International Water Technology Exhibition in Liege 1939

May 20, 1939 - September 2, 1939


Back - List of Pavilions

Shipbuilding

Shipbuilding at the Exhibition Liege 1939

© Jacoby

Architect(s) : Dome et Schoenmaekers

Built alongside the coal depot of the Power Station, it skilfully masked it.

There was a great deal of elegance and architectural quality in this complex, which was nevertheless treated with simplicity. The large projecting glass roof, which horizontally spanned the façades, with its cantilevered gallery, was perfectly reminiscent of the upper deck of a modern ocean liner. The portholes and the mast, with its large bulwark, reinforced this impression. Inside, a walkway along the glass roof gave the visitor a splendid view of the Meuse and the large esplanade. A frieze, composed after the Bayeux tapestry, by Bouillon and L. Hock, enhanced the decoration.

By including in its programme, in addition to inland navigation and maritime navigation, a special class reserved for shipbuilding, the Exhibition wanted to highlight the essential role of shipbuilders called upon to put all the resources of modern technology at the service of navigation, to provide armaments with new units that are always better adapted to needs, to carry out the necessary transformations, improvements and repairs.

The object of this class was defined as follows: to make the general public aware of the importance and diversity of the shipbuilding industry, to disseminate ideas relating to this special field of technology, and to arouse more active interest in all the questions arising from it.

The Belgian participation was intended to highlight the important role that shipbuilding has long played in the national economy and the opportunities it offers on the international market.

Under other headings, the need for Belgium to participate in the intense world traffic that flows through it was also emphasised. It is essential that it also participates in the necessary construction and repairs. On the other hand, Belgian shipyards for the construction and repair of inland waterways cannot fail to benefit from the increased activity of inland waterway transport, the modernisation of equipment and tracks, and the construction of the Albert Canal.

From the foregoing, it is clear that the class of shipbuilding required significant development in the context of the Exhibition. The breadth of the subject excluded the idea of a complete representation of the activities concerned. The exhibition fully achieved its proposed goal and did credit to the exhibitors who took part in it.

The first section, which was particularly developed, concerned the HISTORY OF SHIPPING ARCHITECTURE. Belgium can, in fact, boast a great maritime past and many documents and archaeological pieces have been collected in the country on this subject.

A large number of ship models from public and private collections illustrate the evolution of the construction of Egyptian, Viking, English, Mediterranean, French and Belgian ships. Among the most typical documents were a cast of the Viking bow found in the Scheldt and exhibited at the British Museum, reproductions of Neckerspoel and Austruweel dugouts, a model of a 16th century galleon (warship), models of the "Bounty", the "Constitution", various fishing boats from the Scheldt, etc.

A second section was devoted to SHIPBUILDING YARDS. Most of the Belgian shipyards were keen to be represented and to present their possibilities, their equipment and their achievements. Alongside photographs or models of their installations, they showed models of their most recent constructions. The John Cockerill shipyards in Hoboken, Jos. Boel et Fils, Thames, Mercantile Marine Engineering and Graving Docks and Béliard Crighton, Antwerp, competed in taste and ingenuity in the presentation of their stands. The Belgian shipbuilding industry, which in 1938 produced twenty-one vessels with a total tonnage of 30,197 tonnes, may only have a small share of world production, but it can nevertheless demonstrate that it can compete with foreign competitors on the technical front.

The shipyards for the construction and repair of inland waterway vessels also made an important contribution to this section. The Sainte-Barbe shipyard in Eisden-Sainte-Barbe, the Liége-Monsin shipyard, the Rupelmonde shipyard, the Jos. Boel et Fils, in Thames, Cimenteries et Briqueteries réunies, in Kruibeke, J. et F. Plaquet, in Péronnes-lez-Antoing, had set up particularly attractive stands. It is regrettable that these exhibitors did not give more space to the various aspects of studies, layouts and execution procedures that were likely to interest the visitor. In this respect, we must mention the effort made in this sense by the René Nicolaï technical office in Liège, and especially by the Rupelmonde shipyard, where a demonstration of the advantages of the Kort nozzle was presented in a very ingenious way. A number of exhibitors also showed models of special vessels and floating equipment such as dredgers, crane pontoons, clamshell barges, etc., but of the models exhibited by companies or others, most were from abroad.

