International Exhibition of Modern Decorative and Industrial Arts, Paris 1925

Modern Decorative and Industrial Arts

April 28, 1925 - October 25, 1925


Back - List of Pavilions

Furniture sets

Furniture sets at the Exhibition Paris 1925

This class occupies four galleries on the Esplanade des Invalides, which are located between the two towers of Charles Plumet, to which they are attached, with, in return, the gallery of Perret, which leads perpendicularly to the entrance of the rue Saint-Dominique.

The total surface area of the site is three thousand square metres.

The architects appointed to design and decorate the galleries and the group were
Invalides: gallery A: Pierre Chareau; gallery B: Pierre Selmersheim; gallery C: Hiriart, Tribout and Beau; gallery D: Maurice Dufrène.
Pont Alexandre: group F: Maurice Dufrène.

The exhibitors in this class number eighty-three, some of whom present several sets; this shows the importance and interest of this part of the exhibition, where the visitor will have before his eyes: models, graphic and photographic representations, living quarters for all uses, telephone booths, factory and workshop installations, shops, canteens, dining rooms, offices, lounges, kitchens, libraries, workers' housing, wagon and boat installations, classrooms, etc.

Science et la Vie - 1925


New times call for new classifications. This is the first time that a class at a major international exhibition has been entitled "Furniture Sets". This title is characteristic of the state of decorative art, which is currently being splendidly reborn in the most worthy cradle of art in the world: Paris.

At previous official events, even in 1900, the works were separated into categories according to material, technique and sometimes use. There were classes for fabrics, stone, and means of transport, but the main class, which, in short, sums them all up and controls them, did not exist. The class of "Furniture Sets" is the "mother" class, one might say, since it contains all objects and decorations, uses all materials and techniques. To clarify the meaning of this new classification, it suffices to compare class VIII to class VII: in class VIII, the detail, in class VII, the whole. Here, an isolated piece of furniture is judged, created for its own sake, presented outside of any grouping; here, an architectural ensemble and a decorative atmosphere sought by the reasoned juxtaposition of all the elements, invented with a view to their union. Each element plays a role and takes on its value only because of the value it gives to the roles that accompany it.

Thus, class VII sums up more than any other the tendencies of the Exhibition, better still it explains and motivates it, since it is the spirit and the goal.

The "Furniture Sets" are not, in fact, a novelty. If the term is new, the thing is not; it has been around for all time and in all styles. Today, furniture ensembles seem to be reborn only because they have been neglected for the past century and have disappeared from the theatre of our decorative representations. By ignorance, by lassitude, our close ancestors have lived on the riches of the past. Thus, the decorator-inventor disappeared, replaced by the "antique dealer", that scourge of progress, and by the upholsterer who, without an inventive spirit and without personality, could not be artists, since art is only made up of freedom, novelty, creative power and the fervent gift of self.

For a reaction to be attempted, science had to impose new means and uses. Electricity, telephones, heating and transport systems, and a broader understanding of hygiene required new forms and decorations. Finally, a need arose for objects and furniture that were better suited to our needs. It was then that a host of artists took it upon themselves to satisfy new needs with new formulas. They took over the tradition, in its spirit and in its reason.

And here are the decorative artists.

One of the men who best served modern art, Mr. Paul Léon, director of the Beaux-Arts, with his clear judgement and his deep knowledge of facts and men, said over and over again: "The renaissance of decorative art in France and the revival of our art industries are due to the same twenty artists for twenty years. "

Let's be fair. The game is won for everyone, but let's do justice to those who fought and won for the community. The winners are the artists. The industry, fearful yesterday, now converted, wanted, without compromising itself, to "let it happen" as we say in slang. It let it happen, it saw..., it comes.

There is a rather pretty fable where a certain Bertrand and a man called Raton... but...
... But let's not quibble any more.

This little retrospective is not useless. It situates the responsibilities and allows us to analyse the results.

Class VII is instructive from the point of view of the mode of presentation, from the economic point of view, from the technical point of view, from the artistic point of view.

