International Exhibition of Modern Decorative and Industrial Arts, Paris 1925

Modern Decorative and Industrial Arts

April 28, 1925 - October 25, 1925


Back - List of Pavilions

Decorative Art and Precision Instruments

manque image

The general classification of the exhibition includes a section reserved for scientific apparatus. Some people have expressed astonishment at this, and have wondered from what point of view a scientific apparatus can be considered an object in which decorative art finds an application.

And, indeed, the word "Art" and, to be more precise, the qualification "Modern Decorative Art", awaken in the mind the decoration of our homes, the luxury of our furniture with the originality and sometimes the strangeness of their forms, the richness of carpets and hangings, the harmony and the joy of colours.

The scientific instrument, on the other hand, presents itself to the imagination as a somewhat severe object, whose role is to achieve mathematical precision and which, by its very nature, refuses the charm of artistic ornamentation.

It is remarkable, however, that the builder of scientific instruments has always been called not a craftsman but an artist. It must therefore be concluded that the construction of precision instruments has always been considered an art. But, in this art, what part should be reserved for aesthetics?
What are the sources from which one should draw the elements of ornamentation of the work?
The ancient craftsmen-artists did not hesitate to decorate their works in the manner of the precious furniture used for the ordinary uses of life.

The Alexandrian armillaries, as well as the armillary spheres of the XVth century, were equipped with artistically sculpted and moulded supports; the indexes, loaded with fine chiselling, were finished in the shape of stars or shining suns.
On the surface of the sphere, the constellations took their place, embedded in allegorical illustrations representing Taurus, Virgo, the Chariot... and all the signs of the Zodiac.

The sundials that have come down to us from antiquity were almost always motifs for sculptural decorations on the facades of buildings.

The astrolabes of the Arabs, in addition to the curves and numbers for astronomical determinations, contained numerous engravings, often of remarkable artistic value.

Tycho-Brahé's alidades were embellished with brackets skilfully contoured by the 16th-century ironworker.
The same ornamentation can be seen in the quarter-circles and in the physics and electricity instruments of Abbé Nollet.

It is clear that the builder was trying to correct the geometrical aridity of the concept, by resorting to the resources of an art foreign to the nature of the object for the decoration of his apparatus.

It was this same mentality which led the mechanics of the beginning of the last century to the production of those steam engines whose immense pendulum was supported by magnificent cast-iron columns of the purest Corinthian style.

It must be confessed that this puerile addition to a mechanical construction of an assemblage of useless embellishments, though still admired by some of our masters in modern decorative art, was an aberration.

One does not add to the beauty of a machine by the application of an idle ornament, and it is wrong to imagine that, in a more detailed order, a screw becomes decorative in a mechanical assembly because it has been provided with a head chiselled with a flower and crossed with two saw marks.

However admirable a borrowed decoration may be, it clashes with the reasoned order of the whole, and one can only repeat the well-known adage: Non erat hic locus.

In the early years of the last century there was a reaction against these unfortunate decorative practices. The
The builder stripped his instruments of all ornament, in order to realise, so to speak, skeletally, the scheme of the apparatus strictly corresponding to the scientific operation it had to accomplish.

The result of this construction technique is a stiffness and dryness of line which the artist of our day has endeavoured to correct.

The change has taken place in the construction of all scientific instruments: microscopes, telescopes, spyglasses, prismatic binoculars, sextants, electrical measuring devices, manometers, counters. The simplest instruments, such as the slide rule or the calliper, have taken on a modern appearance, where you can feel the search for a reasoned adaptation of the final form.
We can therefore say that the aesthetics of precision instruments has finally been created. Sober aesthetics, purely intellectual, inaccessible perhaps to minds for which decorative art resides in the display of "futile ornaments for the pleasure of the eyes, but true and decorative aesthetics in its very essence.

©La Science et la Vie - 1925

Exposition Internationale des Arts Décoratifs et Industriels Modernes de Paris 1925

Arts Décoratifs et Industriels Modernes

28 avril 1925 - 25 octobre 1925


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Art Décoratif et Instruments de Précision

manque image

La classification générale de l’exposition comprend une section réservée aux appareils scientifiques. Quelques personnes en ont manifesté leur étonnement et se sont demandé sous quel point de vue un appareil scientifique peut bien être considéré comme un objet dans lequel l’art décoratif trouve une application.

