Back - List of Pavilions

Cloth (Sainte-Marie-aux-Mines) - Expo Paris 1925

Cloth (Sainte-Marie-aux-Mines) at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1925
Architect(s) : Gallot Frères

If you enter the Exhibition of Decorative Arts through the monumental gate of the Place de la Concorde, a clear, harmonious pavilion of robust elegance will immediately catch your eye, facing you, a little to the right. Do not miss to stop there. It contains a precious collection of the most beautiful fabrics produced in Alsace.

It was built, under the auspices of the Commercial and Industrial Society of Sainte-Marie-aux-Mines, by the eight weaving mills of this old active city with the help of the three companies which make up the textile industry of Colmar.

The Commercial and Industrial Society of Sainte-Marie, presided over with distinction by Mr. Albert Kœnig, founded in 1871 to face up to the serious economic difficulties created by the consequences of the Treaty of Frankfurt, and which has behind it the imposing baggage of fifty-four years of fruitful existence, wanted the participation of its members in the great international event of the Decorative Arts to take on a certain magnitude, because for the textile industry of the Haut-Rhin, it was a real return.

Since the annexation, the textile industry of the Haut-Rhin had refrained from taking part in any exhibition, so as not to appear under the German colours.

Sainte-Marie thought of appealing to Colmar for the construction of a special pavilion. His invitation was immediately accepted.

On this occasion, the spirit of union responded to the spirit of enterprise. And so the beautiful white pavilion with its sober lines, the work of the Gallot brothers, the well-known Parisian decorators, was built, attracting all visitors to the Exhibition with its appealing silhouette.


A FOUNDER

Sainte-Marie owes its name to the mines that made it famous in the Middle Ages, mines of lead, cobalt, arsenic and silver. Towards the end of the fifteenth century and in the first half of the sixteenth, the mines of Sainte-Marie yielded enormous blocks of solid silver, the most beautiful ever seen in Europe. But in time, the mines dried up and their exploitation declined.

In the eighteenth century, Sainte-Marie was falling asleep to the murmur of its river, the Liepvrette, a limpid song barely disturbed by the monotonous noise of a few scattered trades, which timidly, one by one, had made their appearance in the valley, trades of weavers, trades of hosiery makers, trades of button-makers, when there arrived the man who was going to pull it out of its beginning lethargy and endow it with the new industry which was to ensure its future.

Energetic and enterprising, with the character of a conqueror and builder, Jean-Georges Reber, who was born in Mulhouse on 5 January 1731, had created a ribbon factory in his native town in 1754, using new looms, the model of which he had brought back from Holland, and on which up to 16 ribbons could be woven at a time. Faced with this progress, the local routine had to rise up! Giving in to the complaints of the town's weavers, the Grand Council of Mulhouse forbade Reber to operate his looms.

Reber left Mulhouse. He came to settle in Sainte-Marie where he joined forces with two obscure Mulhouse residents who had preceded him there a few years earlier and had introduced a cotton canvas weaving business. Under the impetus of Jean-Georges Reber, the hitherto hesitant company gained rapid momentum. In the space of a year, it had grown to such an extent that M. de Lucé, Intendant of Alsace, granted it, on 29 March 1756, in addition to various privileges and exemptions, a monopoly on the manufacture of pure cotton cloth and cotton-thread cloth throughout the province, from the limits of the suburbs of Strasbourg to the mountains that separate Switzerland from Franche-Comté. From that moment on, the textile industry of Sainte-Marie-aux-Mines was born.

In 1796, at the age of sixty-five, Jean-Georges Reber retired from business, leaving his estate to Jean Blech, his son-in-law. Since then, the company has continued to grow. Today, it is in the capable hands of René and Jacques Blech.


THE DEVELOPMENT OF AN INDUSTRY

More than twenty years after his retirement, his weaving mill, passed on in 1818 to his grandsons under the name Blech frères, still constituted the only element of the textile industry of the valley.

But in 1820, in Liepvre, on the outskirts of the town, the Dietsch establishments appeared. They were established on the site of a former priory of the abbey of Saint-Denis, built in 774 by a powerful abbot named Fulrade and razed to the ground by the Revolution. As early as 1845, mechanical weaving was applied to the manufacture of fancy fabrics, which until then had been reserved for hand looms. Subsequently, the Dietsch company acquired a great reputation for the quality and durability of its fabrics, particularly worsted wool. After 1870, a branch office in France enabled the company to break free from the patriotic abstention of the textile industry in the Upper Rhine region. It participated in the Paris World Fairs of 1878, 1889 and 1900 without appearing under the German pavilion and won flattering awards. Today, under the management of Mr. Camille Dietsch, it holds an enviable position among its peers.