New work means new presentation. The Class VII architects, with the help of the office, have devised a programme that can be summed up in four words: creating life. Whether it was Pierre Selmersheim, Pierre Chareau or Hiriart, each of them, while retaining their own personality, was able to vary their approach and reconcile the exhibitors.

Eight entrances give access to the four galleries of F Exposition which cover more than 4,000 metres on the Esplanade des Invalides. As soon as you cross the threshold, you have the impression that you are not in an exhibition, but in someone's home, someone good, dare we say it. During the visit, one passes from one room to another without losing interest, held back by an imposing architecture, amused here by a witty detail, captivated by the thousand things and ideas that contribute to the joy of life.

The economic task of the exhibitors is considerable. The conditions of the exhibition forced a class budget, albeit a small one, in relation to its advantages, since from 400 francs per surface metre participation in class VII entailed serious costs for location, installation and, above all, for execution. By averaging the pieces presented, we can estimate their cost price at 25,000 to 100,000 francs. If we consider that class VII comprises 100 sets, and if we add to the initial costs of these sets the value of the accessory works that complete them, we reach a total of about 5 to 6 million.
Let us acknowledge these striking facts that industrialists and publishers, usually very well-informed and prudent people, have entered into the struggle without skimping on the means. This is a striking proof of confidence of which the "rightful" can be proud. The publishers, the industrialists, the big traders have done well to do well. One can only bow to their diligence and to efforts that have never been surpassed in previous exhibitions.

The techniques and materials used for the realization of the various rooms of class VII, wood, fabrics, carpets, lighting, etc., do not cause any surprise. We were warned by long experience that we would find material perfection. Unquestionably, everything is there, of superior quality. If any critic can find cause for reservations, rare in fact, of aesthetics, he cannot oppose a single one to the execution. No one has sought the harmful and useless tour de force which paralyses conception and kills taste. Each one has had the respect and love of his material and, in doing so, has "worked as a master", according to the loyal tradition of the old guilds to whom we owe the supremacy of French industrial art in the world. A piece of furniture counts by its architectural virtues, by the value and balance of its volumes, by the interplay of its plans; it requires qualities of creation and science, - of conscience too.

Let us judge the aesthetics.

In class VII, we are in France. How good it is to find furniture, carpets and fabrics that are made in France, according to us and for us! To be modern and remain national, to keep the qualities and tastes of one's race and to transpose them into a new style without deflowering them is not a common work.

For those who know how to see and analyse, rising above materialities, for those who have the wisdom not to limit their judgement to their preferences, class VII is a profound education because of the diversity of aesthetic tendencies which manifest themselves there, going so far as to oppose each other without, however, ceasing to constitute a homogeneous school. A studio like that of Mrs. Klotzd, with its sober lines and refined neutrality, and an elegantly dressed hall like that of Mrs. Renaudot, are works of great importance on simple grounds. The same is true, in a less subtle order, less elevated perhaps, but more comfortable in the habitat sense, of that which Bouchet composed for the house of the Comfortable. More amiable accessories arrest the attention, but the spirit of unity is found. The art of a Bernaux obeys other principles. All ornate volumes, all worked massiveness, Bernaux's dining room resembles the sumptuousness of the Renaissance: full mahogany woods, abundant sculptures rich in size, broad craftsmanship, the decorator continues the sculptor; for here, in Bernaux, is the type of the fervent craftsman resurrected, the noble type of the artist who conceives and who himself realises.

The dining room presented by Mercier frères, the work of the decorator Guevel, an artist from Rouen, belongs to the great school. In an original setting of material and colour, walls of grey stone cast in mauve, painted panels of a very special workmanship, where browns, purples and greens play. The massive furniture is imposing through the absolute balance of the large surfaces which highlight the polished rosewood, treated as it should be. This atmosphere of haughty serenity, deliberately a little cold, exudes a rare perfume of race.

Mercier's dining room is classical and rectangular in shape; the Bûcheron's, designed by Messrs Jomyr and Leverrier, is a rotunda lit by a high bay, dominated by a vast dome, and seems to be made entirely, from floor to ceiling, for the logical symbol of a dining room: the table.

