International Water Technology Exhibition in Liege 1939

May 20, 1939 - September 2, 1939


Back - List of Pavilions

Grand Duchy of Luxembourg

Grand Duchy of Luxembourg at the Exhibition Liege 1939

© Kessels

Architect(s) : Montrieux, Rousch, Selerin et Snyers, Thill

The PALAIS DU GRAND-DUCHÊ DE LUXEMBOURG was built on the right bank of the main avenue, following the Belgian palaces.


A large cantilevered glass roof, cut horizontally by thin cords, illuminated the hall of honour. Two gigantic tubes hung from the façade and surrounded a magnificent coat of arms of the country. A very decorative title crossed the upper part. The outside ramp, with its original plank railing, added relief to an ensemble of excellent architectural composition.

The interior, which was very well designed, was richly decorated with frescoes by various Luxembourg artists.


I. INTRODUCTION

The series of large Belgian industrial palaces running from the main entrance of Bressoux to the Gay Village Mosan was interrupted at the cable car station by the very attractive Palais du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg. Its mass itself did not detract from the harmony of the whole: the framework and construction had been established according to the same plans as the other buildings. The work had even been carried out by the Société coopérative de l'Exposition. However, the organisers of the Grand Ducal participation had succeeded in giving it an original appearance, through both the interior and exterior decoration. The latter had been entrusted to some good Luxembourg artists, under the direction of the architect Mr. Arthur Thill. On the outside, attention was drawn to a large ironwork coat of arms, and inside, valuable frescoes depicted the applications of water in industry and in private life.

The Palace covered a built-up area of about 900 square metres. The participation was in fact much larger, as large areas around the pavilion were occupied by open-air exhibitors. In addition, across the street on the Lido esplanade, there was a large, well-equipped restaurant where visitors could sample the culinary specialities and beer and wine of the country. This added to the brilliance of the Luxembourg participation.

As will be seen later, this was more than an official representation. It was a brilliant and important section, abundantly documented and of the greatest interest. Luxembourg's effort to give as much prominence as possible to its participation in the 1939 Liège Exhibition is all the more commendable in that the country is not suited to major hydraulic engineering works, the fundamental theme of the event.

The participation was directed by Mr. F. Simon, Chief Engineer at the Luxembourg Ministry of Public Works, General Commissioner of the Government. The Deputy Commissioner General was Mr. A. Diederich, Secretary General of the S. A. Minière et Métallurgique de Rodange. Mr. J. Schroeder, a Public Works engineer, acted as Secretary General.


2. OVERVIEW

The building consisted of two distinct parts, both of which stood out on the main façade: a technical-scientific section and an industrial section. The entrance was through a richly decorated hall of honour, the spaces of which were reserved for the first section, which was made up of the participations of the public administrations of the State as well as the Communes of Luxembourg and Esch-sur-Alzette.

In the centre, a topographical map in relief showed the country's water supply. It gave an idea of the extent of the various water pipes and the difficulties encountered in laying them.

The Public Works Administration then presented the construction of a well in the Moselle valley and a relay station in an existing local network. These two studies were remarkable for several novel and ingenious mechanical applications. The Geological Service of this administration exhibited geological sections related to the formation of the springs.

In a neighbouring stand, the two water distribution syndicates of the country, the northern and southern ones, highlighted the importance of their installations of inter-communal and international interest. This participation naturally complemented the topographical map already mentioned.

The Agricultural Service showed achievements in the field of drainage, watercourse regulation and watercourse pipelines at the passage of localities, while the Administration of Water and Forests drew attention to fish catching devices, as well as to statistics on fish farming.

This group of central administrations was completed by the participation of the cities of Luxembourg and Esch-sur-Alzette. The former, in a particularly remarkable stand, illustrated, by means of a large luminous board, the path followed by urban water, from its source to its return to the watercourse, after having been used for all purposes and after having undergone purification treatment. Thus, in its final stage, the model represented the Beggen wastewater treatment plant.

The City of Esch happily reported on its efforts to provide abundant, safe water and to dispose of waste water. A model of a bathhouse was on display.

