International Exhibition of Modern Decorative and Industrial Arts, Paris 1925

Modern Decorative and Industrial Arts

April 28, 1925 - October 25, 1925


Back - List of Pavilions

Toy Village

Toy Village at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1925

Toy Village
Architect(s) : Pelletier Frères

Toy Village at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1925

The bear pit, Benjamin Rabier
Architect(s) : Pelletier Frères

Toy Village at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1925

Overview of the Toy Village
Architect(s) : Pelletier Frères

Toy Village at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1925

Doll's castle, furniture made by the disabled under the direction of Messrs Mathieussent, André Hellé and Carlègle
Architect(s) : Pelletier Frères

Toy Village at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1925

A street in Marseille, Louise Deverin
Architect(s) : Pelletier Frères

Article published in "L'art vivant" in 1925

The toy, at the Decorative Arts, has not been treated as a poor relation. It has been given the honour of building, for itself, a village like a toy that has grown out of all proportion, a toy the size of Pantagruel.

With its yellow and blue paintwork, its central windmill, its small houses pressed against each other, its pavilions which round their backs like large prehistoric beasts that would like to be stroked, it has that simplistic character which suits children and which allows their imagination to construct prodigious phantasmagorias at ease.

Did the toy take advantage of the hospitality thus reserved for it? French ingenuity could embroider as it wished on this charming and fresh theme. What could one not hope for when one had seen, at the very heart of the war, the astonishing exhibition of toys organised at the Pavillon de Marsan. It was bursting with colour, fantasy and that luxury which comes, not from the price of things, but from the wealth of inspiration which presided over the creation. There were then the flamboyant wooden toys, made by the cripples under the direction of J animes and Le Bourgeois... gleaming aviaries of macaws and cockatoos, parades of white or black swans, with wings inflated to form a triumphal carriage for the child-king, rocking horses, elegant as Greek steeds. There were the first dolls of Madame Lazarska, which opened the doors of a new world for this small, mute people... above all, there was an atmosphere of art and fantasy which reigned over everything and which created an accessible paradise before the amazed eyes of the children.

The toy village, it must be said, remains far below that 1916 event. This present assembly lacks sparkle. However, it must be acknowledged that the president of the toy class, Mr. Henry D'Allemagne, was not afraid to facilitate a collaboration with the artists, which was necessary, and for which we cannot be too grateful, because in this exhibition, which was organised under the banner of art, the artists were all too often sacrificed to the interests of powerful commercial firms, which did everything necessary to ensure that, in their own words, the exhibition was not "invaded by the artists".

At the Village dit Jouet, artists and industrialists are side by side, and this proximity is an excellent lesson because it shows how necessary the artist's intervention is to create that essential quality of things: charm. Where the artist has not passed, seduction does not exist; things are dead, the divine breath of life does not make them quiver.

One is seized by spleen in front of these tin, pasteboard and celluloid toys which seem destined to aggravate the mediocrity of the fate of disinherited children. Is it play to amuse oneself with these poor things around which no happy image can grow? No doubt these toys fulfil the essential conditions of commerce, namely a favourable cost price and easy distribution, for the crowd, alas! is difficult to educate and, whatever is done, tends towards the banal and the mediocre. But one wonders what they are doing at a decorative art exhibition and the best thing to do is to close one's eyes when passing in front of the small houses that only house bazaar items or New Year's Day shacks.

One should reserve the right to open one's eyes in front of Beniamin Rabier's Fosse aux Ours, which occupies one of the centre's pavilions. No doubt the artist's intentions are, here again, too industrially realised and the crowd of dolls contemplating the mischievous quadrupeds is rather grey, but through these insufficient performers the artist's verve shines through; he has portrayed with his usual humour the bemused Breton woman, the plump nanny, the leather-worker, the old beau, the schoolboy. And then the bears, the main characters in the scene, force sympathy. The mother bear whipping her offspring, the greedy bear looking for sugar, the lazy bear flattening himself with bliss, the one who, from the top of his tree, glances around mockingly, are excellent animals animated in the manner of Benjamin Rabier, animals that bring joy to children and peace to parents. There is also, in the same vein, a skating rink, a beach, but the interest slips on these groups which lack that touch of fantasy which is essentially necessary to the personal life of the toy.