A third section was reserved for the construction of PROPELLING DEVICES IN GENERAL. It included many types of motorised equipment, which gave an idea of the development of the Belgian industry in this field. Let us mention first of all the S. A. John Cockerill which exhibited, at the Palais des Industries Lourdes, one of the imposing 8,000 HP Diesel-Sulzer engines intended for the new "Prince-Philippe" trunk. Among the other exhibitors presenting marine diesel engines were: Anglo-Belgian C°, in Ghent, Ateliers de Construction de la Meuse, in Sclessin, Etablissements J. R. De Kriek, in Brussels, Ateliers D.D. Jeunehomme, in Jemeppe-sur-Meuse, S. A. Moteurs Moës, in Waremme, the Société d'Electricité et de Mécanique, in Ghent, the Ateliers Walschaerts, in Brussels.

Finally, a fourth section grouped together everything concerning MATERIALS, CONSTRUCTION PROCESSES AND AUXILIARY INSTALLATIONS specific to shipbuilding technology, as well as special installations relating to the various types of ships and boats. It was the task of this section to show how the construction of a ship involves an impressive number of trades, causes an enormous consumption of our industry's products and provides work for a host of workshops throughout the country. The diversity and number of exhibitors gathered for this purpose is proof enough. The quality of the products exhibited was a first-class reference for Belgian industry.

We will not mention all the companies that contributed to this, and it would be tedious to list the products exhibited, as they were so numerous and varied. It is remarkable to note that this enumeration would include products from almost all industries, from those of big industry to the smallest accessories for interior design or decoration.

As such, the Class 19 exhibition gave a perfect account of the character of shipbuilding: both a very special technique and a source of adaptation of the most varied techniques.

The most important part of the Belgian participation was in the Palace of Shipbuilding and the Palace of Heavy Industries. The part relating to the construction of inland ships was in the Inland Navigation Palace. Finally, various participations were spread over other palaces, notably those of Civil Engineering, the Sea and the City of Antwerp.

In this respect, we should also mention the numerous models of ships exhibited not only by shipbuilders, but also by Belgian shipowners, at the Palais des Constructions Navales and in various other places. Finally, we should mention the stand of the Federation of Belgian Model Yacht Clubs, which contained the most beautiful models built by its members.

The theme of shipbuilding, which lends itself admirably to presentation formulas, certainly gave its full measure at the Liège Exhibition. The effort made in this class will undoubtedly have convinced the Belgian and foreign public of the possibilities of Belgian shipbuilding. May the public authorities be convinced of the need to continue encouraging private initiative in this field!

© General Report - International Water Technology Exhibition - Liège 1939

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Constructions Navales


Constructions Navales à l'exposition de Liège 1939

© Jacoby
Architecte(s) : Dome et Schoenmaekers

Construit le long du dépôt de charbon de la Centrale électrique, il le masquait habilement.

Il y avait beaucoup d'élégance et de qualités architecturales dans cet ensemble pourtant traité avec simplicité. La grande verrière en saillie barrant horizontalement les façades, avec sa galerie en porte à faux, rappelait parfaitement le pont supérieur d'un paquebot moderne. Les hublots et le mât, avec son grand pavois, venaient renforcer cette impression. A l'intérieur, un promenoir, le long de la verrière, permettait au visiteur de jouir d'une vue splendide sur la Meuse et la grande esplanade. Une frise, Composée d'après la tapisserie de Bayeux, due aux pinceaux de Bouillon et de L. Hock, rehaussait la décoration.