In this large hall, the Tourism Department had lined the high walls with large canvas paintings of the capital.

The large hall that followed on the right was reserved for the second section of the Luxembourg participation, i.e. the industrial exhibitors.

Going around to the right, one could see successively :
A large valve with a diameter of 600 mm and a hydraulic press of considerable dimensions (Fonderie Duchscher et C°);
An original stand of the Canoe Club of Luxembourg giving an idea of the possibilities of water sports
A representation, in the form of a large artistic painting, of beer production, organised by the Brewers Federation
A stand of the Echternach Mineral Waters;
Showcases containing special taps (Céo-deux) and measuring devices (Ateliers de Construction de Diekirch);
A stand of the thermal establishments of Mondorf operated by the State;
A collective stand of the Société des Chaux de Contern and the Société des Ciments luxembourgeois, showing the relationship of these industries with water;
A stand reserved for ceramic tiles (Cérabati) used in the building industry (a shower cubicle was set up);
- A stand reserved for slate quarries (Haut-Martelange);
- A participation of the "Radio-Luxembourg" broadcasting company, with photos of equipment and a model of the broadcasting station.

It should also be noted that a tourist information office was permanently in operation in this room, with the collaboration of the main tourist offices of the country.

The centre of the hall was occupied by a splendid luminous fountain highlighting a whole range of sheet piles from an important metallurgical factory (Minière et Métallurgique de Rodange). The back wall was lined with a large map of the country showing the waterways with a whole range of related industries, including old mills. A balcony which could be accessed from the outside gave a good view of the Palace. A beautiful stand of the Fédération des Comices viticoles had been installed there.

Outside, there was an imposing luminous fountain belonging to another large metallurgical company (A.R.B.E.D.), which was also used to display sheet piling. This fountain on the left of the Palace was a counterpart to another ceramic one on the right (Cerabati). A flagpole, formed by a 16-metre long Grey beam, was a characteristic participation of a third metallurgical company (Hadir).

Finally, various quarries, slate quarries and ceramic factories contributed to the project by supplying materials for the Palace's surroundings and for the interior paving. One of these firms had supplied a drinking trough of the Public Works Administration model.


3. ANALYSIS

If we consider Luxembourg's participation in the order of the subjects covered by the Exhibition's General Classification, we can make the following observations.

CLASS 3III (CURE AND DRINKING WATERS) included the participation of the Etablissement thermal de Mondorf-Etat and the Eaux minérales d'Echternach. Two beautiful stands, well in the note of the Exhibition, with photos, reproduction of the sources and tasting of the waters.

In CLASSES 4 (RIVERS AND CANALS) AND 6 (INLAND PORTS), only the Public Works Administration presented preliminary projects for navigation canals: Ourthe-Moselle and Moselle-Chiers.

On the other hand, in CLASS 9 (URBAN AND RURAL WORKS), both official and private contributions were abundant.

We noted those of the Central Administration of Public Works and the administrations of the cities of Luxembourg and Esch-sur-Alzette, of the State Agricultural Service, of the Geological Map Service and of the two Waterworks Syndicates. In addition, a number of private exhibitors showed some very remarkable objects. Details of these were given earlier in this study (see overview). It should be noted that this participation in class 9, although not very extensive, was nevertheless more or less complete. The entire programme of this class, which was very broad, was covered, from the collection of springs to the accessories for the distribution and consumption of water, without excluding the special problems of agricultural water technology and the installations of baths and swimming pools.

In CLASS 10 (WATER PURIFICATION), we found only one Grand-Ducal exhibitor (R. Loesch) whose stand was located at the Belgian National Defence Collective. This was also mentioned in the analysis of the Belgian participation in this class.

In CLASS 11 (HYDRAULIC MOTORS AND MACHINES), there was only one exhibitor presenting the hydraulic press mentioned above.

In CLASS 13 (WATER TECHNOLOGY AND ELECTRICITY), the Compagnie luxembourgeoise de Radio-diffusion (Radio-Luxembourg) was included, but this participation was actually on the fringe of the Exhibition programme. There was no element relating to the relationship between water and electricity.

