Back - List of Pavilions

Land and Sea Armies -

Land and Sea Armies at the Exhibition Expo Liege 1905

This group included everything related to the Army and Navy: armament, military and maritime construction, hydraulic works, torpedoes, cartography, hydrography, clothing, equipment, administrative services, hygiene and sanitary material.

With most Army and Navy suppliers exhibiting their products in their industrial classes, there were only a few very special exhibitors in this group. Twenty-six exhibitors occupied 222 square metres, 72 of which were housed in a large tent that housed the hospital services. This tent, set up on a special site in the gardens, contained the exhibits of the societies providing assistance to the wounded (Dames françaises and Union des Dames de France).

The Compagnie des Forges et Aciéries de la Marine et d'Homécourt, whose important artillery equipment was detached in the Belgian International Military Pavilion as a result of its status as supplier to the Belgian Ministry of War, should be considered as belonging to this group.

In its task, the artillery jury came up against an insurmountable difficulty.

Having to judge the merits of the material presented by the above-mentioned Company, better known under the name of Société de Saint-Chamond, as well as by various other companies of the first importance, such as Krupp, Cockerill, the Belgian artillery manufacturing establishments, it could not attribute to any of them a particular rating, merit, in artillery, being established only after very long experiments and not very easy to practise in the halls of a World's Fair. The jury therefore confined itself to appreciating the overall interest of the exhibition of the above-mentioned establishments and was thus led to propose the attribution to each of them of a grand prize diploma.

Class 120, the first of the group, dealt with artillery armament and equipment.

This compartment, which grouped the artillery equipment, had an appearance which did not fail to arouse a sort of instinctive emotion, made all the more fascinating by the terrible war whose end almost coincided with the end of the World's Fair.

Ordinary weapons, rifles, pistols, revolvers, fine, polished, light, do not reveal by this aspect the power they confer on the owner. The artillery equipment, on the other hand, by its massive, gigantic forms, gives a good idea of its strength, of the power of destruction it contains. The visitor had an instinctive fear to pass in front of these cannon's mouths, pointed at him, and blowing in his face the blackness of their "soul".

France was represented, in this order of products, by two exhibitors.

The Compagnie des Forges et Aciéries de la Marine et d'Homécourt had assembled on its stand artillery equipment of 12 inches, 24 centimetres, 10 1/2 centimetres, 75 and 70 millimetres. One could also find 12-inch gun parts, trunnion hoops for calibres from 80 millimetres to 28 millimetres, various projectiles, shells, cannonballs, small arms, spare parts, springs and cast steel.

The most diverse ammunition for weapons of war of all systems and all countries formed the exhibition of the French Society of Ammunition for hunting, shooting and war. One could find ammunition for firearms, ordinary cast iron shells or bullet shells, grape-shot boxes, ammunition for rapid-fire cannons, percussion fuses, Budin system, Nordenfelt, etc., with time and double effect.

Gargousses, black powder and smokeless bags, friction pins, central percussion shutters, electric shutters and electric tension shutters, of French and foreign models, completed this formidable exhibition.

The Compagnie des Forges et Aciéries de la Marine et d'Homécourt took part in the next class, to which the military engineering and related services belonged.

This company exhibited a sheet metal disc and armour plates, made of special metal, of a respectable thickness and in which, however, shells had been lodged, some of which were embedded in the metal of the armour.

M. Farcot fils, from Plaine-Saint-Denis (Seine), presented special devices intended to ensure the ventilation of the cupolas.
Class 122, whose programme included maritime engineering, hydraulic works and torpedoes, had six exhibitors.
They were Messrs. Barbier, Bénard and Turenne from Paris, with projectors and various photographs of similar devices, the Compagnie des Forges et Aciéries de la Marine and from Homécourt with a sheet metal disc, a cast steel foundation plate for marine machinery, steel armouring, bent shafts and tanks for torpedoes; the Elwell establishments of Plaine-Saint-Denis (Seine), with machine tools, high- and low-pressure air compressors, submarine stations, 37 to 305 millimetre rupture projectiles, carriages, track fixtures; MM. Garnier, Courtaud et Cie with photographs of propellers, rudders, and various bronze Roma parts made for the French navy; MM. Grille et Cie of Paris, with drawings and photographs of marine boilers; and finally the Société Anonyme du Temple, of Cherbourg, with photographs of boilers.

In contrast to the first three classes of the group, the last three were quite harmless in appearance; the last one was essentially humanitarian.

