Back - List of Pavilions

Belgium - Expo Paris 1925

Belgium at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1925
Architect(s) : Victor Horta

Of the four sites reserved by the Organising Commission for England, Italy, Japan and Belgium, our country occupies the first one on the left, near the main entrance to the Exhibition, facing Avenue Alexandre III.

These plots, originally similar, were hammer-shaped or tee-shaped, with a head of 15 m. x 8 m. and an extension of 32 m. x 12 m. of width on the ground, reduced, from a height of 3 metres, in proportion to the covering surface of the crown of the trees of the Cours la Reine, whose integral conservation was imposed as an easement.

It was the solution to this problem that the Belgian architect alone set out to find. He drew from it the primary originality of his work.

The rational use of staff sheets on a wooden frame, characterising the architecture by simple superimposition of planes, without any ornamental imitation or simulated stone materials, constitutes the second originality of the Pavilion. Thus, the Pavilion as a whole achieves the goal set by the programme for a temporary exhibition of Belgian decorative art: to show the level that modern art has retained in its country of origin and to make a big impact despite the small size of the site and the limited resources of a country that has barely recovered from its ruins.

The Belgian Pavilion consists of three large halls and six secondary halls, each of which has a particular architectural or decorative character.

The first room, a true Monumental Hall, is characterised by its daylighting obtained by openwork friezes on the ceiling and by its dome which rises fifteen metres from the ground.

The second room is, for the decorative art, entirely the work of the master Constant Montald, interpreted, for one of the panels
The third room has been converted into a formal dining room by Mr. Philippe Wolfers.

Of the six small rooms surrounding the Hall, two were furnished by the firm Henri Beirnaert of Coudrai, as offices for the Commissariat Général; the other four were converted into an Information Office with furniture by M. H. Bosché and into an Oratory by the firm of M. M. M. M. Bosché and as an Oratory by the École de Métiers d'Art de Maredsous.

Thus the Belgian Pavilion houses and condenses both the secular arts in their various forms and destinations and religious art; it happily sums up the general programme of the Exhibition by bringing the purpose of Architecture and Decorative Art back to their true creative origins combined with the spirit and social conditions of their time.

The façades of the Belgian Pavilion develop the theme and the layout of the interior in three main parts: the entrance portico, which houses a superb statue symbolising Decorative Art by the sculptor Pierre Braecke and which is surmounted by a large decorative frieze by the same artist; the Hall, whose terraces end in a sort of stepped dome; and, finally, the Montald Room, flanked by a rectangular tower which dominates the entire Exhibition and at the top of which are six architectural motifs completed by as many statues representing Decorative Art through the ages by the sculptor Marcel Wolfers.

The Belgian Pavilion, whose location makes it obvious to visitors during the day, is no less fortunate in the evening shade, thanks to special lighting, for its rectilinear architecture and its decorative and sculptural elements.

©Catalogue Officiel de la Section Belge - 1925

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Belgique


Belgique à l'exposition de Paris 1925

Architecte(s) : Victor Horta

Des quatre emplacements réservés par la Commission Organisatrice à l’Angleterre, l’Italie, le Japon et la Belgique, notre pays occupe le premier à gauche, près de l’entrée principale de l’Exposition, face à l’avenue Alexandre III.

Ces terrains, originairement similaires, en forme de marteau ou té, avaient en tête 15 m. x 8 m. et en prolongement 32 m. x 12 m. de largeur au sol, diminuée, à partir de 3 mètres de hauteur, proportionnellement à la surface couvrante de la couronne des arbres du Cours la Reine, dont la conservation intégrale était imposée en servitude.

C’est à la solution de ce problème que l’architecte belge seul s’est attaché. Il en a tiré l’originalité première de son oeuvre.

L’emploi rationnel des feuilles de staff sur charpente en bois caractérisant l’Architecture par simple superposition de plans, sans imitation ornementale ou de matériaux pierreux simulés, constitue l’originalité seconde du Pavillon. Ainsi, celui-ci atteint dans son ensemble le but assigné par le programme d’une exposition temporaire d’art décoratif belge : montrer le niveau que l’art moderne a conservé dans son pays d’origine et faire grand nonobstant l’exiguïté du terrain et malgré les ressources restreintes d’un pays à peine relevé de ses ruines.

Le Pavillon Belge se compose en plan de trois grandes salles et de six salles secondaires; chacune d’elles ayant un caractère architectonique ou décoratif particulier.

La première salle, véritable Hall Monumental, se caractérise par son éclairage diurne obtenu par des frises ajourées au plafond et par son dôme qui s’élève à quinze mètres du sol.

La seconde salle est, pour l’art décoratif, tout entière l’œuvre du maître Constant Montald, interprété, pour l’un des panneaux
en tapisserie, par M,,e Fernande Dubois et, pour les vitraux, M. J. Wyss, peintre verrier, à Bruxelles; la troisième salle a été convertie en salle à manger d’apparat par M. Philippe Wolfers.

Des six petites salles enveloppant le Hall deux sont meublées par la firme Henri Beirnaert de Coudrai, à destination de bureaux pour le Commissariat Général; les quatre autres sont converties par moitié en Bureau d’information avec un mobilier de M,,e H. Bosché et en Oratoire par l’École de Métiers d’Art de Maredsous.

Ainsi le Pavillon Belge abrite et condense à la fois les arts profanes en leurs formes et destinations diverses et l’art religieux; il résume heureusement le programme général de l’Exposition en ramenant le but de l’Architecture et de l’Art Décoratif à leur véritable origine créative alliée à l’esprit et aux conditions sociales de leur temps.

Les façades du Pavillon Belge développent extérieurement le thème et les dispositions des locaux intérieurs en trois grandes parties : le portique d’entrée qui abrite une superbe statue symbolisant l’Art Décoratif du sculpteur Pierre Braecke et que surmonte une grande frise décorative du même artiste; le Hall dont les terrasses se terminent par une sorte de dôme en gradin et, enfin, la salle Montald, flanquée d’une tour rectangulaire qui domine toute l’Exposition et au sommet de laquelle se profilent six motifs architecturaux complétés par autant de statues représentant l’Art Décoratif à travers les âges du sculpteur Marcel Wolfers.

Le Pavillon Belge dont l’ensemble, par son emplacement, s’impose le jour à l’attention des visiteurs profile, non moins heureusement dans l’ombre du soir, grâce à une illumination spéciale, ses architectures rectilignes et ses éléments décoratifs et sculpturaux.

©Catalogue Officiel de la Section Belge - 1925