond Words, Winnipeg's Mimi Kuzyk and Luba Goy in Justa Kom-media, a comedy about Ukrainian immigrants, and Ballet Jazz de Montréal.

Toronto's Video Cabaret in Alan Bridle's The Last Man On Earth, a successful combination of video and theatre, Guelph, Ontario's Spring Festival in The Lighthouse, Montreal's La La La Human Steps, avant-garde dancers, and Vancouver's Leon Bibb in One More Stop On the Freedom Train.

You'll be thrilled by the diversity of talent on display at the Canada Pavilion.


THRILLS AND SPILLS

For the first time, CN's IMAX® theatre is showing the world a 3D film on giant IMAX film, with the audience participating in the action. This is a new and exciting era in film history!

This Canadian technique of the future uses a film that is three times larger than 70 millimetre film. This film is projected horizontally, which creates a much larger image. The clear and very faithful image is perfectly suited for 3D projection.

The film was made by Colin Low, a veteran director from the National Film Board. His team travelled all over the country, from Hovel Bay on the west coast, where they looked at the transportation of timber by helicopter, to the oil fields of Hibernia on the east coast, where they filmed underwater robots.


THE TAMED DEMONS

Teleglobe Canada Theatre presents the latest creation by Emil Radok, a pioneer of multi-screen blockbusters who amazed visitors to the Czechoslovakia pavilion at Expo 67.

Radok, now a Canadian, created the film Tamed Demons, which traces man's efforts to find effective means of communication from the Stone Age to the technological age. Nine free-standing rectangular screens and a hoop that rotates to form a sphere reflect the images transmitted by ten 35-millimetre projectors, and viewers mentally recompose these floating images.


TABOOTENAY!

Suddenly, the pavilion is alive with jugglers, musicians, actors, poets, clowns, dancers, Manitoba's one-man band, Inuit singers and sculptors, Calgary's strolling comedians, and New Brunswick's Calithumpians, a troupe of mimes.

Tabootenay is the name of this outdoor carnival, a unique Canadian travelling show. It began in British Columbia's Slocan Valley and has spread to Alberta and Ontario. Today, the festival takes over the parkways of the Canada Pavilion. The performers and entertainers are more numerous than ever and the shows are even more entertaining!

In addition to the three stages dedicated to the Tabootenay, visitors will be able to hear the Balkan Jam gypsy orchestra from Victoria, see Rahma, belly dancer from Vancouver, the Man of a Thousand Questions from Toronto or the Parminou theatre from Victoriaville, Quebec. Visitors will be able to meet mysterious characters whose unusual costumes evoke EXPO 86's theme of transport and communication. Perhaps it will be Draco Profundo, a horn-shaped creature that moves in a shoe, or Finétoile, whose starry hat is adorned with loudspeakers reproducing the sounds of space.

BREATH OF FRESH AIR

A thunderbird, inspired by a Kwakiutl legend, towers over the pavilion's amphitheatre at a height of 91 metres and covers the stage with its multicoloured wings, created by Alert Bay artist Simon Dick. Equally impressive stage shows feature some of Canada's most original artists.

The daytime events are organised by the renowned Vancouver Children's Festival. Among the whirlwind of performances on the program are the aptly named Circus Bizzaro from Toronto and two Winnipeg performers, pop singer Fred Penner and one-man band Al Simmons.

In the evening, the amphitheatre hosts Aboriginal dancers, the Cape Breton miners' choir, Men of the Deeps, and many other folk groups. Traditional and popular genres are also represented by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Band, Codco Comedy Troupe from Newfoundland, and Jazz Canada with the prestigious Guido Basso, Ed Bickert, Jim Galloway and Rob McConnell.


MAGNIFICENCE

Proudly set in its grand surroundings, the Canada Pavilion is a wonderful venue for blockbuster performances to celebrate special occasions. On the weekend of May 2, following the opening of the Exhibition, Vancouver Harbour will be filled with boats and ships playing whistles, bells and horns in the Harbour Symphony conducted by composers from east and west. The concert will be crowned by fireworks in broad daylight.

Another spectacular ceremony will take place on July 1 to commemorate Canada Day and will be televised across the country.

