Universal and International Exhibition of Liege 1905

75th anniversary of national independence

April 25, 1905 - November 6, 1905


Back - List of Pavilions

Dominican Republic

manque image

At the very back of the International Section, its exhibition is hidden away as if by a sort of deliberate coquetry. This is a curious and very nice exhibition of a nation that has come from afar, but that wants to show that in its mountain range as well as in its luxuriant plains lives and works a free and active, intelligent and brave people.

Christopher Columbus discovered it in 1492 and the Spaniards, in 1495, built San Domingo, which can claim the glory of being the first European city born in America. The history of this republic is tormented and stormy, for it has known hours of glory and distress. Tamed by foreign domination, it suffered all the bitterness, but barricaded itself in an ardent patriotism until the day when it cut to pieces the expedition that Bonaparte, the first consul, launched against it to force it into obedience, and when it baptised its freedom in the blood of its children and proclaimed its independence over the bodies of its heroes.

In the Antilles archipelago, her flag flies superbly over 53,344 square kilometres.

The stand is especially remarkable for the large number of samples of wood, whose nomenclature alone constitutes a forest catalogue: pomegranate, mulberry, cedar, rose mahogany, rosewood, oak, mora capa, mancenilla, and all those beautiful woods from the islands with exotic names from which the local cabinetmaking industry draws so much profit.

The Haciendas have sent us their flourishing plantations: the coffees of Santo Domingo, which are keen to justify their reputation, the cacao trees, the cultivation of which is becoming very widespread, the sugars, which provide a living for more than a hundred factories, and the tobaccos, which grow with such prodigious ease that two harvests are made every year.
If the Dominican Republic is essentially agricultural, the mining industry shows us that it participates energetically in the prosperity of the country and it aligns in front of us gold-bearing sands, blocks of rock salt, copper ores, iron, while the soap industry and the shoe industry are trying to prove to us that they can both compete with those of Europe.

The various Chambers of Commerce and the individuals who had the laudable initiative of bringing us this charming, interesting and instructive exhibition succeeded beyond all expectations.

If the Dominican Republic wanted to show small Belgium that small nations are capable of great energy and high aims, we would have little cause to complain, since it has allowed us to find in it those qualities and virtues which are our merit as they are its own.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905

Retour - Liste Pavillons

République Dominicaine



Tout au fond de la Section internationale, son exposition se dissimule un peu à l'écart comme par une sorte de coquetterie volontaire. Bien curieuse, bien gentille est la petite exposition d'une nation qui vient de loin, mais qui tient à montrer que dans la chaîne de ses montagnes aussi bien que dans ses plaines luxuriantes vit et travaille un peuple libre et actif, intelligent et brave.

Christophe Colomb la découvrit en 1492 et les Espagnols, en 1495, bâtirent San Domingue, qui peut revendiquer la gloire d'être la première ville européenne née en Amérique. L'histoire de cette république est tourmentée et orageuse, car elle connut les heures de gloire et de détresse. Domptée par la domination étrangère, elle en subit toutes les amertumes, mais se barricada dans un patriotisme ardent jusqu'au jour où elle tailla en pièces l'expédition que Bonaparte, premier consul, lança contre elle pour la contraindre à l'obéissance et où elle baptisa sa liberté dans le sang de ses enfants et proclama son indépendance sur les corps de ses héros.

Dans l'archipel des Antilles, son pavillon flotte superbement sur 53.344 kilomètres carrés.

Le stand est surtout remarquable par une multiplicité échantillons de bois dont la seule nomenclature constitue un catalogue forestier: grenadier, mûrier, cèdre, acajou de rose, palissandre, chêne, mora capa, mancenillier et tous ces jolis bois des îles aux noms exotiques dont l'ébénisterie locale tire si grand profit.

Les Haciendas nous ont expédié leurs florissantes plantations: les cafés de Saint-Domingue qui tiennent à justifier leur réputation, les cacaos dont la culture se généralise fort, les sucres qui font vivre plus de cent usines, les tabacs qui croissent avec une facilité si prodigieuse qu'on en fait deux récoltes par an.
Si la République dominicaine est essentiellement agricole, l'industrie minière nous montre qu'elle participe énergiquement à la prospérité du pays et elle aligne devant nous des sables aurifères, des blocs de sel gemme, de minerais de cuivre, de fer, tandis que la savonnerie et la cordonnerie s'efforcent de nous prouver qu'elles peuvent toutes deux rivaliser avec celles de l'Europe.

Les diverses Chambres de Commerce et les particuliers qui ont eu la louable initiative de nous apporter cette exposition charmante, intéressante et instructive, ont réussi au-delà de toute espérance.

Si la République dominicaine a voulu montrer à la petite Belgique que les petites nations sont capables de grandes énergies et de hautes visées, nous aurions mauvaise grâce à nous plaindre, puisqu'elle nous a permis de retrouver en elle ces qualités et ces vertus qui font notre mérite comme elles sont le sien.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905