Back - List of Pavilions

United States - Expo Liege 1905

Missing picture

There are two souls of people who are most opposed by the violence of their contrasts, the flagrant antithesis of their differences, the marked personality of their characters, and yet who keep in their depths the same proud faith, the same exaltation of vanity, the same confidence in themselves.

It is the Japanese soul, complicated, hermetic, impenetrable, inexplicable, it is the American soul, clean, sharp, expeditious and frank.

The psychology of the latter is readily available, and Mr. Roosevelt analysed and exposed it in a speech to the Hamilton Club in Chicago on April 10, 1899, on "The Intense Life". We admire the man who embodies the victorious effort, the man who never harms his fellow man, who has the manly qualities necessary to win.
We admire the man who embodies the victorious effort, the man who never harms his fellow man, who has the manly qualities necessary to prevail in the severe struggle of life today.

It is hard to fail, but it is worse to have never tried to succeed. In this life we get nowhere except by effort. To be free from effort in the present simply means that there has been effort amassed in the past.

A man can only be freed from the necessity of working by the mere fact that he or his fathers have worked before him with fruit. If the freedom thus acquired is well used and if the man still does present work, though of a different kind, he shows that he deserves his good fortune. But if he treats this period of freedom from the necessity of present labour as a period not of preparation, but of mere enjoyment, he shows that he is merely an encumbrance on the face of the earth, and he surely renders himself incapable of taking his place among his fellows, should the need to do so arise again.

A mere life of ease is not in the end a truly satisfying life and, above all, it is a life which ultimately renders those who lead it incapable of serious work in the world.

As on a dissecting table, the American soul spreads out its patterns and motives, its desires and reasons, its wills and hopes, as we see it again in Mr. Carnegie's "Democracy Triumphant".

Here, we hardly find it, we have to look for it, run after it, almost dig it out from under the mailings which, if not American, could be English. It's a question of playing with labels.

It huddles at the back of the halls, hidden by a jumble of displays. It is the museum organised by the American Institute of Social Service, where the facts and experiences of social improvement are accumulated, where the laws of labour are recorded. It is a centre of research and investigation and a distributor of the results obtained.

Many have passed by this cellar, suspecting it a little, perhaps ignoring it, without suspecting that the economic and social life of the United States was there, locked up in these cupboards which are rarely opened, in these compartments which are hardly opened. There are notes, charts, panels, photographs, which constitute the formidable record of a nation that draws from the individual initiative of its citizens the elements of a unique
of its citizens the elements of an incomparable moral and material development.

American factories make it a point of honour to work for the upliftment of the working class, they establish pleasure rooms, meeting houses, bathing-houses, create classes of all kinds, greatly improve everything that brings a little comfort, joy, health and safety into life, endeavouring to raise man above his condition by teaching him to govern and improve himself. The Heinze Food Factory, Pittsburg, the establishment of the National Cash Register Company, and so many others are giving beneficial lessons to old Europe.
lessons to old Europe.

The religious sects which are there free and independent, free from all State influence, are co-operating with all their strength in this movement. They are spreading their variety of practical institutions over the American territory, calling towards them the multitude of believers because they know that they are condemned to death if they do not succeed in retaining their faithful within the framework of an effective protection made up of all the works of charity and law which ensure, defend and soften
human life, a miserable wreck that misfortune and pain toss and tear.

Have we mocked, ridiculed and ridiculed enough this Salvation Army that landed one day in Europe, pursuing its mission of proselytism? Have we mocked cruelly enough those poor girls who, sacrificing their youth, wandered through the streets, clad in a blue dress without luxury, nor even coquetry, a petty pilgrim's coat thrown over their shoulders, their head imprisoned in that straw hat whose wings were flapped?
straw hat, the wings of which are folded over the face and secured by a cord of some sort tied devilishly under the chin.

Well, the Salvation Army is fighting interesting battles against misery. It has founded orphanages, old age and relief homes, employment offices and shelters in 52 cities.

Doesn't it make one's laughter suddenly freeze at this simple enumeration and feel punished with some remorse to think of our thoughtless cruelty, our impudent slander with the bad excuse that we didn't know.

