1986 World Exposition on Transportation and Communication - Vancouver - Expo'86

Transport and Communication

May 2, 1986 - October 13, 1986


Back - List of Pavilions

People's Republic of China

manque image

The pavilion of the People's Republic of China is entered through a beautiful ancient pailou, a kind of ornamented archway, and a long walkway that leads to one of the oldest civilizations in the world. This huge country of over a billion people has one of the largest pavilions on the site.

The pavilion's exhibition illustrates China's historical achievements in transport and communications.
Technological innovations are on display, including a communications satellite, a rocket, a receiving ground station and a hydrographic ship.

A reproduction of the explorer Zhen He's flagship takes you back to the 15th century, during the Ming Dynasty. At that time, almost a century before the voyages of Vasco da Gama, Christopher Columbus and Magellan, China was establishing itself as one of the leading maritime powers.

Immediately following this is a reproduction of a bronze chariot that is two thousand years old. Discovered in 1980, it is the largest, best preserved and oldest of all the carts found so far. The terracotta statues excavated from the tomb of Qin Shi Huang flank the chariot.

We then move on to China's land transport achievements. The mountain road from Ching'hai to Tibet is the highest and longest in the world. It stretches 1938 kilometres along the "roof of the world", crossing eight mountains and ten rivers.
The model of the Great Wall of China shows that it is not only an architectural masterpiece but also an ingenious means of communication. In the past, lanterns were lit in the watchtowers to signal an enemy attack.

One then takes an imaginary boat to cross the three gorges of the Yangtze River.

In China, the traditional way of sending a telegram is to encode the Chinese characters and leave it to the recipient to decode them. The revolutionary computer on display in the pavilion does away with this.

The thematic exhibition ends with an audio-visual presentation (video, film and slides) describing China and its people.
Visitors can also see traditional silk, jade, ivory, matting and small finely carved objects being made, taste Chinese food in the restaurant and buy souvenirs.

©Official Guide - Expo'86

Retour - Liste Pavillons

République Populaire de Chine



On entre dans le pavillon de la République populaire de Chine par un joli pailou ancien, sorte d’arcade ornementée, et une longue promenade aménagée pour découvrir l’une des plus vieilles civilisations du monde. Ce pays immense, qui compte plus d’un milliard d’habitants, présente l’un des plus grands pavillons du site.

L’exposition du pavillon illustre les réussites de la Chine en matière de transports et de communications au cours de l’histoire.
On voit d’abord des innovations technologiques, dont un satellite de communications, une fusée, une station terrestre de réception et un navire hydrographique.

Une reproduction du navire-amiral de l’explorateur Zhen He vous amène au XVe siècle, sous la dynastie des Ming. À cette époque, près d’un siècle avant les voyages de Vasco de Gama, Christophe Colomb et Magellan, la Chine s’affirmait comme l’une des premières puissances maritimes.

Juste après, se trouve la reproduction d’un chariot en bronze deux fois millénaire. Découvert en 1980, ce chariot est le plus grand, le mieux conservé et le plus ancien de tous ceux trouvés jusqu’ici. Les statues de terre cuite que l’on a dégagées de la sépulture de Qin Shi Huang flanquent le chariot.

On passe ensuite aux réussites de la Chine en matière de transports terrestres. La route de montagne qui relie le Ching’ hai au Tibet est la plus élevée et la plus longue du monde. Elle s’étend sur 1938 kilomètres le long du “toit du monde”, traversant huit montagnes et dix rivières.
La maquette de la Grande Muraille de Chine vous apprendra que celle-ci n’est pas seulement un chef d’oeuvre architectural mais aussi un ingénieux moyen de communication. Autrefois, on allumait des fanaux dans les tours de garde afin de signaler une attaque ennemie.

On prend ensuite un bateau imaginaire pour traverser les trois gorges du fleuve Yang-tsê.

En Chine, la façon traditionnelle d’envoyer un télégramme est de coder les caractères chinois et de laisser le soin au destinataire de les décoder. L’ordinateur de conception révolutionnaire exposé au pavillon supprime ces opérations.

L’exposition thématique se termine par une présentation audio-visuelle (vidéo, films et diapositives) qui décrit la Chine et ses habitants.
On peut aussi assister au travail traditionnel de la soie, de la jade, de l’ivoire, de nattes et de petits objets finement sculptés, goûter à la cuisine chinoise au restaurant et acheter des souvenirs.

©Guide Officiel - Expo'86