Back - List of Pavilions

French Colonial Office - Expo Liege 1905

French Colonial Office at the Exhibition Expo Liege 1905

Not far from the large terrace which, at the beginning of the Jardin d'Acclimatation, rounded its flowery balustrade on the bank of the Meuse, old greenhouses, converted into a pavilion, housed the exhibition of the French Colonial Office.

A double row of busts of famous admirals and explorers led to a sort of landing occupied by a sales office for colonial publications. On either side of this were the entrances to two rooms of the Colonial Office. The first, on the right, contained a wide variety of ethnographic collections and numerous samples of colonial imports and exports; the other, on movable shutters, contained wall maps and graphics relating to the various colonial services.

The Colonial Office represented at the Liège Exhibition was only a reduction of the great Colonial Office in Paris.

The programme of the latter was very extensive.

Inspired by the considerable extension of France's domain and by the ever-growing desire of its nationals to find an outlet for their trade or personal initiative outside the mother country, the Colonial Office provides them with definite indications, officially controlled and supported by figures, on all questions concerning the development of France's distant possessions.

Moreover, the decree instituting it on 14 March 1899 specified its scope in these terms
1) To centralise and make available to the public information of all kinds concerning agriculture, trade and industry in the French colonies.
2) To ensure the operation of a permanent exhibition of colonial trade.

Several departments are responsible for carrying out these wishes. These are the departments of commerce, colonisation, statistics and the library.

The trade department deals with all matters relating to trade between the metropolis and the colonies. This section has a wide range of responsibilities. In addition to information on all aspects of transport: freight, insurance, means of embarkation and disembarkation, customs duties, octroi, etc., it has created a monthly information sheet giving detailed information on a particular point which is still unclear and which was previously the subject of a serious investigation on the spot, while the general information also given in this bulletin makes it a real link between the colony and the mother country.

The commercial section is also involved in the temporary organisation of certain colonial products, which are especially prominent. These special exhibitions are an extension of a part of the Commercial Museum of the Office where the different colonial products are grouped according to their nature and not according to their origin. Products of the same kind are grouped together in display cases and subdivided, naturally this time, according to their place of origin.

In this way, the visitor can quickly get a clear idea of the value of the product he is looking for and study its different qualities on the spot.

The colonisation service deals with the introduction of emigrants to the colonies and related matters such as the tax regime, the military regime, the placement of young Frenchmen in commercial and industrial houses and in agricultural holdings.

One of the good effects of this service has been, at times, to dissuade from their projects born of an unthinking enthusiasm, certain Frenchmen who, although having none of the qualities required for success in the colonies, imagined that they would find in these distant lands a second earthly paradise.

The statistical service published annual bulletins giving information on trade and navigation, the population of the land and the production of each colony.

The exchange of its bulletins with similar publications from foreign countries has created a very interesting collection, which facilitates the study of comparative statistics.

One last service of the Colonial Office, that of the library, is growing in importance, so much so that in 1904 the number of readers was 3,000.

These indications obviate the need to comment on the objects exhibited in the Colonial Office at the Exhibition.

The room on the right, containing the most interesting elements of the Commercial Museum, whose usefulness we have highlighted, also contained various ethnographic collections, forming a picturesque scattering of indigenous instruments, boats in use on various rivers, headdresses, weapons, furniture, musical instruments, etc.

The Museum of Natural History also exhibited a collection of manufactured products and raw materials from the colonies, a collection of insects that attack colonial products, etc.

The room on the left contained the official and administrative part of the colonies. The various departments of the General Governments of the West Coast of Africa and Madagascar, Indo-China were represented there, not only by maps, charts, brochures, but also by photographs of picturesque corners or scenes of local customs, likely to interest every visitor.

It is reasonable to believe that the French Colonial Office at the Liège Exhibition will have rendered to some of our nationals the precious services that it renders to many French people in the country that created it.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Office Colonial Français


Office Colonial Français à l'exposition de Liège 1905

Non loin de la grande terrasse qui, au début du Jardin d'Acclimatation, arrondissait sa balustrade fleurie sur la rive de la Meuse, d'anciennes serres, converties en pavillon, abritaient l'exposition de l'Office colonial français.

Une double rangée de bustes d'amiraux et d'explorateurs célèbres conduisait à une sorte de palier occupé par un bureau de vente de publications coloniales. De part et d'autre de celui-ci, se trouvaient les entrées de deux salles de l'Office colonial. La première à droite réunissait de très variées collections ethnographiques, de nombreux échantillons de produits d'importation et d'exportation coloniales; l'autre groupait sur des volets mobiles, en cartes murales, en graphiques, tout ce qui se rapporte aux divers services des colonies.

