Back - List of Pavilions

Vinâve (Merchants' street) - Expo Liege 1905

Vinâve (Merchants' street) at the Exhibition Expo Liege 1905

In front of us opened the "Vinâve", the street of the merchants: we noticed the house of the Cornet de Poste (Renaissance) with its large porch, the slate house of Ensival (Renaissance), the house Batta de Huy, in Renaissance style, as well as a graceful Louis XV fountain.

In several streets, rustic stalls used to house workers working on old trades in full view of the public. The old straw industry of Glons was revived and put a touch of Italy in this evocation of a western country.

Other houses offered to the eyes of the passers-by old and tasty signs of inns, estaminets; in many of them the Walloon language, sung in chorus on the words of folk poets, testified to its brilliant rebirth; sometimes still, some puppet shows where "Chanchet" assumed the principal role, added to the local interest of the district.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Vinâve (Rue des Commerçants)


Vinâve (Rue des Commerçants) à l'exposition de Liège 1905

Devant nous s'ouvrait le « Vinâve », la rue des Commerçants: on y remarquait la maison du Cornet de Poste (Renaissance) avec son large porche, la maison en ardoises d'Ensival (Renaissance), la maison Batta de Huy, de style Renaissance, ainsi qu'une gracieuse fontaine Louis XV.

Dans plusieurs rues de rustiques échoppes abritaient des ouvriers travaillant sous les yeux du public, à d'anciens métiers. La vieille industrie de la paille de Glons y revivait et mettait un coin d'Italie dans cette évocation d'un pays occidental.

D'autres maisons offraient aux regards des passants de vieilles et savoureuses enseignes d'auberges, d'estaminets; dans nombre d'entre elles le wallon, chanté en choeur sur des paroles de poètes folkloristes, témoignait de sa renaissance brillante; parfois encore, quelques représentations de marionnettes où « Chanchet » assumait le principal rôle, ajoutait à l'intérêt local du quartier.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905