The modern toy, executed by the mutilated, under the direction of Messrs Mathieussent, André Hellé and Carlègle, is in the tradition of those which appeared at the Pavillon de Marsan... they are wrong to have added nothing to this tradition, and to add nothing is to be impoverished. To their Château de ma poupée, I preferred the very bourgeois Intérieur lorrain presented by the Lunéville manufacturers, There is in this rustic dining room an honesty, a probity which is comforting. Silhouettes in painted wood, rather pretentious, are superfluous, but this Interior is all shining of family virtues. The attention to detail is often delightful: the shiny brass, the flowery earthenware, the crucifix on the fireplace, the cat warming itself, all contribute to creating an atmosphere of serene intimacy in this doll's house that humans would easily live with. Each piece of furniture that decorates this happy home is made with delicate care: the sideboard, the table, the chairs, the clock, the tablecloth, everything is shiny, polished, finely turned and sculpted, it is a conscientious work and the conscience has many merits...

In this toy village, we find old acquaintances: the toy soldiers and the singing birds...

But toy soldiers evolve; they willingly leave the year to return to civilian life; they become aviators, motorists, explorers. We see them, in these new avatars, on their way to the Pole or the Equator. Is this not a sign of the times, heralding the final pacification of peoples?
The songbirds still live in golden cages and I have seen the eyes of little girls widen in admiration at the plumage of the tiny, shimmering hummingbirds, or at friend Jacquot perched on the back of a chair, cap on his head and glasses on his eyes. But in the toy village the songbirds don't sing... Are we to suppose that only at dawn, when the road is deserted, they launch their rolls towards the sky?

Finally, let us honour the queens of this kingdom, the dolls who adorn the village with their radiant graces, their fairy-like elegance.

It is still the exhibition of Mrs. Lazarska who, in this field, wins in abundance and fantasy. This artist has the devil in her body... Everything is good for her to give life to her creatures... with a rag of sackcloth and a ball of string, she could improvise an empress. Shavings of cellophane make hair, bits of furniture fringe, braids, heterogeneous ribbons are transformed under her fingers into royal finery, into apotheosis. Her virtuosity is sparkling and inexhaustible.

This formula of the rag doll is very happily exploited. Mrs. Consuclo Fould presents a Portrait des fées, of a poetic fantasy, her dolls are of a delicate, meticulous, patiently finished work. Miss Louise Deverin has mixed in A rising street in Marseille, the most comical characters. Javanese dancers stand next to beautiful veiled "hanoum", negroes, whose bellies are pierced with pins and used as balls, twist themselves into grimacing contortions, a fishmonger presents her stall, which will delight little girls who like to play shop. There are many ideas here which, if the artist had wider means of execution, could be very beneficial to the rejuvenation of toys.

In three other houses, the cloth doll called, it seems, the salon doll, also triumphs. They are the sumptuous dolls of Mrs Rouxel: A ball in Venice, and the more innocent dolls perhaps but not less sumptuous of Mrs Jeanne de Kasparck: A costumed throw in a park. Mme Rouxel's dolls are obviously rather perverse dolls, nostalgic and Baudelairean dolls; they have ravishing and often morbid faces, exquisitely made up, their perfect hands are the hands of beautiful idlers. Yes, living-room dolls, rather than nursery dolls. Little girls are already inclined enough to coquetry that they should not be given such seductive and frivolous people for companions. It would be teaching them a little too early to handle rimmel and grapes. But in the hearts of twenty-year-olds the little girl still slumbers, and that is why young women like to sit in their cosy-corner with these friends who are discreet confidants.

Mme de Kasparek's dolls are more reassuring. They are no less elegant; gold is mixed not only with their costumes but with the silk of their hair. They are festive dolls, dolls that have joy and, if one may say so, joie de vivre in their whole person.

But the most astonishing of these creatures of gold and silk are the dolls of M. Wladimir de Morawski, visions of dreams, hallucinating silhouettes that are never forgotten... A certain Marsian divinity, with green hair made of wooden pearls similar to sour grapes, equipped with disproportionate arms, adorned with jewels, is of the most audacious, of the most demonic fantasy. Lille is not to be recommended for the nursery either, but parents have the right to play with dolls.

No doubt one can stop here and there at a few other little houses, but what one encounters there is in no way different from what is presented to us in the Christmas gift sales at the end of each year.

