Universal and International Exhibition of Liege 1905

75th anniversary of national independence

April 25, 1905 - November 6, 1905


Back - List of Pavilions

Germany

Germany at the Exhibition Expo Liege 1905

A massive façade, imposing in its strength and majesty with its columns rooted in the ground and seeming to defy the six months of ephemeral duration they have to live, its group of beautiful flight symbolising the power of work, its gold-tipped medallions proudly displaying the names of the great cities of Germany, its heavy banners studded with escutcheons and coats of arms descending from the friezes, its absent-eyed masks of Germania which are like the seal with which the Empire marks its ownership.

Although this facade is hidden by the Diamond Collective, strangled by the narrowness of the passage, it has a truly great allure and noble bearing in the sobriety of its lines and the harmony of its decoration.

Its bays open wide to visitors. The Syndicat des Charbonnages Westphaliens is the first to do the honours of the section.

It has every right to do so, for it is a lord of high lineage who has in vassalage a whole people of industries to whom it grants the nourishing bread of the earth, that which an army of miners tears from the ground, which lavishes its treasures and whose generosity does not fear exhaustion.

The Syndicat des Charbonnages Westphaliens is the king of the Rhine province and its suzerainty is envious of us.

We think we are rich because Belgium extracts 15 million tons of coal a year; he draws from his deposits and brings back 70 million. It is always a little humiliating to have as an immediate neighbour a gentleman who, without much effort, eclipses your poor little millions.

A lord of this importance could only have a fit worthy of him. His stand stood at ease in the German section.

Four paintings glorifying the miner's work dominate the stand. Meticulously crafted reductions of art pieces introduce the layman to loading with transport and unloading with endless cables. The wagons glide along, docile and submissive, caught in the path of the clamps which set them straight and leave them in good order; beautifully arranged models show the services rendered by electricity to the machines of the collieries; models present coke oven batteries with suction pumps.

And all this is so precise, so detailed, so lively, that from this corner of the section emerges a singular respect mixed with admiration for all these marvellous toys which in their delicacy and ingenuity speak to us more eloquently about industry than many folios riddled with figures, armed with tables, because they speak to the soul of the masses by touching their imagination.

The Westphalian Syndicate has centralised a harvest of documents, plans, graphs and statistics in which it talks about the volume of air it launches per tenth of a second into the galleries, the coal it brings to the surface, the water it extracts, the construction of its embankments by the discovery of pulverised materials (Pulversatz).
And to prove that the Westphalian seams are of respectable thickness, there are deferential coal blocks next to the reproductions of size. At the back of the stand, a tragedy is played out which, fortunately, has no victims, the actors being only dummies, the stage cardboard, and the noxious gases fictional. In a large gallery, a mock landslide.

Coal miners, equipped with a sophisticated breathing apparatus, a mask that two rubbers connect to a box containing oxygen, collaborate without danger in the rescue. In this size, the Mannrôhrenwerke exhibits samples of metal props that can be extended or shortened by means of levers without the worker having to fear a cave-in.

And we can only praise this cleverly thought-out and well-organised department. It is useful, certainly, still useful, serious and always serious, but useful and serious which have been able to divest themselves of what may be uninformative and scientific in order to instruct and teach in a light and comprehensible form.

The German Section is not the work of the Government, whose considerable efforts were concentrated on Paris, Dusseldorf and Saint-Louis, but the fruitful result of the initiative of a handful of industrialists vigorously supported by a Liège Committee which was hard at work, struggling with a burst of valour and will.

A pleasant pavilion is that of the Société de la Carbonit, which has highly rated apparatus for the study of explosives and the way they behave in their brief existence.

The temperature released is noted, the duration of the flames is studied, the pressure and velocity are calculated, the force of the explosion is assessed and so these nasty devices have well-stocked files.

A brown powder lies in a box, it is carbonite. This tells you nothing; in the world of explosives it holds the record for violence and disaster, it is, up to now, the nec plus ultra of a series which, however, does not lack murderous representatives. Let us also mention the very interesting deep drilling installations of the "Deutsche Tiefbohrgesellschaft Nordhausen" and the "Internationale Bohrgesellschaft" of Erkelenz.

