Universal and International Exhibition of Liege 1905

75th anniversary of national independence

April 25, 1905 - November 6, 1905


Back - List of Pavilions

Demonstration Farm

Demonstration Farm at the Exhibition Expo Liege 1905

Among the various classes of the agricultural group, class 35 is particularly noteworthy. This class carried out its programme by building a farm
which attracted the attention of many visitors.

The idea put forward by Mr. De Vuyst, the agricultural inspector, to organise a community in the form of a model farm, met with unanimous approval at the first meeting of the members of this class. The project was strongly supported by the President of Group VII, Baron de Moreau, and by the Special Commissioner of Groups VII and VIII, Jules Cartuyvels, Inspector General of Agriculture.

Mr. Eugène Dumont, senator from Marbais, in his capacity as president of class 35, put all his influence at the service of the organisers in order to bring the project to a successful conclusion. Mr. De Vuyst was, from the beginning to the end, an active collaborator for the technical and executive committees, as well as for the class 35 office.

Senator Dumont, president of the Société anonyme de la Ferme Démonstrative, is the most authoritative representative of Belgian agriculture in our High Assembly. For a quarter of a century he has attached his name to all the laws passed in favour of agriculture, our agricultural industries and the rural classes.

The Dumont family owns and operates several large contiguous estates in the heart of the rich Brabant plains, which have been the battlefield of Europe on many occasions.

The Chassart farm, created at the beginning of the 19th century and well known to all agronomists, is the largest in Belgium. The most varied agricultural industries can be seen operating there, all equipped and managed according to the latest progress: grain distillery, huge malting plant, flour mills, sugar factory, granite quarries, etc.

Let us add that the patriarchal mores in honour at the Chassart estate and which govern the relations between the owners and the numerous workers are not the least of the elements of the persistent success of this colossal agricultural enterprise, of which Belgium is rightly proud.

Wishing to interest the generality of farmers in its work, Class 35 undertook to demonstrate in a general way some of the improvements and provisions towards which it was necessary to tend in the future, rather than to build a model farm of this or that region. The construction was therefore called a Demonstration Farm. In addition to these provisions of general interest, the visitors found there applications of the latest scientific data and especially of the rules of hygiene which are essential in any farm. They were able to judge, in their natural setting, the various materials available to them, both for the construction of new farms and for the transformation of old ones. Not only buildings were erected, but a fully furnished farm was presented, equipped with modern machinery, up to date with progress, supplied by national industries.

Next to the farm was a vegetable garden with all the market garden and medicinal plants that one should have at hand.

In order to meet the wishes of the promoters, a draft plan was first submitted to the observations of a technical committee, comprising specialists from various regions of the country.

Mr. H. Van Massenhove, architect in Brussels, drew up the construction plans according to the advice of this committee. The execution, the choice of materials and equipment were entrusted to an executive committee, which set itself up as a cooperative society under the name of "La Ferme Démonstrative".

In order to solve the financial side, the executive committee appealed to the farmers of the country as well as to people with a special interest in agriculture. This appeal was heard and the Society was established on 20 December 1904 with 41 founding members who together contributed a capital of 6,500 francs. Later, a few new members were added, bringing the capital of the society to 8,100 francs. The executive committee became the company's board of directors.

Obviously, the sum of 8,100 francs was still insufficient to build, in hard materials, a farmhouse measuring 45 metres long and 12 metres wide, plus all the outbuildings, manure pits and a covered shed, for a total estimate of 24,600 francs. It was then that, thanks to the intervention of class 35, the executive committee of the society obtained a subsidy of 18,000 francs.

In spite of the subsidies, the society, giving up its capital, would not have been able to meet its budget if it had not found the generous support of its exhibitors, some of whom brought their materials free of charge; the others preferred to keep the property while contributing to the costs by paying an honorary membership fee. Pursuing the aim of the Technical Committee and wishing to justify the title adopted for the farm, the Executive Committee endeavoured to obtain the greatest possible diversity in the materials used.

It approached all the industrialists, asking each one to come and show his speciality and it obtained the foundations in rubble stone with asphalt felt to prevent the dampness of the ground from rising into the walls; - the bases in sandstone mosaics; - the cut stones in limestone and artificial sandstone; - the walls in special facade bricks and ordinary bricks; - the coverings in earthenware, majolica and cements; - woodwork impregnated with carbonyl; - vaults in brick, concrete and ceilings insulated with quercine; - partitions in Belgica slabs; - roofs in hooked slates, overlapping tiles and corrugated sheets; - wooden and wrought iron fences.

