Universal and International Exhibition of Liege 1905

75th anniversary of national independence

April 25, 1905 - November 6, 1905


Back - List of Pavilions

General view

General view at the Exhibition Liege 1905

In most of the exhibitions that have followed one another in recent years, it has been customary to build, alongside the halls housing the latest discoveries in the general field of science and art, a few reconstructions of the city itself, where the great world fair was held, at a certain period of its history, or even at different key periods of it.

The Antwerp Exhibition of 1894 saw the creation of the magnificent and tasty Old Antwerp; Amsterdam, the following year, evoked the dark, black, commercial Amsterdam seen by Rembrandt and the picturesque Amsterdam, with its long canal streets ending in some flapping windmill wing; Brussels-Kermesse, in 1897, was a pure and crazy festival and Old Paris, at the 1900 Paris Exhibition, evoked the sumptuous, the gleaming, the pretty century of Louis XIV.

Faced with such precedents, Liège could not remain insensitive; it was a Société Anonyme that conceived the project of an ancient reconstruction and took charge of bringing it to a successful conclusion. Because of its importance, its beauty and its strictly historical documentary value, Old Liege was certainly more than an attraction.

We will talk about it mainly from an archaeological and artistic point of view.

The Quartier du Vieux-Liège was built between the Meuse and the Ourthe diversion.

From afar, nothing was more pleasing than to see these acute or bulbous towers, these sloping roofs. This district, together with the green tip of the Boverie peninsula, formed a cheerful frame for the white and cheerful vision of the main facade of the halls and the Palais des Fêtes.

The Quarter occupied an area of nearly four hectares and was made up of more than a hundred houses, monuments and shops; their reconstruction was very difficult.
Old houses with a typical character are rare and scattered or denatured. It was necessary to travel through the old country of Liege and to find the most interesting elements of old Walloon architecture in the towns, villages and remote hamlets and, using these, to build and reconstruct buildings in accordance with the ideas of their authors.

As an evocation of the old city, Old Liege was still a synthesis of Walloon architecture.

In the archaic setting of Old Liege, the bourgeoisie, craftsmen and men-at-arms, coal miners and women with their picturesque, brightly coloured
colourful costumes. There was a revival of the customs of yesteryear, of the joyous festivals of yesteryear in the Quarter.

Of these parties, some were permanent, others were occasional; every evening, cramignons strolled merrily through the streets marking,
with a last song and a final burst of laughter, the retreat and the curfew.

Among the parties that were organised, a few introduced our forefathers to the life of pleasure; most of them still exist. These were the neighbourhood festivals with their traditional festivities, trade festivals, singing and shooting competitions, bowling, finches and rooster crowing. Other festivals, the historical processions, a Joyeuse Entrée, the May festival, the harvest festival, showed us beautiful Walloon girls, pretty costumes, and let us hear the most cheerful and lively songs that the cheerful and frenzied gesture of a cramignon can give rhythm to.

This was Old Liege at the Exhibition. Its main and lasting merit was above all to bring together a set of serious and complete documents relating to the architecture of the Mosans in the past.

We would also like to mention here that the Société anonyme du Vieux-Liège organised a poster competition in which many artists took part.

Two of the projects executed were those of Mr. Jean Ubaghs and Mr. Georges Koister, who won the first and second prizes respectively.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Vue Générale


Vue Générale à l'exposition de Liège 1905

Dans la plupart des expositions qui se sont succédées durant ces dernières années, il fut de coutume d'édifier, à côté des halls abritant les dernières découvertes faites dans le domaine général des Sciences et des Arts, quelques reconstitutions de la ville elle-même, où se tenait la grande foire mondiale, à une certaine époque de son histoire, ou même à différentes époques marquantes de celle-ci.

L'Exposition d'Anvers 1894, vit se créer le magnifique et savoureux Vieil-Anvers ; Amsterdam, l'année suivante, évoqua l'Amsterdam à ruelles sombres, noires, commerçantes, vues par Rembrandt et l'Amsterdam pittoresque, à longues rues à canaux terminées par quelque aile battante de moulin à vent; Bruxelles-Kermesse, en 1897, fut une pure et folle fête et le Vieux-Paris, à l'Exposition de Paris 1900, évoqua le somptueux, le rutilant, le joli siècle de Louis XIV.

En face de tels précédents, Liège ne pouvait rester insensible; ce fut une Société Anonyme qui conçut le projet d'une reconstitution ancienne et qui s'occupa de la mener à bonne fin. Par son importance, sa beauté, sa valeur documentaire rigoureusement historique, le Vieux-Liège était certes plus qu'une attraction.

Nous en parlerons surtout au point de vue archéologique et artistique.

Le Quartier du Vieux-Liège était édifié entre la Meuse et la dérivation de l'Ourthe.

De loin, rien n'était plus joyeux de voir ces tours aiguës ou à bulbes, ces toits à versants inclinés. Ce quartier formait avec la pointe verte de la presqu'île de la Boverie, d'autre part, un joyeux cadre à cette blanche et riante vision qu'était la façade principale des halls et le Palais des Fêtes.

Le Quartier occupait une superficie de près de quatre hectares et se composait de plus de cent maisons, monuments et échoppes; leur reconstitution fut des plus ardues.
Disséminées ou dénaturées, les vieilles maisons présentant un caractère typique se font rares, il fallut parcourir l'ancien pays de Liège et relever dans les villes, dans les villages et les hameaux éloignés, les éléments les plus intéressants de la vieille architecture wallonne et, au moyen de ceux-ci, édifier et reconstituer des constructions conformément à la pensée de leurs auteurs.

Evocation de la vieille cité, le Vieux-Liège était encore une synthèse de l'architecture wallonne.

Dans le cadre archaïque du Vieux-Liège voisinaient les bourgeois, artisans et hommes d'armes, houilleurs et botteresses aux pittoresques costumes, de
couleurs vives. Il y eut dans le Quartier une renaissance des moeurs d'antan, des joyeuses fêtes de jadis.

De ces fêtes, les unes étaient permanentes, d'autres furent occasionnelles; chaque soir, des cramignons déambulaient gaiement dans les rues marquant,
par une dernière chanson et un dernier éclat de rire, la retraite et le couvre-feu.

Parmi les fêtes qui furent organisées, quelques-unes initièrent à la vie de plaisir de nos aïeux; la plupart d'entre elles existent encore. C'étaient les fêtes de quartier avec leurs traditionnelles réjouissances, les fêtes de métiers, les concours de chant, de tir, de jeux de quilles, de pinsons, de chants de coq. D'autres fêtes, les cortèges historiques, une Joyeuse Entrée, la fête de Mai, la fête des vendanges, nous montrèrent de belles filles wallonnes, de jolis costumes, en nous faisant entendre les plus gaies et les plus vives chansons que puisse rythmer le geste allègre et endiablé d'un cramignon.

Ce fut là le Vieux-Liège à l'Exposition. Son principal et durable mérite fut surtout de réunir un ensemble de documents sérieux et complets relativement à l'architecture mosane d'autrefois.

Nous voulons encore mentionner ici que la Société anonyme du Vieux-Liège organisa un concours d'affiches-réclames auquel participèrent de nombreux artistes.

Deux des projets exécutés furent ceux de MM. Jean Ubaghs et Georges Koister, qui obtinrent respectivement le premier et le second prix.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905