Universal and International Exhibition of Liege 1905

75th anniversary of national independence

April 25, 1905 - November 6, 1905


Back - List of Pavilions

Lounges of the City of Paris and the Department of the Seine

manque image

The Special Exhibition of the City of Paris and the Department of the Seine occupied three large rooms in the right wing of the French section of the halls, at one of the main entrances to that section.

Their large windows hugged the bend in the outer gallery of the right front of the halls. This bend in the gallery was delightful; tall palms, with the long fingers of their palms open to the sky, softened the abruptness of the turn, wisteria, curled around the balustrade; beyond, a clump of shrubs, hazel, holly, oak, refreshed the atmosphere and threw a good smell of damp coppice into the hot mist that rose from the dusty gravel. Through the gaps in the foliage appeared bright pieces of the white façade of the Festival Palace. One could have thought one was standing in some shadowy arcade of a Moorish court. The large mirrored windows of the living room reflected the magic of a corner of nature combined with a creation: artificial and yet charming.

The decorative panel of the entrance, as well as the frieze which went round the salons and which represented, in imitation of old velvet, the coat of arms of the City of Paris, and those of the principal guilds of the Parisian trades, had been executed by M. Jambon, according to the drawings of M. Roger Bouvard, with the collaboration of M. Vincent, architect, inspector of the Exhibition of the City of Paris. The first two rooms followed one another in a row; the third formed a right angle with the first two. In the middle of these, elegant showcases helped to reduce the feeling of isolation given by the empty rooms in their centre; in the third, frames fulfilled this function. On the walls, photographs, tables, diagrams and documents of all kinds allowed for a rapid examination. At each corner of the first two rooms, white statues stood, softly veiled with green palms.

A happy silence usually reigned in these rooms, where the sound of footsteps was muffled by the thick carpet on the floor. In this atmosphere conducive to study, one liked to leaf through a few books at length or to examine the suspicious photographs of the anthropometric service, which one lingered to consider with an unconscious terror, made delicious by the reasoned certainty of its perfect security.

The City of Paris and the Department of the Seine could have disseminated the curious elements they grouped here in different classes; as it was understood, the exhibition of these two administrations allowed visitors, thanks to the arrangements adopted, to get a very clear idea of the various services which make up their enormous organism.

The organisation and installation of this Exhibition, which was very judiciously, clearly and completely presented, was mainly due to Mr. J. Bouvard, Director of the Architectural, Promenade and Plantation, Road and Plan Services of Paris, and General Commissioner of the Municipal Festivals and Exhibitions. Mr. Bouvard was assisted by Messrs. R. Falcon, head of the Secretariat of the Directorate of Architecture, Promenades and Plantations, and Roger Bouvard, a government-qualified architect, and delegate for the installations in Liege.

In the first room, a central showcase attracted attention. The Paris City Council was recalled here by voluminous books, luxuriously edited, containing the reports of the festivities organised by the Municipality of Paris on the occasion of some august visits or of events whose magnitude and particular significance were worthy of being highlighted and immortalised by the book for future generations. For example, there was the reception of LL. MM. the Emperor and Empress of Russia, of His Majesty Edward VII, of the learned explorers Nordenskiold and Nansen, the celebrations of Michelet's centenary and above all this grandiose national event on the occasion of Victor Hugo's centenary.

Other celebrations, such as that of Adolescence, inaugurating a new mode of rejoicing, both ancient and modern in beauty, were also recounted.

Alongside these books, glass cases showed the spines of numerous volumes by various authors, exhibited by the Historical Works Department and providing comprehensive information on the general history of Paris and the history of Paris during the Revolution.

Other books and documents, from the Cabinet of the Prefect of the Seine, informed the visitor about the numerous and very rich popular libraries of the great city.

The Fine Arts Department was represented in this room by decorative elements only. But outside, in the gardens opposite the salon, the First Funeral of Barias stood against the green background of a bed, and then, next to the rising path that led to the Fétinne bridge, a Victor Hugo, in flamed sandstone by Georges Bareau, a fragment of the great monument The Vision of the Poet, by the same sculptor, stood out.