Throughout Canada Week, from 1 to 7 July, a cutting-edge festival of fireworks and lasers will light up the night, with the Northern Lights in the background. At the end of July, an Old Time Fiddling Festival will showcase BC's regional champions. These artists will perform at the Food Court Cabaret.


AND MORE!

At the bow of the pavilion is a fine dining restaurant with large picture windows, where you can relax with friends and family and enjoy the view of the park, sea and mountains. The nearby Gourmet Fair offers a family menu.

In the Gastronomic Fair, located on the floor above the Studio Theatre, near the bow, is the Inner Stage cabaret and its buffet. Sit back and relax to the music of Dixieland jazz bands and Bavarian orchestras.

At the Amiga Studio Theatre, sixty-one artists, under the direction of performance specialist Tom Graff, have created a delightful exhibition entitled At the Foot of the Letter. The first part of this exhibition is a nod to the basic means of transport, the human foot and its various accessories, shoes and socks. Together with renowned artist Gathie Falk, Graff has created a diorama, the marvellous "Tableau du Canada". The second part of the exhibition illustrates the theme of communications through fascinating samples of written notes and words. At the exit, the Oh! Canada Music Box plays for visitors. This Barbari organ has feet instead of wheels and animated figures representing the Canadian Mounties.

©Official Guide - Expo'86

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pavillon du Canada


Pavillon du Canada à l'exposition de Vancouver 1986

© Guide Officiel - Expo'86

Le pavillon du Canada est le plus grand et le plus spectaculaire qu’ait jamais conçu le gouvernement canadien pour une Exposition internationale. Il s’avance, tel un immense paquebot, au milieu du port de Vancouver qui fourmille d’activités. Le pavillon du pays hôte, à la silhouette racée des plus luxueux navires de croisière, déploie cinq voiles blanches majestueuses.À l’ombre de ces voiles, le monde entier découvrira un
Canada qu’il ne connaissait pas. Le pavillon vous convie à la découverte de nouveaux horizons. Vous y ferez la connaissance de pionniers canadiens qui ont résolu les problèmes les plus ardus que leur posaient les transports et les communications sur terre. Vous verrez une vraie soucoupe volante traverser le pavillon. Vous frémirez en voyant, sur l’écran géant du Cinéma IMAX® du CN, un train de marchandises friser la Catastrophe le long d’un canon des montagnes Rocheuses. Ce cinéma présente, en première mondiale, le procédé IMAX de conception canadienne combiné à l’art toujours exaltant du film en relief.

Le pavillon vous offre une croisière de plaisance où vous assisterez au festival culturel le plus complet jamais présenté au Canada. Vous comprendrez pourquoi les artistes canadiens s’affirment avec tant de brio sur la scène internationale. Des innovations technologiques éblouissantes rehaussent la créativité de danseurs, d’acteurs et de musiciens exceptionnels. L’un des meilleurs réalisateurs de films documentaires dévoile sa vision du Canada dans une production superréaliste qui permet aux spectateurs d’intervenir dans le déroulement de l’action.

Le génie qui a inventé les présentations audio-visuelles sur écrans multiples fait la chronique de l’histoire des communications, à l’aide de ses propres techniques cinématographiques révolutionnaires. Situées à l’intérieur comme à l’extérieur,
les scènes du pavillon accueillent des troupes d’artistes qui vous enchanteront par leurs spectacles folkloriques ou autres.

À l’entrée, par exemple, une bernache et un castor revêtus de costumes flamboyants jouent les sketches satiriques de nos meilleurs auteurs comiques. Le long des promenades panoramiques, les merveilleux personnages d’un théâtre ambulant, version canadienne nouveau genre, surgissent ici et là pour recréer l’ambiance spontanée du théâtre forain. Du côté de la mer, éclate un véritable feu d’artifice de laser et lumière et dans le ciel, montgolfières et delta-planes rendent hommage au vent. Dans le port, une étrange symphonie s’élève, à laquelle participent remorqueurs et bateaux de toutes sortes. Ancrés le long du pavillon, qui est aussi une gare maritime, de magnifiques navires de croisière accueillent les passagers à destination de l’Alaska.

