Back - List of Pavilions

Technical Education -

Missing picture
Architect(s) : J. Bonnier

In the general classification of the Exposition des Arts Décoratifs et Industriels Modernes, which comprises five groups, the fifth is entirely reserved for education. The organisers of the exhibition wanted to show that they intended to
The organisers of the exhibition wished to show that they intended to give our education the benefit of new ideas, likely to communicate a more intense life to our decorative and industrial arts.

In an event where the applied arts are presented as a living reality entirely appropriate to present-day needs, there could be no question of presenting disparate objects without a precise purpose to the teaching group; it was necessary to refrain from exhibiting paintings, statistics, student drawings, etc. As for undertaking overall projects, our schools of decorative art could not think of competing with the master artists and craftsmen exhibiting in the other groups.

The programme was adopted following an open competition among all members of the teaching staff to determine the best form for the participation of technical education. The programme consisted of the creation of model workshops.

The realisation of such a programme was only possible thanks to the credits which were voted for this purpose by the Parliament, following the eloquent reports of Mr. Even, in the House, and of Mr. Serre, in the Senate.

The technical education workshops on the first floor of the Grand Palais cover an area of more than 3,000 square metres.

Friezes, put up for competition by the students of the schools of applied art, decorate the upper part of the walls; the fences, door frames, inscribed cartouches, and balustrades were made of wood, iron or cast iron by the students of the arts and crafts schools, the national professional schools and the practical industrial schools; the furniture: tables, flat or wall-mounted display cases, chairs and stepladders, were made in these same schools.

At the entrance, there are two rooms reserved for general teaching methods: there are exhibitions of applied art courses where artistic composition, drawing and execution techniques are taught simultaneously, notably at the Conservatoire National des Arts et Métiers.

Then come the wood workshops, with the large carpentry workshop with machines on one side and workbenches for manual work on the other, along with the carpentry workshop, the cabinetmaking workshop, the bodywork workshop and the basketry workshop.

In the stone room, you can see all the techniques of masonry, decoration, plastering and moulding.
The textile workshops include a printing workshop, a mechanical lace workshop, a mechanical embroidery workshop, a hand embroidery and lace workshop, and weaving workshops, in which the schools of Lyon, Tourcoing, Vienne, Elbeuf, Saint-Etienne and Saint-Chamond collaborate. The carpet and tapestry workshops are next, and in a parallel gallery, the fashion and sewing, lingerie and fur workshops, and the upholsterer-decorator's workshop. It is in these workshops that the girls' schools particularly collaborate through their work, just as it is in the other subjects, wood, metal, ceramics, glass, paper, that the participation of the boys' schools is the most important.

The workshops for various materials form a group, where one can see leather, ivory and tortoiseshell, flowers and feathers being worked on; opposite the Oyonnax room there is even a hairdressing salon.

A special room is reserved for the pre-apprenticeship workshops of the Paris Chamber of Commerce.

The metal workshops are, of course, very important. Firstly, there is the boiler making, copperware, steel engraving, precision mechanics, electric lighting and heating; then the cast iron and bronze foundry, with the chasing and mounting workshops and those of the model designers; the forge workshop, the jewellery and goldsmiths workshop, the watchmaking workshop, the cutlery workshop, the enamelling workshop, the roofing and plumbing workshop.

This is followed by the ceramics workshops, and then the glass workshops, which include the colourless glass workshop, the coloured glass workshop, the stained glass workshop, the mosaic workshop and the enamelling workshop.

The paper industries include the manual or mechanical work of typography, lithography, zincography, cardboard and bookbinding.

Finally, a commercial office equipped with all the modern conveniences completes this series of rooms.

Demonstrations are given at set times in each of these workshops, and these demonstrations are supplemented by cinematographic conferences which take place in the Salle des Congrès, also installed in the Grand Palais.

The Under-Secretaries of State, Messrs. Vidal and de Moro-Giafferri, and the very sympathetic and competent Director of Technical Education, Mr. Labbé, were the active organisers of this important event, the realisation of which was entrusted to Mr. Marcel Magne, architect-decorator, professor at the Conservatoire des Arts et Métiers. M. Drouot, Inspector General of Technical Education, gave M. Magne precious and devoted assistance in the collaboration of the schools.

©La Science et la Vie - 1925

Exposition Internationale des Arts Décoratifs et Industriels Modernes de Paris 1925

Arts Décoratifs et Industriels Modernes

28 avril 1925 - 25 octobre 1925


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Enseignement Technique

manque image

Architecte(s) : J. Bonnier

Dans la classification générale de l’Exposition des Arts Décoratifs et Industriels Modernes, qui comprend cinq groupes, le cinquième est entièrement réservé à l’enseignement. Les organisateurs de l’exposition ont voulu montrer par là qu’ils
entendaient faire profiter notre enseignement des idées nouvelles, susceptibles de communiquer une vie plus intense à nos arts décoratifs et industriels.