In CLASS 15VI (WATER IN THE FOOD INDUSTRY), there was a fine exhibition by the Brewers' Federation on the various stages of beer production. Although this demonstration was not done in a technical form, it was one of the rare participations in the class under consideration which was really in conformity with the programme of the Exhibition. And this is a credit to the Luxembourg brewers, whose products have long been renowned.

In addition, there were a number of wine exhibitors, including an important group, the Fédération des Comices viticoles.

In CLASS 16II (MATERIALS), visitors could find metal products, cement, lime, slate and ceramics. It should be noted that in most cases, care was taken to show the role of water, either in the manufacture or in the use of these products.

CLASS 16III (EQUIPMENT AND TOOLS) included three fine entries which we have already highlighted: those of the country's major metallurgical plants. Two of them presented sheet piles, the third a large Grey beam.

In the field of CLASSES 20 AND 21 (FISHING AND AQUICULTURE), the Administration of Water and Forests was registered with models of fish catching devices and statistics concerning fish farming.

In CLASS 24 (SOCIAL ECONOMY), the Administration of the City of Luxembourg and that of Esch-sur-Alzette were registered.

In CLASS 27d (SPORTS), the Canoe Club of Luxembourg was included. Finally, in CLASS 27e (TOURISM), the Department of Tourism and part of the City of Luxembourg's stand were well represented. In addition, 13 local tourist associations also exhibited, albeit in a more modest way.


4. CONCLUSIONS

It should come as no surprise that Luxembourg's participation was not complete. Some of the classes in the General Programme were clearly not able to tempt the organisers of this section. This was the case, for example, with the scientific classes (1, 2 and 3), the waterways classes (4 to 8), the navigation and shipbuilding classes (17, 18 and 19) and the colonial classes (22 and 23).

The main effort of the participation was thus focused on
a) Urban and rural works (class 9),
b) Certain metallurgical products (sheet piling) and construction products (ceramics, etc.);
c) Tourism.

In addition, mention should be made of mineral and thermal waters, beer and wine.

In the fields covered, which were the only ones that Luxembourg could tackle in an international competition of this kind, the organisers clearly spared no effort and succeeded in achieving a representation worthy of their country. Perhaps, one could have expected a more extensive participation of tourism, which, as we know, is one of the vital industries of the country. This was a subject that could easily have been developed to a greater extent: the mysteries of some of the beautiful valleys, which attract a large number of tourists every year, could have been better highlighted.

The attached statistical table shows the number of awards obtained by the exhibitors. It can be seen that the percentage of first category awards is 88 for official exhibitors and 48 for private exhibitors. However, for the latter, this percentage does not reflect the value of the products exhibited. This is due to the fact that in the tourism class (27th), all the local tourist offices were entered individually. Their participation was very modest and the Jury awarded them each only the Silver Medal. Their relatively high number in relation to the total number of exhibitors has a strong influence on the overall average. If we exclude the 27th class, the percentage of high awards to private exhibitors is 76 instead of 48. This corresponds better to the value of the industrial products presented. They were not numerous, but their quality was first class.

In addition, 37 awards were presented to the exhibitors' staff, including 2 Grand Prizes, 9 Diplomas of Honour, 8 Gold Medals, 10 Silver Medals, 5 Bronze Medals and 3 Special Diplomas.

© General Report - International Water Technology Exhibition - Liège 1939

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Grand-Duché de Luxembourg


Grand-Duché de Luxembourg à l'exposition de Liège 1939

© Kessels
Architecte(s) : Montrieux, Rousch, Selerin et Snyers, Thill

Le PALAIS DU GRAND-DUCHÊ DE LUXEMBOURG était édifié en bordure de la grande allée, rive droite, à la suite des palais belges.


Une grande verrière en porte à faux, sectionnée horizontalement par de minces cordons, éclairait le hall d'honneur. Deux gigantesques tubes accrochés à la façade entouraient un magnifique écusson du pays. Un titre très décoratif barrait la partie supérieure. La rampe extérieure, avec son garde-corps original en planches, apportait du relief à un ensemble d'excellente composition architecturale.

