Back - List of Pavilions

French Colonial Houses - Expo Liege 1905

Missing picture

In addition to its superb pavilions grouping, with a judicious classification, the various products they represented and the Colonial Office synthesising the great central movement of the Colonial Administration, the French Colonial Exhibition would not have been complete if, alongside these elements, France had not shown types of colonial houses.

The ingenuity of these dwellings consists in the fact that, made up of numbered assemblies, they can be built in a few days, or even, as in the case of the smallest, in a few hours. However, in spite of their small size, they are convenient and their interior layout is judiciously adapted to the needs of the climate and to the need for the settler to find in them a safe haven to defend himself against any unexpected attack.

The interior rooms are furnished with light seats; there are beds with mosquito nets, collections of the medicines most frequently used in exotic countries, in a word, everything that any settler should generally have on hand.

At the Exhibition, these colonial houses were three in number. Two of them, located near the French Possessions in Asia pavilion, housed the Colonial Press Union and the office of the Colonial Commissariat.
The third colonial dwelling, of larger dimensions, was built on the grassy bank of the lake, whose waters, on the opposite side, reflected the large white flag of the French Possessions in West Africa. Three men could build this slightly elevated wooden house in three days, surrounded by a covered gallery.

This rather rustic-looking house housed, in its interior rooms, the Health Service's exhibition and the French Guiana's participation.

With graphics and brochures, the Health Service documented the state of health in the various colonies and the progress made in these possessions by reasoned hygiene based on the results of experience and major sanitation work.

The installation of hospitals or infirmaries in the colonies was still in place.

As for French Guiana, this colony was represented by samples of guaiac wood, ebony, ironwood and mahogany, vanilla and spices. The absence of labour, due to the false reputation of insalubrity and infertility of Guiana, leaves these plant resources almost completely unexploited; gold alone constitutes almost all of Guiana's exploitation.

The samples of plant products exhibited in the pavilion along with statistics will have allowed us to be convinced of the contrary.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Maisons Coloniales Françaises



Outre ses superbes pavillons groupant, avec une classification judicieuse, les divers produits qu'ils représentaient et l'Office colonial synthétisant le grand mouvement central de l'Administration des Colonies, l'Exposition coloniale française n'eut pas été complète, si à côté de ces éléments, la France n'avait montré des types de maisons coloniales.

L'ingéniosité de ces habitations consiste en ce que, formées d'assemblages numérotés, elles peuvent se construire en quelques jours, voire, comme c'est le cas des plus petites, en quelques heures. Cependant, malgré leur exiguïté, elles sont commodes et leur disposition intérieure est judicieusement adaptée aux besoins du climat et à la nécessité, pour le colon, de trouver en elles un asile assez sûr pour se défendre contre quelque attaque inopinée.

Les pièces intérieures sont meublées de sièges légers; on y remarque des lits à moustiquaires, des collections des médicaments les plus fréquemment utilisés dans les pays exotiques, en un mot, tout ce que généralement tout colon doit avoir sous la main.

A l'Exposition, ces maisons coloniales étaient au nombre de trois. Deux d'entre elles, situées à proximité du pavillon des Possessions françaises en Asie, abritaient, l'une le Syndicat de la Presse coloniale, l'autre le bureau du Commissariat des colonies.
La troisième habitation coloniale, de dimensions plus vastes, s'érigeait sur la berge herbue du lac, dont les eaux, au côté opposé, reflétaient le large pavillon blanc des Possessions françaises en Afrique occidentale. Trois hommes pouvaient construire en trois jours cette maison de bois légèrement surélevée, s'entourant d'une galerie couverte.

Cette maison, d'apparence plutôt rustique, abritait, dans ses pièces intérieures, l'exposition du Service de la Santé et la participation de la Guyane française.

Par des graphiques, des brochures, le Service de la Santé documentait le visiteur sur l'état de salubrité des différentes colonies et les progrès qu'une hygiène raisonnée et appuyée sur les résultats de l'expérience ainsi que les grands travaux d'assainisse- ment ont permis de réaliser dans ces possessions.

On remarquait encore des dispositifs d'installations d'hôpitaux ou d'infirmeries aux colonies.

Quant à la Guyane française, cette colonie était représentée par des échantillons de bois de gaïac, d'ébène, de bois de fer et d'acajou, de vanille et d'épices. L'absence de main d'œuvre, due à la fausse réputation d'insalubrité et d'infertilité de la Guyane, laisse ces richesses végétales presque complètement inexploitées; l'or, seul, constitue en presque totalité l'exploitation de la Guyane.

Les échantillons de produits végétaux exposés dans le pavillon en compagnie de statistiques auront permis de se convaincre du contraire.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905