But let us return to the salon. The statues we have already mentioned in describing its general appearance and which softened the hardness of the angles of the first two rooms, were La Charmeuse, by Michel Béguine, La Source, by Causse, Lully enfant, by Gaudez, L'Echo des Bois, by Plé, and a delicious evocation of early adolescence full of emotion and freshness. Le Premier Frisson, by Roufosse.

On the walls, engravings and etchings reproduced decorative panels by Gervex, J. P. Laurens, Bonna, Besnard, Puvis de Chavannes, etc. Next to these and on shelves placed against the walls, the Education Department had exhibited many remarkable works by students. There were not only charcoal drawings from nature and from the antique, but also works by students from special schools: application of Fine Arts to industry,

arts and industry of furniture, books, iron and wood.

The second room, to which one had immediate access, was especially rich in documents, manuscripts, diagrams, reproductions, tables, maps, etc.

In the middle, a star-shaped display case showed, on velvet backgrounds, the badges and sashes of the Municipal Councillor of Paris and the General Councillor of the Seine, as well as medals relating to the City and the Department, signed Bottée, Bovy, Chaplain, Degeorge, Dupuis, Lagrange, Levillain, Merly, Prudhomme, Roty, and executed by the Fine Arts Department.

The walls of the first room were covered with documents. Various information was given on the hygiene service and on the service of architecture, promenades and plantations, the road system and the map of Paris. There were plans and views of the main municipal establishments, the main avenues and promenades, squares, streets, quays, etc., of Paris, in photographs, paintings and charcoal drawings by Pierre Vauthier, all of which completed the map and atlas of Paris.

The Water and Sanitation Department (spring water, sewers, drainage) was followed by the Paris Works Department, with plans of machines for making wooden paving stones, watering barrels, and the plan of the Metropolitan Railway, which showed us the interesting underground works under the squares and streets and under the Seine.

The other documents completing the Exhibition in the second room were of less general interest. They related to the services of the Assistance publique, the Mont de Piété, the asylums, prisons, etc., falling within the remit of the Conseil général de la Seine.

The third room was occupied entirely by the General Service of the Prefecture of Police.

Among the various services of the latter, that of anthropometry or judicial identification attracted the visitor's attention above all. Although it had very close links with the miscellaneous facts of the popular papers, the sensational feuilletons of their ground floor and the melodramas of the Ambigu genre, the veracity of the documents it exhibited caught the most blasé visitor. A large wall album, small albums, a demonstration model, research albums containing LOOO profile or frontal photographs of recidivists, grouped heads worthy of entering some collection of that strange physiologist Lombroso.

Further on, a colour photographic enlargement, initiated the discovery of a murderer by comparing the fingerprints left at the scene of the crime by bloodstained fingers. The examination of this document provoked an instinctive thrill; many had never been so close to the full detailed horror of a crime. Next to these documents was a display case containing the photographic and measuring equipment used by the Forensic Identification Service.

The municipal laboratory showed the apparatus for the analysis of liquors and foodstuffs, the toxicology laboratory, a mercury tube and apparatus for the extraction of blood gases and the analysis of gases.
In the centre of the room, 96 mobile boards on 3 pivots fixed to the floor were covered with photographs _ relating to the various services of the.Préfecture de. Police. Qn y remarquait de nombreuses vues d'hôtels de police, d'hôtels de préfets, des sapeurs-pompiers, des gardes, républicains, des gardes municipaux en uniforme, dans l'exercice de leurs diverses fonctions. The explosives service was represented by a photograph of a car used to transport the devices, by a scene showing us the opening of these in special barracks, etc.

One also noticed, for the picturesque nature of the documents they exhibited, the service of the inspection of traffic and transport with omnibuses, taximeters, tramways, surveillance of the Seine, floating docks, etc., and the service of the inspection of the halls and markets. The latter reminded us of the Belly of Paris, of the very special life of the market halls and markets, from the arrival of the market gardeners from the suburbs in the cold, grey dawn to the lovely bustle of the morning.

One could see, in photographs, various benches selling fish, poultry, butter, cheese, then again the forts of the market hall, merchants of a very picturesque character, then finally, these pretty markets: "apple market, flower market", whose delicious aroma evoked pleasure after all the louche and horrible vision floating, like a bland red mist, above the documents relating to the judicial service.