If we want to find, in the toy section, some other picturesque notes, we must go and look for them in the foreign sections. Italy, in the Grand-Palais, has very expressive cloth dolls which are often full of joviality and mischief. They will not terrorise little girls but will evoke in their eyes characters from fantastic tales; the pumpkin doll is inimitable, the elegant Second Empire doll seems to have escaped from a book by Hine de Ségur, the old Calabrian woman is, in herself, a story of brigands. Sardinia exhibits some popular toys that are pleasantly naive.

Russia, in changing its regime, has not changed its traditions much. The Russian dolls that fit together are still made on the same model. Other dolls have only changed their faces. After being made in the image of the Czars, they are made in the image of the aces of the Revolution. The gods change but the cult remains.

The nation that seems to take the greatest care in making toys, man's first friend, is Czechoslovakia. In the Czechoslovakian Pavilion, which contains so many exquisite things, and in particular lace of prodigious finesse, toys occupy a large place. They are wooden toys, gaily illuminated and joyfully mocking. There is a Saint Nicholas between the Angel and the Devil that you would like to have at your bedside. There are naive families of ducks, rabbits, hens and chicks, there are turtles walking under yew trees, railways and houses of disarming candour. All these toys are friendly and healthy. They seem to be created by happy parents for happy children.

Also to be noted in the same pavilion are the toys made of wooden beads strung in brass, and these beads and brass are enough to give rise to an astonishing bestiary. The spider crab meets the snake, the owl is next to the parrot, and the parrot is magnificent with its spread wings and ruffled tail.

This expression of joy in the toy is so natural to this good-natured people that one is almost tempted to classify in this order the delightful painted glassworks of Hile Zdenka Braunerova, whose chimerical beasts seem to be the aristocratic and superior sisters of the toy beasts reserved for childhood. Miss Braunerova's fragile animals are delicate toys for grown-ups, toys that can be caressed with the eyes and that provide those who look at them with the kind of amiable entertainment, the salutary distraction that is precisely what toys should provide.

No doubt there are still other toys hidden in the complicated labyrinth of the Decorative Arts. Let us hope, if there is one, that some amusing revelation is in store, for in all that I saw I did not come across the new idea, the spark of the find that would promise our children memorable presents capable of fixing forever in their memory the date of the 1925 Exhibition as that of a magnificent event of which, later on, they would still talk about it at the corner of the radiator, to their grandchildren.

Exposition Internationale des Arts Décoratifs et Industriels Modernes de Paris 1925

Arts Décoratifs et Industriels Modernes

28 avril 1925 - 25 octobre 1925


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Village du Jouet

Village du Jouet à l'exposition de Paris 1925

Village du jouet
Architecte(s) : Pelletier Frères

Village du Jouet à l'exposition de Paris 1925

La fosse aux ours, Benjamin Rabier
Architecte(s) : Pelletier Frères

Village du Jouet à l'exposition de Paris 1925

Vue d'ensemble du village du jouet
Architecte(s) : Pelletier Frères

Village du Jouet à l'exposition de Paris 1925

Chateau de poupées, meubles éxécutés par les mutilés sous la direction de MM. Mathieussent, André Hellé et Carlègle
Architecte(s) : Pelletier Frères

Village du Jouet à l'exposition de Paris 1925

Une rue à Marseille, Louise Deverin
Architecte(s) : Pelletier Frères

Article paru dans "L'art vivant" de 1925

Le jouet, aux Arts décoratifs, n'a pas été traité en parent pauvre. On lui a fait l'honneur d’édifier, pour lui seul, un village pareil à un joujou qui aurait démesurément grandi, un joujou à la taille de Pantagruel.

Avec son badigeonnage jaune et bleu, son moulin central, ses maisonnettes pressées les unes contre les autres, ses pavillons qui arrondissent le dos comme de grosses bêtes préhistoriques qui voudraient être caressées, il a ce caractère simpliste qui convient aux enfants et qui permet à leur imagination de construire à l’aise des fantasmagories prodigieuses.