The first of these grouped books, maps and various instruments used by the army, such as glasses, binoculars, sights, etc., exhibited by Mr. Krauss of Paris. Many publications, brochures, maps, were presented by Messrs Berger-Levrault et Cie of Paris, Chapelot et Cie of Paris, Charles Lavauzelle of Limoges.

The penultimate class, entitled: "Administrative Services", showed us some costumes, some military clothing effects. These included gold, silver and silk embroidery motifs for uniforms by Mr Borrel of Paris, small military equipment, a room interior scene, helmets and cork headdresses for the colonies by Mr Jules Chautard of Paris, large military equipment, headdress accessories, numerous items of embroidery, buttons and military sheets by Mr Hubert de Vautier et fils of Paris.

The last class dealt with army hygiene and sanitary equipment used in wartime. It is fortunate that some of the objects in this class were far removed from the devices of destruction, as they would have added to the horror of it.

There were dental and surgical perforators, self-massagers and ventilators by Mr. Bercut of Paris, surgical instruments and rubber and gum bandages by Mr. Rondeau-Plisson of Paris, surgical instruments by Messrs. Simal, Wûlfing-Süer, both of Paris.

The Société des Dames françaises, a society whose aim is to give relief to the wounded, was also part of this class. It had erected a vast tent on the quay beside the Meuse, near "Vieux-Liège", where there was a complete hospital and ambulance equipment.

The description of Group XIX began with an enumeration of the machines of devastation and death; we are pleased to end it by mentioning this association with a highly charitable and profoundly humanitarian aim.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Armées de Terre et de Mer


Armées de Terre et de Mer à l'exposition de Liège 1905

Ce groupe comprenait tout ce qui touche à l'Armée et à la Marine: l'armement, les constructions militaires et maritimes, les travaux hydrauliques, les torpilles, la cartographie, l'hydrographie, l'habillement, l'équipement, les services administratifs, l'hygiène et le matériel sanitaire.

La plupart des fournisseurs de l'Armée et de la Marine exposant leurs produitS( dans leurs classes industrielles, ce groupe ne comportait qu'un petit nombre d'exposants très spéciaux. Vingt-six exposants occupaient 222 mètres carrés, dont 72 sous une vaste tente qui abritait les services hospitaliers. Cette tente, installée sur un emplacement spécial dans les jardins, renfermait les expositions des sociétés de secours aux blessés (Dames françaises et Union des Dames de France).

Il convenait de considérer, comme appartenant à ce groupe, la Compagnie des Forges et Aciéries de la Marine et d'Homécourt, dont l'important matériel d'artillerie était détaché dans le Pavillon international militaire belge par suite de sa qualité de fournisseur du Ministère de la Guerre de Belgique.

Dans sa tâche, le jury de l'artillerie se heurta à une difficulté insurmontable.

Ayant à juger des mérites du matériel présenté par la Compagnie susnommée, plus connue sous le nom de Société de Saint-Chamond, ainsi que par diverses autres sociétés de première importance, telles que Krupp, Cockerill, les établissements de fabrication de l'artillerie belge, il ne put attribuer à l'une d'entre elles une cote parti- culière, le mérite, en artillerie, ne s'établissant qu'après des expériences très longues et peu aisées à pratiquer dans les halls d'une World's Fair. Le jury se borna donc à apprécier l'intérêt d'ensemble de l'exposition des établissements susdits et fut ainsi amené à proposer l'attribution à chacun d'eux d'un diplôme de grand prix.

La classe 120, la première du groupe, avait trait à l'armement et au matériel de l'artillerie.

Ce compartiment, qui groupait le matériel d'artillerie, avait un aspect qui ne laissait de susciter une sorte d'émoi instinctif, que rendait plus prenant encore la terrible guerre dont la fin coïncida presque avec la fin de la World's Fair.

Les armes ordinaires, fusils, pistolets, revolvers, fines, polies, légères, ne révèlent pas par cet aspect la puissance qu'elles confèrent à celui qui les possèdent. Le matériel d'artillerie, au contraire, par ses formes massives, gigantesques, donne bien une idée de sa force, de la puissance de destruction qu'il contient. Le visiteur avait une crainte instinctive à passer devant ces gueules de canon, braquées sur lui, et lui soufflant à la face le noir de leur « âme ».

La France avait été représentée, dans cet ordre de produits, par deux exposants.

La Compagnie des Forges et Aciéries de la Marine et d'Homécourt avait réuni en son stand des matériels d'artillerie de 12 pouces, de 24 centimètres, de 10 1/2 centi- mètres, de 75 et de 70 millimètres. On y trouvait encore des éléments de canon de 12 pouces, des frettes à tourillons pour calibres de 80 millimètres à 28 millimètres, des projectiles divers, obus, boulets de canon, des armes portatives, des pièces détachées, des ressorts et des aciers moulés.