Round, of red mahogany, almost disproportionate, but well balanced on its central leg, it is enthroned, confident, splendid. A high and long chandelier dominates it with its measured brilliance. More daring in design and decoration is the resting place, full of grace in its audacity. A style of great allure is found in the shipments from the Thiébaux Sormani house, both created by Raoul Lux: a vast, intimate living room onto which opens a dining room. Despite the size, there is a feeling of happy peace here, a sense of letting go in good company. In this private room, of a muted mauve colour, with its copious macassar furniture, enhanced with ivory, it would be so good to sit and chat as in the past, seated in these rosewood, ebony or gilded wood seats! The light is restful, the carpets sumptuous, the atmosphere good.

Edgar Brandt and his collaborator Favier, an architect, present a gallery hall whose design brilliantly fights against the principles of the nudes desired in architecture. The walls, lacquered and impeccably ordered right up to the ceiling, are entirely covered with ornaments in light relief, golden patinas, an ornamental theme dear to the Orient, from which our Renaissance and even our eighteenth century were sometimes inspired. A chandelier, a credenza, screens, access grilles, all made of worked iron, reveal a skilful understanding of modern processes. Here is Rapin, more classical, who worked for Evrard, publisher, a dining room united to a lounge. The atmosphere is intimate and friendly. The tone is blond and russet, with red and brown accents; the furniture is delicate, well-ordered, with a straightforward technique. Jacob-Delafon asked Barberis to create a bathroom with a rest room. Under an original ceiling that seems to be a draped fabric, here are the sofa and the seats, all in white; here are the coffee tables for the comforting port wine, the consoles for the small beauty utensils. A limpid atmosphere, with a hint of voluptuousness. Skilful arrangement, great practicality, amused by beautiful carpets and cushions with witty water features.

Ah, how sad to be unable, today, to linger in front of the majestic hall that Montagnac composed for Sangouard; to pass by, without analysing at leisure the works of André Fréchet, the group of Touraine, the artist's studio of the pupils of the Maîtrise des Galeries Lafayette, René Gabriel's kitchen, so dashing, the hall of the Bayonne artists, the dining room of Belligant and Fesneau, the rooms so new, created by Messrs. Chauchet, Guillère, Bureau, Burkalter and Mme Souchez, Diméa's room, the two rooms of Lahalle and Levard, Majorelle's majestic office and so many others.

We will come back to this.

We are attracted to other attempts, of a less exceptional order, but of a conception more likely to serve, by a practical, commercial realization, the cause that everyone defends here. The artists demonstrate great ideas and great talents; the big industrialists collaborate widely and have the honour of doing a great deal. Alongside these heights, equally tangible results are achieved. A group of industrialists, intelligent manufacturers and publishers are exhibiting current items of destination, realisation and consequently sale, close to the truth and close to the public that has yet to be conquered. Does this mean that the same qualities praised above are not to be found here? Not at all, they are there, more discreet, just as sure. The aim is to replace horror and banality with practical, everyday beauty, to replace furniture that has no style in any language, and at the same price, with healthy, new, pleasant, and good furniture.

For being of average layout, composed of average furniture, is not the dining room of Guérin frères pleasant and convenient. The ash woods are beautiful, their workmanship perfect, the resting place is infinitely sympathetic in its soft tones, the red hanging is happy. Mantelet's dining room, darkened with wood and decorated with marquetry, is more serious and offers infinite guarantees of execution and maintenance. Good shipment. Further on, another dining room composed by Fabre for the Decaux et Maous company. Sober harmony, new, intelligent lighting by a moulded glass banister. Great sense of comfort and practicality in the buffet and table. Rambaudi-D'Antoine presents a room, today classic. Here we are far from the tall, narrow and stuffy wardrobes. Well-established bodies, research into the use of wood, the dressing table and the seats are rational complements. The accessories would have benefited from being richer in tone because of the beauty of the woods. In collaboration with Thomas, Pimpaneau dares, with happiness for many rooms, to furnish a living room where welcoming furniture, perhaps a little numerous, is arranged in pleasant groups. A sofa, tables for games, lunch, tea, shelves, a display case. All this lives, shimmers under a bright and cheerful light in a lemon, purple and grey harmony.