Le jouet a-t-il su profiter de l'hospitalité qui lui était ainsi réservée ? Sur ce thème si charmant et si frais, l'ingéniosité française pouvait broder à souhait. Que ne pouvait-on espérer quand on avait vu, au cœur même de la guerre, l'étonnante exposition des jouets organisée au Pavillon de Marsan. Elle était éclatante de couleur, de fantaisie et de ce luxe qui vient, non du prix des choses, mais de la richesse d’inspiration qui a présidé à la création. Il y avait alors ces flamboyants jouets en bois, exécutés par les mutilés sous la direction de J animes et de Le Bourgeois... rutilante volière d’aras et de cacatoès, défilés de cygnes blancs ou noirs, aux ailes gonflées pour former un chariot triomphal à l’enfant-roi, chevaux-bascule, élégants comme des coursiers grecs. Il y avait les premières poupées de Madame Lazarska qui ouvraient pour ce petit peuple muet les portes d’un monde nouveau... il y avait surtout une ambiance d'art et de fantaisie qui régnait sur le tout et qui créait sous les yeux émerveillés des enfants un paradis accessible.

Le village du jouet, il faut l’avouer, demeure très au-dessous de cette manifestation de 1916. Cette présente assemblée manque d’éclat. Cependant on doit reconnaître que le président de la classe du jouet, M. Henry D’Allemagne, n’a pas craint de faciliter aux artistes une collaboration qui s’imposait ; ce dont on ne saurait trop lui savoir gré, car en cette exposition qui s’est organisée sous le vocable de l’art, les artistes n’ont été que trop souvent sacrifiés aux intérêts de puissantes firmes commerciales qui ont fait tout le nécessaire pour que, selon leurs propres termes, l’exposition ne soit pas « envahie par les artistes ».

Au Village dit Jouet, artistes et industriels se coudoient et ce voisinage est une excellente leçon car il démontre combien l’intervention de l’artiste est nécessaire pour créer cette qualité essentielle des choses : le charme. Où l’artiste n’est pas passé, la séduction n’existe pas ; les choses sont mortes, le souffle divin de la vie ne les fait pas frémir.

On se sent saisi par le spleen devant ces jouets en fer-blanc, en carton-pâte, en celluloïd qui semblent destinés à aggraver la médiocrité du sort des enfants déshérités. Est-ce Jouer que de s’amuser avec ces pauvres choses autour desquelles ne peut croître aucune image riante ? Sans doute ces jouets réalisent-ils ces conditions essentielles au commerce d’un prix de revient avantageux et d’un débit facile, car la foule, hélas ! est difficilement éducable et va, quoi qu’on fasse, vers le banal et le médiocre. Mais on se demande ce qu’ils viennent faire dans une manifestation d’Art décoratif et le meilleur parti que l’on puisse prendre est de fermer les yeux en passant devant les maisonnettes qui n’abritent que des articles de bazar ou de baraques de Jour de l'An.

On se réservera d'ouvrir les yeux devant la Fosse aux Ours de Beniamin Rabier qui occupe l’un des pavillons du centre. Sans doute les intentions de l’artiste sont-elles, là encore, trop industriellement réalisées et la foule des poupées qui contemple les quadrupèdes facétieux, est-elle assez grise, mais à travers ces interprètes insuffisants la verve de l'artiste transparaît ; il a campé avec son humour habituel, la Bretonne éberluée, la nounou plantureuse, le rond-de-cuir, le vieux beau, le collégien. Et puis les ours, personnages principaux de la scène, forcent la sympathie. La mère ours qui fouette son rejeton, l’ours gourmand qui guette le sucre, celui qui, paresseux, s'aplatit avec béatitude, celui qui, du haut de sou arbre, jette à la ronde un coup d’œil goguenard, sont d’excellentes bêtes animées à la manière de Benjamin Rabier, des bêtes qui font la joie des enfants et la tranquillité des parents. Il y a aussi, dans le même ordre d'idées, une patinoire, une plage, mais l’intérêt glisse sur ces groupes auxquels manque ce brin de fantaisie qui est essentiellement nécessaire à la vie personnelle du jouet.

