Back - List of Pavilions

Military Art -

Military Art at the Exhibition Expo Liege 1905

ARTILLERY ARMAMENT AND EQUIPMENT
CLASS 120

We have said elsewhere the formidable and powerful aspect that this stand presented, with its long guns, its squat howitzers, its field guns, its thick armour plates pierced through by shells, or still keeping these in their flanks with the metal of which they formed a body.

The Fonderie Royale de Canons, of Liège, exhibited firearms, carriages, limbers, platforms, war projectiles and sectioned projectiles to show their inner aspect. This foundry, which makes and repairs firearms and projectiles, as well as gun carriages and other metal objects used in artillery, also has a technical department which deals with all matters relating to the electrical service of fortified works.

Special courses are organised for the training of driver-mechanics-electricians who will be responsible for the electrical installations of the battleship forts.

Each year, a certain number of soldiers from the fortress artillery are trained here to carry out the ordinary work of repairing the equipment.

The Société anonyme John Cockerill, in Seraing, placed its products alongside those of this official establishment. Since 1888, this company has been manufacturing artillery pieces for which, until that date, it had supplied the steel to foreign factories.

Special care is required for the manufacture of this material. Instead of being forged with a sledgehammer, the steel blocks are forged with a hydraulic press developing a force of 2,000 tons. The steel for some parts of the gun is tempered in shafts containing 24,000 litres of peanut oil. The equipment manufactured was tested in a firing range set up for this purpose in the Kempen.

The Cockerill Company grouped in its stand :
A 120m/m howitzer; a 120m/m naval gun; a 120m/m cupola howitzer; a 750m/m long recoil field gun; a 57m/m caponier gun with caponier simulacrum; butchers to protect sappers working in the trenches from firearms; fire-tested armour plates; 150m/m and 75m/m gun closures; and a number of samples of war projectiles and ammunition.

Weapons of war were presented by the Manufacture d'Armes de l'Etat, in Liège, and by some establishments of Liège, in particular by the Fabrique Nationale d'Armes de Guerre, in Herstal near Liège.

This last establishment, whose buildings occupy an area of more than four hectares and which is equipped with an electric driving force of 1,800 HP, has manufactured, since its foundation, in 1889, considerable quantities of rifles and repeating carbines of various calibres of the Mauser system, intended for the Belgian army and several other governments.

Extending its field of action, it has especially applied itself in recent times to the special manufacture of a five-shot automatic shotgun and a seven-shot automatic pistol, Browning system, adopted by the Belgian Army and by foreign armies.

These weapons were displayed in the luxurious stand that the Fabrique Nationale had erected in the compartment of group XIX.

A certain number of arms manufacturers in Liège also engaged in the manufacture of weapons of war such as the Martiny and the Mauser. The Pieper establishments, the Aug. Francotte et Cie company, the Manufacture Liégeoise d'Armes à feu,
Messrs Nagant frères exhibited firearms of this kind.

The materials to load all these weapons are manufactured in special workshops in the country.

The Antwerp School of Pyrotechnics, responsible for the production of ammunition for small arms and firearms, as well as various fireworks used in the artillery, had its stand in this compartment. One saw that a special laboratory is installed there for the examination and the analysis of the raw materials to be used in the various services of the artillery as well as the powders of war coming from the private industry, that theoretical and practical courses on the manufacture of the fireworks, with the use of the non-commissioned officers of artillery are organized there annually, in addition, that a course of physics and chemistry is given to the non-commissioned officers, as well as to the officer candidates.

Manufacturers of explosives not belonging to the Army were also exhibiting there. Among these, we will mention the company E. Ghinijonet et Cie, of Ougrée, the Poudrerie royale Cooppal et Cie, of Wetteren, the Société anonyme des Explosifs de Clermont, in Liège.