Our age is merciless," said La Fontaine. And this trait more than any other reveals to us an America that we hardly know, that passers-by or travellers believe they possess, because they have jumped from an ocean liner into a sleeping car and carried away in their memories the cinematographic views of a vibrant, ebullient, hectic people, thrown headlong into the whirlpool of business, fascinated by gain, hynoptized by figures, and that we judge them only in the impressions, however well taken, of a writer like Paul Bourget who gives us "Outre-Mer", of a reporter like Jules Huret who brings us his "From New York to New Orleans" from there.

It is not to be seen in that large squadron of counting and writing machines, etc, It is not to be seen in the large squadron of time-saving counting, writing and other machines, in the desks, pigeon-holes and filing cabinets so cleverly designed, in the beverages and bewildering drinks where all the alcoholic beverages are mixed together, in the tins of food which she endlessly churns out, in the spectacles and nose-clips whose excellence the merchants extol, it is to be sought in the social museum where she stands silent and valiant, where she generously pays the humanitarian tribute that her public fortune, which makes other nations' pale, owes exclusively to the constancy in energy, to the virility in effort, to the recklessness in initiative of a race that is constantly moving forward, resolutely, imperiously, rushing forward in pursuit of a goal whose proud ambition is always pushing back the limit.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Etats-Unis



Il y a deux âmes de peuple qui s'opposent le plus par la violence de leurs contrastes, l'antithèse flagrante de leurs divergences, la personnalité accusée de leurs caractères, et qui pourtant gardent dans leurs tréfonds la même foi orgueilleuse, la même exaltation de vanité, la même confiance en soi.

C'est l'âme japonaise, compliquée, hermétique, impénétrable, inexplicable, c'est l'âme américaine, nette, tranchante, expéditive et franche.

La psychologie de celle-ci est facilement accessible et M. Roosevelt l'a analysée et mise à nu dans un discours prononcé au Hamilton-Club à Chicago, le 10 avril 1899, sur « la vie intense ». Nous admirons l'homme qui incarne l'effort victorieux, l'homme qui ne fait jamais de tort à son prochain, qui a les
qualités viriles nécessaires pour l'emporter dans la sévère lutte de la vie actuelle.

Il est dur d'échouer, mais il est pire de n'avoir jamais essayé de réussir. Dans cette vie nous n'arrivons à rien que par l'effort. Etre affranchi de l'effort dans le présent signifie simplement qu'il y a eu de l'effort amassé dans le passé.

Un homme ne peut être affranchi de la nécessité de travailler que par le seul fait que lui ou ses pères ont travaillé avant lui avec fruit. Si la liberté ainsi acquise est bien employée et si l'homme fait encore un travail actuel, quoique d'espèce différente, il montre qu'il mérite sa bonne fortune. Mais s'il traite cette période où il est affranchi de la nécessité du labeur actuel comme une période non de préparation, mais de simple jouissance, il montre qu'il est simplement un encombrement à la surface de la terre et il se rend sûrement incapable de tenir sa place parmi ses camarades, si le besoin de faire ainsi surgissait de nouveau.

Une simple vie d'aise n'est pas à la fin une vie vraiment satisfaisante et, par-dessus tout, c'est une vie qui, finalement, rend ceux qui la mènent incapables d'un travail sérieux dans le monde.

Comme sur une table de dissection, l'âme américaine étale ses modèles et ses motifs, ses désirs et ses raisons, ses volontés et ses espérances, telle nous la voyons encore dans « La démocratie triomphante » de M. Carnegie.

Ici, nous la retrouvons à peine, il faut la chercher, courir après, l'exhumer presque de dessous les envois qui, à défaut d'être américains, pourraient être anglais. C'est une question de jeux d'étiquettes.

Elle se blottit au fond des halls, masquée par un fouillis d'étalages. C'est le musée organisé par « l'Amêrican Institut of social service » où sont accumulés les faits, les expériences de l'amélioration sociale, où sont enregistrées les lois du travail. Centre d'investigations et de recherches, distributeur des résultats obtenus.