En inscrivant à son programme, outre la navigation intérieure et la navigation maritime, une classe spéciale réservée aux constructions navales, l'Exposition a voulu mettre en évidence le rôle essentiel des constructeurs appelés à mettre au service de la navigation toutes les ressources de la technique moderne, à pourvoir les armements en unités nouvelles toujours mieux adaptées aux besoins, à procéder aux transformations, améliorations et réparations nécessaires.

L'objet de cette classe se définissait comme suit : faire apparaître au grand public l'importance et la diversité de l'industrie de la construction navale, diffuser les idées relatives à ce domaine spécial de la technique, susciter un intérêt plus actif pour toutes les questions qui en découlent.

La participation belge se devait de faire ressortir de façon éclatante le rôle important que joue de longue date la construction navale dans l'économie nationale et les possibilités qui s'offrent à elle sur le marché international.

On n'a pas manqué de souligner sous d'autres rubriques, la nécessité où se trouvait la Belgique de participer à l'intense trafic mondial qui la traverse. Il est indispensable qu'elle participe également aux constructions et aux réparations nécessaires. D'autre part, les chantiers belges de construction et de réparation de bateaux d'intérieur ne pourront manquer de retirer une activité accrue de l'évolution des transports par voies d'eau intérieures, de la modernisation du matériel et des voies, de la réalisation du Canal Albert.

De ce qui précède, il ressort à suffisance que la classe des constructions navales requérait dans le cadre de l'Exposition un développement important. L'ampleur du sujet excluait d'ailleurs l'idée d'une représentation complète des activités intéressées. La réalisation a pleinement atteint le but proposé et fait honneur aux exposants qui y ont pris part.

Une première section, particulièrement développée, concernait l'HISTORIQUE DE L'ARCHITECTURE NAVALE. La Belgique peut, en effet, s'enorgueillir d'un grand passé maritime et nombreux sont les documents et pièces archéologiques recueillis dans le pays à ce sujet.

Un grand nombre de maquettes de bâtiments provenant de collections publiques et privées, illustraient l'évolution de la construction des navires égyptiens, vikings, anglais, méditerranéens, français et belges. Parmi les documents les plus typiques, il faut citer un moulage de la proue viking trouvée dans l'Escaut et exposée au British Muséum, des reproductions de pirogues de Neckerspoel et d'Austruweel, un modèle de galion (navire de guerre) du XVIe siècle, des modèles du « Bounty », de « La Constitution », de divers bateaux de pêche des bouches de l'Escaut, etc.

Une deuxième section était consacrée aux CHANTIERS DE CONSTRUCTION NAVALE. La plupart des chantiers belges avaient tenu à y être représentés et à faire connaître leurs possibilités, leur outillage et leurs réalisations. Ils montraient, à côté de photographies ou de maquettes de leurs installations, des modèles de leurs constructions les plus récentes. Les chantiers John Cockerill, à Hoboken, Jos. Boel et Fils, à Tamise, Mercantile Marine Engineering and Graving Docks et Béliard Crighton, à Anvers, avaient rivalisé de goût et d'ingéniosité dans la présentation de leurs stands. La construction navale belge, productrice en 1938 de vingt et un bâtiments totalisant un tonnage de 30.197 tonnes, si elle n'intervient que pour une bien faible part dans la production mondiale, peut cependant faire état de ses réalisations pour démontrer qu'elle peut lutter avec la concurrence étrangère sur le terrain technique.

Les chantiers de construction et de réparation de bateaux d'intérieur apportaient également une importante contribution à cette section. Les chantiers Sainte-Barbe, à Eisden-Sainte-Barbe, de Liége-Monsin, de Rupelmonde, de Jos. Boel et Fils, à Tamise, des Cimenteries et Briqueteries réunies, à Kruibeke, de J. et F. Plaquet, à Péronnes-lez-Antoing, avaient aménagé des stands particulièrement attrayants. On peut regretter que ces exposants n'aient pas réservé une place plus large aux divers aspects des études, des tracés, des procédés d'exécution qui étaient susceptibles d'intéresser le visiteur. Il faut mentionner, à ce sujet, l'effort fait dans ce sens par le Bureau technique René Nicolaï, à Liège, et surtout par le Chantier naval de Rupelmonde où une démonstration des avantages de la tuyère Kort était présentée de façon fort ingénieuse. Un certain nombre d'exposants montraient également des modèles de bâtiments spéciaux et d'engins flottants tels que dragues, pontons-grues, chalands à clapets, etc., mais parmi les modèles exposés par des sociétés d'entreprises ou autres, la plupart provenaient cependant de l'étranger.