Et, en effet, le mot « Art » et, pour préciser davantage, la qualification « Art Décoratif Moderne », éveille dans l’esprit le décor de nos habitations, le luxe de nos meubles avec l’originalité et parfois la bizarrerie de leurs formes, la richesse des tapis et des tentures, l’harmonie et la joie des couleurs.

L’instrument scientifique, au contraire, se présente à l’imagination comme un objet t quelque peu sévère, dont le rôle est de réaliser des précisions mathématiques et qui, par sa nature même, se refuse au charme de l’ornementation artistique.

Il est remarquable, cependant, que, de tout temps, le constructeur d'instruments scientifiques ait reçu, non pas le nom d’artisan, mais bien le titre d’artiste. 11 faut donc conclure qu’on a toujours considéré la construction des appareils de précision comme un art. Mais, dans cet art, quelle part doit-on réserver à l'esthétique ?
Quelles sont les sources où l'on devra puiser les éléments d’ornementation de l’œuvre ?
Les anciens artisans-artistes n'hésitaient pas à décorer leurs ouvrages à la manière des meubles précieux utilisés pour les usages ordinaires de la vie.

Les armilles d’Alexandrie, aussi bien que les sphères armillaires du xvme siècle, étaient munies de supports artistiquement sculptés et moulurés ; les index, chargés de fines ciselures, étaient terminés en forme d’étoiles ou de soleils resplendissants.
A la surface de la sphère, les constellations prenaient place, noyées dans les illustrations allégoriques représentant le Taureau, la Vierge, le Chariot... et tous les signes du Zodiaque.

Les cadrans solaires qui nous sont parvenus de l’antiquité constituaient, presque toujours, des motifs de décorations sculpturales sur la façade des édifices.

Les astrolabes des Arabes, outre les courbes et les chiffres destinés aux déterminations astronomiques, comportaient de multiples gravures, souvent d’une valeur artistique remarquable.

Les alidades de Tycho-Brahé étaient agrémentées de supports habilement contournés par le ferronnier du xvie siècle.
Mêmes ornementations dans les quarts de cercle et dans les instruments de physique ou d’électricité de l’abbé Nollet.

Il apparaît clairement que le constructeur s’efforçait alors de corriger l’aridité géométrique du concept, en recourant, pour la décoration de son appareil, aux ressources d’un art étranger à la nature de l’objet.

C’est cette même mentalité qui conduisit les mécaniciens du commencement du siècle dernier à la production de ces machines à vapeur dont l’immense balancier était supporté par de magnifiques colonnes en fonte du style corinthien le plus pur.

Il faut bien l’avouer, cette addition puérile, sur une construction mécanique, d’un assemblage de fioritures inutiles, bien qu’elle fasse encore aujourd’hui 1 admiration de quelques-uns de nos maîtres dans l’art décoratif moderne, était une aberration.

On n’ajoute pas à la beauté d’une machine par l’application d’un ornement oiseux, et c’est à tort que, dans un ordre de détails plus minutieux, on s’imaginerait qu’une vis devient décorative dans un ensemble mécanique parce qu’on l’a munie d’une tête ciselée d’une fleur et barrée de deux traits de scie placés en croix.

Pour admirable que puisse être un décor emprunté, il jure dans l’ordonnance raisonnée de l’ensemble, et l’on ne peut que répéter l’adage bien connu : Non erat hic locus.

Une réaction se produisit, dans les premières années du siècle dernier, contre ces pratiques décoratives malencontreuses. Le
constructeur dépouilla ses instruments de tout ornement, pour réaliser, si l’on peut dire, squelettiquement, le schéma de l’appareil répondant strictement à l’opération scientifique qu’il doit accomplir.

Il résulte de cette technique de construction une raideur et une sécheresse de ligne que l’artiste de nos jours s’est appliqué à corriger.

Le changement s’est opéré dans la construction de tous les instruments scientifiques : microscope, lunette astronomique, longue-vue, jumelle à prisme, sextant, appareils de mesures électriques, manomètres, compteurs. Les instruments les plus simples, comme la règle à calcul ou le pied a coulisse, ont pris un aspect moderne, où Ton sent la recherche de l’adaptation raisonnée de la forme finale.
On peut donc affirmer que l’esthétique des appareils de précision est enfin créée. Esthétique sobre, purement intellectuelle, inaccessible peut-être aux esprits pour lesquels l’art décoratif réside dans l’étalage «l'ornements futiles pour le plaisir des yeux, mais esthétique véritable et décorative dans son essence même.

©La Science et la Vie - 1925