Back - List of Pavilions

Gay Village Mosan - Expo Liege 1939

Gay Village Mosan at the Exhibition Expo Liege 1939
© Sentroul
Architect(s) : Duesberg, Hallen, Jeanne, Marchot, Minguet, Thirion et Toussaint

Situated at the northern end of the right bank, below the road along the Meuse, the Mosan Village had its small houses in a very old orchard. Cleverly laid out, it offered amusing perspectives, charming corners and delightful squares. The artificial stream meandered deftly through the village. Small bridges, full of poetry, jumped over it here and there.

The designers had carried out their studies in such a way as to show the different characters of the rural architecture of the Hesbaye, the banks of the Meuse, the Hervé plateau and the Ardennes. While there were many examples of old buildings, including Louis XVI buildings from Liège, there were also a number of modern buildings of perfect taste. The whole of the Place Communale, with the traditional perron in the centre, was particularly well done. The façades of the cabarets and commercial houses, decorated with wrought iron lanterns and very amusing signs, had an original character. The church square, dominated by a charming little bridge, was delightful. The church, of modern composition, with its small square tower and its lampshades anchored at each corner, demonstrated the obligation for rural architecture to adapt to the needs imposed by current construction.

The demonstrative farmhouse was a perfect example of this, - built with local materials, it showed us a study that met the laws of comfort and hygiene. It was very good modern agricultural architecture.


The Gay Village Mosan was directed by a committee composed as follows: Mr. François Capelle, president, Messrs. George Laport, André Leplat, Edouard Libotte, Henri Reners, members and Mr. Georges Fivé, secretary. The chief architect was Mr. Albert Duesberg.


1. - Design

The Gay Village Mosan of the 1939 Liège International Exhibition was designed in a new form and on a new plan. It had nothing in common with the Old Liege, Old Brussels or Old Antwerp of previous exhibitions. These reconstructions in canvas and pasteboard gave the effect of a theatre set, which was carefully avoided in the Mosan Village. The visitor was left with the impression that he was in a real village, like so many others, with its purple roofs reflected in the calm waters of the Meuse. And to maintain this illusion, the Mosan Village was built in an old orchard with century-old trees. They were left standing, so that the hamlet appeared in an island of greenery.

On the other hand, it was important that this part of the exhibition was not a reproduction of a particular place, but a synthesis of all the settlements in the Meuse basin. And the houses from each region of Wallonia were reproduced: brick and limestone houses from the Pays de Hervé, stone houses from the Condroz, slate-covered facades from Malmédy, adobe houses from the Ardennes, gunmakers' forges from the Vesdre, aristocratic hotels from Ardennes towns such as Theux and Spa, and monotonous retreats of day labourers from the Hesbaye. The types were chosen with care, each one constituting one of the most attractive specimens of the place evoked.


2. - Description

The Gay Village Mosan was located on the right bank of the Meuse, a little upstream from the Monsin dam. It covered an area of almost 3 hectares.

The buildings were given the appearance of real houses. Some were built in brick, others had a rubble base, and some were covered with a stone mould, which helped to bring the village to life. As all eras had to be represented, a concrete house, discreet in its layout, was not shy of being included, which in no way broke the archaic charm of the whole. The picturesque was not neglected: reproductions of niches and wall chapels adorned the gables that would otherwise have seemed monotonous.

The town hall, an imposing building in the Mosan style, was reminiscent of the old town hall of Visé. The building was topped by a crushing slate roof, dominated by a bulbous bell tower of the most pleasing effect. It had three rooms furnished, free of charge, by the Chambre syndicale de l'Ameublement de Liège.

The council chamber was designed in the beautiful Louis XIV style of Liège. On the walls are various paintings by the painter Robert Cromme-lynck. One of them, a vast composition entitled "La Ducasse du Village", was perfectly suited to the setting and purpose of the room. The other paintings included landscapes of the Fagnes region, reproductions of 16th century portraits and a delightfully romantic image of a 19th century girl, a copy of a painting by Nyssens by Miss Kips.

The burgomaster's room was more solemn with its sober and elegant marquetry furniture.

Finally, a third room, with rustic furniture, was intended for the administrators of the Mosan Village. Dedicated and unselfish exhibitors were willing to lend drapes, doilies and various decorative objects.

