Universal and International Exhibition of Liege 1905

75th anniversary of national independence

April 25, 1905 - November 6, 1905


Back - List of Pavilions

Romania

Romania at the Exhibition Liege 1905

Equal political conditions and the kinship of the reigning families have established between our country and Romania, which is sometimes called the Belgium of the East, a current of lively sympathy. The province of Liege, in particular, is known there in a very intimate way. Is it any wonder that many sons of the best Romanian families come to study at our university and that frequent contacts are established between Romanian industrialists and our own.

Thus, the Cockerill Company recently supplied the Romanian railway administration with equipment.

Such commercial and moral relationships should have encouraged the Romanians to participate in our World Fair. However, in spite of strong requests and a trip to Bucharest by Mr. G. Simonis, the Romanian consul in Liege, and the intervention of Baron Beyens, the Belgian minister in Bucharest, Romania decided not to participate in the Liege Exhibition. Economic considerations and the need to reserve for the possibility of a Jubilee Exhibition in 1906, on the occasion of the 11th anniversary of the reign of His Majesty King Charles, prevented it from doing so.
King Charles, prevented him from doing so.

Baron Beyens, the distinguished and active Belgian minister to the Romanian government, whose praise cannot be sufficiently praised, approached the various administrations and found the most authoritative and active support in Mr. C. Alimanestiano, Director of Industry, Commerce and Mines at the Ministry of Agriculture, Industry, Commerce and Lands.

Baron Beyens then thought that if Romania's participation was limited to a product that it had every interest in making known, since it needed foreign capital for its exploitation, to a product worthy of attracting the attention of the financiers and industrialists of other nations, that is to say, to oil that was certainly destined to become the object of great industrial exploitation in the Danube kingdom, it would perhaps be possible to decide to have the Romanian government participate in the Liège Exhibition, where Romania's complete abstention would have been most regrettable.

In agreement with him, Mr. Alimanestiano, who had an admiration for Belgium that would suffice to explain the presence in our country of two of his younger brothers as students, one in Liège, the other in Gembloux, established that Romania could take part in a partial way in our Exhibition and represent, for example, all the importance and vitality of the oil industry that he knew more than any other, in his capacity as president of the Association of Oil Exploiters and Manufacturers of Romania.

They succeeded in rallying to their views Messrs Bratiano, Minister of Foreign Affairs, and Stoicesco, Minister of Agriculture, Industry, Trade and Land, who obtained from Mr Stourdza, President of the Council, in addition to the promise of a subsidy, his consent to the organisation by the Association of Oil Producers and Manufacturers of Romania, with the support of the Government, of the exhibition of Romanian oil in Liege.

The matter seemed to have been decided when, in December 1904, the liberal party was replaced in power by the conservative party; this unexpected change seemed to compromise forever the project of a Romanian participation in the Liege Exhibition.

However, as early as March 1905, our Minister in Bucharest and Mr. Alimanestiano who, at the end of 1904, had resigned as Director at the Ministry, were not discouraged and resumed this project with an ardour for which the people of Liège are grateful. They conducted a vigorous campaign, and obtained the valuable approval of Mr. Take Jonesco, Minister of Finance, and Mr. J. Lahovari, Minister of Lands.

Thanks to these high influences, the Romanian participation in the Universal Exhibition of Liège was definitively decided, a subsidy of 25,000 francs was granted and paid to the Association
of Petroleum Manufacturers and Exploiters in Romania.

Competent and dedicated people then took care of its rational organisation.

First of all, let us mention Mr. Alimanestiano, who was helped by the powerful assistance of Mr. L. Mrazec, university professor and member of the Romanian Academy, Mr. Edeleano, director of the Chemical Laboratory of the Ministry of Lands, the members of the Petroleum Commission, among whom we should especially mention Mr. V. Bratiano, all the staff of the Commission and of the Laboratory, and lastly, Mr. N. Mancas, the secretary of the Association, and our devoted Consul in Bucharest, Mr. Jaumotte.