Soft stands constitute the important consignment of the Société de l'Art du Bois: a studio dining room, a girl's room. The studio dining room fits in well with a modern programme, being neither very dining room nor very studio, but constituting that necessary room where, always, with one's family, one can work, talk and finally live. This is the typical, charming room. The bedroom has a very special grace.

We find Bouchet decorator at Epeaux, with a dining room that is pleasant in its sobriety. The furniture is good, but the decor does not quite highlight it. For Soubrier, Bouchet has composed a room that is close to perfection. The bed and the wardrobe are excellent examples of contemporary art.

Is this to say that everything here in Class VII is worthy of being a model? Not at all, but everything is subject to analysis and study. The great lesson with which this whole chapter can be concluded is that the elements of a French art, owing nothing to anyone, are born. The new generation of artists and industrialists can be well armed, no longer for the struggle, but for the work.

The art of the furniture ensemble is an art of high social significance. It creates, from scratch, homes. The home is man's reward, the centre of his affections and his life. What a great role and what a noble duty to help him make it beautiful and good. For such a task, one should not work as an amateur.

An inventive mind can always compose a whole, a corner before which one can exclaim: "Ah! how amusing! ah! how pretty to paint! "

Decorators, industrialists, our role is greater: what we must create is neither the fun corner nor the corner to be painted, it is the corner, the good corner to live in, and that is not quite the same thing. The reward of Class VII, its pretty reward, the discreet one that goes to the heart of all its collaborators, is when it can hear a man, whom it knows to be cultured and tasteful, say in front of one of its achievements: "I would like to live there. "

©L'Illustration - 1925

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Ensembles mobiliers


Ensembles mobiliers à l'exposition de Paris 1925

Cette classe occupe quatre galeries sur l’Esplanade des Invalides, qui sont comprises entre les deux tours de Charles Plumet, auxquelles elles sont adossées, avec, en retour, la galerie de Perret, qui aboutit perpendiculairement à l’entrée de la rue Saint-Dominique.

La superficie de l’emplacement est, au total, de trois mille mètres carrés.

Les architectes désignés pour l’aménagement et la décoration des galeries et du groupe sont :
Invalides : galerie A : Pierre Chareau ; galerie B : Pierre Selmersheim ; galerie C : Hiriart, Tribout et Beau ; galerie D : Maurice Dufrène.
Pont Alexandre : groupe F : Maurice Dufrène.

Les exposants de cette classe sont au nombre de quatre-vingt-trois, dont certains présentent plusieurs ensembles ; c’est dire l’importance et l’intérêt de cette partie de l’exposition, où le visiteur aura sous les yeux : maquettes, représentations graphiques et photographiques, pièces d’habitation pour tous usages, cabines téléphoniques, installations d’usines et ateliers, de magasins, de boutiques, cantines, salles à manger, bureaux, salons, cuisines, bibliothèques, logements d’ouvriers, installations de wagons et de bateaux, salles de classe, etc.

©La Science et la Vie - 1925


A temps nouveaux, classification nouvelle. Voici la première fois que dans une exposition internationale d’envergure on intitule une classe « Ensembles mobiliers». Ce titre est caractéristique de l’état de l’Art décoratif qui, en ce moment, renaît splendidement dans le plus digne berceau d’Art du monde: Paris.

