International Water Technology Exhibition in Liege 1939

May 20, 1939 - September 2, 1939


Back - List of Pavilions

Norway

Norway at the Exhibition Expo Liege 1939

To show how closely the destiny of the Norwegian people is linked to the things of the sea and to the prodigious power of its countless waterfalls: this was the primary aim of the country's participation in the 1939 International Exhibition in Liege. The Section occupied a stand of 400 square metres in the Palais International No. 23, located on the right bank of the Meuse, near the main entrance to Bressoux.

The Commissioner General of the Norwegian Government was Mr. Axel Goemaere from Antwerp. He was assisted by Mr. Rolf Munk, Norwegian Consul in Brussels, Deputy Commissioner General. The Executive Committee of the participation was chaired by Mr. H. Horn, Managing Director of the Norwegian Zinc Company, S. A., in Odda. The design was entrusted to the Norwegian architect Mr. Pran.

In the centre of the stand, a large relief map measuring 20 metres by 8 metres was displayed below. It showed us the country bathed in the south, west and north by the sea, which penetrates deep into the interior and forms the famous fjords, with their sinuous contours and rare beauty. The many harbours bear witness to the development of maritime life. Ships and fishing boats line the coast. The Norwegian merchant fleet is one of the largest in the world, compared to the population density.

As one moves away from the sea, one gradually reaches the mountainous regions. The gentle slopes of the hills, excellent for skiers, slowly rise to peaks of 1,000 to 1,500 metres. An extensive network of railway lines covers the plains and the slopes of the mountains. Here and there you can see the cities and their characteristic buildings, such as the Oslo City Hall. The map also showed the important role played by the mining and timber industries, fisheries and agriculture in the national economy.

But what was most striking was the enormous power of white coal, which supplies electricity to the major industries. This relief map thus gave an excellent overall impression of the country, its climatic and geological conditions, its industrial production and its maritime and commercial life.
Around the map, which in a way summarised the common interests of the various exhibitors, were grouped the individual stands.

The maritime route from Belgium to Norway was presented. A shipping company exhibited a model of one of its ships that operated a weekly passenger and freight service between Antwerp and Oslo.

Various factories showed views of their facilities, and some displayed samples of their products. These included zinc, ferro-manganese, carbide, etc.

The Union des Usines d'Electricité had a stand dedicated to the electrical industry. With the help of maps, plans, tables, diagrams and graphs, the importance of Norway's water power was highlighted. They far exceed those of any other country. They are estimated at 13 million KW. of which barely 2 million are currently installed. As technical progress makes the use of white coal more valuable, these quantities will only increase.

A map showed the waterfalls of at least 2,000 KW. and the energy recovered and used. The exploited waterfalls were marked differently depending on whether they belonged to the state, to municipalities or to private individuals. The non-operated waterfalls and those of lesser importance were also indicated. Many of them are located in the vicinity of ice-free ports.
Another map showed the steady progress of white coal mining from 1908 to the present day. It also showed how the electric power of water had been distributed throughout the country at the cost of enormous difficulties. Other maps and statistics happily completed this interesting set.

The Norwegian participation thus showed in a striking way how the great maritime and industrial enterprises were able to create advantageous conditions of existence for hundreds of thousands of people living on a land which, by its nature, offered only mediocre resources.

Norway is therefore one of the most prosperous countries in Europe. Despite its northern location, it has a relatively mild climate. The average temperature is very high compared to other countries at the same latitude. Thirty years ago, Norway was still little visited. Today, it has become a favourite destination for thousands of tourists.

The only entries to the Jury were in class 13, the Collective of Exhibiting Industrialists, and in class 16II, the Electric Furnace Products Company Ltd, Sauda (ferro-manganese). Their merits were officially recognised with two brilliant Grand Prix awards.

© General Report - International Water Technology Exhibition - Liège 1939

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Norvège


Norvège à l'exposition de Liège 1939

Montrer combien le destin des habitants de la Norvège est intimement lié aux choses da la mer et à la force prodigieuse de ses innombrables chutes d'eau : tel était le but primordial de la participation du pays à l'Exposition internationale de Liège 1939. La Section occupait un stand de 400 mètres carrés au Palais international n° 23, situé sur la rive droite de la Meuse, à proximité de l'entrée principale de Bressoux.