Such was this exhibition of the City of Paris and the Department of the Seine. An admiring astonishment seized the visitor in front of this enormously complicated machine which is the administrative service of one of the greatest cities in the world - a service of which we were shown the smallest cog in a wonderfully complete picture.

But in addition to the organisation of these exhibitions, the City of Paris had also undertaken to show its initiative in another field, where it can be said at once that it was a triumph.

We are referring to the marvellous and decorative gardens that were designed and created in front of the Great Hall by Mr. Vacherot, gardener of the City of Paris and head gardener of the French Section. The plants used to form the beds of these gardens were all brought to Liege from the horticultural establishments of the City of Paris.

These salons were relaxing and instructive to visit. Their exterior décor of greenery of a captivating beauty charmed you. Then, fertile in varied impressions, this general grouping of the various services of the great City constituted a section of particular interest in the general participation of France.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Salons de la Ville de Paris et du Département de la Seine



L'Exposition spéciale de la Ville de Paris et du Département de la Seine occupait trois grandes salles de l'aile droite de la section française des halls, à l'une des entrées principales de cette section.

Leurs grandes fenêtres épousaient le coude de la galerie extérieure de la façade droite des halls. Ce coude de galerie était délicieux; de grands palmiers, par les longs doigts de leurs palmes ouvertes sur le ciel, adoucissaient la brusquerie du tournant, des glycines, s'enroulaient autour de la balustrade; au-delà, un massif d'arbrisseaux, noisetiers, houx, chênes, rafraîchissait l'atmosphère et' jetait une bonne odeur de taillis humide dans la buée chaude qui montait du gravier poussiéreux. Par les trouées du feuillage apparaissaient des morceaux riants de la façade blanche du Palais des Fêtes. On aurait pu se croire sous quelque arcade ombreuse de cour mauresque. Les grandes baies vitrées du salon, formant miroir, reflétaient cette magie d'un coin de nature allié à une création: artificielle et cependant charmante.

.Le panneau décoratif de l'entrée, ainsi que la frise qui faisait le tour des salons et qui représentait, en imitation de velours ancien, les armoiries de la Ville de Paris, et celles des principales corporations des métiers parisiens, avaient été exécutés par M. Jambon, d'après les dessins de M. Roger Bouvard, avec la collaboration de M. Vincent, .architecte, inspecteur de l'Exposition de la Ville de Paris. Les deux premières salles se succédaient d'enfilée; la troisième formait angle droit avec les deux premières. Au milieu de celles-ci, d'élégantes vitrines contribuaient à diminuer . cette sensation, d'isolement que donnent- les pièces vides à leur centre; dans la troisième, des châssis remplissaient cet office. Aux murs, des photographies, des tableaux, des diagrammes, des documents de toute nature permettaient un examen rapide. A chaque angle des deux premières salles, des statues blanches se dressaient, doucement voilées de palmes vertes.

Un heureux silence régnait ordinairement dans ces salles où le bruit des pas s'atténuait grâce à l'épais tapis posé sur le plancher. Dans cette atmosphère propice à l'étude, on aimait à feuilleter longuement quelques livres ou à examiner ces photo- graphies louches du service anthropométrique que l'on s'attardait à considérer avec une terreur inconsciente, rendue délicieuse par la certitude raisonnée de sa parfaite sécurité.

La Ville de Paris et le Département de la Seine auraient pu disséminer dans les différentes classes les curieux éléments qu'ils groupaient ici; telle qu'elle fut comprise, l'exposition de ces deux administrations permettait aux visiteurs, grâce aux dispositions adoptées, de se faire une idée très nette de l'ensemble des divers services qui composent leur énorme organisme.

L'organisation et l'installation de cette Exposition très judicieusement, très claire- ment et très complètement présentée, était due principalement à M. J. Bouvard, directeur des services d’architecture, des promenades et des plantations, de la voirie et du plan de Paris, Commissaire général des Fêtes et des Expositions municipales. M. Bouvard fut secondé par MM. R. Falcon, chef du Secrétariat de la Direction des Services d'architecture, des promenades et des plantations, et Roger Bouvard, architecte diplômé du Gouvernement, et délégué pour les installations à Liège.

