International Water Technology Exhibition in Liege 1939

May 20, 1939 - September 2, 1939


Back - List of Pavilions

Sports

Sports at the Exhibition Liege 1939

© Fumel

Architect(s) : Faniel, Jacquet, Foidart et Moineau

This modernised architecture, with its very classical proportions, was distinguished by the use of rounded corners and deep bays, producing a play of shadows that contrasted very well with the light colour of the façades. The façades were decorated with very discreet decorative paints, which were nevertheless sufficient to provide the necessary splash of colour.

The colonnade on the façade facing the Meuse was very attractive. Connected to the palaces by an elegant pier with changing rooms and sports facilities, a rotunda restaurant with large glass windows between columns completed this valuable ensemble.


Forming a single unit with the Fishing Pavilion (no. 29), Palace no. 28 of the Belgian Section was reserved for water sports equipment. Here, all types of sports boats were happily displayed, with accessories especially for water sports. Speedboats, canoes and oars were placed next to other small racing and pleasure boats. The interior decoration was particularly well thought out. Beautifully designed murals in praise of water sports ran all around the hall.

If this participation was successful, it should be pointed out that, in order to achieve a somewhat complete ensemble, it was necessary to call upon foreign products to a large extent. National production, which was lacking in the field of sports boats, was hardly represented at all, except for accessory items.

Thus, some Belgian exhibitors presented very complete and well-made collections of sports cups and trophies (Quintin, Bruno Wiskemann, Wolfers), medals, charms and badges (Fisch, Fonson), sports watches and chronographs (Kinsbergen), certain advertising items (posters from Imprimerie Bénard), etc.

It should be added that some of the objects relating to the subject in question were grouped together with the fashion articles at the Lido. This was the case, for example, with camping and outdoor equipment, which attracted a great deal of attention: we have already mentioned this in the previous notice.

All in all, the participation will have further highlighted how much Belgium is behind most other countries in the construction of sports equipment and especially boats.

© General Report - International Water Technology Exhibition - Liège 1939

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Sports


Sports à l'exposition de Liège 1939

© Fumel
Architecte(s) : Faniel, Jacquet, Foidart et Moineau

Architecture modernisée, aux proportions très classiques, cet ensemble se distinguait par l'emploi de l'angle arrondi et de baies toutes en profondeur, produisant des jeux d'ombre contrastant très bien avec la teinte claire des façades. Celles-ci étaient rehaussées de peintures décoratives très discrètes, mais cependant suffisantes pour apporter la tache de couleur indispensable.

La colonnade de la façade vers la Meuse avait grande allure. Relié aux palais par un élégant embarcadère avec vestiaires et utilités sportives, un restaurant traité en rotonde composée de grandes verrières entre colonnes complétait cet ensemble de valeur.


Faisant corps avec le Pavillon de la Pêche (n° 29), le Palais n° 28 de la Section belge fut réservé au matériel des Sports nautiques. On y réalisa un ensemble heureux de tous les genres d'embarcations sportives avec les accessoires concernant spécialement les sports de l'eau. Les hors-bords, canoës et avirons voisinaient avec d'autres petits bateaux de course et de plaisance. La décoration intérieure fut particulièrement soignée. Des peintures murales de fort belle allure, à la gloire des sports nautiques, faisaient tout le tour du hall.

Si cette participation connut la réussite, il faut cependant signaler que, pour arriver à un ensemble quelque peu complet, il fallut faire assez largement appel aux produits étrangers. La production nationale, déficitaire dans le domaine des embarcations sportives, n'était guère représentée que par des objets accessoires.

C'est ainsi que quelques exposants belges présentaient des collections très complètes et de bonne facture de coupes et de trophées sportifs (Quintin, Bruno Wiskemann, Wolfers), de médailles, breloques et insignes (Fisch, Fonson), de montres et chronographes de sport (Kinsbergen), de certains articles publicitaires (affiches de l'Imprimerie Bénard), etc.

Il convient d'ajouter qu'une partie des objets se rapportant à la matière considérée étaient groupés avec les articles de la mode, au Lido. Il en était ainsi, par exemple, du matériel de camping et de plein air qui attira vivement l'attention : il vient du reste d'en être parlé dans la notice précédente.

Dans son ensemble, la participation aura fait ressortir davantage combien la Belgique est en retard sur la plupart des autres pays en matière de construction de matériel sportif et spécialement d'embarcations.

© Rapport Général - Exposition Internationale de la Technique de l'Eau - Liège 1939