Les enfants peuvent explorer un monde marin de rêves. Vous trouverez dans les boutiques du pavillon des souvenirs typiquement canadiens et pour vous reposer, arrêtez-vous un instant dans les cafés, dans la vaste buffetéria où des spectacles sont présentés à toute heure, ou encore dans l’attrayant restaurant situé à la proue du pavillon du Canada. De ce restaurant, vous pourrez admirer le parc Stanley, les montagnes de la chaîne côtière et le port le plus grandiose de la côte ouest des Amériques.


PORTE D’ENTREE D’EXPO 86

Ce fabuleux pavillon occupe un emplacement de choix au centre-ville de Vancouver sur l’anse Burrard où il s’avance loin. Vous pourrez profiter de la situation privilégiée du pavillon du Canada et en faire votre toute première escale. C’est la Porte du Canada, signalée par un drapeau canadien, qui marque l’entrée du pavillon, à l’extrémité nord de la rue Howe.

En franchissant cette Porte, vous avez dès lors accès au reste de l’Exposition internationale. Il ne faut en effet que quatre minutes pour se rendre au site en bordure de False Creek. Une expérience palpitante vous attend à bord du SkyTrain, moyen de transport ultra-moderne de création canadienne. Il s’agit d’un système de transport léger et rapide se déplaçant sur rail unique et dont les voitures sont mues par induction électromagnétique.

Ce service de navette est gratuit. À False Creek, le terminus du SkyTrain donne sur le Portail du Canada, reconnaissable de loin par ses symboles gigantesques et typiquement canadiens: un bâton de hockey qui s’appuie au mât autonome le plus haut du monde et un immense drapeau canadien. Des hôtes et des hôtesses en uniforme de grand style, créations d’Alfred Sung, couturier canadien de réputation internationale, accueillent les visiteurs dans l’esplanade du Portail.


DES MONDES INSOLITES

Le pavillon présente, en quatre dimensions, une vision attirante du Canada. Une machine à voyager dans le temps, doublée d’un vaisseau spatial, vous entraîne à la découverte des domaines scientifique, technologique, cosmique, spatial, subaquatique ou arctique, dans lesquels les Canadiens ont toujours été des pionniers.

Dans la salle Terravision, venez admirer le pays dont les images ont été captées par des satellites canadiens tel le supertransmetteur Radarsat. Le récit de Terravision débute sur des images de commencement du monde pour décrire ensuite la détermination des Canadiens à relever le défi de leur géographie.

Terravision tire son extraordinaire originalité du procédé Showscan, qui représente un progrès majeur du cinéma. Le Showscan crée un cinéma super-réaliste au moyen de très grandes images de 70 millimètres projetées à une cadence de 60 à la seconde, soit deux fois et demie plus rapidement que la normale et qui sont quatre fois plus lumineuses et plus grandes que lors d’une projection normale.

Le théâtre Nouveaux Mondes, combinaison incroyable de mise en scène et de trucages, lance les spectateurs à la découverte de temps et de lieux inconnus. Frissonnez au lancement de la navette spatiale. Admirez le Canadarm, premier télémanipulateur de l’espace. Plongez à vingt mille lieues sous les mers en jeep subaquatique, à la suite de votre chef d’expédition revêtu de la combinaison de plongée futuriste canadienne “Newt suit”, qui écourte le temps de décompression après une plongée dans les grands fonds.

Les Canadiens participent aux conquêtes spatiale et marine. Ces domaines ne sont plus hostiles et leur exploration constitue un nouveau défi à relever pour les hommes.


UN MONDE DE MERVEILLES

Sous la voilure du pavillon, composée de fibre de verre et de téflon, s’étend la vaste enceinte du Grand hall. Découvrez un Canada insolite, né de la fusion de l’art, de la science, et de la fantaisie.

Le Hystar est certes l’objet le plus étonnant à voir au Grand hall. Cet aéronef de l’avenir, de forme circulaire, accomplit des prouesses aériennes jamais vues. Les énormes cloisons réfléchissantes du Grand hall reflètent les rotations acrobatiques de cette nouvelle soucoupe volante canadienne. Aucun autre aéronef n’a une telle possibilité de contrôle de vitesse, de changement de cap, de sustentation et de survol à ras du sol ou de l’eau.