In front of the town hall stood a perxon, a symbol of the freedoms and liberties of the principality. It was a cast of the perron of Theux.

The church was designed in a modern style, perhaps even too modern for a building of this importance, in such an archaic setting. The architect, Duesberg, wanted to recall a monument from the Malmedy region and drew his inspiration from the Rhineland churches. This goal was achieved: the building clearly reflects the trends of Germanic architecture. The square tower, with its bell-castings at the corners, accentuated the appearance.

Tombstone mouldings lined one of the outer walls. The interior was very simple. The ambo, connected to one of the sacristies by an interior staircase, was a little massive and lacked character.
The ceiling, decorated with wooden logs, was a happy find and gave the building a rustic look.
The choir was lit by three large windows with stained glass windows. The subjects were chosen by the author of these lines and related to the theme of water. They were :
1° The boat carrying the corpse of St. Lambert to Maastricht, is assaulted by a storm. The sail of the boat, torn off, hovers for a few moments, then lands on a mound indicating that the martyr wanted to be honoured at this place. The church of Herstal was built there;
2° Fleeing from the castle of Chèvremont besieged by her adopted son Goduin, Saint Begge is guided by a deer which shows her the ford of the Vesdre;
3° Saint Materne, after having evangelised the inhabitants of Namêche, baptizes them in the river and orders the god Nam to rush into the waters of the Meuse.
The cartoons were painted by Mr. Joseph de Falloise, the stained glass windows were made by the Osterrath Company of Liege.
The Ateliers d'Art de l'Abbaye de Maredsous graciously decorated the church by sending an altar in grey marble from the Ardennes and black marble from Golzinne, as well as a baptismal font covered with a very elegant bell in repoussé metal. In addition, they decorated the altar with a Christ and copper lights. The director of the workshops, Dom Sébastien Braun, had insisted on adding three statues of saints with a very simple curve.

Miss Henet exhibited a very beautiful altar cloth as well as various religious embroideries. The Ateliers monastiques d'Ermeton-sur-Biert brought eight baptismal pictures, a handwritten ritual and a liturgical book.

The walls were decorated with grandiose drawings by Servaes for the Way of the Cross in Orval Abbey, paintings by Irène Vanderlinden, two paintings by William Degouve de Nuncques, "Jesus in Joseph's House" and "Jesus in the Garden of Olives", two paintings by Joseph Gérard, "Flight into Egypt" and "Adoration of the Magi", and a very beautiful panel by Julémont. There was also a crucifix, an original work sculpted by the painter J. Gérard.

The Monastery of Chèvetogne-lez-Ciney provided a cast of the miraculous Christ of Tancrémont. The Hammond House had also installed electric organs.

Curiously, while digging the foundations, a Byzantine Christ was found which was the first religious object to enter the temple.
A graceful 18th century house, representing the presbytery, was occupied by the engravers Jean Dois - elected mayor of the village by the concessionaires - and Georges Comhaire. These two young artists from Liège had very different ideas: Dois, tormented, phantasmagorical, whose art is similar to Brueghel; Comhaire, calm and serene, seeking in the contrasts of light and shadow, effects that would enhance his subject. There they worked before the public's eyes and showed how to obtain the different kinds of engravings.

In the patrician house, a puppet theatre was set up, reminiscent of the old establishments that were so popular in Outre-Meuse. The play remained in the Walloon tradition while containing the most savoury spirit of Liège. It was a great success.

The forge of the cannoneers on the banks of the Vesdre was given to the "La Lumière" charity, as the Mosan Village was unable, due to a lack of funds, to reconstitute the small trades. Blind war veterans worked there in front of the visitors.

In addition to the sculptures already mentioned, a beautiful group magnifying the "Botteresses liégeoises", by the sculptor Jacques Lalou, can be seen at the entrance to the village.

In front of the church stood a fountain topped by a nymph by R. Massart.

The other houses in the village were home to restaurants, brasseries, dance halls, shops and taverns.

The Gay Village Mosan also had its own stream, which was spanned by three culverts.

A commission, composed of Mr. G. Laport, chairman, and Messrs. Duesberg and Libotte, named the streets of the village. It insisted on keeping the Walloon essence.