Beaucoup ont passé à côté de cette alvéole, la soupçonnant un peu, l'ignorant peut-être, sans se douter que la vie économique et sociale des Etats-Unis était là, enfermée dans ces armoires qui s'entrebâillent rarement, dans ces casiers qui s'entr'ouvrent à peine. Il y a là des notes, des tableaux, des panneaux, des photographies, qui constituent le bilan formidable d'une nation qui puise dans l'initiative particulière
de ses citoyens les éléments d'un développement moral et matériel incomparable.

Les fabriques américaines mettent leur point d'honneur à travailler au relèvement de la classe ouvrière, elles fondent des salles de plaisir, des locaux de réunion, des salles de bains, créent des cours de tous genres, améliorent considérablement tout ce qui apporte un peu de confort, de joie, de salubrité et de sécurité dans la vie, s'efforçant d'élever l'homme au-dessus de sa condition en lui apprenant à se gouverner et à se perfectionner. La fabrique de produits alimentaires de Heinze, de Pittsburg, l'établissement de la « National Cash Register Company », et tant d'autres donnent de bienfaisantes
leçons à la vieille Europe.

Les sectes religieuses qui sont là-bas libres et indépendantes, dégagées de toute influence d'Etat, coopèrent de toutes leurs forces à ce mouvement. Elles essaiment sur l'étendue du territoire américain la variété de leurs institutions pratiques, appelant vers elles la multitude des croyants parce qu'elles se savent condamnées à la mort si elles ne parviennent pas à retenir leurs fidèles dans l'armature d'une protection efficace faite de toutes les oeuvres de charité et de droit qui assurent, défendent, adoucissent
la vie humaine, misérable épave que le malheur et la douleur ballottent et déchiquètent.

L'avons-nous assez bafouée, ridiculisée, chansonnée, cette Armée du Salut qui débarqua un beau jour en Europe, poursuivant sa mission de prosélytisme? Nous sommes-nous assez cruellement moqués de ces pauvres filles qui, sacrifiant leur jeunesse, déambulaient par les rues, engoncées dans une robe bleue sans luxe, ni même de coquetterie, une mesquine pèlerine jetée sur les épaules, la tête emprisonnée dans ce chapeau
de paille dont les ailes se rabattent sur la figure et assujetti par un cordon quelconque noué à la diable sous le menton.

Eh bien, l'Armée du Salut livre d'intéressants combats contre la misère. Elle a fondé des orphelinats, des maisons de vieillesse et de secours, des bureaux de placement et des refuges dans 52 villes.

N'est-ce pas que le rire se fige soudain devant cette simple énumération et que l'on se sent puni de quelque remords en songeant à notre cruauté irréfléchie, à notre médisance impudente avec la mauvaise excuse que nous ne savions pas.

Notre âge est sans pitié, eut dit La Fontaine. Et ce trait plus que tout autre nous révèle une Amérique que nous ne connaissons guère, que des passants ou des voyageurs croient posséder, parce qu'ils ont sauté d'un paquebot dans un sleeping et emporté dans leurs souvenirs les vues cinématographiées d'un peuple vibrant, bouillant, trépidant, lancé à corps perdu dans le tourbillon des affaires, fasciné par le gain, hynoptisé par les chiffres et que nous le jugeons uniquement dans les impressions si bien enlevées, soient-elles d'un littérateur comme Paul Bourget qui nous donne « Outre-Mer », d'un reporter comme Jules Huret qui nous rapporte de là-bas son « De New-York à la Nouvelle-Orléans ».

Il ne faut pas la voir dans cet important escadron de machines à compter, à écrire, etc., qui visent à économiser le temps, dans ces bureaux, ces casiers, ces classeurs si intelligemment compris, ces boissons et ces breuvages déconcertants ou s'amalgament tous ces alcools, ces boîtes de conserves qu'elle débite à l'infini, ces lunettes et ces pince-nez dont les marchands exaltent l'excellence, il faut l'aller quérir dans ce musée social où elle se tient silencieuse et vaillante, où elle paye généreusement la redevance humanitaire que sa fortune publique, qui fait pâlir celle des autres nations, doit exclusivement à la constance dans l'énergie, à la virilité dans l'effort, à la témérité dans l'initiative d'une race qui va sans cesse de l'avant, résolument, impérieusement, ruée tout entière à la poursuite d'un but dont sa fière ambition recule toujours la limite.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905