It is an unbroken line of interesting things: The Westdeustche Steinzeug Chamotte und Deniesweche has respectable-sized brownstone tanks and pipes, refractory products stand next to cement blocks crushed under enormous pressure, and safes testify that they have been subjected to fire without succumbing; A telephone and telegraph factory assures us that it is covering Germany with its networks, that it is in the process of equipping Hamburg with the latest improvements of the kind, while at the same time submitting new model phonographs for evaluation. Well-understood agricultural implements stand in contrast to cranes, small drawbridges and emery wheels, and a monument is built of brown coal briquettes.
There was a time when Paul de Kock's "grisette" was ambitious enough to own a mahogany cupboard. This lasted until the sewing machine dethroned her. That's the way things are.

German houses have a profusion of them here: silent ones, noisy ones, sewers, embroiderers, modest ones, princesses, a whole system of clever combinations of needles that go honestly according to the old custom or that draw varied, multiform, capricious curves. The Gretchens are happy women, they have been able to abandon the family distaff to indulge in the feminine works that are so fashionable today, thanks to these machines.

They cut paper and cardboard and, like helpful little fairies, cut out bottle labels, create boxes, manipulate cardboard tubes, and produce a succession of pretty things.

Industrial art is certainly not to be despised and pewter, from the trinket to the piece, is in the hands of skilled workers and distinguished craftsmen who care for it with joy. Crefeld has this speciality and the technique of the manufacturers achieves remarkable findings in form.

Ceramic art has Copenhagen porcelain and Sèvres biscuits which, although not from Denmark or France, have character and expression, finish and delicacy. Glassmaking is given pride of place with the exhibition of the Société des Verreries rhénanes, whose crystals sparkle, whose glasses flare and shine with light - the great art of the glassmaker who encloses light in the transparent cast that he turns, handles and softens with elegance and beauty.

From Thuringia came boxes, frames, tinderboxes, having deserted the lighter which had become useless and cumbersome, and the yellow of the copper ornaments matched the fawn colour of the product very well.

The book industry has delegated folding machines, presses, cardboard machines, stapling machines, composing machines; the piano factories are presented with valuable specimens, the first reminding us that the book more than the sword has made modern Germany, the second that music is in great honour in this country which legitimately honours itself with brilliant musicians.

And when one has made the tour, musing along the stands, one feels some annoyance. One had dreamed of a larger, more extensive section, and one finds it cramped and narrow. This is an initial impression that quickly fades away when you realise that Germany is divided and scattered, that it triumphs in the machine halls, that it shines in a 5,000 square metre area, where it wins peaceful battles in the industrial field. It is here that the factory owners fight the battles for which they spend their time in the four corners of the world, superb in their daring and initiative, enraged by the ardour of competition and seeking to take a clear lead everywhere.

It is the Germany of today that is forging the Germany of tomorrow from scratch, inflamed by those imperial harangues that sound like fanfares, all quivering with energy, all throbbing with patriotism, and which seem to extend the frontiers of the empire to the farthest reaches of the universe.

If it has lived for a long, long time withdrawn into itself, withdrawn into silence and study, bent on the slow and austere work of its constitution and organisation, it is because it was preparing the way for its future triumphs, because it was patiently sowing and ploughing deep into the soil on which the future harvest was to blossom.

Contemporary Germany is only thirty-five years old, and in the registers where history records the births of nations, she is almost the last to arrive in this Europe which has seen so many dynasties crumble and so many thrones collapse, but in the golden book where progress initials its balance sheet, she is more than a century old by the lightning speed of her expansion, by the rigorous logic and the admirable tenacity of her aims, by the grandeur and the beauty of her emancipation.

As soon as it emerged from its vigil of arms, it shook off everything that could impede its progress and paralyse its rise. She broke through the wall behind which the old nations huddled, and set out resolutely into the heart of them with the boldness of those who know only success, with the assurance of those whom destiny has marked for a brilliant future. The elite of its scholars had educated it, the legion of its engineers had shaped it, the pleiad of its diplomats and military had raised and matured it. The work emerged from the shadows and rose in prodigious leaps to the dazzling zenith.