Shortly after the Dietsch workshops had taken the place of the disappeared monastery of Abbot Fulrade, the Baumgartner establishments were created in 1824 at Sainte-Marie itself and devoted themselves to dyeing and finishing. They were to provide weaving with the most effective support. Indeed, it must not be concealed that, without the help of the dyeing and finishing factories which allowed the completion of the manufacture on the spot, the extension of the weaving itself would not have observed such a fast march nor of such considerable proportions. Like the previous companies and those that were to come into being a little later, the Baumgartner establishments had modest beginnings and owed their success only to the intelligence and persevering work of their managers. Managed by Messrs Léon and Pierre Baumgartner, their production capacity today reaches several hundred pieces per day.

It was then, in 1832, that a compatriot of Jean-Georges Reber, the son of an industrialist from Mulhouse, Mr. Napoléon Kœnig, founded the company which in a few years, under the name of Kœnig et O', was to become considerable in the textile industry of Alsace and which* is currently managed by Mr. Albert Kœnig, president of the Commercial and Industrial Society of Sainte-Marie-aux-Mines, and Mr. Francis Kœnig.

Napoléon Kœnig brought together a hundred or so looms and manufactured cotton fabric, in particular madras. Later, he produced "half-wool" and "pure wool".

After the difficult period of 1870, the company, which was greatly enlarged, set up Jacquard looms and began to manufacture "wool and silk" and high quality novelties with rare happiness and great success. In 1906, in order to be in better contact with its important French clientele, it had created a mechanical weaving mill in Marie, in the Aisne, which it has sold since the peace. Today, it has increased its original equipment almost tenfold.

In addition to its large factory in Sainte-Marie, it has an annex in Châtenois and another in Steige. Its specialisation in high quality fabrics has earned it a demand from all over the world that it can hardly satisfy. It ranks among the major French textile exporters.

Another creation to be noted, in 1838: that of the Simon et Cie company. Modest beginnings, like its elders. Then, a progressive and vigorous development, parallel to the general movement of the textile production of Sainte-Marie, more and more known year after year, more and more appreciated by the consumer. Messrs. Bernard Meier, Albert Jacob, Alphonse Zimmerman are currently leading the Simon et Cie company. They have constantly expanded their business and have spread numerous hand and machine looms throughout the valley around the parent company.

After 1838, twenty-five years passed before the textile industry in Sainte-Marie had one more unit. It was not until 1863 that a new company, Kling et Cie, was founded. Its novelties for ladies were very successful. Nowadays, the company is run by its owners, Fernand Kling and Alfred Grimm, and is dedicated exclusively to the production of pure wool and wool and cotton fabrics.

Seventeen years later, in 1880, Mr. Charles Felmé founded the Felmé et Cie company, which is now managed by Mr. Paul Felmé, together with Mr. Ernest Musch. At first, Mr. Felmé père limited his production to fancy woollens for ladies. Today, the company, equipped with a completely modern installation, has acquired a high reputation for the beautiful tartan fabrics, of harmonious colours and tasteful variety, which form its real speciality.

Nearly thirty years later, the youngest of the Sainte-Marie textile establishments has arrived. The Edler and Lepavec company, under the management of Mr. Albert Edler and Mr. Georges Lepavec, was established on April 1, 1908. It was dedicated to the production of novelty fabrics for ladies and girls. It immediately succeeded in becoming a leader in this field and its creations, which were highly appreciated, gained new markets year after year.

And so, from one step to the next, thanks to the effect of tireless wills and also by virtue of that professional conscience so developed in the workers of Alsace and which gives the production an incomparable quality, the textile industry of the old working town, which is irrigated by the river Liepvre, has grown until it is known throughout the world.

But perhaps it would not be fair, before closing this nomenclature, which encloses a little more than a century of the economic history of a legion, not to see what has become of the mother cell of this enormous movement. the old house, the ancestor.

Under the name Blech frères et Cie, which it has carried since 1890, Jean-Georges Reber's company, all modern, that is to say always innovative, its initial equipment more than tenfold, produces fabrics of a quality rarely equalled, never surpassed, and which are abroad first-rate respondents of French textiles.


