International Exhibition of Modern Decorative and Industrial Arts, Paris 1925

Modern Decorative and Industrial Arts

April 28, 1925 - October 25, 1925


Back - List of Pavilions

Sweden

Sweden at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1925

Architect(s) : C. S. Bergsten

We had already noticed at the Colonial Exhibition in Marseille, in the Palace of French West Africa, the decorative effect that can be obtained with large-scale coloured maps. M. Ollivier, the architect of this palace, had taken advantage of this by decorating the dome of the palace, which he had made into a sort of world map, but seen from the inside. The Swedes have taken over a process which, from the artistic point of view alone, is worth another and which has the added merit of developing the image of the country, of revealing its greatness through a striking representation.

In fact, the fresco in the Swedish vestibule was inspired by old maps, old portfolios and even city outlines engraved in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, in which the countries seem to be seen in bird's eye view, in attenuated relief. It is reminiscent of Blauw's enormous sixteenth-century atlas, if I remember correctly. I take great pleasure in pointing out what is delicately, deliciously retrospective about this part of an exhibition whose rules claimed to exclude, with a Jacobin and somewhat naive severity, works of ancient inspiration. This proves that one can, and does, know how to be modern by interpreting works from the past, that these works are transformed through the prism of their interpreter and that one must be totally devoid of knowledge or sensitivity to suppose for a moment that the opposite could happen.

The way the Swedes convince us of their personality is more circuitous. The slender, slightly greedy look of their building is not reminiscent of Sweden's regional architecture, but it helps us to understand a certain aristocratic and intimate way of being that is revealed in Malmsten's elegant furniture as well as in Orrefors' glassware, in the woolen carpets with their vegetable colours as well as in the columns or the cast-iron vases. A superficial walker will no doubt be surprised that the design of the Orrefors glassworks, like that of the cast-iron vases for which this essentially Swedish industry called on the best artists from there, is inspired by a pagan mythology. On reflection, my walker will not fail to conclude that indeed the inhabitants, who are turned in on themselves by a winter of eight to nine months, seek to escape by imagination from the prison of the snows and undergo the enchantment that has always drawn the men of the North to the countries of the sun. If the same walker goes to the Grand Palais, to the room where the models, plans and photographs of Stockholm's City Hall have been assembled, he will see in this masterpiece of modern architecture a palace that is distinctly Swedish in its form, its colour and its harmony with the natural setting of the city.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Suède


Suède à l'exposition de Paris 1925

Architecte(s) : C. S. Bergsten

Déjà nous avions remarqué à l’Exposition coloniale de Marseille, dans le palais de l’Afrique Occidentale française, l’effet décoratif qu’on peut obtenir avec des cartes géographiques en couleurs, à grande échelle. M. Ollivier, l’architecte de ce palais, en avait tiré un heureux parti en décorant la coupole de ce palais dont il avait fait une sorte de mappemonde, mais vue de l’intérieur. Les Suédois ont repris à leur compte un procédé qui, du seul point de vue artistique, en vaut un autre et qui a de plus le mérite de développer l’image de la patrie, d’en révéler la grandeur par une représentation saisissante.

A vrai dire, la fresque du vestibule suédois s’inspire plutôt des anciennes cartes, des vieux portulans, voire des pourtraicts de ville gravés au seizième et au dix-septième siècle et dans lesquels les pays semblent aperçus à vol d’oiseau, en relief atténué. Elle évoque l’énorme atlas de Blauw, édité au seizième siècle, sauf erreur de mémoire. Je me fais un malin plaisir de signaler ce qu’il y a de délicatement, de délicieusement rétrospectif dans cette partie d’une exposition dont le règlement prétendait exclure, avec une sévérité jacobine et un peu naïve, les œuvres d’inspiration ancienne. Ce qui prouve qu’on peut, qu’on sait être moderne en interprétant les ouvrages du passé, que ceux-ci se transforment à travers le prisme de leur interprète et qu’il faut être totalement dénué de savoir ou de sensibilité pour supposer un instant que le contraire puisse se produire.

La manière dont les Suédois nous convainquent de leur personnalité est plus détournée. L’allure svelte, un peu gourmée de leur bâtiment ne rappelle pas l’architecture régionale de la Suède, mais elle nous aide à comprendre une certaine manière d’être aristocratique et intimiste qui se révèle aussi bien dans les meubles élégants de Malmsten que dans les verreries d’Orrefors, dans les tapis de laine aux couleurs végétales que dans les colonnes ou les vases de fonte. Un promeneur superficiel s'étonnera sans doute de ce que le dessin des verreries d’Orrefors, comme celui des vases de fonte pour lesquels cette industrie essentiellement suédoise a fait appel aux meilleurs artistes de là-bas, s’inspire d'une mythologie païenne. A la réflexion, mon promeneur ne manquera pas de conclure qu’en effet les habitants, qu’un hiver de huit à neuf mois replie sur eux-mêmes, cherchent à s’évader par l’imagination de la prison des neiges et subissent l’enchantement qui a toujours entraîné les hommes du Nord vers les pays du soleil. Que si le même promeneur pousse au Grand Palais, dans la salle où l’on a rassemblé les maquettes, plans et photographies de l’hôtel de ville de Stockholm, il verra en ce chef-d’œuvre de l’architecture moderne un palais nettement suédois par sa forme, sa couleur, son harmonie avec le décor naturel de la ville.