L'intérieur, très bien étudié, était richement décoré par des fresques dues à différents artistes luxembourgeois.


I. INTRODUCTION

La série des grands palais industriels belges allant de l'entrée principale de Bressoux vers le Gay Village mosan, était interrompue, à hauteur de la station du téléphérique, par le très attirant Palais du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg. Sa masse elle-même ne heurtait pas l'harmonie de l'ensemble : l'ossature et la construction avaient été établies d'après les mêmes plans que les autres bâtiments. Les travaux en avaient même été exécutés par les soins de la Société coopérative de l'Exposition. Mais les organisateurs de la participation grand-ducale avaient réussi à lui donner un aspect original, par la décoration tant intérieure qu'extérieure. Celle-ci avait été confiée à quelques bons artistes luxembourgeois, sous la direction de l'architecte M. Arthur Thill. A l'extérieur, l'attention était attirée par un grand écusson en ferronnerie d'art et, à l'intérieur, des fresques de valeur représentaient les applications de l'eau dans les industries et dans la vie privée.

Le Palais couvrait une superficie bâtie d'environ 900 mètres carrés. La participation était en fait beaucoup plus étendue car, autour du pavillon, de larges espaces étaient occupés, en plein air, par des exposants. En outre, en face, sur l'esplanade du Lido, se trouvait un vaste restaurant, agréablement aménagé, où les visiteurs pouvaient déguster les spécialités culinaires ainsi que la bière et les vins du pays. Cela ne manquait pas d'ajouter à l'éclat de la participation luxembourgeoise.

Comme on le verra dans la suite, celle-ci fut mieux qu'une représentation officielle. Ce fut une brillante et importante section, abondamment documentée et présentant le plus vif intérêt. L'effort du Luxembourg en vue de donner le plus de relief possible à sa participation à l'Exposition de Liège 1939 est d'autant plus méritoire que le pays n'est pas approprié aux grands travaux d'art hydraulique, thème fondamental de la manifestation.

La participation était dirigée par M. F. Simon, ingénieur en chef au Ministère des Travaux publics luxembourgeois, Commissaire général du Gouvernement. Le Commissaire général adjoint était M. A. Diederich, secrétaire général de la S. A. Minière et Métallurgique de Rodange. M. J. Schroeder, ingénieur des Travaux publics, remplissait les fonctions de Secrétaire général.


2. VUE D'ENSEMBLE

Le Palais comprenait deux parties distinctes se détachant d'ailleurs sur la façade principale : une section technico-scientifique et une section industrielle. L'entrée se faisait par un hall d'honneur, richement décoré, dont les espaces étaient réservés à la première section constituée par les participations des Administrations publiques de l'Etat ainsi que des Communes de Luxembourg et d'Esch-sur-Alzette.

Au centre, une carte topographique en relief montrait l'approvisionnement en eau du pays. Elle permettait de se faire une idée de l'étendue des différentes conduites d'eau et des difficultés de terrain rencontrées dans la pose de ces conduites.

L'Administration des Travaux publics présentait ensuite la réalisation d'un captage avec puits dans la vallée de la Moselle et celle d'une station élévatoire de relai dans un réseau local existant. Ces deux études étaient remarquables par plusieurs applications mécaniques inédites et ingénieuses. Le Service géologique de cette administration exposait des coupes géologiques en rapport avec la formation des sources.

Dans un stand voisin, les deux Syndicats de distribution d'eau du pays, celui du nord et celui du sud, faisaient ressortir toute l'importance de leurs installations d'un intérêt intercommunal et international. Cette participation complétait tout naturellement la carte topographique déjà citée.

Le Service agricole montrait des réalisations dans le domaine des drainages, des régularisations de cours d'eau et des canalisations de cours d'eau au passage des localités,- tandis que l'Administration des Eaux et Forêts attirait l'attention sur des dispositifs de capture de poissons, ainsi que sur des statistiques relatives à la pisciculture.