The square in front of the town hall was called "Le Batty"; the main street, "Le Grand Vinâve"; a path running alongside a meadow, "Le Chemin du Pahy" (pasture path); the square bordered by the stream, "La Place des Neveux" (in memory of the bold sailors of the Meuse, Ourthe, Amblève and Vesdre rivers). Vaulted passages can be found in all the towns in the region. One of them was not forgotten, it was "L'Arvô de la Fontaine". There was also "Le Passage du Prunier", "Le Ruisseau" and "Derrière l'Hôtel de Ville", and finally "L'Avenue du Téléphérique". This last name appeared to be a neologism, but the progress to which the most remote villages are subjected should not be overlooked...

The bridge giving access to the Demonstration Farm was the "Pont du Taureau". The central bridge, "Pont Saint-Christophe": one of the ramps was decorated with a statue by the sculptor Louis Dupont representing Saint Christopher carrying Christ. The third bridge was the "Arch Bridge".


3. - Village life

The Administration hired a brass band which every day (except Friday) spread streams of harmony along the alleys of the village. The musicians wore the archaic Walloon costume: silk cap, smock, checked trousers. And late at night, the cramignons (Walloon farandoles) unfolded their sinuous arabesques, justifying the hamlet's qualification as a "gay village".

The village also had its casino, a theatre that could hold eight hundred people. During the entire duration of the Exhibition, the Théâtre de l'A.B.C. de Paris came to give weekly performances which ensured the success of the enterprise.

Mr. Crescent, General Commissioner of the French Section, organised two galas and the Association for the Extension and Culture of the French Language and the Amitiés françaises organised four recitals with the help of Mrs. Mila Cirul, Mrs. de Valmalète, Mrs. Lucie Vautrin, Mr. José Germain and Mr. Pierre Bernac.

There were also numerous conferences, concerts conducted by the Belgian composer Simar, and the parade of the French Provinces: all events that kept the public on its toes.

The administration of the Gay Village Mosan planned four major galas. These were to take place in the Grand Palais des Fêtes. Only two of them were held: the ballets of Loie Fuller and the performance of Maurice Chevalier. The premature closure of the Exhibition prevented the complete realisation of this programme.

At night, the village was illuminated in a new and original way. On a 56-metre high tower, a disc with a diameter of 7 metres was placed, projecting the light of a million electric candles. This achievement represented the lighting produced by the moon.

The Mosan Village was also animated by several festivals: the parade of flags, the re-enactment of a wedding in Trois-Ponts under the old regime, the Dagenham girls-pipers' music, the ham day, the races on the plateau and many others.

Open-air crochets were organised and each time attracted many participants.

The village received various official visits: the King of the Belgians, the Queen of Holland, the Grand Duchess of Luxembourg, Prince Félix of Bourbon-Parme, Queen Elisabeth, the Duchess of Vendôme, Prince Charles of Sweden, and many other distinguished personalities.

© General Report - International Water Technology Exhibition - Liège 1939

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Gay Village Mosan


Gay Village Mosan à l'exposition de Liège 1939

© Sentroul
Architecte(s) : Duesberg, Hallen, Jeanne, Marchot, Minguet, Thirion et Toussaint

Situé à l'extrême nord de la rive droite, en contre-bas de la chaussée longeant la Meuse, le Village mosan campait ses maisonnettes parmi un très vieux verger. Habilement tracé, il ménageait des perspectives amusantes, des coins charmants, des places ravissantes. Le ruisseau artificiel serpentait adroitement à travers le village. De petits ponts, pleins de poésie, le sautaient de-ci, de-là.

Les créateurs avaient conduit leurs études de manière à montrer les différents caractères de l'architecture rurale de la Hesbaye, des bords de la Meuse, du plateau de Hervé et des Ardennes. Si l'on rencontrait beaucoup d'exemples de constructions anciennes, entre autres du Louis XVI liégeois, on pouvait admirer certaines réalisations modernes d'un goût parfait. L'ensemble de la Place Communale avec, au centre, le perron traditionnel, était particulièrement bien réussi. Les façades des cabarets et maisons de commerce, agrémentées de lanternes en fer forgé et d'enseignes très amusantes, présentaient un caractère original. La place de l'Eglise, commandée par un petit pont plein de charme, était ravissante. L'Eglise, de composition moderne, avec sa petite tour carrée et ses abat-sons ancrés à chaque angle, démontrait l'obligation pour l'architecture rurale de s'adapter aux nécessités imposées par la construction actuelle.