Du côté est, une décoration murale composée de 108 écrans vidéo se crée et se recrée sans cesse. Les images éclatantes racontent avec quelle imagination les Canadiens ont intégré dans leur pays les transports et les communications. Cette présentation est une première au Canada.

Dans cette partie du pavillon, une maquette représente la charpente et la mécanique complexe d’un brise-glace de l’Arctique qui semble surgir des glaces. Une autre sculpture révèle la complexité de l’aile soufflée; invention canadienne, cette aile permet de transformer les avions conventionnels en avions à décollage et à atterrissage courts. Une troisième maquette illustre le Maglev, nouveau train à lévitation magnétique canadien.
Du côté du mur ouest, d’autres innovations technologiques canadiennes permettent aux visiteurs de participer en s’amusant. Ainsi, A l’écoute dans l’espace leur donne l’occasion de faire l’essai du vococodeur d’un satellite MSAT. Cet appareil transforme la voix en données numériques avant de la restituer à la fréquence préalablement réglée par le visiteur. Les Mains consistent en un bras-robot industriel qui fabrique des avions de papier et les lance à l’autre bout du hall.

Partout, de jeunes artistes canadiens, étoiles de demain, h exposent des oeuvres qui expriment les mythes, les symboles et les réussites scientifiques et technologiques de leur pays de façon surprenante et parfois amusante.

La sculpture mobile Nouvelles dimensions du Torontois Tim Jocelyn exprime les quatre dimensions du monde physique (espace, atmosphère, terre et fonds marins). Patrick Amiot, de Montréal et de Vancouver, a réalisé des sculptures d’argile humoristiques représentant cinq inventeurs canadiens. Quant à Richard Prince, de Vancouver, son oeuvre intitulée LAlchimie de l’invention symbolise l’esprit créateur.

Beau Dick, d’Alert Bay en Colombie-Britannique, a créé un grand masque à transformations qui évoque le mythe du corbeau et du premier humain des Indiens de la côte nord-ouest. Edward Poitras, de Régina, a sculpté un personnage mi-homme, mi-aigle, dont les désirs sexuels, selon la légende des Indiens des Prairies, ont précipité la perte.

Une céramiste de Vancouver, Katherine J McLean, a composé, à l’aide de sons intrigants, mode d’expression inhabituel, des variations sur le thème des poissons du Canada pendant que le sculpteur John Watts, également de Vancouver, a façonné H des formes d’oiseaux au moyen de pièces | mobiles en acier poli.

Au pavillon de Canada, le mouvement perpétuel de l’art populaire canadien est 1 représenté par Alex Wyse d’Ottawa qui a fabriqué des engins farfelus comme des charrettes à poissons et des nuages volants, Stephen Denslow de Vancouver qui a embelli ses silhouettes découpées de détails extraordinaires et Rebecca Burke de Sackville au Nouveau-Brunswick qui s’est inspirée des mythologies grecque et latine pour créer des personnages animés plus grands que nature et quasi réels.


VU DU POLE

A l’extérieur du Grand hall, on a recréé un microcosme arctique où l’on voit les
transformations que les communications par satellite font subir aux territoires désolés du Nord. Des lasers servent d’indicateurs et des stations terrestres de réception deviennent des écrans vidéo. Une grande carte en relief offre aux visiteurs une nouvelle vue du sud du Canada à partir du Pôle Nord. Un satellite envoie aux stations de réception des images de chasseurs inuits à motoneige et de constructeurs d’îles artificielles dans l’océan Arctique.


UN BAIN DE CULTURE
Le pavillon de Canada vous propose un véritable festival culturel met en vedette les acteurs, danseurs, chanteurs et musiciens canadiens les plus originaux.
Le Studio-théâtre Amiga affiche tous les jours neuf spectacles. On trouve dans ce théâtre un système d’éclairage automatisé. Des caméras de vidéo télécommandées produisent des trucages visuels des artistes sur scène.