Cet ensemble des administrations centrales était complété par les participations des Villes de Luxembourg et d'Esch-sur-Alzette. La première, dans un stand particulièrement remarquable, illustrait, au moyen d'un grand tableau lumineux, le chemin parcouru par une eau urbaine, depuis la source jusqu'à son retour au cours d'eau, après avoir servi à tous les usages et après avoir subi un traitement d'épuration. C'est ainsi que, dans son stade final, la maquette représentait la station d'épuration de Beggen.

Quant à la Ville d'Esch, elle faisait état, d'une façon heureuse, de ses efforts dans le domaine de la distribution d'une eau saine et abondante, et dans celui de l'évacuation des eaux usées. Un projet d'établissement de bains était exposé sous forme de maquette.

Signalons encore, dans ce vaste hall, les hautes parois que le Département du Tourisme avait garni de grands tableaux sur toile représentant des vues de la capitale.

Le grand hall qui y faisait suite, sur la droite, était réservé à la deuxième section de la participation luxembourgeoise, c'est-à-dire aux exposants industriels.

En faisant le tour par la droite, on découvrait successivement :
Une grande vanne de 600 mm. de diamètre et une presse hydraulique de dimensions appréciables (Fonderie Duchscher et C°);
Un stand original du Canoë Club de Luxembourg donnant une idée des possibilités des sports nautiques,-
Une représentation, sous la forme d'un grand tableau artistique, de la fabrication de la bière, organisée par la Fédération des Brasseurs,-
Un stand des Eaux minérales d'Echternach;
Des vitrines contenant des robinets d'un type spécial (Céo-deux) et des appareils de mesure (Ateliers de Construction de Diekirch) ;
Un stand des Etablissements thermaux de Mondorf exploités en régie par l'Etat;
Un stand collectif de la Société des Chaux de Contern et de la Société des Ciments luxembourgeois, montrant les rapports de ces industries avec l'eau ;
Un stand réservé aux carreaux céramiques (Cérabati) en application dans le domaine du bâtiment (une cabine de douche était aménagée) ;
— Un emplacement réservé aux ardoisières (Haut-Martelange) ;
- Une participation de la Société de Radio-diffusion « Radio-Luxembourg », avec photos d'appareillage et maquette de la station d'émission.

Signalons aussi qu'il fonctionnait en permanence dans cette salle un bureau de renseignements touristiques avec la collaboration des principaux syndicats d'initiative du pays.

Le centre du hall était occupé par une splendide fontaine lumineuse mettant en valeur toute une gamme de palplanches d'une importante usine métallurgique (Minière et Métallurgique de Rodange). Le mur du fond était garni d'une grande carte du pays reproduisant les cours d'eau avec tout un lot d'industries s'y rattachant, notamment de vieux moulins. Un balcon auquel on accédait de l'extérieur permettait de jouir d'une belle vue d'ensemble du Palais. On y avait installé un beau stand de la Fédération des Comices viticoles.

A l'extérieur, se trouvait une imposante fontaine lumineuse d'une autre grande société métallurgique (A.R.B.E.D.) et servant également à la présentation de palplanches. Cette fontaine placée à gauche du Palais faisait pendant à une autre, en céramique, placée à droite (Cérabati). Une hampe de drapeau, formée par une poutrelle Grey de 16 mètres, constituait une participation caractéristique d'une troisième société métallurgique (Hadir).

Enfin, diverses carrières, ardoisières et fabriques de céramiques avaient contribué à l'ensemble par la fourniture de matériaux servant à l'aménagement des abords du Palais, ainsi qu'au dallage intérieur. Une de ces firmes avait notamment fourni un abreuvoir, modèle Administration des Travaux publics.


3. ANALYSE

Si nous envisageons la participation luxembourgeoise dans l'ordre des matières traitées par la Classification générale de l'Exposition, nous sommes amenés à faire les constatations ci-après.

La CLASSE 3III (EAUX DE CURE ET DE BOISSON) comportait les participations de l'Etablissement thermal de Mondorf-Etat et des Eaux minérales d'Echternach. Deux beaux stands, bien dans la note de l'Exposition, avec photos, reproduction des sources et dégustation des eaux.