La ferme démonstrative en était un parfait exemple,- construite avec les matériaux du pays, elle nous montrait une étude répondant aux lois du confort et de l'hygiène. C'était de la très bonne architecture agricole moderne.


Le Gay Village mosan était dirigé par un comité composé comme suit : M. François Capelle, président, MM. George Laport, André Leplat, Edouard Libotte, Henri Reners, membres et M. Georges Fivé, secrétaire. L'architecte en chef était M. Albert Duesberg.


1. - Conception

Le Gay Village mosan de l'Exposition internationale de Liège 1939 fut conçu sous une forme et sur un plan nouveaux. Il n'avait rien de commun avec le Vieux-Liège, le Vieux-Bruxelles, le Vieil-Anvers des expositions précédentes. Ces reconstitutions en toile et en carton-pâte donnaient l'effet d'un décor de théâtre, ce que l'on chercha soigneusement à éviter au Village mosan. On voulut laisser au visiteur l'impression qu'il se trouvait dans un réel village, pareil à tant d'autres, mirant ses toits violets dans les flots calmes de la Meuse. Et pour entretenir cette illusion, le Village mosan fut édifié dans un ancien verger garni d'arbres centenaires. On les laissa subsister, de sorte que le hameau apparut dans un îlot de verdure.

D'un autre côté, on tint à ce que cette partie de l'Exposition ne fût pas la reproduction d'un lieu déterminé, mais formât la synthèse de toutes les agglomérations appartenant au bassin de la Meuse. Et l'on reproduisit des maisons propres à chaque région du pays wallon : demeures en briques et en calcaire du Pays de Hervé, mandons en moellons du Condroz, façades recouvertes d'ardoises de Malmédy, habitations en pisé de l'Ardenne, forges des canonniers de la Vesdre, hôtels aristocratiques de villettes ardennaises telles Theux et Spa, monotones retraites des journaliers de la Hesbaye. Les types furent choisis avec soin, chacun constituant un des plus coquets spécimens de l'endroit évoqué.


2. - Description

Le Gay Village mosan était situé sur la rive droite de la Meuse, un peu en amont du barrage de Monsin. Il couvrait une superficie de près de 3 hectares.

On donna aux bâtiments l'allure de réelles habitations. Les uns furent bâtis en briques, les autres eurent un soubassement en moellons, enfin certains furent recouverts d'un moulage de pierres, ce qui contribua à rendre le village tout à fait vivant. Comme toutes les époques devaient être représentées, on n'a pas craint d'y faire figurer une maison en béton, discrète dans son ordonnance, qui ne rompit en rien le charme archaïque de l'ensemble. Le pittoresque ne fut point négligé : des reproductions de niches, de chapelles murales ornèrent des pignons qui eussent paru monotones.

L'hôtel de ville, bâtiment imposant de style mosan, rappelait l'ancienne maison communale de Visé. L'édifice était coiffé d'une écrasante toiture d'ardoises, dominée par un clocheton bulbeux du plus heureux effet. Il comportait trois pièces meublées, à titre gracieux, par la Chambre syndicale de l'Ameublement de Liège.

La salle du conseil fut conçue dans un très beau style Louis XIV liégeois. Aux murs, différents tableaux du peintre Robert Cromme-lynck. L'un d'eux, vaste composition intitulée « La Ducasse du Village », s'harmonisait parfaitement avec le cadre et la destination du local. Les autres toiles figuraient des paysages de la Fagne, des reproductions de portraits du XVIe siècle et une délicieuse image très romantique d'une fillette du XIXe siècle, copie d'une toile de Nyssens par Mlle Kips.

Le cabinet du bourgmestre était plus solennel avec son mobilier en marqueterie sobre et élégante.

Enfin, une troisième chambre, comportant un mobilier rustique, était destinée aux administrateurs du Village mosan. Des exposants dévoués et désintéressés voulurent bien prêter les tentures, les napperons et divers objets de décoration.

Devant la maison communale, se dressait un perxon, symbole des libertés et franchises de la principauté. C'était un moulage du perron de Theux.