Dans la première salle, une vitrine centrale attirait les regards. Le Conseil municipal de Paris était rappelé ici par de volumineux livres, luxueusement édités, contenant les relations des fêtes organisées par la Municipalité de Paris à l'occasion de quelques visites augustes ou de manifestations dont l'ampleur, la signification particulières étaient dignes d'être mises en évidence et immortalisées par le livre pour les générations futures. On y relevait, par exemple, la réception de LL. MM. l'Empereur et l'Impératrice de Russie, de S. M. Edouard VII, des savants explorateurs Nordenskiold et Nansen, les fêtes du centenaire de Michelet et surtout cette grandiose manifestation nationale à l'occasion du centenaire de Victor Hugo.

D'autres fêtes, comme celle de l'Adolescence, inaugurant un nouveau mode de réjouissance, d'une beauté antique et moderne à la fois, y étaient aussi relatées.

A côté de ces livres, des casiers vitrés montraient les dos de nombreux volumes dus à divers auteurs, exposés par le service des Travaux historiques et renseignant d'une façon très complète, sur l'histoire générale de Paris et l'histoire de Paris pendant la Révolution.

D'autres livres et documents, provenant du Cabinet du Préfet de la Seine, rensei- gnaient encore le visiteur sur les nombreuses et très riches bibliothèques populaires de la grande ville.

Le service des Beaux-Arts était représenté dans cette salle par des éléments décoratifs seulement. Mais à l'extérieur, dans les jardins, en face du salon, s'érigeait sur le fond de verdure d'un massif les Premières Funérailles de Barias, puis, auprès de cette allée montante qui conduisait au pont de Fétinne, on remarquait un Victor Hugo, en grès flammé de Georges Bareau, fragment du grand monument La Vision du Poète, du même sculpteur.

Mais rentrons dans le salon. Les statues dont nous avons déjà parlé en décrivant son aspect général et qui adoucissaient la dureté des angles des deux premières salles, étaient La Charmeuse, de Michel Béguine, La Source, de Causse, Lully enfant, de Gaudez, L'Echo des Bois, de Plé, et une délicieuse évocation de prime adolescence pleine d'émoi et de fraîcheur. Le Premier Frisson, de Roufosse.

Aux murs, des gravures et des eaux-fortes reproduisaient des panneaux décoratifs de Gervex, de J. P. Laurens, de Bonna, de Besnard, de Puvis de Chavannes, etc. A côté de celles-ci et sur des tablettes disposées contre les murs, le service de l'Enseignement avait exposé de nombreux travaux d'élèves très remarquables. On y notait non seulement des dessins au fusain d'après nature et d'après l'antique, mais encore des travaux d'élèves d'écoles spéciales: application des Beaux-Arts à l'industrie,

arts et industrie du mobilier, du livre, du fer, du bois.

La seconde salle à laquelle on accédait immédiatement, était surtout riche en documents, manuscrits, diagrammes, reproductions, tableaux, cartes, etc.

Au milieu, une vitrine en étoile montrait, sur des fonds de velours, les insignes et les écharpes de Conseiller municipal de Paris et de Conseiller générai de la Seine, ainsi que des médailles relatives à la Ville et au Département, signées Bottée, Bovy, Chaplain, Degeorge, Dupuis, Lagrange, Levillain, Merly, Prudhomme, Roty, et exécutées par les soins du Services des Beaux-Arts.

Gomme dans la première salle, les murs de celle-ci étaient couverts de documents. Différents renseignements étaient donnés sur le service de l'hygiène et sur le service de l'architecture, des promenades et plantations, de la voirie et du plan de Paris. On y remarquait des plans et vues des principaux établissements municipaux, des principales avenues et promenades, des places, des rues, des quais, etc., de Paris, en photo- graphies, en peintures et en dessins au fusain de Pierre Vauthier, le tout complétant le plan et l'atlas de Paris.

Au service des Eaux et de l'assainissement (eau de source, égouts, vidanges), succédait celui des Travaux de Paris avec des plans de machines à fabriquer le pavé de bois, des tonneaux d'arrosage, ainsi que le plan du Métropolitain qui nous montrait notamment les travaux souterrains, si intéressants, exécutés sous les places et les rues et sous la Seine.

