Universal and International Exhibition of Liege 1905

75th anniversary of national independence

April 25, 1905 - November 6, 1905


Back - List of Pavilions

Morocco

Morocco at the Exhibition Expo Liege 1905

Tangier-the-White is like the advanced sentinel of Africa, while Gibraltar, encamped in the extreme south of Spain, stands guard over Europe; a sea strangled in a strait separates the two civilisations more deeply than thousands of leagues.

Europe, bristling with bayonets and cannons, speckled with factories, covered with a grid of railways, capped with an aerial lattice of telephone and telegraph wires, a formidable factory and gigantic arsenal; Morocco, the most western of the Islamic countries, where the great stride of the Arabs guided by Mohammed has come to an end, a country of fatalism and immobility, prostrate under the incessant prayers that the muezzins drop from the minarets at the fateful evening hour.

It has fiercely guarded itself against civilisation as if it were a leprosy, walled up in the mystery into which it has sunk for centuries, shutting itself away in its houses with their jagged porticoes, their festooned doors, their inimitable arches, veiling its morals, its traditions, its customs like the faces of its women.

See these carpets, these blankets lamé of gold and silver, these embroideries which serve to adorn the untied hair, these chiselled weapons, these rifles with the flared stock to encase the shoulder, these embroidered harnesses of gold clasped with silver, you cannot assign any date to them, stamp them with any year of manufacture.

They are marvellous in their art and colouring, in their nuanced and exquisite hues, but are they from yesterday or three centuries ago? The proud horsemen who, in the 15th century, pounded the ground with the hoofs of their nervous horses, must have been equipped like these Beni-Hanen, these Cherarbas, these tribes who live their nomadic life on the fringe of official Morocco.

Colourful dishes, red leathers, barbaric jewellery, sabres with curved handles, wicked, short daggers, whose blade gives a shiver, piles of red and yellow babouches which accumulate in the stalls of the Moroccan bazaars, in the small obscure shops glittering with weapons, silk and gold, today as yesterday, yesterday as centuries ago. And these objects speak to our eyes only in their splendour or strangeness. They have no reflection that tells of a progress, that marks a stage, no imprint that specifies an era, they have always been like that. They have no soul that betrays the oscillations and jolts that work and move the destiny of a people and in which can be read, as in an open book, the impulse of its admirations, the crisis of its anger, the march of its ideas.

They are only stereotypes of different ages, framed in the same immutable and passive decor.

And one remembers and understands better Pierre Loti's sentence: "O dark Maghreb, remain for a long time, impenetrable to new things, turn your back on Europe and remain immobilised in the past. Sleep a long time and continue your sweet dream, so that at least there is one last country where men make their prayers.

"May Allah preserve for the Sultan his unsubdued territories and his flower-covered solitudes, his deserts of asphodel and iris, to exercise in the open space the agility of his horsemen and the hocks of his horses; to wage war there as the paladins once did and to harvest rebellious heads.

"May Allah preserve for the Arab people their mystical dreams, their disdainful immutability, their grey rags... "

And so it will be until the day when Morocco will emerge from its lethargy only to die perhaps to the sounds of the tambourines of what diplomacy elegantly calls the European concert. There are three or four of them who hover around him, bending over his bedside, showering him with kindnesses, all the while keeping a close eye on their good care.

It's too many four Esculapes, be they from Spain, France, England and Germany, to vaccinate him with civilisation. It is a vaccine that is no guarantee against appetites and ambitions.

And Morocco, which is content with its uniform and monotonous life, finds too many eager and charitable friends to educate it in European civilisation.

It feels no inclination or mood to play the role of the sick man by persuasion.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Maroc


Maroc à l'exposition de Liège 1905

Tanger-la-Blanche est comme la sentinelle avancée de l'Afrique, tandis que Gibraltar, campée à l'extrême sud de l'Espagne, monte la garde de l'Europe; une mer étranglée dans un détroit sépare plus profondément les deux civilisations que des milliers de lieues.