Lors des précédentes manifestations officielles, en 1900 même, les œuvres étaient isolées en catégories selon la matière, la technique et parfois l’usage. Classe des tissus, de la pierre, des moyens de transport, mais la classe principale, celle qui, en somme, les résume toutes et les commande, n’existait pas. La classe des «Ensembles mobiliers»est la classe «mère», peut-on dire, puisqu’elle renferme tous les objets et décors, se sert de toutes les matières et utilise toutes les techniques. Pour préciser le sens de cette classification nouvelle, il suffit de comparer la classe VIII à la classe VII : à la classe VIII, le détail, à la classe VII, le tout. Là, se juge un meuble isolé, créé pour lui seul, présenté en dehors de tout groupement ; ici, un ensemble architectural et une ambiance décorative recherchée par la juxtaposition raisonnée de tous les éléments, inventés en vue de leur union. Chaque élément joue un rôle et ne prend sa valeur qu’en raison de celle # qu’il donne aux rôles qui l’accompagnent.

Ainsi, la classe VII résume plus qu’une autre les tendances de l’Exposition, mieux encore elle l’explique et la .motive, puisqu’elle en est l’esprit et le but.

Les « Ensembles mobiliers » ne sont pas, en fait, une nouveauté. Si le terme est neuf, la chose ne l’est point, elle fut de tous les temps et de tous les styles. Les ensembles mobiliers ne paraissent aujourd’hui renaître que parce qu’ils ont, depuis tantôt un siècle, été fort négligés et avaient disparu du théâtre de nos représentations décoratives, Par ignorance, par lassitude, nos proches anciens ont vécu, parasites grisés, sur les richesses du passé. Aussi, le décorateur inventeur disparut-il, remplacé par F « antiquaire », ce fléau du progrès, et par le tapissier qui, sans esprit inventif et sans personnalité, ne pouvaient être des artistes, puisque l’art n’est fait que de liberté, de nouveauté, de puissance créatrice et du don fervent de soi.

Pour que fût tentée une réaction, il a fallu que la science imposât des moyens et des usages nouveaux. L’électricité, le téléphone, les modes de chauffage, de transports, une compréhension plus large de l’hygiène ont nécessité des formes et des décors nouveaux. Un besoin se fit jour, enfin, d’objets et de meubles plus aptes à nous servir. C’est alors qu’une pléiade d’artistes prit à cœur de satisfaire à des besoins neufs par des formules neuves. Us reprirent la tradition, dans son esprit et dans sa raison.

Et voici les artistes décorateurs.

L’un des hommes qui a le mieux servi l’Art moderne, M. Paul Léon, directeur des Beaux-Arts, avec son clair jugement et sa connaissance profonde des faits et des hommes, dit et redit : « La renaissance de l’Art décoratif en France et le relèvement de nos industries d’art sont dus aux mêmes vingt artistes pendant vingt années. »

Soyons beaux joueurs. La partie est gagnée pour tout le monde, mais rendons justice à ceux qui ont lutté et acquis le gain pour la communauté. Les vainqueurs sont les artistes. L’industrie, craintive hier, aujourd’hui convertie, a voulu, sans se compromettre, « laisser voir venir» comme on dit en argot. Elle a laissé faire, elle a vu..., elle vient.

Il y a une assez jolie fable où un certain Bertrand et un dénommé Raton... mais...
... Mais ne chicanons plus.

Cette petite rétrospective n’est pas inutile. Elle situe les responsabilités et permet d’analyser les résultats.

La classe VII instruit au point de vue du mode de présentation, au point de vue économique, au point de vue technique, au point de vue artistique.

A œuvre neuve, aussi présentation neuve. Les architectes de la classe VII, aidés par le bureau, ont conçu un programme qui peut se résumer en quatre mots : créer de la vie. Que ce soit Pierre Selmersheim, ou Pierre Chareau, ou Hiriart, chacun d’eux, tout en conservant sa personnalité, a su varier son parti, concilier les exposants.

Huit entrées donnent accès aux quatre galeries de F Exposition qui couvrent plus de 4.000 mètres sur l’Esplanade des Invalides. Dès le seuil, on a l’impression d’être non dans une exposition, mais chez quelqu’un, chez quelqu’un de bien, osons le dire. Au cours de la visite, on passe d’une pièce à une autre sans que l’intérêt fléchisse, retenu là par une architecture imposante, amusé ici par un détail spirituel, captivé par les mille choses et les mille idées qui contribuent à la joie de la vie.