L'église était conçue en style moderne, peut-être trop moderne même pour un édifice de cette importance, dans un ensemble aussi archaïque. Son auteur, l'architecte Duesberg, voulut rappeler un monument du pays malmédien et puisa son inspiration parmi les églises de Rhénanie. Le but fut atteint : la construction marquait nettement les tendances de l'architecture germanique. La tour carrée, avec ses abat-sons disposés aux angles, en accentuait l'allure.

Des moulures de pierres tombales garnissaient un des murs extérieurs. L'intérieur était d'une grande simplicité. L'ambon, relié à une des sacristies par un escalier intérieur, était un peu massif et manquait de caractère.
Le plafond, orné de rondins de bois, constituait une heureuse trouvaille et donnait à l'édifice une allure rustique.
Le chœur était éclairé par trois grandes fenêtres garnies de vitraux. Se rapportant au thème de l'eau, les sujets avaient été choisis par l'auteur de ces lignes. C'étaient :
1° La barque transportant le cadavre de saint Lambert à Maastricht, est assaillie par un orage. La voile du bateau, arrachée, plane quelques instants, puis va se poser sur un tertre indiquant que le martyr voulait être honoré à cet endroit. Là fut bâtie l'église de Herstal;
2° Fuyant le château de Chèvremont assiégé par son fils adoptif Goduin, sainte Begge est guidée par une biche qui lui montre le gué de la Vesdre;
3° Saint Materne, après avoir évangélisé les habitants de Namêche, les baptise dans le fleuve et ordonne au dieu Nam de se précipiter dans les eaux de la Meuse.
Les cartons furent peints par M. Joseph de Falloise, les vitraux exécutés par la Maison Osterrath, de Liège.
Les Ateliers d'Art de l'Abbaye de Maredsous avaient décoré gracieusement l'église en envoyant un autel en marbre gris des Ardennes et en marbre noir de Golzinne, ainsi que des fonts baptismaux couverts d'une cloche en métal repoussé de beaucoup d'élégance. En outre, ils décorèrent l'autel d'un christ et de luminaires en cuivre. Le Directeur des ateliers, dom Sébastien Braun, avait tenu à ajouter trois statues de saints au galbe très simple.

Mlle Henet exposa une très belle nappe d'autel ainsi que différentes broderies religieuses. Les Ateliers monastiques d'Ermeton-sur-Biert apportèrent huit images de baptême, un rituel manuscrit et un livre liturgique.

Les murs étaient ornés par des dessins grandioses de Servaes destinés au chemin de croix de l'Abbaye d'Orval, des peintures d'Irène Vanderlinden, deux tableaux de William Degouve de Nuncques « Jésus chez Joseph » et « Jésus au Jardin des Oliviers », deux tableaux de Joseph Gérard « Fuite en Egypte » et « Adoration des Mages », et par un fort beau panneau dû aux pinceaux de Julémont. On remarquait encore un crucifix, œuvre originale sculptée par le peintre J. Gérard.

Le Monastère de Chèvetogne-lez-Ciney fournit un moulage du christ miraculeux de Tancrémont. La Maison Hammond avait également installé des orgues électriques.

Chose curieuse, en creusant les fondations, on trouva un christ byzantin qui fut le premier objet religieux entrant dans le temple.
Une gracieuse maison du XVIIIe siècle, figurant le presbytère, fut occupée par les graveurs Jean Dois — élu mayeur du village par les concessionnaires - et Georges Comhaire. Jeunes artistes liégeois aux conceptions si différentes : Dois, tourmenté, fantasmagorique, dont l'art s'apparente à Brueghel; Comhaire, calme et serein, cherchant dans les contrastes de la lumière et de l'ombre, des effets propres à mettre son sujet en valeur. Là, ils travaillaient sous les yeux du public et montraient comment on obtient les différentes espèces de gravures.

Dans la maison patricienne, fut établi un théâtre de marionnettes rappelant les anciens établissements si populaires en OutreMeuse. La pièce resta dans les traditions bien wallonnes tout en contenant le plus savoureux esprit liégeois. Elle obtint le plus vif succès.

La forge des canonniers des bords de la Vesdre fut cédée à l'œuvre « La Lumière », le Village mosan n'ayant pu, faute de fonds, reconstituer les petits métiers. Des aveugles de guerre y travaillèrent devant les visiteurs.

