Universal and International Exhibition of Liege 1905

75th anniversary of national independence

April 25, 1905 - November 6, 1905


Back - List of Pavilions

Sports

Sports at the Exhibition Expo Liege 1905

After having had in ancient Greece the importance of a national institution, linked to the most essential quality of the race, after having been considered for a long time as a pure leisure activity offered to idlers, sport is now regaining some of its former importance and is even tending to regain it entirely.

Contemporary pedagogues are not afraid to assert, in agreement with science, its necessity in the moral development of the schoolboy. Very often, pupils with a heavy mentality, called lazy, are only children whose physical culture - still hindered by a thousand obstacles, unhealthy rooms, insufficient food, etc. - has been neglected.

Thus the adage of the ancients is verified:
Mens sana in corpore sano, a healthy soul in a healthy body.

It is not surprising, therefore, that governments have turned their attention to this means of developing those who make up the nation, which is also suitable for curbing the bastardisation of our European races.

Belgium, quick to think of the means capable of ensuring its prosperity, did not neglect this one. At present, the primary schools, like the atheist schools and the teacher training colleges, have in their programme, alongside their scientific courses, gymnastics courses where the rational development of the body of the child and the adolescent is practised. In this way, the culture of the body and the culture of the soul walk hand in hand, closely linked by the relationships that exist between them.

In addition to these courses, there are many gymnastics societies in Belgium, whose exercises are followed by children, adolescents and even adults.

There is hardly a village of any importance where there is not a sports society affiliated either to the Belgian Federation of Neutral Gymnastics or to the National Federation of Gymnastics and Weapons Societies.

Apart from these popular institutions, there are a respectable number of fencing, lawn tennis, rowing, motoring, etc. societies, located in the large cities, which, although only accessible to people of average means, are no less interesting and no less concerned with the physical and moral well-being of a part of the nation.

From a slightly different point of view, it is worth mentioning those fencing, archery, crossbow and ball games societies, which are centuries old and religiously preserve their ancient customs. Their archaic flavour sometimes enhances the appeal of some local festival or historical event.

This is the broad outline of the history of sport in Belgium.

In order to be convinced of the importance it has assumed, one only had to visit the sports exhibition, located near the machinery gallery, in the very heart of the Exhibition halls.

Among the dedicated organisers who took charge of the intelligent layout and thus ensured its success, we should mention first of all the distinguished Special Government Commissioner, Chevalier Léon Schellekens, a veteran of Exhibitions, who was delegated by the Belgian Government to the Poultry Congresses in Madrid and St. Petersburg and who had already represented the Government at the Exhibitions in Antwerp in 1894, Brussels in 1897, Amsterdam and Chicago. The experience and organisational talent of Chevalier Schellekens were effectively assisted by his secretary, Mr. Alexis Capouillet, the former secretary general of the Liberian section in Brussels in 1897.

Among the organisers, we should also mention Lieutenant-General Londot, president of the group, Lieutenant-Colonel Baron Joseph Van Zuylen van Nievelt, president of one of the group's classes, Gaston Périer, assistant secretary of the group and secretary-reporter of the group's jury, and Léon Polain, the well-known rowingman from Liège.

The sports exhibition was remarkable for the happy arrangement of its installations.

This fact was due as much to the competence of its organiser as to the good understanding which reigns between all the sports societies of the country and of which they were the high representatives.

Twelve separate saloons, sharing the available space, grouped together the main sporting societies of Belgium. The general decoration, in the Louis XVI style, with its white, old gold and light tan tones, provided a delicious setting for the objects.

Light flooded into the lounge and nothing could give a more appropriate atmosphere to these outdoor sports than this brightness.

The various classes in the group included exercises for children and adults, in theory and practice, games and sports for children and adults, equipment for games and sports. A happy idea of the organisers suppressed these arid and all theoretical classifications.

The different classes were integrated and everything related, for example, to gymnastics: companies, equipment exhibited by the manufacturer, books written by theorists, were all in the same room.

