Back - List of Pavilions

Inland Navigation - Expo Liege 1939

Missing picture

Built in the axis of the main entrance and that of Bressoux, the Civil Engineering, Sea and Inland Navigation Palaces were the most prominent buildings at the Exhibition. They had a frontage of 270 metres and more than 5,000 m2 of usable surface area. They should have been, by their proportions and location, the most striking buildings. Unfortunately, this was not the case, but let us add, in all fairness, that the architects cannot be held responsible. They had presented the Architectural Advisory Commission with very well thought-out projects. It was the need to limit expenditure that prompted the authors of the project to simplify its execution. Subsequently, attempts were made to correct the excessive bareness of the facades by applying decorative motifs, but without success. Fortunately, the good architectural ensemble formed by the central tribune and its large staircases, by the flowered terraces and the upper gallery, united the three blocks somewhat. A sculpture by Puvrez, "The Goddess of Water", enhanced the façade facing the entrance to Bressoux.

The interior decoration was worthy of the importance of these palaces. Variously shaped canopies in gold, blue and white hues concealed the "Eternit" corrugated roof. The walls were decorated with high-quality frescoes by the painter Laforêt for the Inland Navigation Palace, by Mr. Van der Borght and Miss Jasinski for the Civil Engineering Palace, and by Gérardy for the Sea Palace, reminding us of the exhibition's purpose. The interior was very attractive.


It is understandable that the Administration des Ponts et Chaussées and the other public administrations dealing with navigation issues were largely represented there. Let us first mention the Office de la Navigation in Liège, which had put together a very important display, including a model and a diorama showing the effects of irrigating the arid lands of the Campine with canal water. A second stand highlighted the dangers to which the dykes are exposed, in particular by burrowing organisms such as the muskrat or the Chinese crab, whose wanderings in Europe are particularly curious.

Two other stands detailed numerous statistics concerning the waterways operated by this office and, in a neighbouring stand, there was a model of the electric equipment with hydraulic transmission of the Blue Stone locks in Lommel. Finally, a last compartment contained a model of a gate boat for rapid repairs at the locks of the Kempen canals.

The numerous departments of the Belgian Road Administration, which made a significant contribution to the Belgian participation, occupied the majority of the side stands. The three compartments of the Special Service of the Meuse highlighted, by means of maps and equipment, the importance of navigation on this canalized river and the recent progress made in terms of signalling, lighting of structures, recording of water levels, telephone links, flood forecasting and warning. Maps and statistical diagrams also formed the main part of the stands of the Special Services of the Coast, the Scheldt River Basin, the Maritime Scheldt and its Tidal Tributaries, the Borinage and the Sambre. The plates exhibited by the study service of the Antwerp Maritime Services summarised the tidal regime of the Scheldt and its tributaries. At the stands of the Special Service of the Coal Canals, attention was drawn to the plan of the telephone connections and the signalling of the Godarville tunnel, as well as to a device that warns and records the variations in the level of a reach, showing the importance of the waves caused by the locks.

This remarkable participation by the Administration highlighted, in a striking manner, its praiseworthy efforts over the last few years to improve the operating conditions of our waterways, both by improving the equipment of the old waterways (canalized Meuse, Sambre, Campine canals, Charleroi-Brussels canal) and by building new links. The visitor was left with the justified and comforting impression that our network is currently the object of attentive care and efficiently kept up to date with technical progress and traffic needs, to the great benefit of the national economy.

The interest shown in the waterways is not only manifested by the activity of the Administration des Ponts et Chaussées: local authorities, regional economic groups and even private initiative are acting in the same way.

However, both because of the general interests involved and because of the importance of the funds required for the establishment of new roads or for the improvement, maintenance and operation of existing ones, all these efforts ultimately tend to provoke considerable financial intervention by the State. This is a stumbling block that can only be overcome by time. It may be considered a satisfactory sign of vitality that future projects, some of which are hypothetical, supplement the statistical relations of the past and the picture of the present state of the waterways and their activity. This gives hope for further considerable progress and opens up vast perspectives for the work of engineers.

If the Bruges and Brussels Canal and Maritime Installations Societies could report on the results of their constantly improving installations, the Hainaut Canal Society is at the stage of active propaganda, which its stand illustrated in a striking manner, with a view to the creation of a large waterway intended to serve the industrial basins of Charleroi and the Centre. The new canal should make up for the inadequacy of the Charleroi canal, at least from Clabecq to the Sambre. On the other hand, the plan for a Visé-Aachen canal linking the Meuse to the Rhine without passing through Dutch territory was an anticipation of complicated problems that had been discussed for a long time.