It remains to mention, in class 120, the applications of phosphorous bronze to powder tools presented by the Société anonyme des Fonderies et Tréfilerie de Bronze phosphoreux, in Anderlecht lez-Bruxelles; the different types of targets with automatic warning by Lieutenant René Bréwer, of Brussels; the mechanism of a repeating rifle, the rapid-fire pistol, the ammunition launcher for pontoon boats and the navy of Sergeant Major Amand Hanquart, of Mous; the level gantry of Captain Jules Swarts, of Louvain, and finally, the magnificent collection formed by Second Lieutenant Count Robert de Ribeaucourt, of Brussels, a collection including all the weapons and equipment successively in use in the Belgian armies, as well as a series of weapons dating from the First Empire.


MILITARY ENGINEERING AND RELATED SERVICES
CLASS 121

The contents of this class consisted, for the most part, of very interesting exhibits organised by the special Military Engineering Companies.

The Compagnie du Chemin de Fer exhibited panels showing the small and large equipment of the track, and the diagram of a circuit, with automatic circuit breaker, for the destruction of trains in motion. This device, devised by Colonel Simonis of the Engineers, consists of two closers placed under the sleepers of the track at a distance equal to the length of the train to be blown up. It is absolutely necessary that two wagons of the train operate the devices at the same time so that the charges placed in the axis of the track explode.

The Compagnie des Pontonniers was represented by loaded haquets and spans of bridge construction.

In the stand of the Compagnie des Télégraphistes were
1° A photo-electric crew, Bréguet system, with remote control and all the equipment of the factory cart and the projector cart;
2° two telegraph and telephone field stations, connected by a short line of field cable;
3° a military telegraph and telephone station;
4° the collection of vibratory apparatus used by the Company;
5° a field micro-telephone set;
6° a talking Morse code set;
7° a telephone set for outpost lines;
8° a collection of the various telephones used by the Company;
9° two Ljungmann microtelephones;
10° a Blackburn portable bridge for resistivity measurements;
11° a differential galvanometer for the search for faults on telegraph lines and for checking the batteries
12° the various devices for optical telegraphy;
13° a range of tools used by the Compagnie de Télégraphistes for the construction of telegraphic and telephone lines in the field.

The Compagnie des aérostiers exhibited a captive suspension of the Renard system, with a fully equipped gondola. Next to it was a compressed gas car, a model of a test bench for testing ropes and fabrics, a typical yellow copper propeller giving, with its 400 revolutions per minute, a pulling force in the direction of its axis of about 80 kilograms. Photographs representing free or captured ascents made by balloon officers completed the exhibition of this company.

Albums showing the construction plans of various army buildings made up the exhibition of the Directorate General of Engineering at the Ministry of War.

Finally, the displays of the Régiment du Génie and the Régiment des Carabiniers included, on the one hand, tool kits, a gantry made up of engineering materials, mine equipment and a breathing apparatus, and on the other hand, bicycles used by the cycling companies and equipment for field repairs.

Class 121 still had some exhibitors. These were Messrs Ghinijonet et Cie, with ammunition from the Engineers; Sergeant Major Amand Hanquart presenting, in reduction, a model of a portable field bridge, signals for railways, an optical telegraphy apparatus, a pocket typewriter, etc.

Photographs of domes formed the exhibition of the Société anonyme des Ateliers de construction de la Meuse, in Sclessin lez-Liége.


MARINE ENGINEERING - HYDRAULIC WORKS - TORPEDOES
CLASS 122

The most important stand in this class was that of the Compagnie des Torpilleurs et Artificiers, where electrical firing, diving and submarine defence equipment were displayed. The curiosity of the public was especially attracted by a Whitehead torpedo model 1890, with a diameter of 38 centimetres and a length of 5 metres 75. It consists of a steel tube in the shape of a very long cigar. The charge of fulmi-cotton is contained in the front point; at the back, there is compressed air at 90 atmospheres whose force, regularly distended, actuates a propeller which governs the torpedo. The body of the torpedo still contains a charge of cotton powder.