TEXTILES IN COLMAR

At about the same time that textiles were beginning to take on new elements in Sainte-Marie, they were being born in Colmar.

But it had already appeared in the region of Colmar, in Logelbach, where an Indian factory had been established in 1775 and where, in 1816, the Herzog establishments were founded, which constituted the first cotton mill. Today, in full prosperity under the management of Mr. Emile Muller, the Herzog establishments spin and weave with cotton, wool and silk.

As for Colmar, it was only in 1829 that André Kiener, the founder of the spinning, weaving and finishing house A. Kiener et Cie, which is now considerable, set up his first workshop to the east of the town, at a place called Mittlachmuhl. The company had a modest start. It had a mediocre number of trades. Its operation was conditioned and limited by the variable flow of an old mill on the Lauch. But it was full of boldness and spirit of progress since it used hydraulic power. As the local weavers only used hand looms, it first had to train staff in the new method of working.

In twenty years, by 1848, it had doubled its equipment. Today, the Kiener establishments, run by André Kiener's grandson and great-grandson, have such a complete set of tools that they transform a raw fleece, barely fallen from the sheep's loins, into a finished piece ready to appear on the seller's counter.

They work 15,000 kilograms of wool daily and their outbuildings cover 15 hectares, 10 of which are built.

Of much more recent creation, since their foundation by Mr. G. and Mr. F. Gensbourger goes back to 1893, the Gensbourger mechanical weaving establishments, constituted as a limited company and administered by Mr. G. Gensbourger, owed a brilliant and rapid fortune to the activity of their leaders. Thirty years were enough for them to triple their output.

After the inertia imposed by the war on the whole Alsatian and Lorraine industry, the Gensbourger weaving mill took part in the first rank of the great awakening sounded by the armistice. In addition to Paris and the whole of France, its production now reaches all the capitals.

LET'S DRESS UP AT HOME

Before 1870, the Upper Rhine textile industry worked mainly for France and for export. The artificial border erected by the Treaty of Frankfurt separated it from its main customers. Without losing contact with the latter, while continuing its efforts on foreign markets, it was necessary, in order to give a secure basis to its existence, to try to win the German market. This was a complete recovery, a delicate and perilous gymnastics in the economic field.

Forty-four years later, the cannon of 1914 announced a new reversal of things. The war years were hard on him. But the cessation of hostilities, the return to the mother country, by bringing to his trades a prodigious resurrection of activity, were to compensate him for his long ordeal, but not without posing new and difficult problems. For the second time, he had to make a sharp economic about-face.

The wonderful development of the textile industry in the Upper Rhine region is best admired when one considers the vicissitudes through which it has continued to grow.

Today, it has repudiated its conquest of yesterday, i.e. it has freed itself from the German market. Its exports, always growing in quantity and depth, spread the fame of the French fabric all over the world, just as they contribute appreciable figures to the continuous improvement of the French trade balance. But above all, it is important that it should increasingly oppose foreign competition on the French market. There are not only sentimental reasons for this. The reasons which intervene are reasons of interest, reasons of general interest on which it would be superfluous to insist when the book stands at a level of overwhelming eloquence, reasons of particular interest, of individual interest so to speak, because nowhere, in any other country, even on the other side of the sea, are more beautiful fabrics made than the fabrics which Alsace weaves and dyes.

Madam, it is above all for you that the Alsace of weavers works! When you leave the white pavilion facing the monumental gate of the Place de la Concorde, in the enclosure of the Exposition des Arts Décoratifs, after you have appreciated as an informed elegant woman the harmonious displays of the Kieners, the Gensburgers, the Herzbergers, the Herzbergers, the Herzbergers, the Herzbergers, the Herzbergers, the Herzbergers, the Herzbergers, the Herzbergers, the Gensbourgers, the Herzogs, the Blechs, the Kœnigs, the Baumgartners, the Dietsches, the Simons, the Klings, the Felmés, the Edlers and the Lepavecs, from Sainte-Marie-aux-Mines, remember what your attentive eyes, your connoisseur eyes will have seen. The fabrics of Alsace, between all, are distinguished and recommended by the luminous smoothness of their colours and their incomparable softness. It seems that they derive the nuanced brilliance of their colours from the extreme purity of the water flowing in the valleys there. And their indefinable character of softness to the touch, of fullness in the hand, if one may say so, comes from this taste for the neat, the finished, the comfortable, which is like the very stamp of Alsace, which it imprints on everything it produces and which is breathed in by everything that is its face, its landscapes, its homes and its interiors.