The Romanian Exhibition Committee was composed of Mr. Eugène Mavrodi, Romanian Minister in Brussels, Mr. Georges Simonis, Romanian Consul in Liege and Commissioner of this Exhibition, Mr. Max Lohest, Professor at the University of Liege, Baron Forgeur, Mr. Alfred Ancion and Mr. Fernand Petit, Secretary of the Petroleum Congress, all of whom live in Belgium; Mr. C. Alimanestiano, chief engineer of the Mines and president of the Association, O. Jaumotte, Belgian consul in Bucharest, also commissioner of the section, G. Boamba, managing director of the Steana Romana, G. Olie, general manager of the Internationale, Max Schapira, managing director of the Société Bouschtenari, Joseph Dupont, manager of the Crédit Belgo-Roumain, and N. Mancos, secretary of the Association, all of whom resided in Bucharest.

In Liège, it was Mr. Q. Simonis who, with an activity and devotion that cannot be sufficiently admired when one considers the multiple and absorbing occupations that he assumed, took care of the erection of the Romanian pavilion and the organisation of the section, powerfully assisted by his colleague Mr. Jaumotte (especially in the early days), whom his occupations later recalled to Bucharest. In a few weeks, the Pavilion was built! The work of the young Romanian architect, Mr. G. Cerchez, it stood white and dapper at the entrance to the Venues Bridge. A double staircase led to the first floor, where elegant, clear display cabinets grouped the various oil products of the Romanian soil and their different states in a very happy way; the walls were decorated with photographs, diagrams, charts, maps, drawings, etc.

The walls were decorated with photographs, diagrams, graphs, maps, drawings, etc. From the outset and without fatigue, one could see the uses of this useful product, acquire a notion of its development in Romania, and have, in a word, all the technical details that could be of interest to international traders, visitors to our Exhibition, while for those who were interested in the subject, various studies by competent specialists gave a very thorough understanding of the development of oil.

One of these, by the Oil Commission, of which MJVI. Alimanestiano, V. Bratiano and L. Mrazio, gave an account of the geology of the oil regions and the importance of the various exploitation sites, while another, due to MJVI. L. Edeleano and J. Tanesko, presented an in-depth study of the technological and industrial qualities of the various Romanian oils.

A manuscript of the new geological charter of Romania, a collection of various geological oil formations, completed by samples obtained from drillings in different wells and at different depths, a special charter of the oil-bearing regions, a collection of crude oils from numerous sites, formed the geological and scholarly element of oil formation in Romania.

Traders and industrialists could in turn study the various qualities and uses of this marvellous product of the soil, and at the same time become aware of the possibility of commercial relations with Romanian oil manufacturers.

This was achieved by an intelligently presented exhibition of oil industry charts showing centres of exploitation, pipelines, roads and transport lines, by land and water, export border points, depot stations, etc. Graphs gave an idea of the total production and by sites, by geological formations since 1857, the number and importance of the companies, the quantities exported and the countries of importation, the capital engaged in this industry, the number, the importance and the distribution in the country of the oil refineries.

Various documents were also added: photographs of the various sites and the main springs in operation, a collection of the products of the largest refineries, a plan and photographs of the Constantza oil well, a collection of the burners used by the railways to use oil residues as fuel, drawings of these burners, photographs of the locomotives and large ships on the Danube and the Black Sea using these residues, diagrams of the savings made on coal expenditure through their use, etc.

Finally, a collection of products from the Chemical Laboratory of the Mining Department, which also displayed tables showing the chemical composition of the various crude oils and their content of light benzines, lamp oils, lubricating oils, residues and other by-products, completed all that could be presented concerning the Romanian oil deposit, its exploitation, its uses, the ease of marketing, etc

We cannot better end this note on Romanian oil than by giving some historical information on its exploitation, taken from official documents.