This created an order that impressed the visitor favourably. Of the exhibitors in Group XX, the Minister of the Interior and Public Education was the first to be mentioned. The latter exhibited the numerous works of his two distinguished collaborators:
J. Corman and Ch. Remy.

There was a historical note on the teaching of gymnastics in teacher training colleges and primary schools, some books, brochures, albums, circulars, etc.

Among the sports societies themselves, the Royal and Knightly Confraternity of Saint Michael in Ghent stood out. This powerful fencing guild has existed since 1613. Its visitors' book was signed by the most illustrious princes and the most famous fencers since Albert and Isabella.

Its stand was decorated with remarkably painted portraits of the chief deans of the brotherhood since 1615 and the complete 17th century furniture of the old Confrères chapel.

Artistic groups, photographs of fencers, and an old banner completed the decoration of the saloon, where a reflection of the ancient opulence of Flanders was offered, perpetuated to us. One of the most prominent sportsmen, Mr. Albert Feyerick, now presides over the destiny of the old Ghent club whose motto: "Don't avoid, never seek", sums up its glorious past.

In the same field of sport, the Brussels Fencing Club occupies a remarkable place. This powerful circle, founded by Mr. Fierlants, exhibited for the first time in Belgium its famous gallery of all renowned Belgian fencers painted by the master Regamey. A remarkable collection of old weapons, sports memorabilia and numerous trophies attracted attention. The motto of the fencing club is, like that of the Ghent club, eloquent: "The right way and no worries".

The elegant and lavish sport of yachting was brilliantly represented by the remarkable stand of the relatively young but very active Ostend Yacht Club. In the centre of the show, the club exhibited an absolutely remarkable "one-design" sailing boat and on its stand, numerous models of yachts and reductions of new inventions made in this special field of sport by the club members.

An appropriate decoration of oars, gaffs, maritime pavilions, buoys, ropes, yacht chairs, made of wicker, completed the ornamentation of the stand and helped to evoke the pleasure that the practice of this sport can bring.

The two powerful associations which govern cycling in Belgium: the Ligue Vélocipédique and the Touring-Club competed at almost neighbouring stands, showing the followers of this popular sport the results of their activity: maps, itineraries, admirable organisation of the service of hotels and repairers. The Touring-Club is especially concerned in Belgium with the repair of roads, the Ligue Vélocipédique devotes its efforts to the organisation of sporting events concerning the world of cyclists: races, championships, etc. These two organisations complement each other admirably for the greater good of all sportsmen.

After cycling, and perhaps as much as cycling, gymnastics is the most popular sport in Belgium. The numerous trophies exhibited by the Belgian Gymnastics Federation and by the National Federation of Catholic Gymnastics and Arms Societies proved to all how numerous and decisive the successes of the Belgians in this field were.

The Automobile Club of Belgium, this powerful association to which we owe the organisation of this superb annual joust known as the "Circuit of the Ardennes" and the interesting shows which, every year, introduce the public to the constant improvements of the new locomotion, had an absolutely remarkable stand.

It was decorated with an instructive and amusing frieze signed by Gaudy, faithfully representing the history of the progress of the car since 1896.

In the centre of the exhibition, a superb cup, contained in an elegant display case, attracted attention.

Other exhibits, no less interesting, were also on display.

These were the remarkable saloons of the Royal Golf Club of Belgium, much admired by the followers of this new worldly sport; of the Belgian Union of Athletic Sports Societies, which groups together all the fervent runners and footballers; of the Society for the Encouragement of Sports and of the Belgian Lawn Tennis League, which exhibited a remarkable collection of the cups and trophies won in recent years by the Belgian champions of this distinguished game.

These saloons were decorated with an appropriate decoration that the photographs we are publishing dispense us from describing.

As mentioned above, a number of individual exhibitors contributed to the decoration of one or other saloon or to the documentation of the sport represented there.

In the first instance, Mr. Louis Schellekens exhibited the flag of the Aalst Fencing Club and an interesting collection of old shooting weapons.