Dans une manifestation où les arts appliqués sont présentés comme une réalité vivante entièrement appropriée à des besoins actuels, il ne pouvait être question de présenter, au groupe de l’enseignement, des objets disparates et sans destination précise ; il fallait renoncer à exposer des tableaux, statistiques, dessins d’élèves, etc. Quant à entreprendre des réalisations d’ensemble, nos écoles d’art décoratif ne pouvaient songer à rivaliser avec les maîtres artistes et artisans exposants dans les autres groupes.

Le programme fut adopté à la suite d’un concours ouvert entre tous les membres du corps enseignant, afin de déterminer la meilleure forme à donner à la participation de l’enseignement technique. Le programme consistait en la création d’ateliers modèles.

La réalisation d’un tel programme ne fut possible que grâce aux crédits qui furent votés à cet effet par le Parlement, à la suite des éloquents rapports de M. Even, à la Chambre, et de M. Serre, au Sénat.

Les ateliers de l’enseignement technique couvrent, au premier étage du Grand Palais, une superficie de plus de 3.000 mètres carrés.

Des frises, mises au concours entre les élèves des écoles d’art appliqué, ornent la partie supérieure des murs ; les clôtures, encadrements de portes, cartouches avec inscription, balustrades, ont été exécutés, en bois, en fer ou en fonte, par les élèves des écoles d’arts et métiers, des écoles nationales professionnelles et des écoles pratiques d’industrie ; le mobilier : tables, vitrines plates ou murales, chaises et escabeaux, a été réalisé dans ces mêmes écoles.

A l’entrée, sont deux salles réservées aux méthodes générales de l’enseignement : on y voit les expositions des cours d’art appliqué où sont enseignés, simultanément, la composition artistique, le dessin et la technique d’exécution, notamment au Conservatoire National des Arts et Métiers.

Ensuite, viennent les ateliers du bois, avec le grand atelier de menuiserie comprenant d’un côté les machines, de l’autre les établis pour le travail manuel, avec l’atelier de charpente, l’atelier d’ébénisterie, l’atelier de carrosserie, l’atelier de vannerie.

Dans la salle de la pierre, on peut voir toutes les techniques de la maçonnerie, du décor, des enduits, du moulage.
Les ateliers des textiles comprennent un atelier d’impression, un atelier de dentelle mécanique, un atelier de broderie mécanique, un atelier de broderie et de dentelle à la main, des ateliers de tissage, auxquels collaborent particulièrement les écoles de Lyon, de Tourcoing, de Vienne, d’Elbeuf, de Saint-Etienne, de Saint-Chamond. A la suite, se trouvent l’atelier du tapis et de la tapisserie et, dans une galerie parallèle, les ateliers de mode et de couture, de lingerie et de fourrure, l’atelier du tapissier-décorateur. C’est dans ces ateliers que collaborent particulièrement, par leurs travaux, les écoles de filles, de même que c’est dans les autres matières, bois, métal, céramique, verre, papier, que la participation des écoles de garçons est la plus importante.

Les ateliers des matières diverses forment tin groupe, où l’on voit travailler le cuir, l'ivoire et l’écaille, les fleurs et les plumes ; en face de la salle d’Oyonnax se tient même un salon de coiffure.

Une salle spéciale est réservée aux ateliers de préapprentissage de la Chambre de Commerce de Paris.

Les ateliers du métal sont, naturellement, très importants. C’est d’abord la chaudronnerie, la dinanderie, la gravure sur acier, la mécanique de précision, l’éclairage et le chauffage électriques ; puis la fonderie de fonte et de bronze, avec les ateliers de ciselure et de monture et ceux des créateurs de modèles ; l’atelier de forge, l’atelier de bijouterie-orfèvrerie, l’atelier d’horlogerie, l’atelier de coutellerie, l’atelier d’émaillage, l’atelier de couverture et de plomberie.

Les ateliers de la céramique leur font suite, puis ceux du verre, où l’on voit le travail du verre incolore, le travail du verre de couleur, l’atelier des vitraux, celui de la mosaïque, celui de l’émaillage.

Les industries du papier comprennent le travail manuel ou mécanique de la typographie, de la lithographie, de la zincographie, du cartonnage et de la reliure.

Enfin, un bureau commercial agencé avec tous les perfectionnements modernes termine cette série de salles.

Des démonstrations sont faites à des heures déterminées dans chacun de ces ateliers, ces démonstrations étant complétées par des conférences cinématographiques qui ont lieu dans la salle des Congrès, installée également dans le Grand Palais.

Les sous-secrétaires d’Etat, MM. Vidal et de Moro-Giafferri, et le très sympathique et compétent Directeur de l’Enseignement technique, M. Labbé, ont été les actifs organisateurs de cette importante manifestation, dont la réalisation a été confiée à M. Marcel Magne, architecte-décorateur, professeur au Conservatoire des Arts et Métiers. M. Drouot, inspecteur général de l’Enseignement technique, a apporté à M. Magne un concours précieux et dévoué en ce qui concerne la collaboration des écoles.

©La Science et la Vie - 1925