Shall we then ingenuously, somewhat naively, go outside to look for something better, less good, at ruinous prices! Let the French woman, better educated in the resources of her country, leave it to the Alsatian weaver to take care of the delicate task of dressing her.

©L’Illustration - 1925

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Tissu (Sainte-Marie-aux-Mines)


Tissu (Sainte-Marie-aux-Mines) à l'exposition de Paris 1925

Architecte(s) : Gallot Frères

Si vous entrez à l’Exposition des Arts décoratifs par la porte monumentale de la place de la Concorde, un pavillon clair, harmonieux, d’une élégance robuste, frappera tout de suite vos regards, face à vous, un peu sur la droite. Ne manquez pas de vous y arrêter. Il renferme une précieuse collection des plus beaux tissus que produit l’Alsace.

Il a été élevé, sous les auspices de la Société commerciale et industrielle de Sainte-Marie-aux-Mines, par les huit tissages de cette vieille cité active avec le concours des trois maisons qui constituent l’industrie textile de Colmar.

La Société commerciale et industrielle de Sainte-Marie que préside, avec distinction, M. Albert Kœnig, fondée en 1871, pour faire face aux graves difficultés économiques créées par les conséquences du traité de Francfort et qui a derrière elle l’imposant bagage de cinquante-quatre années d’existence féconde, a voulu que la participation de ses ressortissants à la grande manifestation internationale des Arts décoratifs revêtît une certaine ampleur, parce qu’il s’agissait pour le textile du Haut-Rhin d’une véritable rentrée.

Depuis l’annexion, en effet, par une réserve émouvante, le textile du Haut-Rhin s’était abstenu de s’associera aucune exposition, afin de ne pas y paraître sous les couleurs allemandes.

Sainte-Marie songea à faire appel à la collaboration de Colmar pour !a construction d’un pavillon particulier. Son invitation fut tout de suite entendue.

En la circonstance, l’esprit d'union répondit à l’esprit d’entreprise. Et c’est ainsi que put être bâti le beau pavillon blanc aux lignes sobres, œuvre des frères Gallot, les décorateurs parisiens bien connus, qui attire, par sa silhouette engageante, tous les visiteurs de l’Exposition.


UN FONDATEUR

Sainte-Marie doit son nom aux mines qui firent sa notoriété dans le moyen âge, mines de plomb, de cobalt, d’arsenic et d’argent. Vers la fin du quinzième siècle et dans la première moitié du seizième, les mines de Sainte-Marie donnèrent d’énormes blocs d'argent massif, les plus beaux que l’on eut jamais vus en Europe. Mais, avec le temps, les mines se tarirent, leur exploitation périclita.

Au dix-huitième siècle, Sainte-Marie s’endormait au murmure de sa rivière, la Liepvrette, chanson limpide à peine troublée par le bruit monotone de quelques métiers épars, qui timidement, un par un, avaient ’fait leur apparition dans la vallée, métiers de tisserands, métiers de bonnetiers, métiers de boutonniers-passementiers, quand lui arriva l'homme qui allait la tirer de sa léthargie commençante et la doter de l’industrie nouvelle qui devait assurer son avenir.

Energique et entreprenant, caractère de conquérant et de bâtisseur, Jean-Georges Reber qui naquit à Mulhouse, le 5 janvier 1731, avait créé dans sa ville natale, en 1754, une fabrique de rubans à l’aide de métiers nouveaux dont il avait rapporté de Hollande le modèle et sur lesquels on pouvait tisser jusqu’à 16 rubans à la fois. Devant ce progrès, il fallait que la routine locale s'insurgeât ! Cédant aux plaintes des passementiers de la ville, le grand Conseil de Mulhouse fit défense à Reber d'exploiter ses métiers.

Reber quitta Mulhouse. Il vint s’établir à Sainte-Marie où il s’associa à deux Mulhousiens restés obscurs qui l'y avaient précédé quelques années auparavant et y avaient introduit un tissage de toile de coton. Sous l’impulsion de Jean-Georges Reber, l'entreprise jusqu’alors hésitante prit une impulsion rapide. En l’espace d’une année, elle avait pris une extension assez remarquable pour que M. de Lucé, intendant d’Alsace, lui accordât, le 29 mars 1756, outre divers privilèges et exemptions, le monopole de la fabrication des toiles de coton pur et des toiles de fil et coton, dans toute la province, depuis les limites de la banlieue de Strasbourg jusqu’aux montagnes qui séparent la Suisse de la Franche-Comté. De ce moment, l’industrie textile de Sainte-Marie-aux-Mines était née.