Next to the torpedo was a set of underwater mining equipment, including a spherical steel container for an electrically powered mine capable of holding 100 pounds of explosives. A Mathieson circuit breaker, a special anchor to hold this device in place, a warning and firing device, and a complete diving device were also on display by the Torpedo Boat Company.

Various models of watertight containers for explosive charges and an assortment of devices for electrically fired mines made up the exhibition of the Artificer Company.

Among the exhibitors in class 122 were the explosives factory Ghinijonet et Cie, from Ougrée, the Société Royale des Sauveteurs de Belgique, Sergeant Major Amand Hanquart, from Mons. The latter presented a model of a lifeboat.


CARTOGRAPHY - HYDROGRAPHY - VARIOUS INSTRUMENTS
CLASS 123

The exhibition of the Military Cartographic Institute of the Ministry of War particularly highlighted this class.

One could find there, either complete or intelligently sectioned, the splendid maps edited so carefully by this institute. These were André Dumont's geological map of the subsoil at 1:160,000, the map of Antwerp at 1:5,000, the map of the fortress of Liège at 1:40,000, the geographical map at 1:40,000, the official geological map at 1:40,000, the staff maps at 1:160,000, 1:20,000, 1:100,000, etc.

Alongside these maps were some of the engraved plates used to draw them.

A few scientific works and a few documents of very different kinds enhanced the appeal of class 123. The technical works of the artillery captain Auguste Collon, the book "Les Grenadiers" by second lieutenant Dehaene were remarkable.

The Ecole des Cadets de Namur, a school reserved for non-commissioned officers, was represented by photographic views of the establishments and by various documents, including mannequins dressed in the cadets' uniform. Tables and documents relating to teaching and various services constituted the participation in this class of the Ecole des Pupilles de l'Armée in Aalst and the Ecole normale de Gymnastique et d'Escrime in Etterbeek.


ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
CLASS 124

The programme of this class was restricted to objects capable of being put before the public eye, objects forming only a small part of the complicated administrative services of the army.

The Minister of War exhibited a non-commissioned officer's bed and a camp bed, a batch of canned goods, various containers, etc.

The farriery courses of the Riding School in Ypres were represented by the main fitting systems taught at the school.

In the same category, the farrier François Cambier, in Bruges, had assembled a fine collection of horseshoes.

Among the new types of objects, admitted by the administrative services of the army or whose use is proposed, we will quote a trumpet for the cavalry imagined by the Ghent music director Théophile Coutelier; the inexplosive Liège stoves of M. François Gayet, master gunsmith in Liers; the skates facilitating the march, of sergeant major Amand Hanquart; the removable harbour-bag, the water-bag of captain Camille Lalieu and of the master-worker sergeant Charles Van der Vliet, in Bruges; a system of carrying the rifle for the cavalry and a system of automatic bars of stables of marshal of the logis Cyrille Van Zandycke, in Beveren-Waes.

Class 124 was completed by the showcases of some army suppliers. Mr. Richard de Rooster, in Brussels, exhibited the brassware of military ornaments, a batch of court swords and bladed weapons; Messrs. Fonson et Cie, Adolphe Fontaine, in Brussels, presented a very beautiful collection of military equipment; the Société anonyme des chapeaux, in Ruysbroeck lez-Bruxelles, showed military headgear manufactured in its workshops; Messrs. Rocher et Cie, in Brussels, exhibited the mechanical ovens and kneading machines used in the Army.


HYGIENE AND SANITARY EQUIPMENT
CLASS 125

This class was represented by few exhibitors. After the reduced models of an ambulance and a stretcher, exhibited by Sergeant Major Amand Hanquart and the apparatus for filtering contaminated water of Mr. Thomas Neuray, in Liège, it remained to examine only the stands of the Belgian Red Cross and the Army Health Service.

The Red Cross, that admirable international society which deals with the care of the wounded on the battlefield, was represented by a hospital barrack, a car for the medical-surgical service, two ambulance cars, one of the Mullier system, the other of the Lohner system, a stretcher on single wheels, an ambulance bag, a first aid box, an amputation and resection box, and a field kit.