La tâche économique des exposants est considérable. Les conditions de l’exposition contraignaient à un budget de classe, bien que réduit, en regard de ses avantages, puisque de 400 francs le mètre superficiel la participation à la classe VII entraînait des frais sérieux d’emplacement, d’installation, et surtout de réalisation. En établissant une moyenne des pièces présentées, on peut estimer leur prix de revient de 25.000 à 100.000 francs. Si l’on considère que la classe VII comprend 100 ensembles, et si on ajoute aux frais initiaux de ces ensembles la valeur des œuvres accessoires qui les complètent, on atteint un total d’environ 5 à 6 millions.
Reconnaissons à ces faits éclatants que les industriels et les éditeurs, gens d’ordinaire fort avertis et prudents, sont entrés dans la lutte sans lésiner sur les moyens. C’est une preuve éclatante de confiance dont les « qui de droit » peuvent être fiers. Les éditeurs, les industriels, les gros commerçants ont bien fait de faire bien. On ne peut que s’incliner devant leur tenue et devant des efforts qui n’ont jamais été dépassés dans les expositions précédentes.

Les techniques et les matières employées pour la réalisation des salles diverses de la classe VII, bois, tissus, tapis, luminaires, etc., ne causent aucune surprise. Nous étions avertis par une expérience déjà longue que nous y trouverions, matériellement, la perfection. Incontestablement, tout est là, de qualité supérieure. Si quelque critique peut trouver sujet à des réserves, rares d’ailleurs, d’esthétique, il n’en peut opposer une seule à l’exécution. Nul n’a cherché le néfaste et inutile tour de force qui paralyse la conception et tue le goût. Chacun a eu le respect et l’amour de sa matière et, ce faisant, a « œuvré en maître », selon la loyale tradition des vieilles corporations à qui nous devons la suprématie de l’art industriel français dans le monde. Un meuble compte par ses vertus architecturales, par la valeur et l’équilibre de ses volumes, par le jeu de ses plans ; il exige des qualités de création et de science, — de conscience aussi.

Jugeons l’esthétique.

A la classe VII, nous sommes en France. Ah ! que cela fait de bien de rencontrer des meubles, des tapis, des étoffes qui sont de chez nous, sont selon nous et pour nous ! Etre moderne et demeurer national, garder les qualités et les goûts de sa race et les transposer en un style neuf sans les déflorer n’est pas faire œuvre commune.

Pour qui sait voir et analyser, en s’élevant au-dessus des matérialités, pour qui a la sagesse de ne pas borner son jugement à ses préférences la classe VII est un enseignement profond en raison de la diversité des tendances esthétiques qui s’y manifestent, allant jusqu’à s’opposer sans cesser pourtant de constituer une école homogène. Un studio comme celui de Mme Klotzd aux lignes si sobres, à l’ambiance d’une neutralité raffinée'; un hall de la tenue élégante comme celui de Mme Renaudot sont des œuvres capitales sur des données simples. Il en est de même, dans un ordre moins subtil, moins élevé peut-être, mais plus confortable au sens habitat, de celui que Bouchet a composé pour la maison du Confortable. Plus d’accessoires aimables arrêtent l’attention, mais l’esprit d’unité se retrouve. L’art d’un Bernaux obéit à d’autres principes. Tout de volumes ornée, tout de massivité travaillée, la salle à manger de Bernaux s’apparente à la somptuosité de la Renaissance : bois d’acajou pleins, sculptures abondantes riches de taille, métier large, le décorateur continue le sculpteur ; car voici, en Bernaux, le type de l’artisan fervent ressuscité, le type noble de l’artiste qui conçoit et qui lui-même réalise.

A la grande école, appartient la salle à manger présentée par Mercier frères, œuvre du décorateur Guevel, artiste rouennais. Dans un cadre original de matière et de couleur, des murs de pierre grise coulée de mauve, des panneaux peints d’une facture très spéciale, où se jouent les bruns, les violets et les verts. Les meubles massifs s imposent par l’équilibre absolu de larges surfaces qui font valoir un palissandre poli, traité comme il se doit. De cette ambiance d’une sérénité hautaine, volontaire-' ment un peu froide, se dégage un rare parfum de race.

