International Exhibition of Modern Decorative and Industrial Arts, Paris 1925

Modern Decorative and Industrial Arts

April 28, 1925 - October 25, 1925


Back - List of Pavilions

Clos Normand

Clos Normand at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1925

Architect(s) : Victorien Lelong, Pierre Chirol

Normandy, so rich in products of all kinds, has constantly shown the most ingenious initiative in everything that concerns the decoration of life: luxurious decoration and decoration of simple intimacy, the most charming perhaps and the most picturesque. On its soil, vast workshops as well as modest craftsmen's stalls have always flourished, filling its houses with those thousand indispensable or superfluous accessories which give old houses such a personal character. And, for some years now, a new effort has been made to revive local craftsmanship, the happy results of which have been consecrated in recent regional exhibitions.

The traditional home of our beautiful and rich Normandy is the "clos". It is therefore a "Norman clos" that has been built in Paris, on the Cours la Reine; a Norman clos with its rough stone foundations, its exposed timber walls, its large roofs that form a protective bonnet and its high chimneys. The only thing missing is the customary belt of apple trees, which the chestnut and elm trees of the Cours la Reine are trying to replace.

The interior, to which large terraces give access, comprises a vast central room, flanked by two smaller rooms and a small lounge. A large kitchen occupies the back, equipped with its authentic accessories, where the succulent variety of regional dishes praised by visitors will be prepared before their very eyes.

The plans for the "Clos Normand" are the work of two architects from Rouen: Victorien Lelong and Pierre Chirol. The entire pavilion, from base to roof, was built by Norman contractors using Norman materials: agglomerates, white bricks, artificial stone, small tiles and flat bricks, constructive and decorative carpentry, tiles and ceramic exterior coverings.

The furniture, likewise, comes entirely from the Normandy workshops. Cabinet makers and decorative artists competed with each other to design and produce models, from the Cotentin to the Pays de Caux. And here too, in a layout very close to the current reality, are grouped the productions of the manufacturers and the works of the artists or craftsmen of the region: fabrics and wall hangings, printed canvases and cretonnes, ironworks and lamp-posts, stained glass windows, small pieces of furniture, shelves and credenzas, art objects, ceramics from Rouen, clocks from Saint-Nicolas-d'Aliermont, ivories from Dieppe, glassmaking, mirrors, etc....

In this reconstructed corner of the little country, the Normans find themselves at home, and our compatriots, as well as foreigners, get to know them better.

©La Science et la Vie - 1925

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Clos Normand


Clos Normand à l'exposition de Paris 1925

Architecte(s) : Victorien Lelong, Pierre Chirol

La Normandie, si riche en produits de toutes sortes, a, constamment, témoigné de la plus ingénieuse initiative pour tout ce qui concerne le décor de la vie : décor luxueux et décor de simple intimité, le plus charmant peut-être et le plus pittoresque. Sur son sol, les vastes ateliers comme les modestes échoppes d’artisans ont, de tout temps, prospéré, emplissant ses maisons de ces mille accessoires indispensables ou superflus qui donnent aux vieilles demeures un caractère si personnel. Et, depuis quelques années, un nouvel effort s’est manifesté pour revivifier l’artisanat local, dont les heureux résultats ont eu leur consécration en de récentes expositions régionales.

La demeure traditionnelle de notre belle et riche Normandie, c’est le «clos ». C’est donc un « clos normand » qui a été édifié à Paris, sur le Cours la Reine ; un clos normand avec ses rudes assises de pierre, ses murs aux pans de bois apparents, ses grands toits qui font comme un capuchon protecteur et ses hautes cheminées. Seule, manque à son pourtour la coutumière ceinture de pommiers, que s’efforcent de remplacer les marronniers et les ormes du Cours la Reine.

L’intérieur, auquel donnent accès de larges terrasses, comprend une vaste salle centrale, flanquée de deux salles de moindre dimension et d’un petit salon. Une importante cuisine en occupe le fond, pourvue de ses accessoires authentiques, où sera préparée, sous les yeux des visiteurs qui pourront s’en délecter, toute la succulente variété de mets régionaux dont l’éloge n’est plus à faire.

Les plans du « clos normand » sont l’œuvre de deux architectes rouennais : MM. Victorien Lelong et Pierre Chirol. Tout le pavillon, de la base au faîte, est construit par des entrepreneurs normands avec des matériaux normands : agglomérés, briques blanches, pierre artificielle, petites tuiles et briques plates, menuiserie constructive et décorative, carrelages et revêtements extérieurs de céramique.

Le mobilier, pareillement, sort tout entier des ateliers de Normandie. Ebénistes et artistes décorateurs ont rivalisé d’émulation pour en dessiner et en réaliser les modèles, du Cotentin au Pays de Caux. Et, là aussi, sont groupés, dans un aménagement tout proche de la réalité courante, les productions des industriels et les travaux des artistes ou artisans de la région : tissus et tentures murales, toiles et cretonnes imprimées, ferronneries et lampadaires, vitraux, petits meubles, étagères et crédences, objets d’art, céramique de Rouen, horloges de Saint-Nicolas-d’Aliermont, ivoires de Dieppe, verrerie, miroiterie, etc...

Dans ce coin reconstitué de la petite patrie les Normands se retrouvent chez eux, et nos compatriotes, comme les étrangers, y apprennent à les mieux connaître.

©La Science et la Vie - 1925