The Army Health Service exhibited a regimental medical car, ambulance bag and saddlebags, stretcher bearer's medical equipment, amputation case, resection case, field kit model 1895.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Art Militaire


Art Militaire à l'exposition de Liège 1905

ARMEMENT ET MATERIEL DE L'ARTILLERIE
CLASSE 120

Nous avons dit autre part l'aspect redoutable et puissant que présentait ce stand, avec ses longs canons braqués, ses obusiers trapus, ses canons de campagne, ses épaisses plaques de blindage percées de part en part par des obus, ou gardant encore ceux-ci dans leurs flancs avec le métal duquel ils formaient corps.

La Fonderie Royale de Canons, de Liège, y exposait des bouches à feu, des affûts, des avant-trains, des plates-formes, des projectiles de guerre et des projectiles sectionnés afin de montrer leur aspect intérieur. Cette fonderie, qui confectionne et répare les bouches à feu et les projectiles, ainsi que les affûts et autres objets métalliques en usage dans l'artillerie, possède encore un service technique qui s'occupe de toutes les questions relatives au service électrique des ouvrages fortifiés.

Des cours spéciaux y sont organisés en vue de la formation des chauffeurs-mécaniciens-électriciens appelés à desservir les installations électriques des forts cuirassés.

Chaque année, on y dresse un certain nombre de militaires de l'artillerie de forteresse à exécuter les travaux ordinaires de la réparation du matériel.

La Société anonyme John Cockerill, à Seraing, rangeait ses produits à côté de ceux de cet établissement officiel. Depuis 1888, cette société fabrique les pièces d'artillerie pour lesquelles, jusqu'à cette date, elle avait fourni les aciers à des usines étrangères.

Des soins spéciaux sont requis pour la confection de ce matériel. Les blocs d'acier, au lieu d'être forgés au marteau-pilon, le sont au moyen d'une presse hydraulique développant une force de 2.000 tonnes. La trempe de l'acier de certaines parties du canon s'effectue dans des puits contenant 24.000 litres d'huile d'arachide. Le matériel fabriqué est expérimenté dans un champ de tir aménagé à cet effet en Campine.

La Société Cockerill groupait dans son stand :
Un obusier de 120 m/m; un canon de marine de 120 m/m; un obusier de coupole de 120 m/m; un canon de campagne de 750 m/m à long recul; un canon de caponnière de 57 m/m avec simulacre caponnière; des bouchers destinés à protéger de l'atteinte des armes à feu les sapeurs travaillant dans les tranchées; des plaques de blindage éprouvées au tir; des fermetures de canons de 150 et de 75 m/m; enfin, un certain nombre d'échantillons de projectiles et de munitions de guerre.

Des armes de guerre étaient présentées par la Manufacture d'Armes de l'Etat, à Liège, et par quelques établissements liégeois, notamment par la Fabrique Nationale d'Armes de Guerre, à Herstal près Liège.

Ce dernier établissement, dont les bâtiments occupent une superficie de plus de quatre hectares et qui est doté d'une force motrice électrique de 1.800 HP, a fabriqué, depuis sa fondation, en 1889, des quantités considérables de fusils et de carabines à répétition de divers calibres du système Mauser, destinés à l'armée belge et à plusieurs autres gouvernements.

Etendant son champ d'action, elle s'est surtout appliquée en ces derniers temps à la fabrication spéciale d'un fusil de chasse automatique à cinq coups et d'un pistolet automatique, à sept coups, système Browning, adopté par l'Armée belge et par des armées étrangères.

Ces armes étaient exposées dans le luxueux stand que la Fabrique Nationale avait érigé dans le compartiment du groupe XIX.

Un certain nombre d'armuriers liégeois se livrent également à la fabrication des armes de guerre tels que les Martiny et les Mauser. Les établissements Pieper, la Maison Aug. Francotte et Cie, la Manufacture Liégeoise d'Armes à feu,
MM. Nagant frères exposaient des armes à feu de ce genre.

