Universal and International Exhibition of Liege 1905

75th anniversary of national independence

April 25, 1905 - November 6, 1905


Back - List of Pavilions

Decorative arts exhibition applied to industry

manque image

If the Salon de France, with its warm and colourful atmosphere, seemed made for the full light of summer, favourable for the bursting of the gleaming alternations of its tapestries and the gaiety of its light decoration, the Salon des Arts décoratifs appliqués à l'industrie, on the other hand, evoked rather the winter and the special charm of dark, partially lit rooms, with dreamy penumbras, with corners of full and discreet intimacy.

This living room, a specimen and type of modern art, had a surface area of 100 square metres. Located in the same bay as the Salon de France, it followed it almost immediately. Two doors placed in the axis of the gallery gave access to it. Six metres high and vaulted, it was illuminated by electric lamps which gave it a subdued light. It was a charm and a rest for the eyes to linger there. The centre of the room, very bright, seemed to invite the examination of the display cases which, in the middle of this full light, contrasting with the shadows of the corners, took on the appearance of precious things on which the visitor's attention should be focused. All around shone faintly, with the softness of a lost corner of a chapel, the embossed copper, the gold friezes, the flamed sandstone.

A large part of the furnishings in this salon had been designed by Bellery-Desfontaines. Near the entrance, on the right and left, a sandstone fountain by Bigot and a fireplace also in sandstone by Gentil and Bourdet, rested on flamed sandstone fireplaces; the latter was licked by curious reflections of fire.

The chimneypiece, of a stalactite whiteness wet with water, was surmounted by a high relief in embossed copper, executed by Schenk; the reliefs under the attenuated light were drawn here and there by reflections, pricked like lost sparks. The whole of the wainscoting up to a height of 1^SO had been executed by the "French Lincrusta Walton". The design consisted of a hedge of rosehips, accompanied by birds, on a golden background which the light made protrude, while the patterns seemed to be carved into it. Above this panelling, on a yellow, white and gold monochrome background, eight panels by Bellery-Desfontaines, symbolising the wood, iron, glass, paper, fabric, ceramic, precious metal and sewing industries, stood out in brown, with the appearance of darkened stained glass.

Between these panels, eight copper plates embossed by Schenk represented the tools of these industries.

Above this frieze to the vault, the walls were hung with a three-tone brocaded silk fabric by Cornille of Paris, while on the floor were two carpets by Antoine Jorrand of Aubusson.

On the ceiling hung a wrought-iron chandelier by Robert, discreetly decorative; like pieces of ice that the pale winter sun filled with reflections, eight large cabochons from the Jeumont glassworks surrounded it. Inside the salon, under the full and soft light of the electric lamps, were elegant display cases. Behind their windows, various objects, harmoniously grouped, attracted the eyes.

Two of them contained items sent by the Fabrique Nationale de Sèvres. They consisted of fine porcelain reproductions of famous works, beautiful bowls and vases decorated by well-known artists, and superb crystallization vases.

Other showcases contained the superbly edited and illuminated books of the Imprimerie Nationale (this showcase was made of wrought iron by Pigeât), the medals of the Mint signed by Chaplaîn, Vernon, Bottée, etc., and by that delightful and great artist Roty, objects from the Bronzes d'art, jewellery, boxes and artistic bindings by Saint-André de Lignereux as well as the superb stoneware of Mr. Georges Hoentschel. The most beautiful and boldest innovations in the field of industrial art by these modern artists were presented in these precious collections.

Such was the Salon des Arts décoratifs appliqués à l'industrie, whose art nouveau decoration avoided the pitfall of many such salons: extravagance and the preoccupation with forced and deliberate originality, to which art remains alien.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Salon des Arts Décoratifs Appliqués à l'Industrie



Si le Salon de France, par son atmosphère chaude et colorée, paraissait fait pour la pleine lumière de l'été, propice à faire éclater les alternances rutilantes de ses tapisseries et la gaîté de sa décoration claire, le salon des Arts décoratifs appliqués à l'industrie, par contre, évoquait plutôt l'hiver et le charme spécial des chambres sombres, partiellement éclairées, aux pénombres de rêves, aux coins de pleine et discrète intimité.