Le Commissaire général du Gouvernement norvégien était M. Axel Goemaere, d'Anvers. Il était assisté de M. Rolf Munk, consul de Norvège à Bruxelles, Commissaire général adjoint. Le Comité exécutif de la participation était présidé par M. H. Horn, administrateur-directeur général de la Compagnie norvégienne de Zinc, S. A., à Odda. L'aménagement avait été confié à l'architecte norvégien M. Pran.

Au centre du stand, se déployait en contre-bas une grande carte en relief mesurant 20 mètres sur 8. Elle nous montrait le pays baigné au sud, à l'ouest et au nord par la mer qui pénètre profondément à l'intérieur des terres et forme ces fjords célèbres, aux contours sinueux et d'une rare beauté. Les nombreux ports attestent le développement de la vie maritime. Des navires et des barques de pêche longent les côtes. Aussi, la flotte marchande norvégienne est-elle une des plus importantes du monde, comparativement à la densité de la population.

En s'éloignant de la mer, on atteint peu à peu les régions montagneuses. Les pentes douces des collines, excellentes pour les skieurs, gagnent lentement des sommets de 1.000 à 1.500 mètres. Un réseau important de lignes de chemins de fer couvre les plaines et les versants des monts. Ci et là, on aperçoit les villes et leurs bâtiments caractéristiques tel, par exemple, l'Hôtel de ville d'Oslo. La carte indiquait encore le rôle considérable que jouent, dans l'économie nationale, les industries minières et du bois, les pêcheries et l'agriculture.

Mais ce qui frappait surtout, c'est la puissance énorme de la houille blanche qui alimente en courant électrique les grandes industries. Cette carte en relief donnait ainsi une excellente impression d'ensemble du pays, de ses conditions climatiques et géologiques, de sa production industrielle et de la vie maritime et commerciale.
Autour de la carte qui synthétisait en quelque sorte les intérêts communs des divers exposants, étaient groupés les stands particuliers.

On présentait ainsi la route maritime qui relie la Belgique à la Norvège. Un armement exposait le modèle d'un de ses navires assurant le service hebdomadaire pour passagers et marchandises entre Anvers et Oslo.

Diverses usines montraient des vues de leurs installations, et certaines, des échantillons de leurs produits. On trouvait entre autres du zinc, du ferro-manganèse, du carbure, etc.

Un stand, consacré à l'industrie électrique, était aménagé par l'Union des Usines d'Electricité. A l'aide de cartes, de plans, de tableaux, de schémas et de graphiques, était mise en évidence l'importance des forces hydrauliques dont dispose la Norvège. Elles dépassent de loin celles de tous les autres pays. Elles sont estimées à 13 millions de KW. dont à peine 2 millions sont actuellement installés. A mesure que les progrès de la technique rendront plus précieux l'emploi de la houille blanche, ces quantités ne feront qu'augmenter.

Une carte montrait les chutes d'eau d'au moins 2.000 KW. et l'énergie récupérée et employée. Les chutes exploitées étaient marquées différemment selon qu'elles appartiennent à l'Etat, aux communes ou aux particuliers. Les chutes non exploitées, ainsi que celles de moindre importance étaient également indiquées. Un grand nombre d'entre elles se trouvent à proximité de ports libres de glaces.
Une autre carte faisait ressortir la progression constante de l'exploitation de la houille blanche, depuis 1908 jusqu'à nos jours. On voyait aussi comment la force électrique de l'eau avait été répartie dans tout le pays au prix de difficultés énormes. D'autres cartes et des statistiques complétaient fort heureusement cet ensemble intéressant.

La participation norvégienne montrait donc d'une façon saisissante comment les grandes entreprises maritimes et industrielles surent créer des conditions avantageuses d'existence à des centaines de milliers d'êtres vivant sur une terre qui n'offrait, par sa nature, que de médiocres ressources.

Aussi la Norvège est-elle un des pays les plus prospères d'Europe. Malgré sa situation septentrionale, elle possède un climat relativement doux. La température moyenne y est fort élevée comparativement à d'autres pays situés sous la même latitude. Il y a une trentaine d'années, la Norvège était encore peu visitée. Aujourd'hui, elle est devenue le lieu de prédilection de milliers de touristes.

Au Jury, furent seulement inscrites, à la classe 13, la Collectivité des industriels exposants et, à la classe 16II, l'Electric Furnace Products Company Ltd, à Sauda (ferro-manganèse). C'est par deux brillants Grands Prix que leurs mérites furent consacrés officiellement.

© Rapport Général - Exposition Internationale de la Technique de l'Eau - Liège 1939