Les matières à charger toutes ces armes se fabriquent dans des ateliers spéciaux du pays.

L'Ecole de Pyrotechnie d'Anvers, chargée de la confection des munitions pour armes à feu portatives et pour bouches à feu, ainsi que des artifices divers en usage dans l'artillerie, avait son stand dans ce compartiment. On y voyait qu'un laboratoire spécial y est installé pour l'examen et l'analyse des matières premières à mettre en oeuvre dans les différents services de l'artillerie ainsi que des poudres de guerre provenant de l'industrie privée, que des cours théoriques et pratiques sur la confection des artifices, à l'usage des sous-officiers d'artillerie y sont organisés annuellement, en outre, qu'un cours de physique et de chimie y est donné aux sous-officiers, ainsi qu'aux candidats officiers.

Exposaient là aussi les fabricants d'explosifs n'appartenant pas à l'Armée. Parmi ceux-ci, nous citerons la maison E. Ghinijonet et Cie, d'Ougrée, la Poudrerie royale Cooppal et Cie, de Wetteren, la Société anonyme des Explosifs de Clermont, à Liège.

Il nous reste à signaler, dans la classe 120, les applications du bronze phosphoreux aux outils de poudrerie présentés par la Société anonyme des Fonderies et Tréfilerie de Bronze phosphoreux, à Anderlecht lez-Bruxelles; les différents types de cibles à avertisseur automatique du lieutenant adjoint d'état-major René Bréwer, de Bruxelles; le mécanisme d'un fusil à répétition, le pistolet à tir rapide, le lance-amarres pour pontonniers et la marine du sergent-major Amand Hanquart, de Mous ; le haussecourbe à niveau du capitaine Jules Swarts, de Louvain, enfin, la magnifique collection formée par le sous-lieutenant comte Robert de Ribeaucourt, à Bruxelles, collection comprenant toutes les armes et les équipements successivement en usage dans les armées belges, ainsi qu'une série d'armes datant du Premier Empire.


GÉNIE MILITAIRE ET SERVICES Y RESSORTISSANT
CLASSE 121

Le contenu de cette classe se composait, en majeure partie, d'expositions très intéressantes, organisées par les Compagnies spéciales du Génie militaire.

La Compagnie du Chemin de Fer exposait des panneaux réunissant le petit et le gros matériel de la voie, et le schéma d'un circuit, avec ferme-circuit automatique, pour la destruction des trains en marche. Ce dispositif, imaginé par le colonel du Génie Simonis, comprend deux ferme-circuits placés sous les traverses de la voie à une distance égale à la longueur du train que l'on veut faire sauter. Il faut absolument que deux wagons du train fassent fonctionner les appareils en même temps pour que les charges placées dans l'axe de la voie éclatent.

La Compagnie des pontonniers était représentée par des haquets chargés et par des travées de pont construit.

Dans le stand de la Compagnie des Télégraphistes figuraient:
1° Un équipage photo-électrique, système Bréguet, avec commande à distance et tout le matériel du chariot usine et du chariot projecteur;
2° deux postes télégraphiques et téléphoniques de campagne, reliés par une courte ligne de câble de campagne;
3° un poste militaire télégraphique et téléphonique de place ;
4° la collection des appareils vibratoires utilisés par la Compagnie;
5° un poste micro-téléphonique de campagne;
6° un poste Morse parlant;
7° un poste téléphonique pour lignes d'avant-postes;
8° une collection des différents téléphones employés par la Compagnie;
9° deux postes microtéléphoniques Ljungmann;
10° pont portatif de Blackburn pour les mesures de résisstance;
11° un galvanomètre différentiel pour la recherche des dérangements sur les lignes télégraphiques et pour la vérification des batteries de pile;
12° les divers engins de la télégraphie optique;
13° une panoplie des outils employés par la Compagnie de Télégraphistes pour la construction de lignes télégraphiques et téléphoniques de place ou de campagne.

