Back - List of Pavilions

Far East - Expo Liege 1905

Far East at the Exhibition Expo Liege 1905

The Far East had the hustle and bustle of a caravanserai where caravans from the most diverse countries would gather. In the front of the building there were numerous stalls selling copper vases, exotic objects and even a fairground attraction: the miraculous fishing.

But the interest of this district lay rather in the attractions of its interior part, negroes playing interminably the tom-tom on a kind of platform and a superb Hindu, leading to the entrance, already indicated the attractive kind of spectacles offered to the public.

The aim of the enterprise had been to give the vision of a corner of the world, marvellous like a fairy tale from the Arabian Nights. Inside, there was a Chinese theatre where an English theatre company gave a great Franco-Indian ballet; further on, a Sudanese bazaar brought together workers from Egypt and Abyssinia who made various products on the spot, notably vases with very beautiful lines.

Next to it was a harem copied from that of a famous Radja, then an enchanted pagoda where the latest advances in machinery and electricity gave the illusion of a fairy tale come true.

The Theatre of Mysteries introduced us to the Buddhist beliefs and the salamalecs of the Fakirs; an Indian fair showed us the natives of Pondicherry and Chandernagor; finally, the Japanese moguls, a kind of tobogan, gave the illusion of a rapid slide, among a crowd of obstacles.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Extrème-Orient


Extrème-Orient à l'exposition de Liège 1905

L'Extrême-Orient avait le tohu-bohu d'un caravansérail dans lequel se seraient réunies des caravanes venant de pays les plus divers. A sa façade, s'incrustaient de nombreuses échoppes où on vendait des vases en cuivre niellé, des objets exotiques; on y remarquait même une attraction foraine: la pêche miraculeuse.

Mais l'intérêt de ce quartier résidait plutôt dans les attractions de sa partie intérieure, des nègres jouant interminablement du tam-tam sur une espèce de plate-forme et un superbe hindou, se pro- menant à l'entrée, indiquaient déjà le genre attractif des spectacles offerts au public.

Le but de l'entreprise avait été de donner la vision d'un coin du monde, merveilleux comme une féerie des Mille et une Nuits. A l'intérieur, se trouvait un théâtre chinois où une compagnie théâtrale anglaise donnait un grand ballet franco- indien; plus loin, un bazar soudanais réunissait des ouvriers venus d'Egypte et d'Abyssinie et qui fabriquaient sur place divers produits, notamment des vases aux lignes très belles.

A côté, on remarquait un harem copié sur celui d'un Radja célèbre, puis une pagode enchantée où les derniers progrès de la machinerie et de l'électricité donnaient l'illusion d'un conte de fée réalisé.

Le Théâtre des Mystères nous initiait aux croyances boudhiques et aux salamalecs des Fakirs; une foire indienne nous montrait des indigènes de Pondichéry et du Chandernagor, enfin, les bosses japonaises, sorte de tobogan, donnaient l'illusion d'une glissade rapide, parmi une foule d'obstacles.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905