1986 World Exposition on Transportation and Communication - Vancouver - Expo'86

Transport and Communication

May 2, 1986 - October 13, 1986


Back - List of Pavilions

Yukon

Yukon at the Exhibition Vancouver 1986

© Jasperdo

The entrance to the Yukon pavilion is an open-air theatre with a relief northern sky backdrop created by Ted Harrison using mirrored panels to reflect the magical light of the midnight sun. Hucksters and entertainers perform at the entrance, which is reminiscent of the Klondike Gold Rush in all its exhibits.

The replica of the Queen of the Yukon bush plane, similar to Lindbergh's Spirit of St. Louis, symbolizes the role of the aeroplane in the exploration of the Far North.

Also shown is the small 0-4-0T steam locomotive, which at the turn of the century carried the coal needed to operate the dredges used for gold prospecting.

An archway with a giant paddle wheel invites passers-by to discover the magic of the Yukon.

Inside the pavilion, the famous gold rush of 1898, the most famous episode in the history of Yukon transportation, is illustrated by the stories of the prospectors, who all dreamed of finding a good vein.

Other history is also presented, such as the construction of the Alaska Highway and the only public road in North America to reach the Arctic coast.

Out of Silence, the main audio-visual attraction, depicts, with 18 projectors, the history and life of the Yukon and the natural beauty of the snowy peaks and wilderness of Kluane National Park through which the Dempster Highway passes. The film, shown in a 150-seat theatre, uses a variety of techniques: fast action, multiple images, animation, macro photography and an excellent soundtrack.

The multi-cultural dimension of the Yukon is reflected in an exhibition of Indian art and other artifacts found at Old Crow, the oldest settlement in North America. Traditional and modern dog sleds and a brand new sled for cross-country running are also on display.

©Official Guide - Expo'86

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Yukon


Yukon à l'exposition de Vancouver 1986

© Jasperdo

L’entrée du pavillon du Yukon est constituée d’un théâtre en plein air dont le fond représente un ciel nordique en relief créé par Ted Harrison à l’aide de panneaux miroitants où se reflète la lumière magique du soleil de minuit. Bonimenteurs et amuseurs forains présentent leur numéro à l’entrée qui rappelle, par tous les objets exposés, la ruée vers l’or du Klondike.

La réplique de l’avion de brousse Queen of the Yukon, appareil semblable au Spirit of St. Louis de Lindbergh, symbolise le rôle joué par l’avion dans l’exploration du Grand Nord.

On voit aussi la petite locomotive à vapeur 0-4-0T, qui transportait, au début du siècle, le charbon nécessaire au fonctionnement des dragues utilisées pour la prospection de l’or.

Une arcade formée d’une roue à aubes géante invite les passants à découvrir la magie du Yukon.

À l’intérieur du pavillon, la fameuse ruée vers l’or de 1898, épisode le plus célèbre de l’histoire des transports du Yukon, est illustrée par les récits des prospecteurs, qui rêvaient tous de découvrir un bon filon.

On présente aussi d’autres pages d’histoire telle la construction de l’autoroute de l’Alaska et de l’unique route publique d’Amérique du Nord à atteindre la côte arctique.

Out of Silence, principale attraction audio-visuelle, dépeint, avec 18 projecteurs, l’histoire et la vie du Yukon la beauté naturelle des cimes enneigées et des étendues sauvages du parc national Kluane que traverse la route Dempster. Ce film, présenté dans un cinéma de 150 places, utilise toutes sortes de techniques: action rapide, images multiples, animation, macrophotographie et une excellente bande sonore.

La dimension multi-culturelle du Yukon apparaît dans une exposition d’oeuvres d’art indiennes et autres objets trouvés à Old Crow, lieu d’habitation le plus ancien d’Amérique du Nord. On voit aussi des traîneaux à chiens, traditionnels et modernes, et un tout nouveau traîneau pour la course de fond.

©Guide Officiel - Expo'86