Ce salon, spécimen et type d'art moderne, avait une superficie de 100 mètres carrés. Situé dans la même travée que celle occupée par le Salon de France, il le suivait presque immédiatement. Deux portes placées dans l'axe de la galerie y donnaient accès. Haut de six mètres et voûté, il était éclairé par des lampes électriques qui y répandaient une lumière tamisée. C'était un charme et un repos pour les yeux de s'y attarder. Le centre du salon, très clair, semblait convier à l'examen des vitrines qui, au milieu de cette pleine lumière, contrastant avec l'ombre des encoignures, prenaient une apparence de choses précieuses sur lesquelles devait se porter l'attention du visiteur. Tout autour brillaient faiblement, avec la douceur d'un coin perdu de chapelle, les cuivres repoussés, les frises d'or, les grès flammés.

Une grande partie de l'ameublement de ce salon avait été dessinée par Bellery-Desfontaines. Près de l'entrée, à droite et à gauche, une fontaine de grès par Bigot et une cheminée également en grès par Gentil et Bourdet, reposaient sur des foyers en grès flammé; celui-ci était léché par de curieux reflets de feux.

La cheminée d'une blancheur de stalactite mouillée d'eau, était surmontée d'un haut-relief en cuivre repoussé, exécuté par Schenk; les reliefs sous la lumière atténuée se dessinaient çà et là par des reflets, piqués comme des étincelles perdues. Tout le soubassement formant lambris jusqu'à une hauteur de l^SO avait été exécuté par la « Lincrusta Walton française ». Le motif consistait en une haie d'églantiers, accompagnée d'oiseaux, sur un fond doré que la lumière faisait apparaître en saillie tandis que les motifs y semblaient taillés en creux. Au dessus de ce lambris, sur un fond camaïeu, jaune, blanc et or se détachaient en brun, avec une apparence de vitraux assombris, huit panneaux de Bellery-Desfontaines, symbolisant les industries du bois, du fer, du verre, du papier, des étoffes, de la céramique, des métaux précieux et de la couture.

Entre ces panneaux, huit cuivres repoussés par Schenk représentaient les outils de ces industries.

Au dessus de cette frise jusqu'à la voûte, les murs étaient tendus d'une étoffe de soie brochée en trois tons de la maison Cornille de Paris, tandis que sur le sol reposaient deux tapis d'Antoine Jorrand d'Aubusson.

Au plafond, était suspendu un lustre en fer forgé de Robert, décoratif avec discrétion; comme des morceaux de glace que le pâle soleil d'hiver emplit de reflets, huit gros cabochons des verreries de Jeumont l'entouraient. A l'intérieur du salon, sous la pleine et douce lumière des lampes électriques, se trouvaient d'élégantes vitrines. Derrière leurs vitres, des objets divers, harmonieusement groupés, attiraient les regards.

Deux d'entre elles renfermaient les envois de la Fabrique nationale de Sèvres. Ils consistaient en des reproductions en porcelaine fine d'oeuvres célèbres, en coupes et vases de toute beauté décorés par des artistes connus, en superbes vases à cristallisation.

D'autres vitrines contenaient encore les livres, superbement édités et enluminés, de l'Imprimerie nationale (cette vitrine était en fer forgé par Pigeât), les médailles de la Monnaie signées par Chaplaîn, Vernon, Bottée, etc., et par ce délicieux et grand artiste qu'est Roty, les objets des collectivités de Bronzes d'art, de la joaillerie, les coffrets et les reliures artistiques de Saint-André de Lignereux ainsi que les superbes grès de M. Georges Hoentschel. Les innovations les plus belles et les plus hardies, réalisées dans le domaine de l'art industriel par ces artistes modernes étaient présentées dans ces collections précieuses.

Tel était ce Salon des Arts décoratifs appliqués à l'industrie dont on peut dire qu'il sut, dans cette décoration d'art nouveau, éviter l'écueil de beaucoup de salons de ce genre: l'extravagance et le souci d'une originalité forcée et voulue à laquelle l'art reste étranger.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905