La scène a été conçue de telle façon qu’elle peut être utilisée soit pour le spectacle en solo du fabuleux clown Nion de Toronto, soit pour Encore! Encore!, spectacle d’une grande compagnie de théâtre dansant. Brian Macdonald, ancien directeur artistique des Grands Ballets canadiens, a assuré la mise en scène et la chorégraphie de cette oeuvre écrite par John Gray qui a remporté le prix du Gouverneur général du Canada grâce à Billy Bishop Goes To War.

Voici d’autres grands noms qui seront au Studio-théâtre:
le Children’s Chorus de Toronto, avec la contralto de réputation mondiale Maureen Forrester, le Théâtre Sans Fils de Montréal et ses 85 marionnettes géantes, et la troupe Jumpstart de Vancouver, dans une chorégraphie multi-médias.

le chorégraphe montréalais Michel Lemieux, dont l’imagination débridée invente de nouvelles formes de danse, les marionnettes humaines du Theatre Beyond Words, Mimi Kuzyk et Luba Goy de Winnipeg dans Justa Kom-media, comédie sur les immigrants ukrainiens, et le Ballet Jazz de Montréal.

Video Cabaret de Toronto et son spectacle The Last Man On Earth, oeuvre d’Alan Bridle qui allie avec succès vidéo et théâtre, le Spring Festival de Guelph (Ontario) et sa pièce The Lighthouse, La La La Human Steps de Montréal, danseurs d’avant-garde, et le chanteur vancouvérois Leon Bibb dans One More Stop On the Freedom Train.

Vous serez enchantés de la diversité des talents présentés au pavillon du Canada.


DES SENSATIONS FORTES

Pour la première fois, le cinéma IMAX® du CN présente au monde entier, sur une pellicule IMAX aux images gigantesques, un film en relief où les spectateurs participent à l’action. L’histoire du cinéma connaît une ère nouvelle et combien passionnante!

Cette technique canadienne de l’avenir utilise une pellicule trois fois plus grande que celle de 70 millimètres. Ce film est projeté à l’horizontale ce qui crée une image beaucoup plus grande. L’image claire et très fidèle s’adapte parfaitement à la projection en relief.

Ce film est l’oeuvre de Colin Low, réalisateur chevronné de l’Office national du film. Son équipe a parcouru le pays en tous sens, de Hovel Bay sur la côte ouest où elle s’est intéressée au transport du bois par hélicoptère, aux champs pétrolifères de Hibernia sur la côte est où elle a filmé des robots sous-marins.


LES DEMONS APPRIVOISES

Le théâtre Téléglobe Canada propose la dernière création d’Emil Radok, pionnier des superproductions sur écrans multiples, qui avait émerveillé les visiteurs du pavillon de la Tchécoslovaquie à Expo 67.

Radok, devenu Canadien, a créé le film Les démons apprivoisés qui retrace, de l’âge de pierre à l’ère technologique, les efforts de l’homme en quête de moyens de communication efficaces. Neuf écrans rectangulaires autonomes et un cerceau qui tourne pour former une sphère réfléchissent les images transmises par dix projecteurs 35 millimètres et les spectateurs recomposent mentalement ces images flottantes.


TABOOTENAY!

Tout à coup, c’est la fête au pavillon avec jongleurs, musiciens, acteurs, poètes, clowns, danseurs, hommes-orchestres du Manitoba, chanteurs et sculpteurs inuits, comédiens ambulants de Calgary et Calithumpians, une troupe de mimes du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Tabootenay, c’est le nom de ce carnaval en plein air, spectacle canadien inusité d’une troupe ambulante. Né à Slocan Valley, en Colombie-Britannique, ce théâtre a gagné l’Alberta et l’Ontario. Ce festival envahit aujourd’hui les promenades du pavillon du Canada. Les artistes et amuseurs sont plus nombreux que jamais et les spectacles encore plus divertissants!

