Back - List of Pavilions

Water and Forestry - Expo Liege 1905

Water and Forestry at the Exhibition Expo Liege 1905

Then, leading to the Rue de Fragnée, came the curiously interesting installations and attractions of the Belgian Forestry and Hunting Group: a very original pavilion containing collections of forestry products, an experimental nursery, a series of enormous tree trunks, exhibited by the best-known firms in the timber trade.

The Hunting and Forestry Pavilion, erected on the Fragnée plain, opposite the Agriculture Pavilion, was one of those where the crowd of visitors preferred to go throughout the Exhibition: it was of great interest from the point of view of the technical and statistical data gathered on the special subject of forests, hunting and fishing, by means of suggestive didramas of great veracity and freshness, which never fail to captivate the masses of visitors.

Since the industry has taken a great development in all fields, the consumption of wood has increased to a considerable extent.

Belgium has not escaped the common law and its wood needs have followed a progressive, but very rapid, progression, especially in the last fifteen years.

In 1840, we only bought 4,698,000 francs from abroad. In 1890, for 70,363,000 francs; in 1900, for 134,651,000 francs; and, in 1905, for 143 million 453,000 francs! And this enormous sum does not include bark and wood pulp (about 13 million), nor matches, gunwood, wood for masts and yards, wood for dyeing, furniture, etc., the whole amounting to 25 to 30 million annually!

On the other hand, neighbouring nations hardly buy wood from us each year for more than 13 to 14 million francs, which proves that it is for our needs, for our industries, that we use this enormous quantity of wood in addition to that which we produce.

This consideration alone would be sufficient to justify the efforts of the Government to improve the production of our forests and to afforest the considerable uncultivated area which still exists in Belgium,
which still exists in Belgium.

According to the agricultural statistics of 1895, here is how Belgian forest property was distributed among the various owners:


State.....................................................................25,041 hectares
Communes......................................................158,182 ''
Public establishments..................6,952
Private individuals..........................................331,320
521.495 hectares

According to the cadastre of 1850, the territorial extent of Belgium is 2,945,506 hectares; the proportion of woods and forests, in general, is therefore, in round figures, about one sixth.

The State's woods represent about the 117th part of the territory, those of the municipalities and public establishments the 18th, those of private individuals the 9th.

The same statistics also show that there were still 169,329 hectares of uncultivated land in Belgium, of which 105,365 belonged to private individuals, 58,107 to municipalities and public establishments and more than 6,856 to the State.

The latter include the alluvium deposited by the Scheldt, the coastal dunes, the Hertogenwald fens not yet reforested at the date of the statistics, and the heathland belonging to certain penitentiaries or constituting the military camps of Beverloo and Brasschaet.

The development of moorland belonging to the communes is, in fact, beyond the direct control of the forestry administration. However, the latter is making great efforts to encourage the communes to take advantage of these vast expanses of heathland, which can, if properly cultivated, become the source of considerable profits. Substantial subsidies, amounting to at least half of the total expenditure, are granted to municipalities that proceed with the afforestation of their uncultivated land.

In addition, the forestry officers give annual silvicultural lectures, the main aim of which is to promote the development of the moors.


HUNTING

The exercise of the right to hunt is governed by the law of 28 February 1882. According to this law, anyone can hunt on his own land or on the land of others with the consent of the owner or his successors, on condition that he can prove that he has a permit to carry weapons for shooting and a special permit for hunting greyhounds.

Licences are personal and valid for one year, from 1 July to 30 June of the following year.

It is forbidden to hunt outside the periods fixed each year by the Government, in order to ensure the reproduction of game. Every owner has the right to repel, even with firearms, wild animals that damage his property.

Finally, a regulation of 14 August 1889 provides for the destruction, hunting, sale, purchase, transport and peddling of insectivorous birds, their eggs or their broods.


The continuous increase in the number of hunters is obviously one of the main causes of the decrease in game.



FOREST

The high plateaus of the Ardennes are characterised by the abundance of grassland and litter due to the climatic conditions of the region and the composition of the soil. Towards the end of winter, before the vegetation starts to grow again, it only takes a persistent east or north wind, and a few days of sunshine, for the withered grass and heather to dry out and become highly flammable. The fire breaks out and spreads in the woods and fens of the Spa cantonment with incredible ease. Against such a serious evil, it was necessary to take numerous preventive measures, of which the following are the principal ones:

1. During the critical period, notices warning the public of the dangers of fire are spread widely in the woods subject to the forestry regime.