Its industrial, intellectual, commercial and social life overflows with activity and passion.

Germany is no longer in Germany, it is everywhere in the world, establishing itself wherever there is a sea to be crossed, a domain to be exploited, a land to be conquered, proudly planting its standard armed with the imperial eagle.

It is this Germany that the white marble bust of William II, placed in the centre of the section, seems to encourage, and which is illustrated by the magnificence of its industry, the internationalism of its trade and the brilliance of its philosophers and thinkers.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Allemagne


Allemagne à l'exposition de Liège 1905

Une façade massive, imposante de force et de majesté avec ses colonnes qui s'enracinent dans le sol et semblent défier les six mois d'éphémère durée qu'elles ont à vivre, son groupe de belle envolée qui symbolise la puissance du travail, ses médaillons enguirlandés d'or arborant fièrement les noms des grandes villes d'Allemagne, ses lourdes bannières constellées d'écussons et de blasons qui descendent des frises, ses masques de Germanie aux yeux absents qui sont comme le sceau dont l'Empire marque sa propriété.

Bien que cette façade soit masquée par la Collectivité des diamantaires, étranglée par l'étroitesse du passage, elle a vraiment grande allure et noble tenue dans la sobriété de ses lignes, l'harmonie de son décor.

Ses baies s'ouvrent largement aux visiteurs. Le Syndicat des Charbonnages Westphaliens fait le premier les honneurs de la section.

Il en a bien le droit, car c'est un seigneur de haute lignée qui a en vasselage tout un peuple d'industries auquel il octroie le pain nourricier de la terre, celui qu'une armée de mineurs arrache d'un sol, qui prodigue ses trésors et dont la générosité ne craint pas l'épuisement.

Le Syndicat des Charbonnages Westphaliens est le roi de la province rhénane et sa suzeraineté nous fait envie.

Nous nous croyons riches parce que la Belgique extrait 15 millions de tonnes de charbon par an ; lui, il puise dans ses gisements et en ramène 70 millions. Il est toujours un peu humiliant d'avoir comme voisin immédiat un monsieur qui sans grande peine éclipse vos pauvres petits millions.

Un seigneur de cette importance ne pouvait avoir qu'un ajustement digne de lui. Son stand se carre à l'aise dans la section allemande.

Quatre tableaux glorifiant le travail du mineur dominent le stand. Des réductions minutieuses et fignolées comme des pièces d'art initient le profane au chargement avec transport et au déchargement par câbles sans fin. Les wagonnets glissent, dociles et soumis, happés au passage par les pinces qui les mettent dans le droit chemin et les abandonnent à point voulu; des maquettes agencées à ravir font connaître les services que rend l'électricité aux machines des houillères; des modèles présentent des batteries de fours à coke avec pompe aspirante.

Et tout cela est si précis, si fouillé, si vivant, que de ce coin de section se dégage un singulier respect mêlé d'admiration pour tous ces joujoux merveilleux qui dans leur délicatesse et leur ingéniosité nous parlent plus éloquemment de l'industrie que bien des in-folio criblés de chiffres, armés de tableaux, parce qu'ils parlent à l'âme des foules en touchant son imagination.

Le Syndicat Westphalien a centralisé une moisson de documents, de plans, de graphiques, de statistiques où il est parlé du volume d'air qu'il lance par dixième de seconde dans les galeries, du charbon qu'il remonte à la surface, de l'eau qu'il extrait, de la construction de ses remblais par la découverte des matériaux pulvérisés (Pulversatz).
Et pour prouver que les veines de Westphalie sont de respectable épaisseur, à côté des reproductions de taille figurent des blocs de charbon qui inspirent la déférence. Dans le fond du stand se joue une tragédie qui, heureusement, ne compte pas de victimes, les acteurs n'étant que des mannequins, la scène, du cartonnage, et les gaz délétères, fiction. Dans une grande galerie, un simulacre d'éboulement.