La salle à manger de Mercier est de forme classique, rectangulaire ; celle du Bûcheron, due à MM. Jomyr et Leverrier, en rotonde éclairée par une baie haute, dominée par une vaste coupole, semble faite toute, du sol au plafond, pour le symbole logique d’une salle à manger: la table.

Ronde, d’acajou rouge, presque démesurée, mais bien équilibrée sur son pied central, elle trône, sûre d’elle, splendide. Chute aimable de cristaux et de perles, un lustre haut et long la domine de son éclat mesuré. Plus osé de conception et de décors, est le coin de repos, plein de grâce en son audace. Un style de grande allure se retrouve dans les envois de la maison Thiébaux Sormani, créés, tous deux, par Raoul Lux : un vaste salon intime sur lequel s’ouvre une salle à manger. Malgré l’ampleur, il se dégage ici une sensation de paix heureuse, un laisser aller de bonne compagnie. En ce salon privé, d’un mauve adouci où se disposent des meubles copieux de macassar, avivés d’ivoire, ah ! qu'il ferait bon se tenir et deviser ainsi qu’autrefois, assis dans ces sièges de palissandre, d’ébène ou de bois doré ! La lumière est reposante, les tapis somptueux, l’ambiance de bon ton.

Edgar Brandt et son collaborateur Favier, architecte, présentent une galerie-vestibule dont la conception lutte brillamment avec les principes des nus voulus en architecture. Les murs laqués et d’une ordonnance impeccable jusqu’au plafond sont entièrement revêtus d’ornements en léger relief, patines d'or, thème ornemental cher aux Orientaux dont, parfois, s'inspira notre Renaissance et même notre dix-huitième. Un lustre, une crédence, des écrans, des grilles d’accès, tous de fer travaillés, révèlent un habile entendement des procédés modernes. Voici Rapin, plus classique, qui a œuvré pour Evrard, éditeur, une salle à mander unie à un salon. Ambiance intime, sympathique. La tonalité est blonde et rousse, avivée de rouge et de brun ; les meubles sont délicats, bien ordonnés, d’une technique franche. Jacob-Delafon a demandé à Barberis de lui réaliser une salle de bains avec salle de repos. Sous un original plafond qui semble un tissu drapé, voici, tout de blanc vêtus, le canapé et les sièges ; voici les tables basses pour le porto réconfortant, les consoles pour les menus ustensiles de beauté. Atmosphère limpide, avec un soupçon de volupté. Dispositif habile, grand sens pratique, qu’amusent d? beaux tapis, des coussins où courent de spirituels motifs de jeux d’eau.

Ah ! combien triste de ne pouvoir, aujourd’hui, s’attarder devant le majestueux hall qu’a composé pour Sangouard, Montagnac ; de passer, sans analyser à loisir les œuvres d’André Fréchet, le groupe de Touraine, l’atelier d’artiste des élèves de la Maîtrise des Galeries Lafayette, la cuisine de René Gabriel, si pimpante, le hall des artistes bayonnais, la salle à manger de Belligant et Fesneau, les pièces si neuves, créées par MM. Chauchet, Guillère, Bureau, Burkalter et Mme Souchez, la chambre de Diméa, les deux salles de Lahalle et Levard, le majestueux bureau de Majorelle et tant d’autres.

Nous y reviendrons.

Des tentatives nous attirent, d’un ordre moins exceptionnel, mais d'une conception plus susceptible de servir, par une réalisation pratique, commerciale, la cause que chacun défend ici. Les artistes démontrent de grandes idées, prouvent de grands talents; les gros industriels collaborent largement et ont à honneur de faire beaucoup et grand. A côté de ces sommets, des résultats aussi tangibles sont obtenus. Un groupe d’industriels, de façonniers intelligents, d’éditeurs exposent des pièces courantes de destination, de réalisation et par conséquent de vente près de la vérité et près du publie qui reste à conquérir. Est-ce à dire que les mêmes qualités louées plus haut ne se retrouvent pas ici ? Pas du tout, elles y sont, plus discrètes, aussi sûres. Le but est de remplacer par de la beauté pratique, courante, l’horreur et la banalité, de mettre à la place de ces meubles qui n’ont de style dans aucune langue, et à prix égal, des meubles sains, nouveaux, plaisants, et de bon aloi.