Since time immemorial, the inhabitants of Wallachia and Moldavia have used oil seeps; Bishop Bandinus, in 1640, Raicevich, in 1750, Count A. Deminoff in 1837 already mentioned it.

However, it was not until 1857 that regular exploitation began in five counties: Prahova, Dambovita, Buzen, Râmnik-Sarat, Bacau. There was then serious activity: the figures for crude oil exports jumped from 41,018 fr. in 1851 to 1,685,545 fr. and for refined oil from 74,353 fr. in 1861 to 2,398,128 fr. in 1867, which is the most conclusive proof.

Unfortunately, the American competition and the poor state of the communication routes in Romania gradually rendered the efforts of the Romanian industrialists futile, and the exploitation, which was increasingly reduced, soon became null and void. Only in 1890, the constitution of the "First Romanian Company for Oil Trade and Industry, with a capital of 4,000,000 lei", marked the accentuation of a new exploitation.

There was still some trial and error, due to inexperience, but from 1900 the exploitation was on the footing of a very great activity and the arrival in Romania, in 1904, of 25 big banks and financial institutions, marks well the importance of the exploitation of the petroleum wealth in the Belgium of the East. This is only the beginning, and a very good one at that, as could be seen in the Romanian pavilion, and it is to be hoped that Romanian products will soon take a leading position on the international markets.

In addition to the oil exhibition, which was so complete and interesting from all points of view, and also wishing to pay a very respectful tribute to their beloved Queen Carmen Sylva, the members of the Oil Manufacturers' Association had reserved a small space in their pavilion for the exhibition of a charitable society: "La Furnica" (the Ant), placed under the high patronage of Her Majesty Queen Elisabeth.

This society exhibited original embroideries, the work of the domestic industry of the Romanian peasant woman, and these were so popular with the visitors, and in particular with the people of Liège, that an outlet was created in Liège itself. It is true that ladies of great devotion to everything that is the result of intelligent philanthropy and enlightened patriotism used all their persuasive activity. It was above all Mrs. Bilcesco and Mrs. Alimanestiano, respectively secretary and treasurer of the Society, who came to Liège themselves to organise the exhibition and were greatly assisted by Mrs. G. Simonis, wife of our distinguished fellow citizen, the Romanian consul in Liège.

The Régie des Monopoles de l'Etat was also allowed to exhibit its raw and manufactured tobacco in the pavilion, which was a well-deserved success in our city and was ranked among the best by the Jury, which awarded it the highest distinction, the Grand Prix diploma.

Such was the Romanian pavilion, which represented so much effort and dedicated activity, and whose success was confirmed by the Petroleum Congress held in Liege the same year.

It does honour to the country it evoked and to those who cooperated in its erection.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Roumanie


Roumanie à l'exposition de Liège 1905

D'égales conditions politiques et la parenté des familles régnantes ont établi entre notre pays et la Roumanie, qu'on dénomme parfois la Belgique de l'Orient, un courant de vives sympathies. La province de Liège, spécialement, est connue là-bas d'une façon très intime. Faut-il s'étonner quand on considère que le nombre de fils des meilleures familles roumaines viennent faire leur études à notre université et que des rapports fréquents s'établissent entre les industriels de Roumanie et les nôtres.

C'est ainsi que dernièrement la Société Cockerill fournit le matériel à l'administration des chemins de fer roumains.

De tels rapports commerciaux et moraux devaient inciter les Roumains à participer à notre Exposition universelle. Cependant, malgré les vives sollicitations et un voyage à Bucarest de M. G. Simonis, consul de Roumanie à Liège, l'intervention du baron Beyens, ministre de Belgique à Bucarest, la Roumanie avait décidé de ne pas participer à l'Exposition liégeoise. Des considérations économiques et la nécessité de se réserver pour la possibilité éventuelle d'une Exposition jubilaire en 1906, à l'occasion du XIe anniversaire du règne de S. M. le
Roi Charles, l'en empêchaient.