The central part of the Palais de la Navigation Intérieure was occupied by a large number of stands dealing with the most diverse elements of inland navigation. Many of these related to river ports and have been described in the previous chapter. Others, also in number, were built by the construction and repair yards of inland waterway vessels: this will be discussed in connection with class 19. Transport, shipping and chartering companies showed, in a suggestive way, the size of their fleet, reduced specimens of their vessels and the traffic carried by their firm. Freight tables illustrated the commercial factor. Towing and salvage companies exhibited fine models of tugs, crane pontoons and bigues, as well as diving suits. The traction of boats by tracked vehicles, practised on certain Belgian routes, was represented.

Accessories for navigation: ropes, cables, chains, anchors, motor pumps, generators, lanterns and lights, buoys, waterproof fabrics and special clothing, equipment and 'special' parts, belonging to class 19 (shipbuilding) as well as to class 17, filled numerous stands, highlighting the value of national products. Several electrical equipment factories exhibited their applications relating to the equipment of ships and waterways (telephone, signalling, lighting, control and recording, electro-mechanical manoeuvring of structures, etc.) and thus proved how indispensable the resources of electrical technology are today for navigation. A large specialist mechanical engineering workshop had a stand dedicated to handling equipment for shipping. Even the exploitation of dredged material from certain waterways, such as the Meuse, was represented.

The legal and social aspects of inland navigation were highlighted by graphics by Professor Van Criekinge on inland waterway insurance and mortgages, and by the professional training of boatmen. The historical point of view was not neglected, as two large panels contained charts relating to inland navigation in past centuries. Finally, the scientific study of inland navigation was summarised in panels showing Professor E. Bogaert's experiments on the resistance of various types of boats to the advance of water.

The whole of the Palais de la Navigation Intérieure was completed, from the point of view of class 17, by the pavilions of the cities of Antwerp and Ghent and by certain objects exhibited in the Palais des Industries Lourdes, in particular the diesel engines so widespread today for the propulsion of self-propelled boats and whose Belgian types can support all comparisons.

It will be seen from this presentation that class 17 had the importance and completeness in the Belgian participation that the aim and purpose of the Exhibition required. As with classes 4 and 5, coordination and grouping produced the best results and showed that this formula deserves to be extended to similar exhibitions.

Finally, let us mention the happy decoration of the Palais de la Navigation Intérieure. The back wall, above the southern entrance, was decorated with a gigantic map of the waterways of Western and Central Europe. It showed all the existing waterways, those in the process of being built and others that are planned in the near future. This superb composition, enhanced by light points, revealed to the visitor the importance of the network of waterways enclosing the continent in a vast spider's web, from the eastern Baltic to the Pas-de-Calais and from the North Sea to the Mediterranean. The two long longitudinal walls developed in a picturesque armorial theory the course of the regions and localities of the great Rhine route (Germany-Netherlands) and the French waterways leading to the Albert Canal.

© General Report - International Water Technology Exhibition - Liège 1939

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Navigation Intérieure



Construits dans l'axe de l'entrée principale et de celle de Bressoux, les Palais du Génie Civil, de la Mer et de la Navigation Intérieure étaient les plus en vue de l'Exposition. Ils avaient un développement de façade de 270 mètres et plus de 5.000 m2 de superficie utile. Ils auraient dû être, par leurs proportions et leur emplacement, les bâtiments les plus marquants. Il n'en fut malheureusement rien, mais ajoutons, en toute justice, que les architectes ne peuvent en être rendus responsables. Ils avaient présenté à la Commission Consultative d'Architecture des projets fort bien étudiés. Cest la nécessité de limiter les dépenses qui mit les auteurs du projet en demeure d'en simplifier l'exécution. Par la suite, on essaya de corriger la trop grande nudité des façades par l'application de motifs décoratifs, mais ce fut sans succès. Heureusement, le bon ensemble architectural formé par la tribune centrale et ses grands escaliers, par les gradins fleuris et la galerie supérieure, vint unir quelque peu les trois blocs. Une sculpture « La Déesse de l'Eau », création de Puvrez, rehaussait la façade donnant sur l'entrée de Bressoux.