2. Forestry officers should be recommended to be very tolerant of the local population, for whom the woods are a source of small profits. By making people love the forest, they can keep malice away from it and, in case of danger, ensure that it has many devoted defenders.

3. Establishment of a complete network of paths and firebreaks varying from 4 to 12 metres in width. The most important ones are transformed into grassland by spreading basic phosphate and sowing grass.

4. In the event of serious disasters, which cannot be fought by direct means, a strong remedy should be used: the backfire. The very intense fire that occurs is opposed by an accessory fire, closely monitored, which is intentionally lit along a firebreak placed across the path of the disaster. The fire is extinguished due to lack of food.

5. De-gassing of a strip of land, about 2 metres wide, along the railway tracks. It would be desirable for this work to be carried out annually with great care, at least on curves and steep ramps.

6. Considerable reinforcement of surveillance at critical moments.

7. Installation of observation posts on the highest points of the area or in the middle of the wood in the top of a high tree. During the dangerous period, a guard stands there permanently. Nearby, a team of workers, busy with improvement work, is ready to help at the first alarm.

In the woods of the city of Spa, a cyclist is at the disposal of the foresters, in order to quickly connect the different rescue stations.

Among the interesting collections exhibited at the Pavillon des Forêts, we must mention first that of an industry recently created in Belgium, under the name "Boissellerie artistique d'Ardenne", in Paliseul.

This cooperative society, with a minimum capital of 5,000 francs, whose registered office is at 210, rue Royale, in Brussels, was founded in March 1904, to promote the development of the work of the Boissellerie, created in June 1903, by M. de Sébille, engineer, forestry adviser, at Framont, under the high patronage of His Royal Highness the Count of Flanders.

Thanks to the support of the Government, the Société centrale forestière and generous philanthropists, M. de Sébille organised mobile courses in modelling, drawing and sculpture in fourteen communes of the Neufchâteau district, with Paliseul as the centre, where a national museum of models has just been founded. The first courses were given for three months, every fortnight for three hours, in each of these communes. The results were conclusive; more than a hundred pupils followed these courses and immediately produced small objects remarkable for their originality and delicacy; the models were chosen from the local flora and fauna. In the first year, they were able to imitate artistic subjects with such fidelity that they immediately found outlets for them.

The courses resumed in 1904-1905 and, at present, the Society is in a position to take on all the sculptural work entrusted to it, such as: panelling, chimeras, gargoyles, coat racks, frames, dials, inkwells, baskets, easels, photograph album holders, etc., with all types of wood, under the most advantageous conditions.
Also worth mentioning is the beautiful exhibition of the Ponts et Chaussées, special service of the coast (Mr. Van de Casteele, Blankenberghe), which shows us three plans and a book of photographic views relating to the afforestation of the state dunes.

Due to the continuous and prolonged action of the winds blowing away the dried out sands, a series of dunes covering a total area of 5,000 hectares has been formed on the Belgian coast, most of which belong to private individuals.

The State owns the dunes extending from Middelkerke to Heyst, which are subject to the decrees of 31 March 1806, 14 December 1810, 16 December 1811 and the Royal Decree of 27 May 1817, which ensure the fixing and conservation of the dunes.

A special commission was appointed to study the question of afforestation of the Belgian dunes. In 1887, this Commission made a very detailed report, and in 1888, afforestation was started according to the principles indicated by this Commission.

In the first year, it was found that the cuttings taken from the plantations along the dunes were much more resistant than those coming from the interior of the country, and it was decided to create flying nurseries in the dunes themselves.

Since 1889, afforestation work has been pursued with perseverance and tenacity. The government has established an irrigation field in the Zandpanne, where the soil of the nurseries is fertilised with sewage from the town of Blankenberghe.

The work on the Prince Albert Park has transformed 7 hectares of high, barren dunes into a large park.

The experience gained in the execution of dune afforestation works in Belgium has led to the following rules:
1° Break up the ground to a minimum depth of 11,120 m and break through the tuff layer when it is less than 1,150 m below ground level;

2° Cover the excavated land with branches, strong earth or street mud to prevent the sand from being blown away by strong winds;

3. Plant healthy, sturdy cuttings, 0.08-0.10m in circumference at the large end and 1.20-1.30m in length, bury them so that they are only about 0.10m above ground level and fix the sand between them;

4° In the sheltered and well-prepared lower parts, white alder, maple, ash, oak, birch, etc. can be planted, but planting willow, poplar and elder cuttings is the safest;

5° On the northern and eastern slopes of the hills, softwood seedlings can be planted. Two year old softwood seedlings give the best results. Pinus austriaca is best suited to the Belgian dunes. Pinus sylvestris and Corsica also do well;

6° Create in well-sheltered places, near roads and paths, flying nurseries that not only make a considerable saving in afforestation work, but also provide the planter, near the future afforestation, with acclimatised plants from which he can sort out, and which allow him to carry out all the uprooting and replanting operations in less than twenty-four hours;

7° To amend the land to be wooded, by adding strong earth or street mud.

