Back - List of Pavilions

Information and Tourism -

Information and Tourism at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1925
Architect(s) : Robert Mallet-Stevens

This pavilion, due to the excellent architect Mallet-Stevens, is, without question, of a new inspiration and of a very rational execution. It was built at the corner of Avenue Nicolas-II and Cours la Reine, right next to the Grand Palais. The two main elements are a 35-metre high tower over the entrance to the pavilion and a 9 x 22 metre hall. The material used is reinforced concrete, in thin layers of 20 centimetres maximum and 6 centimetres minimum.

For the speed and strength of the construction, high-strength, extra-aluminous cements were used, known as electric cements or fused cements, for which we are indebted to the late Jules Bied. A new principle was applied to obtain a good connection between the uprights and crosspieces and the filling. The clinker bricks that played this last role were assembled before the concrete was poured into the formwork. The bricks were tightly bonded to the concrete with reinforcing steel and thus contribute to the strength. The tower has a cross section with four equal branches. Three horizontal sails at the lower end and three others forming a collar at the upper end give the tower the necessary strength and contribute to its beautiful architectural appearance. These sails play a role similar to that of the brackets with which wooden piles are surrounded to reinforce them at the ends. At the top of the tower, a square bell tower, five metres high, carries a clock. An electric carillon, consisting of eight bells, plays a different tune with eight bars every quarter of an hour.

The decoration of the pavilion includes bas-reliefs in direct size representing the major means of transport, and stained glass windows representing the major cities of France and the main colonial centres. The tiling is made up of coloured cement tiles, assembled by the large surfaces.

The problem of the stability of the tower and of the whole has been elegantly solved; only four support points support the whole building; they are four pillars measuring no more than a few square decimetres in section. The ceilings, walls and partitions are therefore suspended in balanced cantilevers. This arrangement made it possible to do away with the wall foundations. The high vertical walls that form beams are stiffened against buckling by horizontal walls forming the ceilings of the lower sides and, at the top, by the frame forming the ceiling of the central hall.

In order to ensure the stability of the four pillars forming the support points, it was necessary to bury them three metres into the ground and to provide, at their base, a footing capable of providing a solid foundation.

Everyone remembers the little invertible bottles weighted with lead at their base, which were part of our childhood games. The Mallet-Stevens tower was inspired somewhat by this principle. Its base was heavily weighted with earth, so that if a strong wind should ever bend it, the tower would immediately stand upright on its own.

Let us warmly congratulate the architect, M. Mallet-Stevens, and the engineer, M. Garrus, who collaborated closely on this work, the former by the originality and logic of his conceptions, the latter by the extent and certainty of his technical knowledge.

©La Science et la Vie - 1925

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Renseignements et du Tourisme


Renseignements et du Tourisme à l'exposition de Paris 1925

Architecte(s) : Robert Mallet-Stevens

Ce pavillon, dû à l’excellent architecte Mallet-Stevens, est, sans conteste, d’une inspiration nouvelle et d’une exécution très rationnelle. Il a été élevé à un angle de l’avenue Nicolas-II et du Cours la Reine, tout à côté du Grand Palais. Les deux éléments principaux sont constitués par une tour de 35 mètres de hauteur surmontant l’entrée du pavillon et par un hall de 9 mètres sur 22 mètres. Le matériau employé est le béton armé, en minces épaisseurs de 20 centimètres au maximum et de 6 centimètres au minimum.

Pour la rapidité et la robustesse de la construction, on a fait appel aux ciments extra-alumineux à haute résistance, dits ciments électriques ou ciments fondus, dont nous sommes redevables au regretté Jules Bied. Un principe nouveau a été appliqué pour obtenir une bonne liaison des montants et des traverses avec le remplissage. Les briques de mâchefer jouant ce dernier rôle ont été montées avant le coulage du béton dans les coffrages. Elles ont pu être intimement liées au béton paf des aciers de renfort et concourent ainsi à la résistance. La tour présente une section en forme de croix à quatre branches égales. Trois voiles horizontaux situés à l’extrémité inférieure et trois autres formant collerette à la partie supérieure, donnent à la tour la résistance indispensable, tout en concourant à son bel aspect architectural. Ces voiles jouent un rôle analogue à celui des frettes dont on entoure les pieux de bois pour les renforcer aux extrémités. Au sommet de la tour, un clocher de section carrée, de cinq mètres de hauteur, porte une horloge. Un carillon électrique, composé de huit cloches, joue, chaque quart d’heure, un air différent comportant huit mesures.

La décoration du pavillon comporte des bas-reliefs en taille directe représentant les grands moyens de transport, et des vitraux figurant les grandes villes de France et les principaux centres coloniaux. Le carrelage est constitué par des carreaux de ciment de couleur, assemblés par les grandes surfaces.

Le problème de la stabilité de la tour et de l’ensemble a été résolu avec élégance ; quatre points d’appui seulement supportent tout l’édifice ; ce sont quatre piliers ne mesurant pas plus de quelques décimètres carrés de section. Les plafonds, les murs, les parois sont donc suspendus en porte-à-faux équilibrés. Cette disposition a permis la suppression des fondations des murs. Les hautes parois verticales qui forment poutres sont raidies contre le flambage par des voiles horizontaux formant les plafonds des bas côtés et, à la partie supérieure, par le cadre formant le plafond du hall central.

Pour que la stabilité fût bien assurée par les quatre piliers formant les points d’appui, il a fallu les enterrer de trois mètres dans le sol et prévoir, à leur base, un empattement susceptible de fournir une assise solide.

Chacun se souvient des petites bouteilles inrenversables lestées de plomb à leur base, qui ont fait partie de nos jeux d’enfants. La tour de Mallet -Stevens s’inspire un peu de ce principe. Sa base a été lourdement lestée de terre, de sorte que, si jamais un vent violent parvenait à l’infléchir, la tour se redresserait immédiatement d’elle-même.

Félicitons vivement l’architecte, M. Mallet-Stevens et l’ingénieur, M. Garrus, qui ont collaboré étroitement à cette œuvre, l’un, par l’originalité et la logique de ses conceptions, l’autre, par l’étendue et la sûreté de ses connaissances techniques.

©La Science et la Vie - 1925