Le baron Beyens, le distingué et actif ministre belge près le gouvernement roumain, dont on ne pourrait assez faire l'éloge, s'adressa alors aux diverses administrations et rencontra chez M. C. Alimanestiano, directeur de l'Industrie, du Commerce et des Mines au Ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Industrie, du Commerce et des Domaines, l'appui le plus autorisé et le plus actif.

Le baron Beyens pensa alors que si la participation de la Roumanie était limitée à un produit qu'elle avait tout intérêt à faire connaître, puisqu'elle a besoin des capitaux étrangers pour l'exploitation, à un produit digne d'attirer l'attention des financiers et des industriels des autres nations, c'est-à-dire au pétrole destiné certainement à devenir dans le royaume danubien l'objet d'une grande exploitation industrielle, il serait peut-être possible de décider le gouvernement roumain à figurer à l'Exposition de Liège où l'abstention complète de la Roumanie aurait été des plus regrettables.

D'accord avec lui, M. Alimanestiano, qui avait pour la Belgique une admiration que suffirait à expliquer la présence chez nous de deux de ses plus jeunes frères en qualité d'étudiants, l'un à Liège, l'autre à Gembloux, établissait que la Roumanie pouvait participer d'une façon partielle à notre Exposition et y représenter, par exemple, toute l'importance et la vitalité de l'industrie pétrolifère qu'il connaissait plus que tout autre, en sa qualité de président de l'Association des Exploitants et des Fabricants de pétrole de Roumanie.

Ils parvinrent à rallier à leurs vues MM. Bratiano, ministre des Affaires étrangères et Stoicesco, ministre de l'Agriculture, de l'Industrie, du Commerce et des Domaines, qui obtinrent de M. Stourdza, président du Conseil, outre la promesse d'un subside, son consentement à ce que l'Association des Fabricants et Exploitants de Pétrole de Roumanie organisât, avec l'appui du Gouvernement, l'exposition du Pétrole roumain à Liège.

La chose semblait donc décidée, quand, en décembre 1904, le parti libéral fut remplacé au pouvoir par le parti conservateur ; ce changement inattendu paraissait compromettre à jamais le projet d'une participation roumaine à l'Exposition de Liège.

Cependant, dès mars 1905, notre Ministre à Bucharest et M. Alimanestiano qui, fin 1904, avait donné sa démission de Directeur au Ministère, ne se découragèrent pas et reprirent ce projet avec une ardeur dont les Liégeois lui savent gré. Ils menèrent une vigoureuse campagne, obtinrent l'approbation précieuse de M. Take Jonesco, ministre des Finances, de M. J. Lahovari, ministre des Domaines.

Grâce à ces hautes influences, la participation roumaine à l'Exposition universelle de Liège fut définitivement décidée, un subside de 25.000 francs accordé et versé à l'Association
des Fabricants et Exploitants de Pétrole en Roumanie.

Des compétences et des dévouements s'occupèrent alors de son organisation rationnelle.

Citons tout d'abord M. Alimanestiano qui s'aida du puissant concours de M. le professeur universitaire docteur L. Mrazec, membre de l'Académie roumaine, de M. le Dr Edeleano, directeur du Laboratoire de chimie du Ministère des Domaines, des membres de la Commission du pétrole dont il convient de citer spécialement M. V. Bratiano, de tout le personnel de la Commission et du Laboratoire et enfin de M. N. Mancas, secrétaire de l'Association et de notre dévoué Consul à Bucarest, M. Jaumotte.

Le Comité de l'Exposition roumaine était composé de MM. Eugène Mavrodi, ministre de Roumanie à Bruxelles, Georges Simonis, consul de Roumanie à Liège et commissaire de cette Exposition, Max Lohest, professeur à l'université de Liège, baron Forgeur, Alfred Ancion et Fernand Petit, secrétaire du congrès du Pétrole, tous habitant la Belgique; MM. C. Alimanestiano, ingénieur en chef des Mines et président de l'Association, O. Jaumotte, consul de Belgique à Bucarest, également Commissaire de la section, G. Boamba, administrateur-délégué de la Steana Romana, G. Olie, directeur général de l'Internationale, Max Schapira, administrateur-délégué de la Société Bouschtenari, Joseph Dupont, directeur du Crédit Belgo-Roumain, et N. Mancos, secrétaire del'Association, tous résidant à Bucarest.