Le Jouet moderne, exécuté par les mutilés, sous la direction de MM. Mathieussent, André Hellé et Carlègle est dans la tradition de ceux qui figurèrent au Pavillon de Marsan... ils ont le tort de n’avoir rien ajouté à cette tradition, et ne rien ajouter, c’est s’appauvrir. A leur Château de ma poupée, j’ai préféré le très bourgeois Intérieur lorrain présenté par des fabricants de Lunéville, Il a y dans cette salle à manger rustique on ne sait quelle honnêteté, quelle probité qui est réconfortante. Des silhouettes en bois peint, assez, prétentieuses, y sont superflues, m^is cet Intérieur est tout reluisant de vertus familiales. Le souci des détails y est souvent délicieux : les cuivres brillants, les faïences fleuries, le crucifix sur la cheminée, le chat qui se chauffe, tout concourt à créer une atmosphère de sereine intimité dans cette maison de poupées dont les humains s’accommoderaient sans peine. Chacun des meubles qui garnissent cet heureux foyer est fabriqué avec un soin délicat : le buffet, la table, les chaises, l’horloge, la maie, tout est brillant, poli, finement tourné et sculpté, c’est là une œuvre consciencieuse et la conscience a bien des mérites...

On retrouve en ce village du jouet de bien vieilles connaissances : les soldats de plomb et les oiseaux chanteurs...

Mais les soldats de plomb évoluent ; ils quittent volontiers l’année pour rentrer dans le civil ; ils deviennent aviateurs, automobilistes, explorateurs. On les voit, sous ces nouveaux avatars,en route pour le pôle ou pour l’équateur. Que n’est-ce là un signe des temps nous présageant la pacification définitive des peuples ?
Les oiseaux chanteurs vivent toujours dans des cages dorées et j'ai vu les yeux des fillettes s’agrandir d’admiration devant les plumages des colibris chatoyants et minuscules, ou devant l’ami Jacquot perché sur le dossier d’une chaise, calotte sur la tète et lunettes sur les yeux. Mais au village des jouets les oiseaux chanteurs ne chantent pas... Faut-il supposer qu'à l’aube seulement, quand la route est déserte, ils lancent leurs roulades vers le ciel ?

Rendons enfin honneur aux reines de ce royaume, aux poupées qui parent le village de leurs grâces rayonnantes, de leurs élégances féeriques.

C’est encore l’exposition de Mme Lazarska qui, dans ce domaine, l’emporte en abondance et en fantaisie. Cette artiste a.le diable au corps... Tout lui est bon pour donner vie à ses créatures... avec un chiffon de toile à sac et une pelote de ficelle, elle serait capable d’improviser une impératrice. Des copeaux de cellophane font des chevelures, des bouts de frange d’ameublement, des galons, des rubans hétéroclites se transforment sous ses doigts en parures royales, en apprêts d’apothéose. Elle est d’une virtuosité étincelante et inépuisable.

Cette formule de la poupée de chiffon est d’ailleurs très heureusement exploitée. Mme Consuclo Fould présente un Portrait des fées, d’une poétique fantaisie, ses poupées sont d’un travail délicat, minutieux, patiemment achevé. Mlle Louise Deverin a mêlé dans Une rue montante à Marseille, les personnages les plus cocasses. Des danseuses javanaises voisinent avec de belles « hanoum » voilées, des négrillons, dont le ventre transpercé d’épingles sert de pelote, se tordent en contorsions grimaçantes, une marchande de poisson présente son éventaire qui ravira les petites filles qui aiment jouer à la marchande. Il y a là beaucoup d’idées qui, si l’artiste possédait de plus larges moyens d’exécution, pourraient être très salutaires au rajeunissement des jouets.

Dans trois autres maisonnettes encore, la poupée d’étoffe dite, paraît-il, poupée de salon, triomphe aussi. Ce sont les somptueuses poupées de Mme Rouxel : Un bal à Venise, et les poupées plus innocentes peut-être mais non moins somptueuses de Mme Jeanne de Kasparck : Une jeté costumée dans un parc. Les poupées de Mme Rouxel sont évidemment des poupées assez perverses, des poupées nostalgiques et baudelairiennes ; elles ont des visages ravissants et souvent morbides, maquillés avec un art exquis, leurs mains parfaites sont des mains de belles oisives. Oui, poupées de salon, plutôt que poupées de nursery. Les petites filles sont déjà assez enclines à la coquetterie pour qu'on ne leur donne pas, pour compagnes, des personnes aussi séduisantes et aussi frivoles. Ce serait leur enseigner un peu trop tôt à manier le rimmel et le raisin. Hais dans les cœurs de vingt ans la petite fille sommeille encore et c’est pourquoi les jeunes femmes aiment asseoir dans leur cosy-corner ces amies qui leur sont de discrètes confidentes.