La décoration intérieure fut digne de l'importance de ces palais. Des vélums aux formes variées, aux tons dorés, bleutés ou blancs, masquaient la couverture d'ondulés « Eternit ». Des fresques de qualité exécutées par le peintre Laforêt, pour le Palais de la Navigation Intérieure, par M. Van der Borght et Mlle Jasinski, pour celui du Génie Civil, et par Gérardy, pour celui de la Mer, décoraient les parois, rappelant l'objet de l'exposition. L'intérieur avait grande allure.


Il se conçoit à priori que l'Administration des Ponts et Chaussées et les autres administrations publiques qui s'occupent des questions de navigation y étaient largement représentées. Citons d'abord l'Office de la Navigation à Liège qui avait constitué un ensemble très important parmi lequel une maquette et un diorama montraient les effets des irrigations des terrains arides de la Campine par les eaux des canaux. Un deuxième stand faisait ressortir les dangers auxquels sont exposées les digues, notamment par des organismes fouisseurs tels le rat musqué ou le crabe chinois dont la pérégrination en Europe est particulièrement curieuse.

Deux autres stands détaillaient de nombreuses statistiques concernant les voies navigables exploitées par cet office et, dans un stand voisin, figurait une maquette de l'équipement électrique à transmission hydraulique des écluses de la Pierre Bleue à Lommel. Enfin, un dernier compartiment contenait un modèle réduit de bateau-porte permettant les réparations rapides aux écluses des canaux de la Campine.

Les nombreux services de l'Administration des Ponts et Chaussées qui contribuaient de façon importante à la participation belge, occupaient la majorité des stands latéraux. Les trois compartiments du Service spécial de la Meuse mettaient en évidence, par des cartes et des appareils, l'importance de la navigation sur ce fleuve canalisé et les progrès récents accomplis en matière de signalisation, d'éclairage des ouvrages d'art, d'enregistrement des hauteurs d'eau, de liaison téléphonique, de prévision et d'annonce des crues. Des cartes et des diagrammes statistiques formaient aussi l'essentiel des stands des Services spéciaux de la Côte, du Bassin fluvial de l'Escaut, de l'Escaut maritime et de ses Affluents soumis à la Marée, du Borinage et de la Sambre. Les planches exposées par le service d'étude des Services maritimes d'Anvers synthétisaient le régime des marées de l'Escaut et de ses affluents. Aux stands du Service spécial des Canaux houillers, l'attention était portée sur le plan des liaisons téléphoniques et de la signalisation du tunnel de Godarville, ainsi que sur un appareil avertisseur et enregistreur des variations du niveau d'un bief, montrant l'importance des ondes provoquées par les éclusages.

Cette remarquable participation de l'Administration mettait en évidence, d'une manière saisissante, ses louables efforts exercés depuis quelques années en vue d'améliorer les conditions d'exploitation de nos voies navigables, tant par le perfectionnement de l'équipement des voies anciennes (Meuse canalisée, Sambre, canaux de la Campine, canal de Charleroi à Bruxelles) que par la construction de nouvelles liaisons. Le visiteur en emportait l'impression justifiée et réconfortante que notre réseau est actuellement l'objet de soins attentifs et efficacement tenu à la hauteur des progrès de la technique et des besoins du trafic, au grand bénéfice de l'économie nationale.

L'intérêt témoigné aux voies de navigation ne se manifeste pas seulement par l'activité de l'Administration des Ponts et Chaussées : les pouvoirs publics locaux, les groupements économiques régionaux et même l'initiative privée agissent dans le même sens.

Cependant, tant en raison des intérêts généraux en cause que de l'importance des fonds requis pour l'établissement de nouvelles voies ou pour l'amélioration, l'entretien et l'exploitation de celles qui existent, tous ces efforts tendent finalement à provoquer des interventions financières considérables de l'Etat. C'est là une pierre d'achoppement qui ne peut être surmontée que par le temps. On peut considérer comme un indice satisfaisant de vitalité que des projets d'avenir, dont certains de réalisation hypothétique, complétaient les relations statistiques du passé et le tableau de l'état actuel des voies navigables et de leur activité. Cela permet de nourrir l'espoir de progrès encore très importants et d'ouvrir de vastes perspectives pour le travail des ingénieurs.