En plus des trois scènes consacrées au Tabootenay, le visiteur pourra entendre l’orchestre gitan Balkan Jam de Victoria, voir Rahma, danseuse du ventre de Vancouver, l’homme aux mille questions de Toronto ou encore le théâtre Parminou de Victoriaville au Québec. Le visiteur pourra faire la connaissance de personnages mystérieux dont les costumes insolites évoquent le thème des transports et des communications d’EXPO 86. Ce sera peut-être Draco Profundo, créature en forme de corne qui se déplace dans une chaussure, ou encore Finétoile, dont le chapeau étoilé est orné de haut-parleurs reproduisant les sons de l’espace.

BOUFFEES D’AIR FRAIS

Un oiseau tonnerre, inspiré d’une légende Kwakiutl, domine du haut de ses 91 mètres l’amphithéâtre du pavillon dont il recouvre la scène de ses ailes multicolores, créées par Simon Dick, artiste d’Alert Bay. Sur scène, des spectacles tout aussi impressionnants mettent en vedette des artistes canadiens des plus originaux.

Les manifestations qui ont lieu le jour sont organisées par les responsables du célèbre Vancouver Children’s Festival. Dans le tourbillon de spectacles du programme, on note celui d’une troupe qui porte bien son nom, le Circus Bizzaro de Toronto et ceux de deux artistes de Winnipeg, le chanteur populaire Fred Penner et Al Simmons, l’homme-orchestre.

En soirée, l’amphithéâtre reçoit des danseurs autochtones, la chorale de mineurs du Cap-Breton, Men of the Deeps, et bien d’autres groupes folkloriques. Les genres traditionnel et populaire sont également présents grâce à l’orchestre de la Gendarmerie Royale du Canada, la troupe de comédiens Codco de Terre-Neuve et Jazz Canada avec les prestigieux Guido Basso, Ed Bickert, Jim Galloway et Rob McConnell.


MAGNIFICENCE

Fièrement planté dans son décor grandiose, le pavillon du Canada se prête merveilleusement aux superproductions qui soulignent les occasions spéciales. Le weed-end du 2 mai, qui suit l’inauguration de l’Exposition, verra le port de Vancouver fourmiller de bateaux et navires qui interpréteront avec sifflets, cloches et cornes la symphonie portuaire dirigée par des compositeurs venus de l’est et l’ouest du pays. Ce concert sera couronné par des feux d’artifice en plein jour.

Une autre cérémonie spectaculaire aura lieu le 1er juillet pour commémorer la Fête du Canada et sera diffusée à la télévision dans tout le pays.

Durant toute la semaine du Canada, du 1er au 7 juillet, un festival avant-gardiste de feux d’artifice et de lasers, dont l’agencement dessinera des aurores boréales, illuminera la nuit. À la fin de juillet, un festival de violon du bon vieux temps mettra en évidence les champions régionaux de la Colombie-Britannique. Ces artistes se produiront au cabaret de la Foire gastronomique.


ET PLUS ENCORE!

À la proue du pavillon, se trouve un restaurant de cuisine fine à grandes fenêtres panoramiques, où il fait bon se détendre entre amis ou en famille et admirer le parc, la mer et les montagnes. La Foire gastronomique, située tout près, offre un menu familial.

Dans la Foire gastronomique, située à l’étage au-dessus du Studio-théâtre, près de la proue, se trouve le cabaret Inner Stage et sa buffetéria. Installez-vous confortablement et détendez-vous au son de la musique des groupes de jazz du Dixieland et des orchestres bavarois.

Au Studio-Théâtre Amiga, soixante et un artistes, sous la direction du spécialiste du spectacle Tom Graff, ont créé une exposition délicieuse intitulée Au pied de la lettre. La première partie de cette exposition est un clin d’oeil adressé au moyen de transport fondamental, le pied humain et ses divers accessoires, souliers et chaussettes. Graff a monté, en compagnie de l’artiste de renom Gathie Falk, un diorama, le merveilleux “Tableau du Canada”. La seconde partie de l’exposition illustre le thème des communications au moyen de fascinants échantillons de notes et de mots écrits. A la sortie, la Boîte à musique Oh! Canada joue pour les visiteurs. Cet orgue de Barbari a des pieds à la place de roues et des figurines animées représentant la police montée canadienne.

©Guide Officiel - Expo'86