Among the species giving the best results are poplars and willows.

Among the deciduous trees (in the lower parts), we mention white alder and ash, and willow; in the higher parts, birch and maple; on the heights and slopes, tamarix, Bohemian olive tree, dwarf willow and hypophyte.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Eaux et Forêts


Eaux et Forêts à l'exposition de Liège 1905

Puis, aboutissant à la rue de Fragnée, venaient les installations si curieusement intéressantes et attractions du groupe belge des Forêts et de la Chasse: c'était un très original pavillon renfermant des collections des produits de la sylviculture, une pépinière expérimentale, une série d'énormes troncs d'arbres, exposés par les firmes les plus connues du commerce du bois.

Le Pavillon de la Chasse et des Forêts, érigé à la plaine de Fragnée, vis-à-vis du Pavillon de l'Agriculture, a été l'un de ceux où là foule des visiteurs s'est rendue de préférence, pendant toute la durée de l'Exposition : il présentait un grand intérêt au point de vue des données techniques et statistiques réunies sur la matière spéciale des forêts, de la chasse et de la pêche, par le moyen de didramas suggestifs d'une grande véracité et d'une grande fraîcheur, qui ne manquent jamais de captiver la massé des; visiteurs.

Depuis que l'industrie a pris un grand développement dans' tous les; domaines, la consommation ligneuse a augmenté dans une mesure considérable.

La Belgique n'a pas échappé à la loi commune et ses besoins en bois .ont suivi une marche progressive, très rapide surtout les quinze dernières années.

En 1840, nous achetions seulement à l'étranger pour 4.698.000 francs. En 1890, pour 70.363.000 francs; en 1900, pour 134.651.000 francs; et, en 1905, pour 143 millions 453.000 francs! Et dans cette somme énorme ne sont pas compris les écorces et la pâte de bois (environ 13 millions), ni les allumettes, les bois de fusils, les bois pour mâts, vergues, les bois de teintures, les meubles, etc., le tout comprenant de 25 à 30 millions annuellement!

D'autre part, les nations voisines ne nous achètent guère du bois, chaque année, que pour 13 à 14 millions de francs, ce qui prouve bien que c'est pour nos besoins, pour nos industries, que nous utilisons cette quantité énorme de bois en sus de celle que nous produisons.

Cette considération suffirait, à elle seule, à justifier les efforts que fait le Gouvernement pour améliorer la production de nos forêts et pour boiser le domaine inculte, si considérable,
qui existe encore en Belgique.

Voici, d'après la statistique agricole de 1895, comment la propriété forestière belge se répartissait entre les divers propriétaires:


Etat……………………………………………………………25,041 hectares
Communes………………………………………………158,182 ‘’
Etablissements publics………………6,952 ‘’
Particuliers……………………………………331,320 ‘’
521,495 hectares

D'après le cadastre de 1850, l'étendue territoriale de la Belgique est de 2.945.506 hectares; la proportion des bois et forêts, en général, est donc, en chiffres ronds, d'environ le sixième.

Les bois de l'Etat représentent à peu près la 117e partie du territoire, ceux des communes et des établissements publics la 18e, ceux des particuliers la 9e.

La même statistique montre également qu'il se trouvait encore en Belgique 169.329 hectares de terrains incultes, dont 105.365 appartenant aux particuliers, 58.107 aux communes et aux établissements publics et plus de 6.856 à l'Etat.

Ces derniers comprennent les alluvions déposées par l'Escaut, les dunes côtières, les fagnes de l'Hertogenwald non encore reboisées à la date de la statistique, et les bruyères qui dépendent de certains établissements pénitenciers ou qui constituent les camps militaires de Beverloo et de Brasschaet.

La mise en valeur des landes appartenant aux communes échappe, en vérité, à toute action directe de l'administration forestière. Toutefois, celle-ci fait de grands efforts pour engager les communes à tirer profit de ces vastes étendues de bruyères qui peuvent, par une culture bien entendue, devenir la source de notables profits. Des subsides importants, atteignant au moins la moitié de la dépense totale, sont accordés aux communes qui procèdent au boisement de leurs terrains incultes.

