International Water Technology Exhibition in Liege 1939

May 20, 1939 - September 2, 1939


Back - List of Pavilions

Astrid Park

Astrid Park at the Exhibition Expo Liege 1939

At the entrance to the Left Bank Exhibition, a group of architects from Liège, known as "L'Equerre", drew up the plans and built a playground on the wooded grounds formerly occupied by the Tir Communal. It is intended to welcome the youth of the populous districts and all these young people will be able to play at leisure in a sunny place, populated with trees, decorated with gardens and lawns.

On the ground floor, the building has a large dining room with fully glazed walls. This is followed by a kitchen equipped with the most modern appliances. Large cloakrooms, with showers, washrooms and, in general, all the modern sanitary equipment, complete this complex, which also includes the infirmary and a doctor's surgery. Large covered courtyards shelter the children in case of bad weather.

Children from 2 to 6 years old and children from 6 to 16 years old have special rooms and staff for their respective categories.

The playground has a whole series of attractions: carousels, giant steps, Swedish ladder, etc.; the bathing pleasures are brought to the little ones by two whirlpools supplied with pure, clear water and equipped with wide beaches of sea sand.

What is interesting for the visitor is that, during the Exhibition, this welcoming home serves as a babysitter for children whose parents have left them under the supervision of specialised monitors during their visit to the Liège Exhibition.

©Official map guide - Liège 1939

Exposition internationale de la technique de l'eau de Liège 1939

20 mai 1939 - 2 septembre 1939


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Parc Astrid

Parc Astrid à l'exposition de Liège 1939

Tout à l'entrée de l’Exposition rive gauche, un groupe d'architectes liégeois, constitué sous le nom de « L'Equerre », a élaboré les plans et exécuté une plaine de jeux sur les terrains arborés, qu’occupait jadis le Tir communal. Elle est appelée à accueillir la jeunesse des quartiers populeux et tout ce petit monde pourra s'ébattre à loisir dans un endroit ensoleillé, peuplé d'arbres, agrémenté de jardins et de pelouses.

La construction comprend, au rez-de-chaussée, un vaste réfectoire aux parois entièrement vitrées. Une cuisine, dotée des appareils les plus modernes, lui fait suite. De grands vestiaires, avec douches, lavatories et, en général, tout l'appareillage sanitaire moderne, complètent cet ensemble qui comporte encore l'infirmerie et un cabinet médical. De vastes préaux couverts abritent les enfants en cas d'intempéries.

Les enfants de 2 à 6 ans et les enfants de 6 à 16 ans jouissent, dans leur catégorie respective, de locaux spéciaux et d’un personnel particulier.

La plaine de jeux comporte toute une série d'attractions : carrousels, pas de géant, échelle suédoise, etc.; les joies balnéaires sont apportées aux petits par deux barboteuses alimentées d'eau pure et limpide et pourvues de vastes plages de sable marin.

Ce qui intéresse le visiteur, c'est que, durant l'Exposition, ce home accueillant sert de gardiennat pour les enfants que les parents auront laissés à la surveillance de moniteurs spécialisés pendant leur visite à l'Exposition de Liège.

©Guide plan officiel - Liège 1939