1986 World Exposition on Transportation and Communication - Vancouver - Expo'86

Transport and Communication

May 2, 1986 - October 13, 1986


Back - List of Pavilions

Expo Centre

Expo Centre at the Exhibition Expo Vancouver 1986

© Jasperdo

Architect(s) : Bruno Freschi

If Paris inherited the Eiffel Tower following the 1899 International Exhibition, Vancouver will inherit the Expo Centre. By day, the metal sphere reflects the waters of False Creek, and by night, it sparkles with light.

At the heart of the Expo Centre is a 500-seat cinema with a giant OMNIMAX® screen. The images projected on this hemispherical screen, the only one of its kind in Canada, are nine times larger than those of a normal film.

Created especially for EXPO 86, A World in Freedom evokes various moments in the history of transportation, from the Roman road to the American space shuttle. Award-winning Canadian director Michel Brault and his crew spent nine months filming in various parts of the world, from the far north to the Mojave Desert, to produce this remarkable film.

The Avenirs Theatre offers visitors the opportunity to participate in Canada's first audio-visual presentation. A computerized screen offers a choice of futures to visitors who express their preference by pressing a button on their seat. The results, compiled by computer, appear immediately on the screen.

The exhibition Objectif An 2000 is dedicated to futuristic technology, with wind-powered vehicles, holograms, space equipment and more.
Have a bite to eat and a refreshing drink on the marine terrace of the Horizons restaurant or take a look at the souvenir shop in the Expo Centre.

The impressive Expo Centre symbolises the Earth with its spherical shape, a shape that has often been adopted by International Expos.

A hanging sculpture by Canadian artist Michael Hayden embellishes the Expo Centre's sphere with fluorescent lights.
At its feet, a model of the EXP0 86 site allows visitors to orient themselves.


A TASTE OF THE EXHIBITION

In 1985, over half a million people got a taste of EXPO 86. The Expo Centre opened its doors on 2 May 1985 at a grand gala, one year to the day before the official opening of the Exhibition.

The early opening of the Expo Centre was one of the key elements of an international marketing campaign. This initiative really put EXPO 86 to the test. Staff were hired, uniforms were made, tickets were printed, shows were set up, menus were composed, and restaurants were set up. Finally, everything was ready for 2 May 1985.

The North American and European media were present at the opening and realized the magnitude of the undertaking, as everything was done to capture their attention and, by extension, that of the world.

Representatives of the tourism industry, tourists, transportation specialists, diplomats, Exhibition participants and British Columbians were able to glimpse the promise of an Exhibition of international stature.

At the Folklore Square, inaugurated last summer, visitors came in great numbers to enjoy the shows and the sun. Located near the Expo Centre, this cedar wood enclave was the scene of a ten-day festival of music, dance, gastronomy, arts and crafts.

The numbers prove that opening the Expo Centre for five and a half months was the best kind of advertising.

When it closed on 14 October, after five and a half months of activity, the number of visitors had doubled the forecast of 300,000. This proved to be a major success for EXPO 86, and one that received rave reviews from observers.

©Official Guide - Expo'86

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Centre Expo


Centre Expo à l'exposition de Vancouver 1986

© Jasperdo
Architecte(s) : Bruno Freschi

Si Paris a hérité de la tour Eiffel à la suite de l’Exposition internationale de 1899, Vancouver héritera du Centre Expo. De jour, la sphère métallique reflète les eaux de False Creek et, de nuit, elle étincelle dans des jeux de lumière.

Au coeur du Centre Expo, se trouve un cinéma de 500 places doté d’un écran géant OMNIMAX®. Les images projetées sur cet écran hémisphérique, unique en son genre au Canada, sont neuf fois plus grandes que celles d’un film normal.

Créé spécialement pour EXPO 86, Un monde en liberté évoque divers moments de l’histoire des transports, de la voie romaine à la navette spatiale américaine. Le réalisateur canadien Michel Brault, déjà couronné, et son équipe ont tourné pendant neuf mois en divers points du globe, du Grand Nord au désert Mojave, pour produire ce film remarquable.

Le Théâtre Avenirs offre aux visiteurs l’occasion de participer à la première présentation audio-visuelle du Canada. Un écran informatisé propose un choix d’avenirs aux visiteurs qui expriment leur préférence en pressant sur l’un des boutons de leur siège. Les résultats, compilés par ordinateur, apparaissent immédiatement sur l’écran.

L'exposition Objectif An 2000 est, avec ses véhicules éoliens, holograhie, matériel spatial et autres, consacrée à la technologie futuriste.
Cassez la croûte et offrez-vous une boisson rafraîchissante sur la terrasse marine du restaurant Horizons ou faire un tour à la boutique de souvenirs du Centre Expo.

Le Centre Expo, si impressionnant, symbolise la Terre par sa forme sphérique, forme qui a souvent été adoptée par les Expositions internationales.

Une sculpture suspendue, oeuvre de l’artiste canadien Michael Hayden, embellit de ses lumières fluorescentes la sphère du Centre Expo.
A ses pieds, une maquette du site d’EXP0 86 permet aux visiteurs de s’orienter.


UN AVANT-GOUT DE L’EXPOSITION

En 1985, plus d’un demi million de personnes ont eu un avant-goût d’EXPO 86. Le Centre Expo a ouvert ses portes le 2 mai 1985 à l’occasion d’un grand gala, un an jour pour jour, avant l’inauguration officielle de l’Exposition.

L’ouverture anticipée du Centre Expo constituait l’un des éléments clés d’une campagne de commercialisation internationale. Cette initiative a permis véritablement de mettre EXPO 86 au banc d’essai. Pour ce, on a engagé du personnel, fait faire des uniformes, imprimé des billets, mis sur pied des spectacles, composé des menus et aménagé des restaurants. Enfin, tout fut prêt pour le 2 mai 1985.

Présents à l’inauguration, les médias nord-américains et européens se rendirent compte de l’ampleur de l’entreprise car tout fut fait pour retenir leur attention et, par le fait même, celle du monde.

Représentants de l’industrie touristique, touristes, spécialistes des transports, diplomates, participants de l’Exposition et habitants de la Colombie-Britannique ont pu entrevoir les promesses d’une Exposition d’envergure internationale.

À la Place des traditions populaires, inaugurée l’été dernier, les visiteurs sont venus nombreux jouir des spectacles et du soleil. Située à proximité du Centre Expo, cette enclave en bois de cèdre a été le théâtre, pendant dix jours, d’un festival de musique, de danse, de gastronomie, d’art et d’artisanat.

Les chiffres prouvent que l’ouverture du Centre Expo pendant cinq mois et demi était la meilleure des publicités.

À la clôture, le 14 octobre, après cinq mois et demi d’activité, le nombre de visiteurs a dépassé du double les prévisions de 300 000. Cette réussite s’est avérée des plus importantes pour EXPO 86 et ce succès a reçu des commentaires élogieux de la part des observateurs.

©Guide Officiel - Expo'86