D'autre part, les agents forestiers donnent annuellement des conférences sylvicoles qui ont surtout pour but d'activer la mise en valeur des landes.


CHASSE

L'exercice du droit de chasse est régi par la loi du 28 février 1882. Aux termes de cette loi, tout le monde peut chasser sur ses propres terres ou sur celles d'autrui avec le consentement du propriétaire ou de ses ayants-droit, à la condition de justifier d'un permis de port d'armes pour la chasse à tirer et d'un permis spécial pour la chasse au lévrier.

Les permis sont personnels et valables pour un an, du 1er juillet au 30 juin de l'année suivante.

Il est interdit de chasser en dehors des époques fixées, chaque année, par le Gouvernement, et ce, dans le but d'assurer la reproduction du gibier. Tout propriétaire a le droit de repousser, même avec des armes à feu, les bêtes fauves qui portent atteinte à son bien.

Enfin, un règlement du 14 août 1889 prévoit la destruction, la chasse, la vente, l'achat, le transport et le colportage des oiseaux insectivores, de leurs œufs ou de leurs couvées.


L’accroissement continu du nombre de chasseurs est évidemment une des causes principales de la diminution du gibier.



FORÊT

Les hauts plateaux de l’Ardenne se caractérisent par l’abondance des herbages et des litières, dues aux conditions climatiques de le région et à la composition du sol. Vers la fin de l’hiver, avant la reprise de la végétation, il suffit que le vent d’est ou du nord souffle avec quelque persistance, il suffit de quelques jours de soleil, pour que les herbes fanées et les bruyère se dessèchent et deviennent inflammables au plus haut degré. Le feu éclate et se propage dans les bois et les fagnes du cantonnement de Spa avec une facilité inouïe. Contre un mal aussi grave, il a fallu prendre de nombreuse mesures préventives dont voici les principales :

1. Pendant la période critique, des avis mettant le public en garde contre les dangers du feu sont répandus à profusion dans les bois soumis au régime forestier.

2. Recommandation aux préposés forestiers d’user largement de tolérance à l’égard des populations riveraines, pour lesquelles les bois sont une source de petits profits. En faisant aimer la forêt, on écarte d’elle la malveillance et on lui assure, en cas de danger, de nombreux et dévoués défenseurs.

3. Etablissement d'un réseau complet de chemins et de coupe-feu d'une largeur variant de 4 à 12 mètres. Les plus importants sont transformés en prairie par l'épan- dage de phosphate basique et le semis de graminées.

4. En cas de sinistres graves, impossibles à combattre par les moyens directs, recourir à un remède énergique: le contre-feu. On oppose à l'incendie très intense qui arrive, un incendie accessoire, étroitement surveillé, que l'on allume intentionnellement le long d'un coupe-feu placé en travers de la marche du sinistre. Le feu s'éteint faute d'aliments.

5. Dégazonnement d'une bande de terrain, de 2 mètres de largeur environ, le long des voies ferrées. Il serait désirable que ce travail fût exécuté annuellement avec grand soin, tout au moins dans les courbes et les fortes rampes.

6. Renforcement considérable de la surveillance dans les moments critiques.

7. Installation de postes d'observation sur les points culminants de la région ou au milieu du bois, dans la cime d'un arbre élevé. Pendant la période dangereuse, un garde s'y tient en permanence. A proximité, une équipe d'ouvriers, occupée à des travaux d'amélioration, est prête à porter secours à la première alerte.

Dans les bois de la ville de Spa, un agent cycliste est à la disposition des forestiers, afin de mettre rapidement en communication les différents postes de secours.

Parmi les intéressantes collections exposées au Pavillon des Forêts, nous devons signaler en première ligne celle d'une industrie créée récemment en Belgique, sous le nom « Boissellerie artistique d'Ardenne », à Paliseul.

Cette société coopérative, au capital minimum de 5.000 francs, dont le siège social est 210, rue Royale, à Bruxelles, fut fondée en mars 1904, pour favoriser le développement de l'œuvre de la Boissellerie, créée en juin 1903, par M. de Sébille, ingénieur, conseiller des forêts, à Framont, sous le haut patronage de S. A. R. Monseigneur le Comte de Flandre.