Une troisième section était réservée à la construction des APPAREILS DE PROPULSION EN GÉNÉRAL. Elle comprenait de nombreux types d'appareils moteurs permettant de se rendre compte du développement de l'industrie belge en ce domaine. Citons en premier lieu la S. A. John Cockerill qui exposait, au Palais des Industries Lourdes, un des imposants moteurs Diesel-Sulzer de 8.000 CV. destiné à la nouvelle malle « Prince-Philippe ». Parmi les autres exposants présentant notamment des moteurs Diesel marins, figuraient : l'Anglo-Belgian C°, à Gand, les Ateliers de Construction de la Meuse, à Sclessin, les Etablissements J. R. De Kriek, à Bruxelles, les Ateliers D.D. Jeunehomme, à Jemeppe-sur-Meuse, la S. A. Moteurs Moës, à Waremme, la Société d'Electricité et de Mécanique, à Gand, les Ateliers Walschaerts, à Bruxelles.

Enfin, une quatrième section groupait tout ce qui concerne les MATÉRIAUX, PROCÉDÉS DE CONSTRUCTION ET INSTALLATIONS AUXILIAIRES propres à la technique des constructions navales, ainsi que les installations particulières relatives aux divers types de navires et de bateaux. C'est à cette section qu'il incombait de faire ressortir à quel point la construction d'un navire occupe un nombre impressionnant de corps de métiers, provoque une énorme consommation de produits de notre industrie et procure du travail à une foule d'ateliers répartis dans tout le pays. La diversité et le nombre des exposants réunis à cet effet en constituent une preuve suffisante. La qualité des produits exposés était une référence de premier ordre pour l'industrie belge.

Nous renonçons à citer toutes les firmes qui y contribuaient et il serait même fastidieux d'énumérer les produits exposés, tant ils étaient nombreux et variés. Il est remarquable de constater que cette énumération engloberait les produits de presque toutes les industries, depuis ceux de la grosse industrie jusqu'aux plus petits accessoires d'aménagement intérieur ou de décoration.

Telle quelle, l'exposition de la classe 19 a rendu compte de façon parfaite des caractères de la construction navale : à la fois technique très spéciale et source d'adaptation des techniques les plus variées.

La partie la plus importante de la participation belge se trouvait au Palais des Constructions Navales et au Palais des Industries Lourdes. Celle relative à la construction des bateaux d'intérieur figurait au Palais de la Navigation Intérieure. Enfin, diverses participations étaient encore réparties dans d'autres palais notamment ceux du Génie Civil, de la Mer et de la Ville d'Anvers.

Rappelons encore à ce sujet les nombreux modèles de navires exposés non seulement par les constructeurs, mais encore par les armateurs belges, au Palais des Constructions Navales et en divers autres endroits. Mentionnons enfin, le stand de la Fédération des Model-Yacht-Clubs de Belgique contenant les plus beaux modèles construits par ses membres.

Le thème des constructions navales, qui se prête admirablement à des formules de présentation, a certes donné toute sa mesure dans le cadre de l'Exposition de Liège. L'effort réalisé dans cette classe aura sans nul doute convaincu le public belge et étranger des possibilités de la construction navale belge. Puissent les pouvoirs publics en retirer la conviction de la nécessité de poursuivre leurs encouragements à l'initiative privée en ce domaine!

© Rapport Général - Exposition Internationale de la Technique de l'Eau - Liège 1939