A Liège, ce fut M. Q. Simonis qui, avec une activité, un dévouement qu'on ne peut assez admirer quand on songe aux multiples et absorbantes occupations qu'il assuma, s'occupa de l'érection du pavillon roumain et de l'organisation de la section, puissamment aidé par son collègue M. Jaumotte (dans les premiers temps surtout), que ses occupations rappelèrent par après à Bucarest. En quelques semaines, le Pavillon fut édifié! OEuvre du jeune architecte roumain, M. G. Cerchez, il s'érigeait blanc et pimpant à l'entrée du pont des Venues. Un double escalier conduisait à l'étage où d'élégantes vitrines claires groupaient d'une façon très heureuse les divers produits pétrolifères du sol roumain et leurs différents états; les murs s'ornaient de photographies, de diagrammes, de graphiques, de cartes, de dessins, etc.

Dès l'abord et sans fatigue, on pouvait se rendre compte des utilisations de ce produit si utile, acquérir la notion de son développement en Roumanie, avoir en un mot tous les détails techniques qui pouvaient intéresser les commerçants internationaux, visiteurs de notre Exposition, tandis que pour ceux que la chose intéressait, diverses études dues à des spécialistes compétents permettaient de se rendre compte d'une façon très approfondie du développement pétrolifère.

L'une, due à la Commission du Pétrole dont fait partie MJVI. Alimanestiano, V. Bratiano et L. Mrazio, rendait compte de la géologie des régions à pétrole et de l'importance des diverses chantiers d'exploitation, tandis qu'une autre, due à MJVI. L. Edeleano et J. Tanesko, présentait une étude approfondie des qualités technologiques et industrielles des divers pétroles roumains.

Un manuscrit de la nouvelle charte géologique de la Roumanie, une collection de diverses formations géologiques du pétrole, complétée par des échantillons qu'obtinrent des sondages pratiqués dans différents puits et à des profondeurs diverses, une charte spéciale des régions pétrolifères, une collection des pétroles bruts des nombreux chantiers formaient l'élément géologique et savant de la formation du pétrole en Roumanie.

Les commerçants, les industriels pouvaient à leur tour étudier les qualités et les utilisations diverses de ce merveilleux produit du sol, en même temps que se rendre compte de la possibilité éventuelle de rapports commerciaux avec les fabricants de pétrole roumains.

Ce but fut atteint par une exposition intelligemment présentée de chartes industrielles du pétrole indiquant les centres d'exploitation, les pipe-lines, les routes et les lignes de transports, par terre et par eau, les points-frontières d'exportation, les stations de dépôts, etc. Des graphiques donnèrent une idée de la production totale et par chantiers, par formations géologiques depuis 1857, le nombre et l'importance des entreprises, les quantités exportées et les pays d'importation, les capitaux engagés dans cette industrie, le nombre, l'importance et la distribution dans le pays des raffineries à pétrole.

Divers documents s'y ajoutaient encore: photographies des divers chantiers et des principales sources en éruption, collection des produits des plus grandes raffineries, plan et photographies du puits à pétrole de Constantza, collection des brûleurs employés par la direction des chemins de fer et destinés à utiliser comme combustible les résidus du pétrole, dessins de ces brûleurs, photographies des locomotives et des grands bateaux du Danube et de la Mer Noire utilisant ces résidus, diagrammes des économies réalisées sur la dépense en houille par leur emploi, etc.

