Back - List of Pavilions

General view -

General view at the Exhibition Expo Liege 1905

The Plaine des Vennes, on which the immense construction of the halls and a host of private pavilions were spread out, was once a kind of marsh; in winter and summer, an immense wild meadow with, here and there, in the depressions of the land, pools where frogs swarmed. In the distance, a curtain of poplars covered a sooty and smoky vision of coal mines and factories. The place, sad in winter, because of the countless flocks of crows and magpies that hovered over the heads of the few passers-by, was brightened up a little in summer by the presence of children on holiday who had come to find an immense field, favourable to their games.

The boulevard Emile de Laveleye was then formed by the Ourthe, a river with irregular banks, eaten up by the water overflowing in winter and strewn with pebbles. A few fishermen indulged in their favourite pastime there.

We have already recalled the great works that had to be carried out to level and clean up this vast plain; how useful these works are now! A luxurious district will be born on this consolidated ground, a large boulevard will cross it, and where the World's Pair was, innumerable constructions will rise where Liege will pour the excess of its population.

The Mativa quay which led to it, although improved a few years ago, was still rather primitive in appearance, especially its banks where the washerwomen spread out their washing and where, in summer, bands of children of the people frolicked drunkenly in the tall grass.

The Exhibition converted this rough bank into a regular one, supported by water walls. The point of the Monnier house, which had once been chipped, was consolidated, and the Ourthe, which had been filled in, saw its course enclosed between high walls; everything became clean and healthy, if not picturesque!

The Quartier des Palais, as we have said, was linked to this second Exhibition area by the Mativa Bridge and the quay of the same name. This bridge, a marvel of lightness and finesse, gracefully linked the two banks of the Meuse Diversion; it was slightly arched and decorated here and there with escutcheons and small French flags.

From the centre of this bridge, one enjoyed a superb view; between the bank of the Mativa quay and the tip of the Boverie peninsula, the diversion of the Meuse was spread out; the Fétinne bridge, the Amercœur gate, the entrance to Old Liege, and the numerous roofs of the old quarter framed this landscape, while the Fragnée bridge, golden and majestic, underlined with its dazzling contours the great distant woods of Kinkempois.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Vue Générale


Vue Générale à l'exposition de Liège 1905

La Plaine des Vennes, sur laquelle s'étalait l'immense construction des halls et une foule de pavillons particuliers, était autrefois une sorte de marécage ; l'hiver et l'été, une immense prairie sauvage avec, ça et là, dans les dépressions de terrains, des mares où grouillaient les grenouilles. Au loin, se massait un rideau de peupliers, dérobant en partie une vision fuligineuse et fumeuse de charbonnages et d'usines. Le lieu, triste l'hiver, à cause d'innombrables bandes de corbeaux et de pies qui planaient au-dessus des têtes des rares passants, s'égayait un peu l'été, par la présence d'enfant» en vacances venus y chercher un champ immense, propice à leurs jeux.

Le boulevard Emile de Laveleye était constitué alors par l'Ourthe, une Ourthe aux rives irrégulières, mangées par l'eau débordée de l'hiver et parsemée de cailloux. Quelques pêcheurs s'y livraient à leur distraction favorite.

Nous avons rappelé précédemment les grands travaux qui durent être effectués pour niveler et assainir cette vaste plaine; combien l'utilité de ces travaux saute maintenant aux yeux! Un quartier luxueux naîtra sur ce sol affermi, un grand boulevard le traversera, et là où fut la World's Pair s'élèveront d'innombrables constructions où Liège déversera le trop plein de sa population.

Le quai Mativa qui y conduisait, bien que amélioré depuis quelques années, était encore d’aspect assez primitif, surtout par ses berges où les lavandières étalaient leur linge et où, en été, des bandes d’enfants du peuple s’ébattaient avec ivresse, dans l’herbe haute.

L'Exposition fit convertir cette berge fruste en une rive régulière, soutenue par des murs d'eau. La pointe, jadis ébréchée, de la maison Monnier, fut consolidée, l'Ourthe comblée vit son cours s'enfermer entre de hautes murailles; tout devenait net, propre et sain, sinon pittoresque!

Le Quartier des Palais, nous l'avons dit, était relié à cette deuxième enceinte de l'Exposition par le pont Mativa et le quai de même nom. Ce pont, merveille de légèreté et de finesse, reliait gracieusement les deux rives de la Dérivation de la Meuse; un peu voûté, il s'agrémentait ça et là d'écussons et de petits drapeaux français.

Du centre de ce pont, on jouissait d'une vue superbe; entre la berge du quai Mativa et la pointe de la presqu'île de la Boverie, s'étalait la dérivation de la Meuse; le pont de Fétinne, la porte d'Amercœur, entrée du Vieux-Liège et les nombreux toits du quartier ancien encadraient ce paysage, tandis que le pont de Fragnée, doré et majestueux, soulignait de ses contours éblouissants les grands bois lointains de Kinkempois.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905