Les autres documents complétant l'Exposition comprise dans la seconde salle, étaient d'un intérêt moins général. Ils se rapportaient aux services de l'Assistance publique, du Mont de Piété, des asiles, prisons, etc., ressortissant des attributions du Conseil général de la Seine.

La troisième salle était occupée tout entière par le Service général de la Préfecture de Police.

Parmi les. divers services de celle-ci, celui de l'anthropométrie ou de l'identification judiciaire attirait surtout l'attention du visiteur. Bien qu'il eut des rapports -très étroits avec les faits divers des feuilles populaires, les feuilletons sensationnels de leur rez-de-chaussée et les mélodrames genre Ambigu, la véracité des documents- qu'il- exposait, prenait le visiteur le plus blasé. Un grand album mural, de petits albums, un modèle de démonstration, des albums de recherche contenant LOOO photographies de profil ou de face de récidivistes, groupaient des têtes dignes d'entrer dans quelque collection de cet étrange physiologiste qu'est Lombroso.

Plus loin, un agrandissement photographique en couleurs, initiait à la découverte d'un assassin par la confrontation des empreintes digitales laissées sur les lieux du crime par les doigts tachés de sang. L'examen de ce document provoquait un frisson instinctif; beaucoup ne s'étaient jamais trouvés aussi près de toute l'horreur détaillée d'un crime. A côté de ces documents, une vitrine contenait les appareils de photographie et de mensuration utilisés par le service d'identité judiciaire.

Le laboratoire municipal montrait les appareils destinés à analyser les liqueurs et les denrées alimentaires, le laboratoire de toxicologie, une trompe à mercure et des appareils pour l'extraction des gaz du sang et l'analyse des gaz.
Au centre de la salle, 96 planches mobiles sur 3 pivots fixés au sol se couvraient de photographies _ relatives aux divers services de la.Préfecture de. Police. Qn y remarquait de nombreuses vues d'hôtels de police, d'hôtels de préfets, des sapeurs-pompiers, des gardes, républicains, des gardes municipaux en uniforme,, dans l'exercice de leurs diverses fonctions. Le service des explosifs était représenté' par la photographié d'une voiture servant; au transport des engins, par une scène nous montrant l'ouverture de ceux-ci dans des baraquements spéciaux, etc.

On remarquait encore, pour le pittoresque des documents qu'ils exposaient, le service de l'inspection de la circulation, et des transports avec omnibus taximètres, tramways, surveillance de la Seine, docks flottants, etc., et le service de l'inspection des halles et marchés. Celui-ci faisait penser au Ventre de Paris, à la vie toute particulière des halles et des marchés depuis l'arrivée des maraîchers de la banlieue par l'aube frileuse et grise jusqu'à la jolie animation de la matinée.

On y voyait, en photographies, différents bancs de vente de poissons, de volailles, de beurre, de fromage, puis encore des forts de la halle, des marchandes d'un caractère très pittoresque, puis enfin, ces jolis marchés : « marché aux pommes, marché aux fleurs », dont l'arôme délicieux évoqué faisait plaisir après toute la louche et l'horrible vision flottant, comme une buée rouge et fade, au-dessus des documents relatifs au service judiciaire.

Telle était cette exposition de la Ville de Paris et du Département de la Seine. Un étonnement admiratif saisissait le visiteur devant cette machine énormément compliquée qu'est le service administratif d'une des plus grandes villes du monde — service dont on nous montrait le plus petit rouage dans un tableau merveilleusement complet.

Mais à côté de l'organisation de ces salons, la Ville de Paris avait encore entrepris de manifester son initiative sur un autre terrain où l'on peut dire tout de suite qu'elle remporta un triomphe.

Nous voulons parler de ces merveilleux et décoratifs jardins qui furent dessinés et créés devant le grand hall par M. Vacherot, jardinier de la Ville de Paris et jardinier en chef de la Section française. Les végétaux qui servirent à former les massifs de ces jardins furent tous apportés à Liège des établissements horticoles de la Ville de Paris.

Ces salons étaient reposants et instructifs à visiter. Leur décor extérieur de verdure d'une beauté prenante vous charmait. Puis, fertile en impressions variées, ce groupe- ment général des divers services de la grande Ville constituait dans la participation générale de la France une section d'un intérêt tout particulier.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905