La Compagnie des aérostiers exposait une suspension captive du système Renard, avec une nacelle complètement équipée. Auprès, se trouvaient une voiture à gaz comprimé, un modèle de banc d'épreuve pour l'essai des cordes et des étoffes, une hélice type en cuivre jaune donnant par ses 400 tours à la minute un effort de traction dans le sens de son axe d'environ 80 kilogrammes. Des photographies représentant des ascensions libres ou captées effectuées par des officiers aérostiers terminaient l'exposition de cette compagnie.

Des albums donnant les plans de construction de divers bâtiments de l'armée constituaient l'exposition de la Direction générale du Génie au Ministère de la Guerre.

Enfin, les participations du Régiment du Génie et du Régiment des Carabiniers comportaient, l'une des panoplies d'outils, un portique formé de matériaux du Génie, matériel de mine et un appareil respiratoire, l'autre, les vélos en usage dans les compagnies cyclistes et le matériel pour les réparations en campagne.

La classe 121 comportait encore quelques exposants. C'étaient MM. Ghinijonet et Cie, avec des munitions du Génie; le sergent major Amand Hanquart présentant, en réduction, un modèle de pont portatif de campagne, des signaux pour chemins de fer, un appareil de télégraphie optique, une machine à écrire de poche, etc.

Des photographies de coupoles formaient l'exposition de la Société anonyme des Ateliers de construction de la Meuse, à Sclessin lez-Liége.


GÉNIE MARITIME - TRAVAUX HYDRAULIQUES - TORPILLES
CLASSE 122

Le stand le plus important de cette classe était celui de la Compagnie des Torpilleurs et Artificiers où figuraient les matériels de mise à feu électrique, de plonge et de défense sous-marines. La curiosité du public était surtout attirée par une torpille Whitehead modèle 1890, ayant un diamètre de 38 centimètres et une longueur de 5 mètres 75. Celle-ci se compose d'un tube en tôle d'acier de la forme d'un cigare très allongé. La charge de fulmi-coton est contenue dans la pointe d'avant; à l'arrière, se trouve de l'air comprimé à 90 atmosphères dont la force, régulièrement distendue, actionne une hélice qui gouverne la torpille. Le corps de celle-ci contient encore une charge de poudre-coton.

Auprès de cette torpille, se trouvait un matériel de mines sous-marines comprenant notamment un récipient sphérique en acier pour mine vigilante électrique capable de contenir 100 livres anglaises d'explosifs. Un ferme-circuit Mathieson, une ancre spéciale destinée à maintenir cet engin en place, un appareil d'avertissement et de mise à feu, un appareil de plonge complète étaient également exposés par la Compagnie des Torpilleurs.

Divers modèles de récipients étanches pour charges explosives et un assortiment d'appareils pour mines à feu électrique constituaient l'exposition de la Compagnie des Artificiers.

La classe 122 comptait encore, parmi ses exposants, la fabrique d'explosifs Ghinijonet et Cie, d'Ougrée, la Société Royale des Sauveteurs de Belgique, le sergent-major Amand Hanquart, de Mons. Ce dernier présentait un modèle de barque de sauvetage.


CARTOGRAPHIE - HYDROGRAPHIE - INSTRUMENTS DIVERS
CLASSE 123

L'exposition de l'Institut cartographique militaire ressortissant du Ministère de la Guerre signalait particulièrement cette classe.

On y trouvait, soit entières, soit sectionnées intelligemment, les splendides cartes éditées si soigneusement par cet institut. C'étaient la carte géologique du sous-sol d'André Dumont au 1/160.000, le plan d'Anvers au 1/5.000, le plan de la forteresse de Liège au 1/40.000, la carte géographique au 1/40.000, la carte géologique officielle au 1/40.000, les cartes d'Etat-Major au 1/160.000, au 1/20.000, au 1/100.000 en voie d'exécution, etc.

