International Exhibition of Modern Decorative and Industrial Arts, Paris 1925

Modern Decorative and Industrial Arts

April 28, 1925 - October 25, 1925


Back - List of Pavilions

Tunisian Souk and Panorama of North Africa

Tunisian Souk and Panorama of North Africa at the Exhibition Paris 1925

Architect(s) : H. Sauvage

Panorama of North Africa

This panorama, executed by Mr. Sauvage in collaboration with Mr. Gabriel Rousseau, painter, includes a moving panorama and fixed dioramas. The viewer has the illusion of being in the front of a boat and sees the landscape go by.

Francis Jourdain helped with the decorative interior painting.

The Tunisian souk surrounding the Panorama pavilion is operated by Mr. Boccara, who has installed all kinds of counters and attractions of a local character.

The North African panorama and the Tunisian souk form a very special ensemble.

In order to remain within the general programme of the exhibition, the architect had to employ a subterfuge that allowed neither reconstruction nor copying. He assumed that a traveller, completely ignorant of North African affairs, had only a few days to visit the whole territory between Rabat and Tunis, and that, in these conditions, he had to resort to ultra-fast means of locomotion, so that, from his journey, during which he crossed Morocco, Algeria and Tunisia, not neglecting the Atlas regions, he could only bring back a rather confused picture, an overview of the three countries.

This traveller, whose artistic tendencies were naturally French and modern, dreamt his journey, and his dream took shape in an image to which only the most expressive memories that remained of the things he had seen contributed.

©La Science et la Vie - 1925

Exposition Internationale des Arts Décoratifs et Industriels Modernes de Paris 1925

Arts Décoratifs et Industriels Modernes

28 avril 1925 - 25 octobre 1925


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Souk Tunisien et Panorama de l'Afrique du Nord

Souk Tunisien et Panorama de l'Afrique du Nord à l'exposition de Paris 1925

Architecte(s) : H. Sauvage

Panorama de l’Afrique du Nord

Ce panorama, exécuté par M. Sauvage, en collaboration avec M. Gabriel Rousseau, peintre, comporte un panorama mouvant et des dioramas fixes. Le spectateur a l’illusion de se trouver à l’avant d’un bateau et il voit défiler le paysage.

Francis Jourdain a apporté son concours pour la peinture décorative intérieure.

Le souk tunisien qui entoure le pavillon du Panorama est exploité par M. Boccara, qui y a installé des comptoirs de toutes sortes et des attractions de caractère local.

Le panorama de l’Afrique du Nord et le souk tunisien forment un ensemble de caractère très particulier.

Afin de rester dans le programme général de l’exposition, l’architecte dut employer un subterfuge permettant de ne faire ni reconstitution, ni copie. Il a supposé qu’un voyageur, complètement ignorant des choses de l’Afrique du Nord, disposait de quelques jours seulement pour visiter tout le territoire compris entre Rabat et Tunis, et que, dans ces conditions, il a dû recourir à des moyens de locomotion ultra-rapides, de sorte que, de son voyage, au cours duquel il a traversé le Maroc, l’Algérie et la Tunisie, en ne négligeant pas les régions de l’Atlas, il n’a pu rapporter qu’une image assez confuse, une vue d’ensemble des trois pays.

Ce voyageur, dont les tendances artistiques sont naturellement françaises et modernes, rêve son voyage, et son rêve se concrétise en une image à laquelle concourent seuls les souvenirs les plus expressifs qui lui sont restés des choses qu’il a vues.

©La Science et la Vie - 1925