En 1796, à soixante-cinq ans, Jean-Georges Reber se retirait des affaires, laissant sa succession à Jean Blech, son gendre. La maison, depuis, n’a cessé de grandir. Elle est aujourd’hui aux mains expertes de MM. René et Jacques Blech.


LE DÉVELOPPEMENT D’UNE INDUSTRIE

Plus de vingt ans après sa retraite, son tissage, passé en 1818 à ses petits-fils sous la raison Blech frères, constituait encore le seul élément de l’industrie textile de la vallée.

Mais en 1820, à Liepvre, aux environs de la ville, apparurent les établissements Dietsch. Ils s’établirent sur l’emplacement d’un ancien prieuré de l’abbaye de Saint-Denis, bâti en 774 par un puissant abbé du nom de Fulrade et rasé par la Révolution. Dès 1845, on y voyait appliquer le tissage mécanique à la fabrication des tissus de fantaisie, réservée jusque-là aux métiers à bras. Par la suite, la maison Dietsch acquit une grande renommée pour la qualité et la solidité de ses tissus, particulièrement en matière de laine peignée. Après 1870, la possession d’une succursale en France lui permit de s’affranchir de l’abstention patriotique que le textile de la région du Haut-Rhin s’était imposée. Elle participa aux Expositions Universelles de Paris de 1878, de 1889 et de 1900 sans y paraître sous le pavillon allemand et y obtint de flatteuses récompenses. Dirigée par M. Camille Dietsch, elle tient aujourd’hui, parmi ses pairs, un rang enviable.

Peu après que les ateliers Dietsch eurent pris la place du monastère disparu de l’abbé Fulrade, les établissements Baumgartner se créaient, en 1824, à Sainte-Marie même et se consacraient à la teinture et aux apprêts. Ils allaient apporter au tissage le concours le plus efficace. Il ne faut pas se dissimuler en effet que, sans le secours des usines de teinture et d’apprêt qui permirent l’achèvement de la fabrication sur place, l’extension du tissage proprement dit n'aurait pas observé une marche aussi rapide ni des proportions aussi considérables. Comme les maisons précédentes et comme celles qui allaient naître un peu plus tard, les établissements Baumgartner eurent des débuts modestes et ne durent leur, succès qu’à l’intelligence et au persévérant labeur de leurs dirigeants. Administrés par MM. Léon et Pierre Baumgartner, leur capacité de production atteint aujourd’hui à plusieurs centaines de pièces par jour.

Ce fut ensuite, en 1832, qu’un compatriote de Jean-Georges Reber, le fils d’un industriel de Mulhouse, M. Napoléon Kœnig, fonda la maison qui en peu d’années, sous la raison sociale Kœnig et O ', allait devenir considérable dans le textile d'Alsace et que* dirigent actuellement M. Albert Kœnig;-: président de la Société commerciale et industrielle de Sainte-Marie-aux-Mines, et M. Francis Kœnig.

Napoléon Kœnig réunit une centaine de métiers et fabriqua du tissu de coton, en particulier du madras. Plus tard, il produisit du «mi-laine» et du « pur laine».

Passé la pénible période de 1870, la maison, très agrandie, monta des métiers Jacquard, aborda la fabrication du « laine e& soie » et de la haute nouveauté avec un rare bonheur et un succès très vif. En 1906, afin d’être mieux au contact de son importante clientèle française, elle avait créé dans l’Aisne, à Marie, un tissage mécanique qu’elle a cédé depuis la paix. Aujourd’hui, elle a décuplé à peu près son outillage originel.

Outre son importante usine de Sainte-Marie, elle possède un établissement annexe à Châtenois, un autre à Steige. Sa spécialisation dans le tissu de haute qualité lui vaut de partout une demande à laquelle elle a peine à satisfaire. Elle se .classe parmi les grands exportateurs français de textile.