L'Office colonial représenté à l'Exposition de Liège n'était qu'une réduction du grand Office colonial de Paris.

Le programme de celui-ci est des plus vastes.

Inspiré par l'extension considérable du domaine de la France et par le désir sans cesse grandissant de ses nationaux de trouver hors de la mère-patrie un débouché à leur commerce ou à leur initiative personnelle, l'Office colonial donne à ceux-ci des indications certaines, officiellement contrôlées et appuyées par des chiffres, sur toutes les questions concernant la mise en valeur des possessions lointaines de la France.

Au surplus, le décret l'instituant le 14 mars 1899 en précisa la portée en ces termes :
1) Centraliser et mettre à la disposition du public les renseignements de toute nature concernant l'agriculture, le commerce et l'industrie des colonies françaises.
2) Assurer le fonctionnement d'une exposition permanente du commerce colonial.

Plusieurs services s'occupent de réaliser ces desiderata. Ce sont les services du commerce, de la colonisation, de la statistique, de la Bibliothèque.

Le service du commerce s'occupe de toutes les matières relatives au commerce de la métropole avec les colonies. Les attributions de cette section sont des plus nombreuses. Outre des renseignements sur tout ce qui concerne les transports: frets, assurances, moyens d'embarquement et de débarquement, droits de douane,, d'octroi, etc., elle a créé une feuille mensuelle de renseignements donnant des indications détaillées sur tel point encore imprécis, et qui fut auparavant l'objet d'une sérieuse enquête sur place, tandis que les informations générales données également dans ce bulletin en font comme un véritable lien entre la colonie et la mère-patrie.

La section commerciale s'occupe encore de l'organisation temporaire de certains produits coloniaux, spécialement en vue. Ces expositions spéciales constituent une suite d'extension d'une partie du Musée commercial de l'Office où se groupent, d'après leur nature et non d'après leur provenance, les différents produits coloniaux. Les produits de même espèce sont réunis en des vitrines, et subdivisés, naturellement cette fois, d'après leur lieu de provenance.

De cette façon, le visiteur peut, rapidement, avoir une idée nette de la valeur du produit qui fait l'objet de ses recherches et en étudier sur place les différentes qualités.

Le service de la colonisation s'occupe de l'introduction des émigrants aux colonies et des questions qui s'y rattachent comme le régime des impôts, le régime militaire, le placement des jeunes Français dans les maisons commerciales et industrielles et dans les exploitations agricoles.

Un des bons effets de ce service a été, parfois, de dissuader de leurs projets nés d'un enthousiasme irréfléchi, certains Français qui bien que n'ayant aucune des qualités requises pour réussir dans les colonies, s'imaginaient trouver en ces terres lointaines un second paradis terrestre.

Le service de statistique publie chaque année des bulletins donnant des renseignements concernant le commerce et la navigation, la population des terres et les productions de chaque colonie.

L'échange de ses bulletins avec les publications similaires des pays étrangers a permis de créer une collection très intéressante, qui facilite l'étude des statistiques comparées.

Un dernier service de l'Office colonial, celui de la bibliothèque, s'accroît en importance, à ce point qu'en 1904 le nombre de lecteurs était de 3.000.

Ces indications nous dispensent de commenter les objets exposés dans l'Office colonial à l'Exposition.

La pièce de droite contenant les éléments les plus intéressants du Musée commercial dont nous avons fait ressortir l'utilité, groupait encore diverses collections ethnographiques, formant un éparpillement pittoresque d'instruments indigènes, de bateaux en usage sur divers fleuves, de coiffures, d'armes, de meubles, d'instruments de musique, etc.

Le Muséum d'Histoire naturelle y exposait également une collection de produits ouvrés et de matières premières des colonies, une collection d'insectes attaquant les produits coloniaux, etc.

La salle de gauche groupait la partie officielle et administrative des colonies. Les différents services des Gouvernements généraux de la Côte occidentale d'Afrique et de Madagascar, l'Indo-Chine y étaient représentés, non seulement par des cartes, des graphiques, des brochures, mais encore par des photographies de coins pittoresques ou des scènes de coutumes locales, aptes à intéresser chaque visiteur.

Il est permis de croire que l'Office colonial français à l'Exposition de Liège aura rendu à quelques-uns de nos nationaux les précieux services qu'il rend dans le pays qui l'a créé, à nombre de Français.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905