The same diversity was maintained in the interior design of the farmhouse and in all the equipment. For the latter, each manufacturer preferably supplied the machine or tool that constitutes its speciality. The number of exhibitors totalled 42 who, after approval by the Commissariat General, were admitted to compete in their respective classes, with the right to the regular awards.

The complex of buildings included: a dwelling house, a stable, a pigsty, a sick bay, a henhouse, a shed for the preparation of food, a barn, a shed for farming implements, a covered manure pit.


Garden and orchard of the farm.

Mr. J. Debeur, president of the professional school of horticulture of Liege, and Mr. Marchandise, head of culture at the Botanical Garden of Brussels, took special care of the garden and the orchard adjoining the farm. The demonstrations were given by the students of the horticultural school of Liege, under the direction of Mr. Lecrenier, professor.

In the orchard were the main varieties of fruit trees, as well as the means of protecting them during their young age.


Demonstrations of home economics.

Class 35 of the Exhibition (Special Agricultural Education) organised in the Demonstrative Farm demonstrations of home economics and dairy farming, under the direction of Mr. Thomas, State Agronomist, Grivegnée. The mistresses of the country's flying dairy schools, today's agricultural home economics schools, were called upon to come in turn with their pupils to take the place of the farmer and her family.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Ferme Démonstrative


Ferme Démonstrative à l'exposition de Liège 1905

Parmi les diverses classes du groupe agricole, il y a lieu de signaler particulièrement la classe 35. Celle-ci réalisa son programme par la construction d'une ferme
qui attira l'attention de nombreux visiteurs.

L'idée émise par M. De Vuyst, inspecteur de l'agriculture, d'organiser une collectivité sous forme de ferme-type, rencontra l'approbation unanime dès la première réunion des membres de cette classe. Le projet fut vivement appuyé par M. le président du groupe VII, baron de Moreau, et par M. le Commissaire spécial des groupes VII et VIII, Jules Cartuyvels, inspecteur général de l'agriculture.

M. Eugène Dumont, sénateur à Marbais, en sa qualité de président de la classe 35, a mis toute son influence au service des organisateurs pour faire aboutir le projet. M. De Vuyst fut, dès le début jusqu'à la fin, un collaborateur actif pour les comités techniques et exécutif, ainsi que pour le bureau de la classe 35.

Le sénateur Dumont, président de la Société anonyme de la Ferme Démonstrative, est le représentant le plus autorisé de l'agriculture belge dans notre Haute Assemblée. Depuis un quart de siècle il a attaché son nom à toutes les lois prises en faveur de l'agriculture, de nos industries agricoles, des classes rurales.

La famille Dumont possède et exploite par elle-même plusieurs grands domaines contigus, au coeur des riches plaines brabançonnes qui furent, à maintes reprises, le champ de bataille de l'Europe.

L'exploitation agricole de Chassart, créée au début du XIXe siècle et bien connue de tous les agronomes, est la plus vaste de la Belgique. On y voit fonctionner les industries agricoles les plus variées, toutes outillées et dirigées au dernier progrès: distillerie de grain, malterie immense, moulins à farine, fabrique de sucre, carrières de granit, etc.

Ajoutons que les moeurs patriarcales en honneur au domaine de Chassart et qui régissent les rapports entre les patrons et la nombreuse population ouvrière ne sont pas un des moindres éléments du succès persistant de cette colossale entreprise agricole, dont la Belgique s'enorgueillit à juste titre.

Désireux d'intéresser la généralité des cultivateurs à son oeuvre, la classe 35 entreprit de démontrer d'une façon générale quelques améliorations et dispositions vers lesquelles il y a lieu de tendre dans l'avenir, plutôt que de construire une ferme modèle de telle ou telle région. La construction a donc été appelée Ferme Démonstrative. Outre ces dispositions d'un intérêt général, les visiteurs y ont trouvé des applications des dernières données de la science et surtout des règles d'hygiène de première nécessité dans toute exploitation agricole. Ils ont pu juger, dans leur cadre naturel, les différents matériaux mis à leur disposition, tant pour la construction des fermes nouvelles que pour la transformation des anciennes. On ne s'est pas contenté d'ériger des bâtiments, mais on a présenté une ferme meublée complètement et munie d'un outillage moderne, à la hauteur du progrès, fourni par les industries nationales.