Encore une autre création à noter, en 1838 : celle «le la maison Simon et Cie. Débuts modestes, à l’image de ses aînées. Puis, essor progressif et vigoureux, parallèle au mouvement général de la production textile de Sainte-Marie, de plus en plus connue d’année en année, de plus en plus appréciée par le consommateur. MM. Bernard Meier, Albert Jacob, Alphonse Zimmerman mènent à l'heure qu'il est la maison Simon et Cie. Etendant constamment leur entreprise ils ont essaimé de nombreux métiers à bras et mécaniques, à travers la vallée, autour de la maison mère.

Après 1838, vingt-cinq années se passèrent avant que le textile de Sainte-Marie comptât une unité de plus. Il fallut attendre jusqu’en 1863 une fondation nouvelle, celle de la maison Kling et Cie. Ses nouveautés pour dames eurent très vite du succès. Actuellement conduite par MM. Fernand Kling et Alfred Grimm, ses directeurs propriétaires, elle se consacre exclusivement à la fabrication des tissus de laine pure et de laine et coton.

Dix-sept ans plus tard, en 1880, M. Charles Felmé créait les établissements Felmé et Cie que dirige maintenant, avec M. Ernest Musch, M. Paul Felmé. M. Felmé père limita d’abord sa fabrication aux lainages de fantaisie pour dames. Aujourd’hui, la maison, pourvue d’une installation tout à fait moderne, s’est acquis une haute renommée pour les beaux tissus écossais, de coloris harmonieux et d’une variété de bon goût, qui forment sa véritable spécialité.

Près de trente ans encore et voici venir le benjamin des établissements textiles de Sainte-Marie. La maison Edler et Lepavec, sous la direction de MM. Albert Edler et Georges Lepavec, s’établit le 1er avril 1908. Elle s’est consacrée à produire des tissus de nouveautés pour dames et pour fillettes. Tout de suite, elle a réussi à se classer dans ce genre et ses créations, très appréciées, gagnent d’année en année des marchés nouveaux.

Et c’est ainsi, de proche en proche, par l’effet de volontés infatigables et par la vertu aussi de cette conscience professionnelle si développée chez le travailleur d’Alsace et qui procure à la production une qualité incomparable, qu’a grandi, jusqu’à devenir notoire dans le monde entier, l’industrie textile de la vieille ville laborieuse qu’arrose la Liepvre.

Mais peut-être ne serait-il pas juste avant de clore cette nomenclature, qui enferme un peu plus d’un siècle de l’histoire économique d’une légion, de ne pas voir ce qu’est devenue la cellule mère de cet énorme mouvement. la vieille maison, l’ancêtre.

Sous la raison sociale Blech frères et Cie, qu’elle porte depuis 1890, la maison de Jean-Georges Reber, toute moderne, c’est-à-dire toujours novatrice, son outillage initial plus que décuplé, produit des tissus d’une qualité rarement égalée, jamais dépassée, et qui sont à l’étranger des répondants de premier ordre du textile français.


LE TEXTILE A COLMAR

A peu près vers le même temps où le textile commençait de compter à Sainte-Marie des éléments nouveaux, il naissait à Colmar.

Mais il était déjà apparu dans la région de Colmar, à Logelbach, où dès 1775 s’était formée une fabrique d’indienne et où, en 1816, se fondaient les établissements Herzog qui constituèrent la première filature de coton. Aujourd'hui, en pleine prospérité sous la direction de M. Emile Muller, les établissements Herzog filent et tissent avec le coton, la laine et la soie.

Quant à Colmar, ce fut en 1829 seulement qu'André Kiener, le fondateur de la maison de filature, tissage et apprêt A. Kiener et Cie, aujourd’hui considérable, établit son premier atelier à l’Est de la ville, au lieu dit la Mittlachmuhl. L’entreprise se présentait modestement. Elle comptait un nombre médiocre de métiers. Son fonctionnement était conditionné et limité par le débit variable d’un vieux moulin sur la Lauch. Mais elle était pleine de hardiesse et d’esprit de progrès puisqu’elle recourait à la force hydraulique. Les tisseurs du pays ne pratiquant que le métier à bras, il lui fallut d’abord former un personnel à la nouvelle méthode de travail.

En vingt ans, dès 1848, elle avait doublé son matériel. A l’heure qu’il est, les établissements Kiener, que dirigent le petit-fils et l’arrière-petit-fils d’André Kiener, possèdent un outillage si complet qu’ils transforment une toison brute, à peine tombée des reins du mouton, en une pièce achevée prête à figurer sur le comptoir du vendeur.