A côté de ces cartes, se trouvaient quelques-unes des plaques gravées ayant servi à les tirer.

Quelques ouvrages scientifiques, quelques documents de natures très diverses contribuaient à rehausser l'attrait de la classe 123. On y remarquait les ouvrages techniques du capitaine d'artillerie adjoint d'état-major Auguste Collon, le livre « Les Grenadiers » du sous-lieutenant Dehaene.

L'Ecole des Cadets de Namur, école réservée aux sous-officiers, était représentée par des vues photographiques des établissements et par différents documents, parmi lesquels des mannequins habillés de l'uniforme des cadets. Des tableaux et des documents relatifs à l'enseignement et à divers services constituaient la participation dans cette classe de l'Ecole des Pupilles de l'Armée à Alost et de l'Ecole normale de Gymnastique et d'Escrime à Etterbeek.


SERVICES ADMINISTRATIFS
CLASSE 124

Le programme de cette classe se restreignait surtout aux objets capables d'être mis sous les yeux du public, objets ne formant qu'une minime partie des services administratifs, si compliqués de l'armée.

Le Ministre de la Guerre exposait un lit de sous-officier et un lit de campement, un lot de conserves, de récipients divers, etc.

Les cours de maréchalerie de l'Ecole d'équitation à Ypres étaient représentés par les principaux systèmes de ferrure enseignés à l'école.

Dans la même catégorie, le maréchal des logis maréchal-ferrant François Cambier, à Bruges, avait réuni une belle collection de fers à cheval.

Parmi les nouveaux types d'objets, admis par les services administratifs de l'armée ou dont l'emploi est proposé, nous citerons une trompette pour la cavalerie imaginée par le chef de musique gantois Théophile Coutelier; les réchauds liégeois inexplosibles de M. François Gayet, maître-armurier à Liers; les patins facilitant la marche, du sergent major Amand Hanquart; le havre-sac démontable, la besace porte-gourde du capitaine Camille Lalieu et du sergent maître-ouvrier Charles Van der Vliet, à Bruges; un système de port de la carabine pour la cavalerie et un système de barres d'écuries automatiques du maréchal des logis Cyrille Van Zandycke, à Beveren-Waes.

La classe 124 se complétait par les vitrines de quelques fournisseurs de l'Armée. M. Richard de Rooster, à Bruxelles, exposait la cuivrerie des ornements militaires, un lot d'épées de cour et d'armes blanches; MM. Fonson et Cie, Adolphe Fontaine, à Bruxelles, présentaient une collection très belle d'équipements militaires; la Société anonyme des chapeaux, à Ruysbroeck lez-Bruxelles, montrait les coiffures militaires fabriquées dans ses ateliers; MM. Rocher et Cie, à Bruxelles, exposaient les fours et les pétrins mécaniques en usage dans l'Armée.


HYGIÈNE ET MATERIEL SANITAIRE
CLASSE 125

Cette classe était représentée par peu d'exposants. Après les modèles en réduction d'une ambulance et d'un brancard, exposés par le sergent-major Amand Hanquart et les appareils à filtrer les eaux contaminées de M. Thomas Neuray, à Liège, il ne restait à examiner que les stands de la Croix Rouge de Belgique et du Service de Santé de l'Armée.

La Croix Rouge, cette admirable société internationale qui s'occupe des soins à donner aux blessés sur les champs de bataille, était représentée par une baraque-hôpital, une voiture pour le service médico-chirurgical, deux voitures d'ambulance, l'une du système Mullier, l'autre du système Lohner, un brancard sur roues simples, un sac d'ambulance, une caisse de secours, une caisse à amputations et résections, une trousse de campagne.

Le Service de Santé de l'Armée exposait une voiture médicale régimentaire, le sac et les sacoches d'ambulance, un équipement sanitaire de brancardier, une caisse à amputation, une caisse à résections, une trousse de campagne modèle 1895.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905