Des houilleurs, munis d'un appareil respiratoire perfectionné, un masque que deux caoutchoucs relient à une boîte renfermant de l'oxygène, collaborent sans péril au sauvetage. Dans cette taille, la Société Mannrôhrenwerke expose des échantillons d'étançons en métal que des leviers peuvent grandir ou raccourcir sans que l'ouvrier ait à redouter l'éboulement.

Et nous ne pouvons que décerner de vifs éloges à ce compartiment si intelligemment compris et si bien ordonnancé. C'est de l'utile, certes, encore de l'utile, du sérieux et toujours du sérieux, mais de l'utile et du sérieux qui ont su se dépouiller de ce qu'ils peuvent avoir de rébarbatif et de scientifique pour instruire et enseigner par une forme légère et compréhensible.

La Section allemande n'est pas l'œuvre du Gouvernement dont l'effort considérable s'était concentré sur Paris, Dusseldorf et Saint-Louis, mais le résultat fécond de l'initiative d'une poignée d'industriels vigoureusement secondés par un Comité liégeois qui fut à la tâche, à la peine dans un élan de vaillance et de volonté.

Un pavillon plaisant est celui de la Société de la Carbonit qui a des appareils très cotés pour l'étude des explosifs et leur façon de se comporter dans leur brève existence.

On note la température dégagée, on étudie la durée des flammes, on calcule la pression et la vitesse, on apprécie la force de l'explosion et ainsi ces méchants engins ont des dossiers bien garnis.

Une poudre brune repose dans une caisse, c'est de la carbonite. Cela ne vous dit rien; dans le monde des explosifs elle détient le record de la violence et du désastre, elle est, jusqu'à présent, le nec plus ultra d'une série qui cependant ne manque pas de représentants meurtriers. Signalons aussi les installations si intéressantes pour les sondages à grandes profondeurs de « La Deutsche Tiefbohrgesellschaft Nordhausen » et de « l'Internationale Bohrgesellschaft », d'Erkelenz.

C'est un alignement ininterrompu de choses intéressantes : la Westdeustche Steinzeug Chamotte und Deniesweche dresse des cuves et des tuyaux en grès brun de respectable dimension, des produits réfractaires voisinent avec des blocs de ciment écrasés sous une pression énorme, des coffres-forts témoignent qu'ils ont subi sans succomber les assauts de l'incendie; une fabrique d'appareils téléphoniques et télégraphiques nous assure qu'elle couvre l'Allemagne de ses réseaux, qu'elle est en train de doter Hambourg des derniers perfectionnements du genre en même temps qu'elle soumet à l'appréciation des phonographes nouveau modèle. Des instruments aratoires bien compris font opposition avec des grues, des petits ponts-roulants et des meules d'émeri, un monument s'étage en briquettes de lignite.
Il fut un temps où la grisette de Paul de Kock haussait son ambition jusqu'à la possession d'une armoire en acajou. Cela dura jusqu'au jour où la machine à coudre la détrôna. Ainsi vont les moeurs.

Des maisons allemandes en ont ici à profusion : des silencieuses, des bruyantes, des couseuses, des brodeuses, des modestes, des princesses, tout un système de savantes combinaisons d'aiguilles qui cheminent honnêtement suivant le vieil usage ou qui dessinent des courbes variées, multiformes, capricieuses. Les Gretchen sont femmes heureuses, elles ont pu délaisser la quenouille familiale pour se livrer à plaisir, grâce à ces machines si complaisantes, à ces ouvrages féminins que la mode tient en si grande faveur aujourd'hui.

Un joli travail mécanique qu'accomplissent les machines expertes de M. Jagenberg, Elles taillent le papier et le carton et, en petites fées serviables et bonnes, découpent des étiquettes de bouteilles, créent des boîtes, manipulent des tubes de carton, et en font sortir une succession de jolies choses.

L'art industriel n'est certes pas à dédaigner et l'étain, depuis le bibelot jusqu'à la pièce, est aux mains d'ouvriers habiles et d'artisans distingués qui le soignent avec joie. Crefeld a cette spécialité et la technique des fabricants réussit des trouvailles de formes remarquables.