Les poupées de Mme de Kasparek sont plus rassurantes. Elles n’en sont pas moins élégantes ; l’or se mêle non seulement à leurs costumes mais à la soie de leur chevelure. Ce sont des poupées en fête, des poupées qui ont de l’allégresse et, si l’on peut dire, de la joie de vivre dans toute leur personne.

Hais les plus étonnantes de ces créatures d’or et de soie, ce sont les poupées de M. Wladimir de Morawski, visions de rêve, silhouettes hallucinantes et qui ne s’oublient plus... Une certaine divinité Marsienne, coiffée d’une chevelure verte faite de perles de bois semblables à des raisins acides munie de bras démesurés, adornée de bijoux, est de la plus audacieuse, de la plus démoniaque fantaisie. Lille n’est pas non plus à recommander pour la nursery mais les parents ont bien le droit, eux aussi, de jouer encore à la poupée.

Sans doute peut-on s’arrêter encore de-ci, de-là à quelques autres maisonnettes mais ce qu’on y rencontrera n’est en rien différent de ce (pie nous présentent les mises en vente d’étrennes à la fin de chaque année.

Si l’on veut rencontrer, à l’actif de jouet, quelques autres notes pittoresques il faut aller les chercher dans les sections étrangères. L’Italie, au Grand-Palais, a de fort expressives poupées d'étoffe qui sont souvent pleines de jovialité et de malice. Elles ne terroriseront pas les petites filles mais évoqueront à leurs yeux des personnages de contes fantastiques ; la poupée citrouille est inénarrable, l’élégante du Second-Empire semble échappée d’un livre de Hine de Ségur, la vieille Calabraise est, à elle toute seule, une histoire de brigands. La Sardaigne expose quelques jouets populaires qui sont agréablement naïfs.

La Russie, en changeant de régime n’a pas beaucoup changé de traditions. Les poupées russes qui s’emboîtent les unes dans les autres sont toujours faites sur le même modèle. D’autres poupées ont changé seulement de visage. Après avoir été taillées à l’image des Tzars, elles le sont à l’image des as de la Révolution. Les dieux changent mais le culte reste.

La nation qui paraît attacher le plus de soin à la confection du jouet, ce premier ami de l’homme, est la Tchécoslovaquie. Dans la Pavillon Tchécoslovaque, qui renferme tant de choses exquises et notamment des dentelles d’une prodigieuse finesse, les jouets occupent une large place. Ce sont des jouets en bois gaiement enluminés et joyeusement narquois. Il y a un Saint Nicolas entre l’Ange et le Diable que l’on aimerait avoir à son chevet. Il y a de naïves familles de canards, de lapins, de poules et de poussins, il y a des tortues qui se promènent sous des ifs, des chemins de fer et des maisons d'une candeur désarmante. Tous ces jouets sont aimables et de belle santé. Us semblent être créés par des parents heureux pour des enfants heureux.

Il faut noter aussi dans le même pavillon les jouets en perles de bois enfilées dans du laiton, ces perles et ce laiton suffisent à faire naître un étonnant bestiaire. L’araignée de mer s’y rencontre avec la couleuvre, la chouette est voisine du perroquet et celui-ci est magnifique avec ses ailes déployées et sa queue qui s’ébouriffe.

Cette expression de la joie dans le jouet est si naturelle à ce peuple de bonne humeur qu'on serait presque tenté de classer dans cet ordre les savoureuses verreries peintes de Hile Zdenka Braunerova dont les bêtes chimériques semblent être les sœurs aristocratiques et supérieures des bêtes-joujoux réservées à l’enfance. Les bêtes fragiles de Mlle Braunerova sont des jouets délicats pour les grandes personnes, des jouets qu’on caresse du regard et qui apportent à ceux qui les considèrent ce divertissement aimable, cette distraction salutaire qui est précisément celle que le jouet doit nous dispenser.

Sans doute est-il encore d’autres jouets qui se cachent dans le labyrinthe compliqué des Arts décoratifs. Souhaitons, s’il en est, que quelque révélation amusante s'y tienne eu réserve, car dans tout ce que j’ai vu je n’ai pas rencontré l’idée neuve, l'étincelle de la trouvaille qui promettrait à nos enfants des étrennes mémorables capables de fixer à jamais, dans leur souvenir, la date de l’Exposition de 1925 comme celle d’un événement magnifique dont, plus tard, ils parleraient encore au coin ‘du radiateur, à leurs petits enfants.