Some manufacturers then presented a series of devices constituting equipment for games and sports. They were MM. Jules Carlier, of Houdeng-Goegnies, with carved wooden papegais, bows, arrows, plumes; Crutzen et Cie, of Dison; Emile Dujardin, of Leuze, with clothes for sports; Pierre Selderslagh, of Brussels, with a new button marker for combat sword; Paul Van der Velde, of Brussels, with complete saddles of the Argentine Republic, Chile and Paraguay.

Mr. Henri Denève, from Mons, with a Swedish pedagogical gymnastics method, an album of drawings and a musical collection; Mr. Louis Dries, from Brussels, with his book: "Gymnastics at the primary school, at the nursery school and at the kindergarten"; Mr. Jules Robellus, from Ghent, with a new patented orthopaedic gymnastics apparatus completed the exhibition which offered an interesting presentation of the history of sports in Belgium.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Sports


Sports à l'exposition de Liège 1905

Après avoir eu dans la Grèce antique l'importance d'une institution nationale, liée à la qualité la plus essentielle de la race, après avoir, ensuite, été considéré longtemps comme un pur délassement offert aux désoeuvrés, le sport reprend, à l'heure actuelle, une part de son ancienne importance et tend même à la reconquérir tout entière.

Les pédagogues contemporains ne craignent pas d'affirmer, d'accord avec la science, sa nécessité dans le développement moral de l'écolier. Bien souvent, des élèves à la mentalité lourde, dénommés des paresseux, ne sont que des enfants dont la culture corporelle — encore entravée par mille obstacles, chambres insalubres, insuffisance de nourriture, etc., — a été négligée.

Ainsi se vérifie l'adage des anciens :
Mens sana in corpore sano, une âme saine dans un corps sain.

Rien d'étonnant, dès lors, à ce que les gouvernements aient tourné leur attention vers ce moyen de développement de ceux qui constituent la nation, propre aussi à enrayer l'abâtardissement de nos races européennes.

La Belgique, prompte à s'aviser des moyens capables de veiller à sa prospérité, n'eut garde de négliger celui-là. A présent, les écoles primaires comme les athénées et les écoles normales, possèdent à leur programme, à côté de leurs cours scientifiques, des cours de gymnastique où se pratique le développement rationnel du corps de l'enfant et de l'adolescent. Ainsi la culture du corps et la culture de l'âme marchent de compagnie, étroitement reliées par les rapports qui existent entre elles.

En plus de ces cours, il existe en Belgique une foule de sociétés de gymnastique, dont les exercices sont suivis par des enfants, des adolescents, voire des adultes.

Rares sont les villages de quelque importance où il n'existe pas quelque société sportive affiliée soit à la Fédération Belge de Gymnastique neutre, soit à la Fédération nationale des Sociétés de Gymnastique et d'armes.

En dehors de ces institutions populaires, il existe un nombre respectable de sociétés d'escrime, de lawn-tennis, de rowing, d'automobilisme, etc., localisées dans les grandes villes et qui, pour n'être accessibles qu'à des personnes de condition moyenne, ne sont pas moins intéressantes et ne veillent pas moins au bien-être corporel et moral d'une partie de la nation.

A un point de vue un peu différent, il y a lieu de signaler encore ces sociétés d'escrime, de tir à l'arc, à l'arbalète, de jeu de balle, vieilles de plusieurs siècles et conservant religieusement leurs anciennes coutumes. Leur saveur archaïque contribue à rehausser, parfois, l'attrait de quelque fête locale ou de quelque festivité historique.

Ainsi se présente, dans ses grandes lignes, l'histoire du sport en Belgique.

Pour se convaincre de l'importance qu'il a prise, il suffisait de visiter le salon des sports, situé près de la galerie des machines, au coeur même des halls de l'Exposition.

Parmi les organisateurs dévoués qui en assumèrent l'intelligent aménagement et lui assurèrent ainsi le succès, il convient de citer en premier lieu le distingué Commissaire spécial du Gouvernement, le Chevalier Léon Schellekens, un vétéran des Expositions, qui fut délégué par le Gouvernement belge au Congrès d'Aviculture de Madrid et de Saint-Pétersbourg et qui déjà représentait le Gouvernement aux Expositions d'Anvers en 1894, de Bruxelles en 1897, d'Amsterdam et de Chicago. L'expérience et le talent d'organisation du Chevalier Schellekens trouvèrent une aide efficace dans la précieuse collaboration de son secrétaire, M. Alexis Capouillet, l'ancien secrétaire général de la section libérienne à Bruxelles, en 1897.