Ils travaillent quotidiennement 15.000 kilogrammes de laine et leurs dépendances couvrent 15 hectares, dont 10 hectares bâtis.

De création beaucoup plus récente, puisque leur fondation par MM. G et F. Gensbourger remonte à 1893, les établissements de tissage mécanique Gensbourger, constitués en société anonyme et administrés par M. G. Gensbourger, ont dû à l’activité de leurs dirigeants une fortune brillante et rapide. Trente ans leur ont suffi à tripler leur puissance de rendement.

Au sortir de l’inertie imposée par la guerre à toute l’industrie alsacienne et lorraine, le tissage Gensbourger a participé au premier rang au grand réveil sonné par l’armistice. Outre Paris et la France entière, sa production touche actuellement toutes les capitales.


HABILLONS-NOUS CHEZ NOUS

Avant 1870, le textile du Haut-Rhin travaillait surtout pour la France et pour l’exportation. La frontière artificielle érigée par le traité de Francfort le sépara de sa clientèle principale. Sans perdre le contact avec celle-ci, tout en poursuivant son effort sur les marchés étrangers, il lui fallut, pour donner une base sûre à son existence, s’attacher à gagner le marché allemand. C’était un rétablissement complet à opérer, gymnastique délicate et périlleuse sur le terrain économique.

Quarante-quatre ans plus tard, le canon de 1914 lui annonçait un nouveau renversement des choses. Les années de guerre lui furent dures. Mais la cessation des hostilités, le retour à la mère patrie, en apportant à ses métiers remis en mouvement une résurrection d’activité prodigieuse, devaient le dédommager de sa longue épreuve, non sans lui poser de nouveaux problèmes ardus. Pour la seconde fois, il avait à réaliser une volte-face économique tranchante.

On admire davantage le merveilleux développement- du textile du Haut-Rhin lorsque l’on considère au milieu de quelles vicissitudes il a poursuivi son ascension !

Aujourd’hui, il a répudié sa conquête d’hier, c’est-à-dire qu’il s’est dégagé du marché allemand. Ses exportations toujours poussées en quantité et en profondeur répandent sur toute la surface du monde la renommée du tissu français, de même qu’elles interviennent pour des chiffres appréciables dans l’amélioration continue de la balance commerciale française. Mais il importe surtout qu’il s’oppose de plus en plus sur le marché français à la concurrence étrangère. Il n’y a pas à cela que des raisons de sentiment. Les raisons qui interviennent sont des raisons d’intérêt, raisons d’intérêt général sur lesquelles il serait superflu d’insister quand la livre se tient à un niveau d’une écrasante éloquence, raisons d’intérêt particulier, d’intérêt individuel pour ainsi dire, parce qu’il ne se fait nulle part, en aucun autre pays, fût-ce de l’autre côté de la mer, de tissus plus beaux que les tissus que tisse et que teint l’Alsace.

Madame, c’est surtout pour vous que l’Alsace des tisseurs travaille ! Au sortir du blanc pavillon qui fait face à la porte monumentale de la place de la Concorde, dans l'enceinte de l’Exposition des Arts décoratifs, après que vous aurez apprécié en élégante avertie les étalages harmonieux des Kiener, des Gensbourger, des Herzog, de Colmar, des Blech, des Kœnig, des Baumgartner, des Dietsch, des Simon, des Kling, des Felmé, des Edler et Lepavec, de Sainte-Marie-aux-Mines, rappelez-vous ce que vos yeux attentifs, vos yeux connaisseurs auront vu. Les tissus d’Alsace, entre tous, se distinguent et se recommandent par la finesse lumineuse de leurs coloris et leur moelleux incomparable. Ils tirent, paraît il. l’éclat nuancé de leurs teintes de l’extrême pureté de l'eau qui coule dans les vallées de là-bas. Et leur indéfinissable caractère de douceur au toucher, de plénitude à la main, si l’on peut dire, leur vient de ce goût du soigné, de l’achevé, du confortable qui est comme le cachet même de l’Alsace, qu'elle imprime à tout ce qu’elle produit et que respire tout ce qui est son visage, ses paysages, ses demeures et ses intérieurs.

Irons-nous donc ingénument, un peu niaisement, chercher au dehors pas mieux, moins bien, à des prix ruineux ! Que la femme française mieux instruite des ressources de son pays, s’en remette à l’Alsace tisseuse du soin délicat de la vêtir.

©L’Illustration - 1925