A côté de la ferme était organisé le jardin légumier garni de toutes les plantes maraîchères et médicinales qu'il convient d'avoir à sa portée.

En vue d'atteindre les desiderata des promoteurs, un projet de plan a d'abord été soumis aux observations d'un comité technique, comprenant des spécialistes des diverses régions du pays.

M. H. Van Massenhove, architecte à Bruxelles, a dressé les plans de la construction d'après les conseils de cette commission. L'exécution, le choix des matériaux et du matériel ont été confiés à un comité exécutif, lequel s'est institué en société coopérative sous la dénomination de « La Ferme Démonstrative ».

Afin de résoudre le côté financier, le comité exécutif a fait appel aux agriculteurs du pays ainsi qu'aux personnes s'intéressant spécialement à l'agriculture. Cet appel a été entendu et la Société a pu se constituer le 20 décembre 1904 avec 41 membres fondateurs ayant apporté ensemble un capital de 6.500 francs. Plus tard, quelques nouveaux membres sont venus s'ajouter, portant ainsi le capital de la société à 8.100 francs. Le comité exécutif devint le conseil d'administration de la société.

Evidemment, la somme de 8.100 francs était encore bien insuffisante pour construire, en matériaux durs, une ferme mesurant 45 mètres de long sur 12 mètres de largeur et en plus toutes les dépendances, fosses à fumier et hangar couverts, d'un devis global de 24.600 francs. C'est alors que, grâce à l'intervention de la classe 35, le comité exécutif de la société obtint un subside de 18.000 francs.

Malgré les subsides, la société faisant abandon de son capital, n'aurait pu subvenir à son budget si elle n'avait trouvé le généreux concours de ses exposants, qui les uns ont apporté gratuitement à pied-d'oeuvre leurs matériaux; les autres ont préféré en garder la propriété tout en intervenant dans les frais en payant une cotisation de membre d'honneur. Poursuivant le but du Comité technique et voulant justifier le titre adopté pour la ferme, le comité exécutif s'est efforcé d'obtenir la plus grande diversité dans les matériaux mis en oeuvre.

Il s'est adressé à tous les industriels, priant chacun de venir montrer sa spécialité et il a obtenu: les fondations en moellons avec feutre en asphalte pour empêcher l'humidité du sol de monter dans ks murs; — les soubassements en mosaïques de grès; — les pierres taillées en calcaire et en grès artificiels; — les murs en briques spéciales de façade et en briques ordinaires; — les revêtements en faïence, en majolique et en ciments; — les boiseries imprégnées au carbonyle; — les voûtes en briques, en béton et plafond isolé avec la quercine; — les cloisons au moyen des plaques Belgica; — les toitures en ardoises à crochets, en tuiles à recouvrement et en tôles ondulées; — les grillages en bois et en fer forgé.

La même diversité a été maintenue dans l'aménagement intérieur de la ferme et dans tout le matériel. Pour ce dernier, chaque constructeur a fourni de préférence la machine ou l'outil constituant sa spécialité. Le nombre d'exposants s'élevait au total à 42 qui, après approbation du Commissariat général, ont été admis à concourir dans leurs classes respectives, avec droit aux récompenses réglemientaires.

L'ensemble des bâtiments comprenait: une maison d'habitation, une écurie,- une étable, une porcherie, une infirmerie, un poulailler, un hangar pour la préparation des aliments, une grange, un hangar pour instruments aratoires, une fosse à fumier couverte.


Jardin et Verger de la Ferme.

M. J. Debeur, président de l'école professionnelle d'horticulture de Liège, et M. Marchandise, chef de culture au Jardin botanique de Bruxelles, se sont spécialement occupés du jardin et du verger attenant à la ferme. Les démonstrations y étaient faites par les élèves de l'école d'horticulture de Liège, sous la direction de M. Lecrenier, professeur.

Au verger se trouvaient les principales variétés d'arbres fruitiers, ainsi que les moyens de les protéger pendant leur jeune âge.


Démonstrations d'économie domestique.

La classe 35 de l'Exposition (Enseignement spécial agricole) a organisé dans la Ferme Démonstrative des démonstrations d'économie domestique et de laiterie, sous la direction de M. Thomas, agronome de l'Etat, à Grivegnée. Ce sont les maîtresses des écoles volantes de laiterie du pays, aujourd'hui les écoles ménagères agricoles, qui ont été appelées à venir à tour de rôle avec leurs élèves à tenir la place de la fermière et de sa famille.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905