Les munitions les plus diverses pour les armes de guerre de tous systèmes et de tous pays formaient l'exposition de la Société française des Munitions de chasse, de tir et de guerre. On y trouvait des munitions pour bouches à feu, des obus en fonte ordinaires ou à balles, des boîtes à mitraille, des munitions pour canons à tir rapide, des fusées percutantes, système Budin, Nordenfelt, etc., à temps et à double effet.

Des gargousses, des sachets à poudre noire et sans fumée, des étoupilles à friction, des obturatrices à percussion centrale, des obturatrices électriques et des obturatrices électriques de tension, de modèles français et étrangers, complétaient cette exposition formidable.

La Compagnie des Forges et Aciéries de la Marine et d'Homécourt participait encore à la classe suivante, à laquelle se rattachaient le génie militaire et les services y ressortissant.

Cette société exposait un disque en tôle et des plaques de blindage, en métal spécial, d'une épaisseur respectable et dans lesquelles s'étaient cependant logés des obus, dont quelques-uns faisaient corps avec le métal du blindage.

M. Farcot fils, de Plaine-Saint-Denis (Seine), présentait des appareils spéciaux destinés à assurer la ventilation des coupoles.
La classe 122, dont le programme comprenait le génie maritime, les travaux hydrauliques, les torpilles, avait réuni six exposants.
C'étaient MM. Barbier, Bénard et Turenne de Paris, avec des projecteurs et diverses photographies d'appareils semblables, la Compagnie des Forges et Aciéries de la Marine et d'Homécourt avec un disque en tôle, une plaque de fondation en acier moulé pour machine marine, des blindages en acier, des arbres coudés et des réservoirs pour torpilles; les établissements Elwell de Plaine-Saint-Denis (Seine), avec des machines- outils, des compresseurs d'air à haute et basse pression, des stations de sous-marins, des projectiles de rupture de 37 à 305 millimètres, des affûts, des appareils de voie; MM. Garnier, Courtaud et Cie avec des photographies d'hélices, des gouvernails, des pièces diverses en bronze Roma exécutées pour la marine française; MM. Grille et Cie de Paris, avec des dessins et des photographies de chaudières marines; enfin la Société Anonyme du Temple, de Cherbourg, avec des photographies de chaudières.

A rencontre des trois premières classes du groupe, les trois dernières avaient un aspect assez inoffensif; la dernière même était essentiellement humanitaire.

La première d'entr'elles groupait les livres, les cartes et les divers instruments utilisés par l'armée, tels les lunettes, les jumelles, les viseurs, etc., exposés par M. Krauss de Paris. Pas mal de publications, de brochures, de cartes, s'y trouvaient présentées par MM. Berger-Levrault et Cie de Paris, Chapelot et Cie de Paris, Charles Lavauzelle de Limoges.

L'avant-dernière classe, intitulée : « Services administratifs », nous montrait quelques costumes, quelques effets d'habillement militaires. C'étaient les motifs en broderie d'or, d'argent et de soie pour uniformes, de M. Borrel de Paris, les effets de petit équipement militaire, une scène d'intérieur de chambrée, les casques et les coiffures en liège pour les colonies de M. Jules Chautard de Paris, les vêtements de grand équipement militaire, les accessoires de coiffures, les nombreux articles de bouderie, de broderie, les boutons, les draps militaires de MM. Hubert de Vautier et fils de Paris.

La dernière classe avait trait à l'hygiène de l'armée et au matériel sanitaire, utilisé en temps de guerre. Il est heureux que certains des objets qui en ressortissaient fussent éloignés des engins de destruction, car ils en auraient augmenté singulièrement l'horreur.

On y trouvait des perforateurs dentaires et chirurgicaux, des auto-masseurs et des ventilateurs de M. Bercut de Paris, des instruments de chirurgie et des bandages en gomme et en caoutchouc de M. Rondeau-Plisson de Paris, des instruments de chirurgie de MM. Simal, Wûlfing-Süer, tous deux de Paris.

La Société des Dames françaises, société qui a pour but de donner des secours aux blessés, faisait également partie de cette classe. Elle avait élevé sur le quai qui côtoyait la Meuse, près du « Vieux-Liège », une vaste tente où se trouvait un matériel complet d'hôpital et d'ambulance.

La description du groupe XIX avait débuté par l'énumération d'engins de dévastation et de mort; il nous est agréable de le terminer en signalant cette association au but hautement charitable et profondément humanitaire.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905