Si les Sociétés des Canaux et des Installations maritimes de Bruges et de Bruxelles pouvaient faire état des résultats de leurs installations sans cesse améliorées, la Société du Canal du Hainaut en est au stade d'une propagande active, que son stand illustrait d'une manière frappante, en vue de la création d'une grande voie d'eau destinée à desservir les bassins industriels de Charleroi et du Centre. Le nouveau canal devrait suppléer à l'insuffisance du canal de Charleroi, du moins depuis Clabecq jusqu'à la Sambre. D'autre part, le schéma d'un canal Visé-Aix-la-Chapelle reliant la Meuse au Rhin sans passer par le territoire néerlandais, constituait une anticipation touchant à des problèmes compliqués débattus depuis longtemps.

La partie centrale du Palais de la Navigation Intérieure était occupée par un grand nombre de stands ayant trait aux éléments les plus divers de la navigation fluviale. Beaucoup se rapportaient aux ports fluviaux et ont été décrits au chapitre précédent. D'autres, en nombre également, étaient édifiés par les chantiers de construction et de réparation des bateaux d'intérieur : il en sera question à propos de la classe 19. Des sociétés de transport, d'armement fluvial et d'affrètement montraient, de manière suggestive, l'importance de leur flotte, des spécimens réduits de leurs bateaux et le trafic assuré par leur firme. Des tableaux de frets illustraient le facteur commercial. Des entreprises de remorquage et de sauvetage exposaient de beaux modèles de remorqueurs, de pontons-grues et bigues, ainsi que des scaphandres. La traction des bateaux par autos-chenilles, pratiquées sur certaines voies belges, était représentée.

Les accessoires de la navigation : cordages, câbles, chaînes, ancres, motos-pompes, groupes électrogènes, lanternes et feux, bouées, tissus imperméables et vêtements spéciaux, apparaux et pièces 'spéciales, relevant autant de la classe 19 (constructions navales) que de la classe 17, garnissaient de nombreux stands faisant ressortir la valeur des produits nationaux. Plusieurs usines d'appareillage électrique exposaient leurs applications relatives à l'équipement des bateaux et des voies navigables (téléphone, signalisation, éclairage, contrôle et enregistrement, manœuvre électro-mécanique des ouvrages d'art, etc.) et prouvaient ainsi combien les ressources de la technique électrique sont actuellement indispensables à la navigation. Un important atelier spécialisé de construction mécanique consacrait son stand aux engins de manutention pour la navigation. Même l'exploitation des produits de dragage de certaines voies, comme la Meuse, était représentée.

L'aspect juridique et social de la navigation intérieure était mis en évidence par des graphiques du Professeur Van Criekinge relatifs aux assurances et hypothèques fluviales et par l'enseignement professionnel des bateliers. Le point de vue historique n'était pas négligé car deux grands panneaux portaient des tableaux se rapportant à la navigation intérieure dans les siècles passés. Enfin, des tableaux relatant les expériences du Professeur E. Bogaert sur la résistance à l'avancement de divers types de bateaux, synthétisaient l'étude scientifique de la navigation fluviale.

L'ensemble du Palais de la Navigation Intérieure était complété, au point de vue de la classe 17, par les pavillons des Villes d'Anvers et de Gand et par certains objets exposés au Palais des Industries Lourdes, notamment les moteurs Diesel si répandus aujourd'hui pour la propulsion des bateaux auto-moteurs et dont les types belges peuvent soutenir toutes les comparaisons.

On pourra juger par cet exposé que la classe 17 revêtait dans la participation belge l'importance et le caractère complet qu'imposaient le but et l'objet de l'Exposition. Comme pour les classes 4 et 5, la coordination et le groupement ont produit les meilleurs résultats et ont montré que cette formule mérite d'être encore étendue dans des expositions analogues.

Pour terminer, évoquons l'heureuse décoration du Palais de la Navigation Intérieure. La paroi du fond, au-dessus de l'entrée sud, était ornée d'une carte gigantesque des voies navigables de l'Europe occidentale et centrale. Y figuraient toutes les voies existantes, celles en cours de réalisation et d'autres qui font l'objet de projets à plus ou moins longue échéance. Cette superbe composition, rehaussée de points lumineux, dévoilait au visiteur l'importance du réseau de voies de navigation enserrant le continent dans une vaste toile d'araignée, de l'est de la Baltique au Pas-de-Calais et de la mer du Nord à la Méditerranée. Les deux longues parois longitudinales développaient en une théorie armoriée et pittoresque le déroulement des régions et des localités de la grande voie rhénane (Allemagne-Pays-Bas) et des voies navigables de France aboutissant au Canal Albert.

© Rapport Général - Exposition Internationale de la Technique de l'Eau - Liège 1939