Il y a encore lieu de citer parmi les organisateurs, le lieutenant-général Londot, président du groupe, le lieutenant-colonel baron Joseph Van Zuylen van Nievelt, président d'une des classes du groupe, MM. Gaston Périer, secrétaire-adjoint du groupe et secrétaire-rapporteur du Jury de groupe, Léon Polain, le rowingman liégeois bien connu.

Le salon des sports fut remarquable par l'heureuse disposition de ses installations.

Ce fait fut dû autant à la compétence de son organisateur qu'à la bonne entente qui règne entre toutes les sociétés sportives du pays et dont ils étaient les hauts représentants.

Douze salonnets distincts, se partageant l'espace disponible, groupaient les principales sociétés sportives de Belgique. Une décoration générale, en style Louis XVI, dont les tons blanc, vieil or et havane "clair faisaient aux objets un cadre délicieux.

La lumière entrait à flots dans ce salon et rien ne pouvait mieux donner une atmosphère adéquate à ces sports de grand air que cette clarté.

Les différentes classes du groupe comprenaient les exercices des enfants et des adultes, en théorie et en pratique, les jeux et les sports pour les enfants et les adultes, l'équipement pour les jeux et les sports. Une heureuse idée des organisateurs supprima ces classifications arides et toutes théoriques.

Les différentes classes se pénétrèrent et tout ce qui avait trait, par exemple, à la gymnastique: sociétés, appareils exposés par le fabricant, livres écrits par des théoriciens, se trouvaient dans le même salonnet.

De ce fait, naissait un ordre qui impressionnait favorablement le visiteur. Des exposants du groupe XX, nous citerons tout d'abord le Ministre de l'Intérieur et de l'Instruction publique. Celui-ci exposait notamment les nombreux ouvrages de ses deux distingués collaborateurs:
MM. J. Corman et Ch. Remy.

On y relevait une notice historique sur l'enseignement de la gymnastique dans les écoles normales et dans les écoles primaires, quelques livres, brochures, albums, circulaires, etc.

Parmi les sociétés sportives proprement dites, la Confrérie Royale et Chevalière de Saint-Michel, à Gand, se signalait spécialement à l'attention des visiteurs. Cette puissante gilde d'escrimeurs existe depuis 1613. Son livre d'or s'honore des signatures des princes les plus illustres et des escrimeurs les plus réputés, depuis Albert et Isabelle.

Son stand était orné de portraits, remarquablement peints, des chefs doyens de la confrérie depuis 1615 et du mobilier complet, datant du XVIIe siècle, de la vieille chapelle des Confrères.

Des groupes artistiques, des photographies d'escrimeurs, une vieille bannière complétaient la décoration du salonnet, où s'offrait un reflet, perpétué jusqu'à nous, de l'ancienne opulence de la Flandre. Un des sportmen les plus en vue, M. Albert Feyerick, préside aujourd'hui aux destinées de la vieille gilde gantoise dont la devise: « N'évite pas, jamais ne cherche », résume le glorieux passé.

Dans le même domaine sportif, le Cercle d'Escrime de Bruxelles occupe une place remarquable. Ce cercle puissant, fondé par M. Fierlants, exposait pour la première fois en Belgique sa fameuse galerie de tous les escrimeurs belges de renom peints par le maître Regamey. Une collection remarquable d'armes anciennes, des souvenirs sportifs et de nombreux trophées fixaient l'attention. La devise du cercle d'escrime est comme celle du cercle gantois, d'une sobre éloquence: « La droite voieet nul souci ».

Le sport à la fois élégant et fastueux du yachting était représenté de façon brillante par le stand remarquable du Yacht Club d'Ostende, cercle relativement jeune mais d'une activité prodigieuse. Ce cercle exposait au centre du salon un canot à voile « monotype » absolument remarquable et dans son stand de nombreux modèles de yachts et les réductions des inventions nouvelles faites dans ce domaine spécial du sport par les membres du club.