La céramique d'art a des porcelaines de Copenhague et des biscuits de Sèvres qui, pour n'être ni de Danemark ni de France, ont du cachet et de l'expression, du fini et de la délicatesse. La verrerie est au rang d'honneur avec l'exposition de la Société des Verreries rhénanes, dont les cristaux scintillent, les verres flamboyent, ruissellent de clartés — le grand art du verrier qui enferme de la lumière dans la coulée transparente qu'il tourne, manie, assouplit avec élégance et beauté.

Sont venus de Thuringe coffrets, cadres, boîtes en amadou ayant déserté le briquet devenu inutile, encombrant et le jaune des ornements en cuivre s'apparente très bien avec le fauve du produit.

L'industrie du livre a délégué des plieuses, des presses, des machines à cartonner, à brocher, à composer; les fabriques de pianos sont présentées avec des spécimens de valeur, la première nous rappelant que le livre plus que l'épée a fait l'Allemagne moderne, les secondes que la musique est en grand honneur dans ce pays qui s'honore légitimement de musiciens géniaux.

Et quand on a fait le tour, musé le long des stands, on ressent quelque contrariété. On avait rêvé d'une section plus vaste, plus étendue et on la trouve exiguë et rétrécie. C'est une impression première qui s'évanouit vite quand on sait que l'Allemagne s'est divisée, éparpillée, qu'aux halls des machines elle triomphe, elle rayonne dans un emplacement de 5.000 mètres carrés, où elle gagne des batailles pacifiques dans le champ industriel. C'est là que les usiniers livrent ces combats pour lesquels ils se dépensent aux quatre coins du monde, superbes d'audace et d'initiative, enragés de volonté pratique, fouettés par l'ardeur de la concurrence et cherchant partout à prendre nettement les devants.

C'est l'Allemagne d'aujourd'hui qui forge de toute pièce l'Allemagne de demain, enflammée par ces harangues impériales qui sonnent comme des fanfares toutes frémissantes d'énergie, toutes palpitantes de patriotisme et qui semblent faire reculer les frontières de l'empire jusqu'aux confins de l'univers.

Si elle a vécu longtemps, très longtemps repliée sur elle-même, recueillie dans le silence et l'étude, penchée sur le travail lent et austère de sa constitution et de son organisation, c'est qu'elle préparait les voies de ses prochains triomphes, c'est qu'elle ensemençait patiemment et labourait profondément le terrain sur lequel devaient s'épanouir les moissons futures.

Elle n'a que 35 ans de date l'Allemagne contemporaine et sur les registres de l'état-civil où l'histoire inscrit les naissances des nations, elle est presque la dernière venue dans cette Europe qui a vu crouler tant de dynasties et s'effondrer tant de trônes, mais au livre d'or où le progrès parafe son bilan, elle a plus d'un siècle par la rapidité foudroyante de son expansion, par la rigoureuse logique et l'admirable ténacité de ses buts, par la grandeur et la beauté de son émancipation.

Dès qu'elle sortit de sa veillée d'armes, elle secoua d'un coup tout ce qui pouvait entraver sa marche, paralyser son essor. Elle brisa le mur d'enceinte derrière lequel se pelotonnaient les vieilles nations, et s'installa résolument au cœur d'elles avec l'audace de ceux qui ne connaissent que le succès, avec l'assurance de ceux que la destinée a marqués pour un avenir brillant. L'élite de ses savants l'avait éduquée, la légion de ses ingénieurs l'avait façonnée, la pléiade de ses diplomates et de ses militaires l'avait élevée et mûrie. L'œuvre sortit de l'ombre et monte par bonds prodigieux vers le zénith éblouissant.

Sa vie industrielle, intellectuelle, commerciale et sociale déborde d'activité et de passion.

L'Allemagne n'est plus en Allemagne, elle est partout dans l'univers, s'implantant là où il y a une mer à franchir, un domaine à exploiter, une terre à conquérir, plantant orgueilleusement son étendard armé de l'aigle impérial.

C'est cette Allemagne-là que le buste en marbre blanc de Guillaume II, placé au centre de la section, semble encourager, et qu'illustrent à la fois la magnificence de son industrie, l'internationalisme de son commerce et l'éclat de ses philosophes et de ses penseurs.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Liège 1905