Pour être de disposition moyenne, composée de meubles moyens, la salle à manger de Guérin frères n’est-elle point aimable et commode. Les bois de frêne sont beaux, leur travail parfait, le coin de repos est infiniment sympathique dans ses tons bis, la tenture rouge est heureuse. La salle à manger de Mantelet, foncée de bois, ornée de marqueterie, est plus sérieuse, elle offre d’infinies garanties d’exécution et de tenue. Bon envoi. Plus loin, autre salle à manger composée par Fabre pour la maison Decaux et Maous. Harmonie sobre, éclairage neuf, intelligent, par une rampe de verre moulé. Grand sens du confort et du pratique dans le buffet et la table. Rambaudi-D’Antoine présente une chambre, aujourd’hui classique. Nous voici loin des armoires hautes, étroites et guindées. Des corps bien établis, des recherches de jeux de bois, la table à coiffer, les sièges sont les compléments rationnels. Les accessoires auraient gagné à être plus riches de ton en raison de la beauté des bois. Pimpaneau ose, en collaboration avec Thomas, avec bonheur pour bien des pièces, un ameublement de salon ou des meubles accueillants, peut être un peu nombreux, se disposent en aimables groupes. Un divan, des tables de jeux, à lunch, à thé, des étagères, une vitrine. Tout cela vit, chatoie sous une lumière vive et gaie dans une harmonie citron, pourpre et grise.

Doux stands constituent l’important envoi de la Société de l’Art du Bois : une salle à manger studio, une chambre de jeune fille. La salle à manger studio répond bien à un programme moderne, n’étant ni très salle à manger, ni très studio, mais constituant cette pièce nécessaire où, toujours, avec les siens, on se tient pour travailler, causer et vivre enfin. Voilà la pièce type, charmante. La chambre est d’une grâce toute particulière.

Nous retrouvons Bouchet décorateur chez Epeaux, avec une salle à manger aimable dans sa sobriété. Bons meubles que le décor ne met pas tout à fait en valeur. Pour Soubrier, Bouchet a composé une chambre près de la perfection. Le lit et l’armoire sont d’excellents types de l’art actuel.

Est-ce prétendre que tout ici, à la classe VII, est digne de servir de modèle ? Que non pas, mais tout y est sujet à analyses et à études. La grande leçon par laquelle tout ce chapitre se peut conclure, c’est que les éléments d’un art français, ne devant rien à personne, sont nés. La génération nouvelle d artistes et industriels peut être bien armée, non plus pour la lutte, mais pour le travail.

L’art de l’ensemble mobilier est un art de haute portée sociale. Il crée, de toutes pièces, des foyers. Le foyer est la récompense de l’homme, il est le centre de ses affections et de sa vie. Quel grand rôle et quel noble devoir de l’aider à le faire beau et bon. Pour une telle tâche, il ne faut pas œuvrer en amateur.

Un esprit inventif peut toujours composer un ensemble, un coin devant lequel on peut s’exclamer : «Ah ! que c’est amusant ! ah ! que c’est joli à peindre ! »

Messieurs les décorateurs, messieurs les industriels, notre rôle est plus grand : ce que nous devons créer, ce n’est ni le coin amusant, ni le coin à peindre, c’est le coin, le bon coin à vivre, et ce n’est pas tout à fait la même chose. La récompense de la classe VII, sa jolie récompense, celle, discrète, qui va au cœur de tous ses collaborateurs, c’est lorsqu’elle peut entendre un homme, qu’elle sait cultivé et de goût, dire devant une de ses réalisations : « J’aimerais vivre là. »

©L'Illustration - 1925