Une décoration adéquate d'avirons, de gaffes, de pavillons maritimes, de bouées, de câbles, de fauteuils de yacht, en osier, complétaient l'ornementation du stand et aidait à l'évocation du plaisir que peut procurer la pratique de ce sport.

Les deux puissantes associations qui régissent le cyclisme en Belgique: la Ligue Vélocipédique et le Touring-Club rivalisaient en des stands presque voisins en montrant aux adeptes de ce sport si populaire les résultats de leur activité: cartes, itinéraires, organisation admirable du service des hôtels et des réparateurs. Le Touring-Club s'occupe spécialement en Belgique de la réfection des routes, la Ligue Vélocipédique voue ses efforts à l'organisation de manifestations sportives concernant le monde des coureurs cyclistes: courses, championnats, etc. Ces deux organismes se complètent admirablement pour le plus grand bien de tous les sportmen.

Après le cyclisme et peut-être autant que lui, la gymnastique est le sport le plus cher aux Belges. Les nombreux trophées exposés par la Fédération Belge de Gymnastique et par la Fédération nationale des Sociétés catholiques de Gymnastique et d'Armes prouvaient à tous combien les succès des Belges dans ce domaine furent nombreux et décisifs.

L’Automobile Club de Belgique, cette puissante association à laquelle nous devons l'organisation de cette superbe joute annuelle connue sous le nom de « Circuit des Ardennes » et les intéressants salons qui, tous les ans, initient le public aux perfectionnements constants de la locomotion nouvelle, avait un stand absolument remarquable.

Celui-ci s'ornait d'une frise instructive et amusante signée Gaudy, représentant fidèlement l'histoire des progrès de l'auto depuis 1896.

Au centre du salon, une superbe coupe, contenue en une élégante vitrine, attirait les regards.

D'autres expositions, non moins intéressantes, s'offraient encore à l'attention.

C'étaient les salonnets remarquables du Royal Golf Club de Belgique, très admiré par les adeptes de ce nouveau sport mondain; de l'Union Belge des Sociétés de Sports Athlétiques qui groupe tous les fervents de la course à pied et du foot-ball; de la Société d'Encouragement aux Sports et de la Ligue Belge de Lawn-Tennis qui exposait une collection remarquable des coupes et trophées gagnés ces dernières années par les champions belges de ce jeu distingué.

Ces salonnets s'agrémentaient d'une décoration adéquate que les photographies que nous publions nous dispense de décrire.

Comme nous l'avons dit plus haut, un certain nombre d'exposants particuliers contribuaient à l'ornementation de l'un ou l'autre salonnet ou à la documentation du sport qui s'y trouvait représenté.

Citons, pour le premier cas, M. Louis Schellekens, qui exposait le drapeau du Cercle d'Escrime d'Alost et une collection intéressante d'anciennes armes de tir.

Quelques fabricants présentaient ensuite une série d'engins constituant l'équipement pour les jeux et les sports. C'étaient MM. Jules Carlier, de Houdeng-Goegnies, avec des papegais en bois sculpté, des arcs, des flèches, des plumets; Crutzen et Cie, de Dison; Emile Dujardin, de Leuze, avec des vêtements pour les sports; Pierre Selderslagh, de Bruxelles, avec un nouveau bouton marqueur pour épée de combat; Paul Van der Velde, de Bruxelles, avec des selles complètes de la République Argentine, du Chili et du Paraguay.

M. Henri Denève, de Mons, avec une méthode de gymnastique pédagogique suédoise, un album de dessins et de recueil musical; M. Louis Dries, de Bruxelles, avec son livre: « La gymnastique à l'école primaire, à l'école gardienne et au jardin d'enfants »; M. Jules Robellus, de Gand, avec un nouvel appareil breveté de gymnastique orthopédique terminaient le salon qui offrait l'intéressant exposé de l'histoire des sports en Belgique.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905