Enfin, une collection des produits du Laboratoire de chimie du Service des Mines qui exposait également des tableaux représentant les compositions chimiques des divers pétroles bruts ainsi que leur teneur en benzines légères, huiles lampantes, huiles à graisser, résidus et autres sous-produits achevaient de compléter tout ce qu'il était possible d'exposer concernant le gisement pétrolifère de Roumanie, son exploitation, ses utilisations, la facilité des débouchés, etc.

Nous ne pouvons mieux finir cette notice consacrée au pétrole roumain qu'en donnant sur son exploitation quelques renseignements historiques, puisés dans des documents officiels.

Depuis des temps immémoriaux, les habitants de Valachie et de Moldavie utilisent les suintements de pétrole; Monseigneur Bandinus, en 1640, Raicevich, en 1750, le comte A. Déminoff, en 1837, en font déjà mention.

Ce n'est cependant qu'en 1857 que les exploitations régulières commencèrent dans cinq départements: Prahova, Dambovita, Buzen, Râmnik-Sarat, Bacau. Il y eut alors une activité sérieuse: les chiffres de l'exportation en pétrole brut sautant de 41.018 fr. en 1851 à 1.685.545 fr. et en pétrole raffiné de 74.353 fr. en 1861 à 2.398.128 fr, en 1867 en constituent la preuve la plus péremptoire.

Malheureusement, la concurrence américaine et l'état misérable des voies de communication en Roumanie rendirent peu à peu vains les efforts des industriels roumains et l'exploitation, diminuée de plus en plus, devint bientôt nulle. En 1890, seulement, la constitution d'une « première société roumaine pour le commerce et l'industrie du pétrole, au capital de 4.000.000 de lei », marque l'accentuation d'une nouvelle reprise de l'exploitation.

Il y eut encore des tâtonnements, dus à l'inexpérience, mais dès 1900 l'exploitation était sur le pied d'une activité très grande et l'arrivée en Roumanie, en 1904, de 25 grandes banques et institutions financières, marque bien l'importance de l'exploitation des richesses pétrolifères dans la Belgique de l'Orient. Ce n'est du reste qu'un début, très beau, on put en avoir une preuve en visitant le pavillon roumain, et il est permis d'espérer que les produits de provenance roumaine s'assureront bientôt une place de premier rang sur les marchés internationaux.

Outre l'exposition pétrolifère, si complète et intéressante à tous les points de vue, désireux, aussi, de donner à leur très aimée reine Carmen Sylva un hommage très respectueux, les membres de l'Association des fabricants de pétrole avaient réservé une petite place dans leur pavillon à l'exposition d'une société de bienfaisance : « La Furnica » (la Fourmi), placée sous le haut patronage de S. M. la Reine Elisabeth.

Cette société exposait des broderies originales, oeuvre de l'industrie domestique de la paysanne roumaine, et celles-ci plurent tant aux visiteurs, et notamment aux Liégeois, qu'un débouché a été créé à Liège même. Il est vrai que des dames d'un beau dévouement pour tout ce qui ressort d'une intelligente philanthropie et d'un patriotisme éclairé, y employèrent toute leur activité persuasive. Ce furent surtout Mmes Bilcesco et Alimanestiano respectivement secrétaire et trésorière de la Société qui vinrent à Liège elles-mêmes pour en organiser l'exposition et furent puissamment aidées par Mme G. Simonis, femme de notre distingué concitoyen, consul de Roumanie, à Liège.

La Régie des Monopoles de l'Etat avait également été admise à exposer dans le pavillon ses tabacs bruts et manufacturés, qui obtinrent en notre ville un succès mérité et furent classés parmi les meilleurs par le Jury, puisque celui-ci lui octroya la plus haute distinction, le diplôme de Grand Prix.

Tel fut ce pavillon roumain qui représenta tant d'efforts, tant d'activités dévouées et dont le Congrès du Pétrole, tenu la même année à Liège, consacra le succès.

Il fait honneur au pays qu'il évoquait et à ceux qui coopérèrent à son érection.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905