Back - List of Pavilions

Turkey - Expo Liege 1905

Turkey at the Exhibition Expo Liege 1905

A traveller who strolled over the great Galata Bridge, which links over the Golden Horn, Stamboul to Pera, the Constantinople of the sons of the Prophet, of the D'jamis, of the turbans, to that of the ambassadors and of the Ottoman Bank, said that it is from this bridge, the crossroads of wandering races, the supreme rendezvous of the nations who are at their last men, that we have the most marvellous picture of Turkey from the greatest master of them all.

It is here," he said, "where par excellence the enchantment operates in the perspective of the three cities which on three avenues of land form Constantinople, the amphitheatre of Pera where the play of light sparkles, Stamboul which is enclosed by the ancient walls of Byzantium, Scutari from where Islamism has headed towards Europe with its great cemetery all dark against the clear background of Bithynia.

On the bridge, the white burnous of the Arab rubs against the fustanelle of the Albanian and the Bulgarian, the sapphire jacket of the Montenegrin, embroidered on all the seams, blazes next to the cauldron cafetan of an old Muslim; the turban of twisted muslin crosses the astrakhan headdress in the shape of a tower of the Kurd, the Armenian, the Georgian, the Syrian, the Maltese, the Negro of Nubia parade: . .

It is indeed a vision of the East, of that East on whose deep blue sky the mosques and minarets cut their immaculate whiteness, remaining the fierce guardians and faithful witnesses of a civilisation which hardly allows itself to be touched by the onslaught of the West and which, on a territory of 3,180,000 square kilometres, poorly populated with 25 million inhabitants, lives in the ivory tower of an original literature and in the glory of an architecture which does not eclipse the
of an architecture that does not eclipse that of the Greeks and Romans.

Turkey is a good customer for Belgium. It buys from it, year in and year out, some forty million worth of steel, iron, locomotives and railway carriages, and if we give it back some ten million, it is hardly in purchases of these sumptuous and royal carpets that it shows us in the enchantment of a white pavilion with delicate arches and tapered colonnades, a miniature of Ottoman architecture that is deliciously elaborate, light and elegant.

It is a debauchery of colours, a symphony of tones that these carpets, these rugs, these fabrics which are so many masterpieces that the tapestry industry has generated with a long patience and a so particular genius.

It seems that the word "Oriental Carpet" designates the perfection of a product whose art has no secret for the Turks and over which they traditionally take care.

And what variety in this heap of colours, what magnificence in this mountain of fabrics, what graceful lightness in these trunks and slippers which seem to be silk cases studded with flowers.

The jewels of the tapestry drag on the floor in these carpets that are shamelessly trodden on with the foot, in these marvellous carpets that display the shimmer of their beauty on the wall, see with these fabrics of supple, fine, exquisite silk, small handkerchiefs, boisterous boleros, ample curtains sown with embroideries of a delicate taste, of an insignificant skill. And the flowers open their corollas, blossom, the arabesques describe their whims as if the embroiderers had subtly slipped life and light into the skein of their silk.

Here, with furniture superbly inlaid with mother-of-pearl, ravishing necklaces, sequined ornaments that sound like rattling bells, metals bearing the imprint of a very refined artistic work, tobacco with an intoxicating aroma, everything that most evokes in our imagination this prodigious sanctuary of the past that is Turkey.

Products from the Omourdja distillery, flour, semolina and bran from the Société anonyme ottomane de Salonique, pharmaceutical specialities and confectionery from Constantinople complete this very interesting section.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Turquie


Turquie à l'exposition de Liège 1905

Un voyageur qui flâna sur le grand pont de Galata qui relie par-dessus la Corne d'Or, Stamboul à Péra, la Constantinople des fils du Prophète, des d'jamis, des turbés à celle des ambassadeurs et de la Banque ottomane, dit que c'est de ce pont, carrefour des races errantes, suprême rendez-vous des nations qui en sont à leurs derniers hommes que l'on a de la Turquie le plus merveilleux tableau du plus grand maître qui soit.

C'est ici, dit-il, où par excellence opère l'enchantement dans la perspective des trois villes qui sur trois avenues de terre forment Constantinople, l'amphithéâtre de Péra où scintillent les jeux de lumière, Stamboul qu'enferment les antiques murailles de Byzance, Scutari d'où l'islamisme s'est dirigé vers l'Europe avec son grand cimetière tout sombre sur le fond clair de Bithynie.

Sur le pont, le burnous blanc de l'Arabe se frotte à la fustanelle de l'Albanais et du Bulgare, la veste saphir du Monténégrin brodée sur toutes les coutures, flamboie à côté du cafetan chaudron d'un vieux Musulman ; le turban de mousseline tordue croise la coiffure d'astrakan en forme de tour du Kourde, l'Arménien, le Géorgien, le Syrien, le Maltais, le nègre de Nubie défilent:..

C'est bien une vision d'Orient, de cet Orient sur l'azur profond duquel les mosquées, les minarets découpent leur blancheur immaculée, demeurant les gardiens farouches et les témoins fidèles d'une civilisation qui se laisse à peine entamer par l'assaut de l'Occident et qui, sur un territoire de 3.180.000 kilomètres carrés, pauvrement peuplés de 25 millions d'habitants, vit dans la tour d'ivoire d'une littérature originale et dans la gloire
d'une architecture qui n'éclipse pas celle des Grecs et des Romains.

La Turquie est une bonne cliente pour la Belgique. Elle lui achète bon an mal en pour une quarantaine de millions d'acier, de fer, de locomotives, de voitures de chemins de fer et si nous lui rendons une dizaine de millions, ce n'est guère en achats de ces somptueux et royaux tapis qu'elle nous montre dans l'enchantement d'un pavillon blanc à arcades délicates, à colonnades fuselées, une miniature d'architecture ottomane délicieusement fouillée, légère et élégante.

C'est une débauche de couleurs, une symphonie de tons que ces tapis, ces carpettes, ces étoffes qui sont autant de chefs-d'oeuvre que l'industrie tapissière a engendrés avec une longanime patience et un génie si particulier.

Il semble que ce mot « Tapis d'Orient » désigne la perfection d'un produit dont l'art n'a plus de secret pour les Turcs et sur lequel ils veillent traditionnellement.

Et quelle variété dans cet amoncellement bigarré, quelle magnificence dans cette montagne d'étoffes, quelle gracieuse légèreté dans ces malles et ces babouches qui semblent des écrins de soie piqués de fleurs.

Les joyaux de la tapisserie traînent par terre dans ces carpettes que l'on foule du pied sans vergogne, dans ces merveilleux tapis qui arborent au mur le chatoiement de leur beauté, voisinent avec ces étoffes de soie souple, fine, exquise, mouchoirs menus, boléros tapageurs, rideaux amples semés de broderies d'un goût délicat, d'une insigne adresse. Et les fleurs entrouvrent leurs corolles, s'épanouissent, les arabesques décrivent leurs caprices comme si les brodeurs avaient subtilement glissé dans l'écheveau de leur soie la vie et la lumière.

Voilà, avec des meubles superbement incrustés de nacre, des colliers ravissants, des parures de sequins qui font entendre comme un cliquetis de sonnailles, des métaux portant l'empreinte d'un travail artistique très raffiné, des tabacs à l'arôme grisant, tout ce qui évoque le plus en notre imagination ce prodigieux sanctuaire du passé qu'est la Turquie.

Des produits de la distillerie d'Omourdja, des farines, semoules et son de la Société anonyme ottomane de Salonique, des spécialités pharmaceutiques et de la confiserie de Constantinople viennent compléter cette section si intéressante.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905