L'Europe, hérissée de baïonnettes et de canons, mouchetée de fabriques, couverte d'un quadrillé de voies de chemin de fer, plafonnée d'un treillis aérien de fils téléphoniques et télégraphiques, formidable usine et gigantesque arsenal; le Maroc, le plus occidental des pays d'Islam où est venu s'éteindre la grande foulée des Arabes guidés par Mahomet, pays du fatalisme et de l'immobilisme, prosterné sous l'incessante prière que les muezzins laissent tomber des minarets à l'heure fatidique du soir.

Farouchement il s'est 'gardé de la civilisation comme d'une lèpre, muré dans le mystère dans lequel il s'enfonce depuis des siècles, se calfeutrant dans ses maisons aux portiques dentelés, aux portes festonnées, aux inimitables ogives, voilant ses moeurs, ses traditions, ses coutumes comme le visage de ses femmes.

Voyez ces tapis, ces couvertures lamées d'or et d'argent, ces broderies qui servent à parer les cheveux dénoués, ces armes ciselées, ces fusils à la crosse évasée pour encastrer l'épaule, ces harnachements brodés d'or agrafés d'argent, vous ne pouvez leur assigner aucune date, les frapper d'aucun millésime de fabrication.

Ils sont merveilleux d'art et de coloris, de teintes nuancées et exquises, mais sont-ils d'hier ou d'il y a trois siècles? Les fiers cavaliers qui, au XVe siècle, martelaient le sol du sabot de leurs chevaux nerveux, devaient être équipés comme ces Beni-Hanen, ces Cherarbas, ces tribus qui vivent leur vie nomade en marge du Maroc officiel.

Plats bariolés, cuirs rouges, bijoux barbares, sabres à poignées recourbées, poignards méchants, courts, dont la lame donne un frisson, empilement de babouches rouges et jaunes qui s'accumulent dans les échoppes des bazars marocains, dans les petites boutiques obscures miroitant d'armes, de soie et d'or, aujourd'hui comme hier, hier comme il y a des siècles. Et ces objets ne parlent à nos yeux que par leur splendeur ou leur étrangeté. Ils n'ont pas de reflet qui dise un progrès, qui marque une étape, d'empreinte qui précise une époque, ils ont toujours été ainsi. Ils n'ont pas d'âme qui trahisse les oscillations et les soubresauts qui travaillent, mouvementent la destinée d'un peuple et dans lesquels se lisent, comme dans un livre ouvert, l'élan de ses admirations, la crise de ses colères, la marche de ses idées.

Ils ne sont que stéréotypés d'câge différent, encadrés dans un même décor immuable et passif.

Et on se remémore en la comprenant mieux la phrase de Pierre Loti : « O Maghreb sombre, reste bien longtemps encore, impénétrable aux choses nouvelles, tourne bien le dos à l'Europe et immobilise-toi dans les choses passées. Dors bien longtemps et continue ton doux rêve, afin qu'au moins il y ait un dernier pays où les hommes fassent leurs prières.

» Qu'Allah conserve au sultan ses territoires insoumis et ses solitudes tapissées de fleurs, ses déserts d'asphodèles et d'iris pour y exercer dans l'espace libre l'agilité de de ses cavaliers et les jarrets de ses chevaux; pour y guerroyer comme jadis les paladins et y moissonner des têtes rebelles.

» Qu'Allah conserve au peuple arabe ses songes mystiques, son immuabilité dédaigneuse, ses haillons gris... »

Et ainsi il sera jusqu'au jour où le Maroc ne sortira de sa léthargie que pour mourir peut-être aux sons des tambourins de ce que la diplomatie appelle élégamment le concert européen. Ils sont là trois ou quatre qui rôdent autour, se penchent à son chevet, l'accablent de prévenances, tout en surveillant attentivement leurs bons soins.

C'est trop de quatre Esculapes, fussent-ils d'Espagne, de France, d'Angleterre et d'Allemagne pour le vacciner de civilisation. C'est un vaccin qui n'est pas une garantie contre les appétits et les ambitions.

Et le Maroc qui se contente de sa vie uniforme et monotone, se trouve trop d'amis empressés et charitables pour l'éduquer à la civilisation européenne.

Il ne se sent ni velléité ni humeur à jouer le rôle du malade par persuasion.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905