Grâce à l'appui du Gouvernement, de la Société centrale forestière et de généreux philanthropes, M. de Sébille organisa des cours ambulants de modelage, de dessin et de sculpture, dans quatorze communes de l'arrondissement de Neufchâteau, ayant pour centre Paliseul, où un musée national de modèles vient d'être fondé. Les premiers cours furent donnés pendant trois mois, tous les quinze jours pendant trois heures, dans chacune de ces communes. Les résultats furent concluants; plus de cent élèves suivirent ces cours et produisirent tout de suite de petits objets remarquables par leur originalité et leur délicatesse; les modèles étaient choisis dans la flore et la faune locales. Ils purent, dès la ' première année, imiter des sujets artistiques avec une fidélité si grande qu'ils en trouvaient immédiatement des débouchés.

Les cours reprirent en 1904-1905 et, actuellement, la Société est à même d'entre- prendre tous les travaux de sculpture qu'on lui confiera, tels que: lambris, chimères, gargouilles, porte-manteaux, cadres, cadrans, encriers, corbeilles, chevalets, porte-albums de photographies, etc., avec toutes espèces de bois, aux conditions les plus avantageuses.
A signaler également la belle exposition des Ponts et Chaussées, service spécial de la côte (M. le conducteur principal Van de Casteele, Blankenberghe), qui nous montre trois plans et un cahier de vues photographiques relatifs aux boisements des dunes domaniales.

Sous l'action incessante et prolongée des vents chassant devant eux les sables desséchés, il s'est formé, sur la côte belge, une série de dunes occupant une étendue totale de 5.000 hectares, dont la majeure partie appartient à des particuliers.

L'Etat possède les dunes s'étendant de Middelkerke à Heyst celles-ci sont ; soumises aux décrets du 31 mars 1806, du 14 décembre 1810, du 16 décembre 1811 et à l'arrêté royal du 27 mai 1817, qui assurent la fixation et la conservation des dunes.

Une Commission spéciale fut nommée pour étudier la question du boisement des dunes belges. En 1887, cette Commission fit un rapport très détaillé, et, dès 1888, le boisement fut commencé suivant les principes indiqués par cette Commission.

Dès la première année, on constata que les boutures empruntées aux plantations riveraines des dunes étaient beaucoup plus résistantes que celles venant de l'intérieur du pays, et l'on décida de créer des pépinières volantes dans les dunes mêmes.

Depuis 1889, les travaux de boisement ont été poursuivis avec persévérance et ténacité. L'Etat a établi dans le Zandpanne un champ d'irrigation, dans lequel on fertilise le sol des pépinières par le sewage de la ville de Blankenberghe.

Les travaux du parc Prince-Albert ont transformé 7 hectares de hautes dunes arides et dénudées en un grand parc.

L'expérience acquise pour l'exécution des travaux de boisement des dunes en Belgique a conduit aux règles suivantes:
1° Défoncer le sol à une profondeur minimurn de 11120 et percer la couche de tuf lorsque celle-ci se trouve à moins de lm50 sous le niveau du sol;

2° Couvrir le terrain défoncé de branchages, de terre forte ou de boues de rue pour empêcher l'enlèvement du sable par les vents violents;

3. Planter des boutures saines, robustes, de 0m08 à 0m10 de pourtour au gros bout et de 1m20 à 1m30 de longueur, les enterrer de manière qu'elles ne dépassent le niveau du sol que d'environ 0m10 et fixer le sable entre ces boutures;

4° Dans les parties basses abritées et bien préparées, on peut planter des aulnes blancs, des érables, des frênes, des chênes, des bouleaux, etc., mais la plantation par boutures de saules, de peupliers et de sureaux est la plus sûre;

5° Sur les versants nord et est des collines, on peut repiquer des plants semis de résineux. Les semis de deux ans de résineux donnent les meilleurs résultats. Le Pinus austriaca convient le mieux aux dunes belges. Le Pinus sylvestris et le Corsica viennent bien aussi;

6° Créer dans des endroits bien abrités, à proximité des routes et des chemins, des pépinières volantes qui réalisent dans les travaux de boisement, non seulement une économie très notable, mais qui mettent à la disposition du planteur, à proximité des futurs boisements, des plantes acclimatées, parmi lesquelles il peut faire un triage, et permettant d'effectuer toutes les opérations d'arrachage et de replantation en moins de vingt-quatre heures;

7° Amender les terrains à boiser, par l'addition de terres fortes ou de boues de rue.

Parmi les essences donnant les meilleurs résultats, il faut citer les peupliers et les saules.

Parmi les feuillus (dans les parties basses), nous mentionnons l'aulne blanc et le frêne, le saule marsault ; dans les parties plus élevées, le bouleau et l'érable ; sur les hauteurs et les versants, le tamarix, l'olivier de Bohême, le saule nain et l'hypophaë.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905