Back - List of Pavilions

General view -

General view at the Exhibition Expo Liege 1905

The Palais district! This is the name that deserves to be given to that part of the Exhibition that is included in the enclosure of the former Jardin d'Acclimatation and the Parc de la Boverie. There, in fact, lined up these superb palaces of various styles, whose very diversity constituted an interest and a charm; white palaces, nestled in the foliage and reflected in the lakes, sumptuous palaces lined up along the wide central path of the Parc de la Boverie, a meeting of thoughts and worlds.

The Jardin d'Acclimatation was one of the most beautiful parks in our city, where elegant society gathered in summer to hear concerts.

Planted with superb trees, criss-crossed by beautiful paths, it was the rendezvous of the children of the bourgeois class who found there, in complete safety, a place conducive to their entertainment.

The Exhibition had profoundly changed the appearance of this park; what it had lost in intimate charm, it had gained in elegance, as witnessed by the magnificent monumental entrance replacing the old wicket. Large pillars with elegant architectural lines support groups of great sculptural value, created by the eminent sculptors Ch. Samuel and Jef Lambeaux.

The organisers of the World's Fair had retained the superb and decorative chestnut tree at the entrance, which cast a beneficial shadow on the visitors who waited for their turn at the ticket office. The palaces here were arranged in two rows; one bordered the Meuse, the other the opposite lane; The middle was occupied by the ancient lakes lined with willows and bushes, and reflecting in their calm waters the white buildings; rustic bridges passed over the thin canals which connected them and allowed marvellous glimpses into the distant light mist.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Vue Générale


Vue Générale à l'exposition de Liège 1905

Quartier des Palais! c'est bien ainsi que mérite d'être dénommée cette partie de l'Exposition comprise dans l'enceinte de l'ancien Jardin d'Acclimatation et le Parc de la Boverie. Là, en effet, s'alignaient ces superbes palais de styles variés, dont la diversité même constituait un intérêt et un charme; palais blancs, blottis dans les feuillages et reflêtés dans les lacs, palais somptueux alignés le long de la large voie centrale du Parc de la Boverie, rapprochement de pensées et de mondes.

Le Jardin d'Acclimatation était un des plus beaux parcs de notre ville où la société élégante se réunissait l'été pour y entendre des concerts.

Planté d'arbres superbes, sillonné de beaux chemins, il constituait le rendez- vous des enfants de la classe bourgeoise qui y trouvaient, en toute sécurité, un lieu propice à leurs divertissements.

L'Exposition avait changé profondément l'aspect de ce parc; ce qu'il avait perdu en charme intime, il l'avait gagné en élégance, témoin cette magnifique entrée monumentale remplaçant le guichet d'autrefois. De larges piliers aux lignes architecturales élégantes supportent des groupes d'une grande valeur sculpturale dus aux ciseaux des éminents statuaires Ch. Samuel et Jef Lambeaux.

Pensée excellente, les organisateurs de la World's Fair avaient conservé le superbe et décoratif marronnier de l'entrée, répandant une ombre bienfaisante sur les visiteurs qui attendaient leur tour au guichet Les palais se succédaient ici en deux alignements; l'un côtoyait la Meuse, l'autre bordait l'allée opposée; le milieu était occupé par les anciens lacs bordés de saules et de buissons, et reflétant dans leurs eaux calmes les constructions blanches; des ponts rustiques passaient sur les minces canaux qui les reliaient et permettaient de merveilleux coups d'œil, sur des lointains de légère brume lumineuse.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905