Outre les sculptures déjà citées, signalons, à l'entrée du village, un beau groupe magnifiant les « Botteresses liégeoises », dû au sculpteur Jacques Lalou.

Devant l'église, se dressait une fontaine surmontée d'une nymphe de R. Massart.

Les autres maisons du village abritèrent des restaurants, brasseries, dancings, boutiques, tavernes.

Le Gay Village mosan eut aussi son ruisseau qu'enjambaient trois ponceaux.

Une commission, composée de M. G. Laport, président, et de MM. Duesberg et Libotte, baptisa les rues du village. Elle tint à conserver l'essence bien wallonne.

La place de l'hôtel de ville fut « Le Batty »; la grand'rue, « Le Grand Vinâve »,- un sentier longeant une prairie, « Le Chemin du Pahy » (chemin du pâturage) , la place bordée par le ruisseau, « La Place des Neveux » (en souvenir des hardis mariniers de la Meuse, de l'Ourthe, de l'Amblève et de la Vesdre). Des passages voûtés se retrouvent dans toutes les agglomérations de la région. L'un d'eux ne fut pas oublié, ce fut « L'Arvô de la Fontaine ». Il y avait encore « Le Passage du Prunier », celui « du Ruisseau » et de « Derrière l'Hôtel de Ville », enfin « L'Avenue du Téléphérique ». Cette dernière dénomination apparaissait comme un néologisme, mais il ne fallait point négliger les progrès auxquels sont soumis les villages les plus reculés...

Le pont donnant accès à la Ferme démonstrative fut le "Pont du Taureau". Le pont central, « Pont Saint-Christophe » : une des rampes étant agrémentée d'une statue due au sculpteur Louis Dupont et représentant saint Christophe portant le Christ. Le troisième pont fut celui « de l'Arche ».


3. - La vie du village

L'Administration engagea une fanfare qui chaque jour (vendredi excepté) répandait des flots d'harmonie au long des venelles du village. Les musiciens portaient l'archaïque costume wallon : casquette de soie, sarrau, pantalon à carreaux. Et, tard dans la nuit, les cramignons (farandoles de Wallonie) déroulaient leurs arabesques sinueuses justifiant au hameau la qualification de « gay village ».

Le village eut également son casino, théâtre pouvant contenir huit cents personnes. Pendant toute la durée de l'Exposition, le Théâtre de l'A.B.C. de Paris vint y donner, chaque semaine, des représentations qui assurèrent le succès de l'entreprise.

M. Crescent, commissaire général de la Section française, y organisa deux galas et l'Association pour l'Extension et la Culture de la Langue française et les Amitiés françaises conçurent quatre récitals avec le concours de Mmes Mila Cirul, de Valmalète, Lucie Vautrin, MM. José Germain et Pierre Bernac.

Il y eut aussi de nombreuses séances de conférences, de concerts dirigés par le compositeur belge Simar, le défilé des Provinces françaises : toutes manifestations qui ne cessèrent de tenir le public en éveil.

L'Administration du Gay Village Mosan projeta quatre grands galas. Ceux-ci devaient avoir lieu au Grand Palais des Fêtes. Deux seuls virent le jour : les ballets de Loie Fuller et la représentation de Maurice Chevalier. La fermeture prématurée de l'Exposition empêcha la réalisation complète de ce programme.

La nuit, le village était éclairé d'une façon originale et nouvelle. Sur une tour de 56 mètres de haut, était placé un disque de 7 mètres de diamètre, projetant la lueur d'un million de bougies électriques. Cette réalisation figurait l'éclairage produit par la lune.

Plusieurs fêtes animèrent encore le Village mosan : le défilé des drapeaux, la reconstitution d'une noce à Trois-Ponts sous l'ancien régime, la musique des Dagenham-girls-pipers, la journée du jambon, des courses du plateau et combien d'autres.

Des crochets furent organisés en plein air et attirèrent chaque fois de nombreux participants.

Le village reçut diverses visites officielles : le Roi des Belges, la Reine de Hollande, la Grande-Duchesse de Luxembourg, le Prince Félix de Bourbon-Parme, la Reine Elisabeth, la Duchesse de Vendôme, le Prince Charles de Suède, et de nombreuses personnalités de marque.

© Rapport Général - Exposition Internationale de la Technique de l'Eau - Liège 1939