Aux CLASSES 4 (RIVIÈRES ET CANAUX) ET 6 (PORTS INTÉRIEURS), figurait seulement l'Administration des Travaux publics présentant des avant-projets de canaux de navigation : Ourthe-Moselle et Moselle-Chiers.

Par contre, à la CLASSE 9 (TRAVAUX URBAINS ET RURAUX), les participations, tant officielles que privées, étaient abondantes.

On relevait celles de l'Administration centrale des Travaux publics et des administrations des Villes de Luxembourg et d'Esch-sur-Alzette, du Service agricole de l'Etat, du Service de la carte géologique et des deux Syndicats de conduites d'eau. En outre, quelques exposants privés montraient des objets fort remarqués. Le détail en a été donné plus haut dans cette étude (voir vue d'ensemble). Il convient de constater que cette participation à la classe 9, sans être fort étendue, était cependant à peu près complète. Tout le programme, d'ailleurs très vaste, de cette classe était traité, depuis le captage des sources jusqu'aux accessoires de la distribution et de la consommation d'eau, sans excepter les problèmes particuliers de la technique hydraulique agricole et les installations de bains et piscines.

Dans la CLASSE 10 (ÉPURATION DES EAUX), nous trouvions un seul exposant grand-ducal (R. Loesch) dont le stand se trouvait à la Collectivité belge de la Défense nationale. Il en a été du reste question au cours de l'analyse de la participation belge à cette classe.

A la CLASSE 11 (MOTEURS ET MACHINES HYDRAULIQUES), s'inscrivait un seul exposant présentant la presse hydraulique déjà citée.

À la CLASSE 13 (LA TECHNIQUE DE L'EAU ET L'ÉLECTRICITÉ), figurait la Compagnie luxembourgeoise de Radio-diffusion (Radio-Luxembourg) , mais cette participation était en réalité en marge du programme de l'Exposition. Il n'y avait, en effet, aucun élément relatif aux rapports de l'eau et de l'électricité.

A la CLASSE 15VI (L'EAU DANS LES INDUSTRIES ALIMENTAIRES) , on notait une belle exposition de la Fédération des Brasseurs, ayant pour objet les diverses phases de la fabrication de la bière. Bien que cette démonstration n'eût pas été faite sous une forme technique, c'était là une des rares participations à la classe considérée qui fût réellement conforme au programme de l'Exposition. Et c'est tout à l'honneur des Brasseurs luxembourgeois dont les produits sont d'ailleurs réputés depuis longtemps.

En plus, il y avait quelques exposants de vins dont une importante collectivité, celle de la Fédération des Comices viticoles.

En ce qui concerne la CLASSE 16II (MATIÈRES ET MATÉRIAUX), le visiteur trouvait des produits métallurgiques, du ciment, de la chaux, des ardoises et de la céramique. Il est à remarquer que l'on avait eu soin, dans la plupart des cas, de montrer le rôle de l'eau, soit dans la fabrication, soit dans l'utilisation de ces produits.

La CLASSE 16III (MATÉRIEL ET OUTILLAGE) comprenait trois belles participations que nous avons déjà soulignées : celles des grandes usines métallurgiques du pays. Deux d'entre elles présentaient des palplanches, la troisième une grande poutrelle Grey.

Dans le domaine des CLASSES 20 ET 21 (PÊCHE ET AQUICULTURE) , on enregistrait l'Administration des Eaux et Forêts avec des maquettes de dispositifs de capture de poissons et des statistiques concernant la pisciculture.

A la CLASSE 24 (ÉCONOMIE SOCIALE), s'inscrivaient l'Administration de la Ville de Luxembourg et celle d'Esch-sur-Alzette.

A la CLASSE 27d (SPORTS), figurait le Canoë Club de Luxembourg. Enfin, à la CLASSE 27é (TOURISME), ressortissaient la belle participation du Département du Tourisme ainsi qu'une partie du stand de la Ville de Luxembourg. En outre, 13 syndicats d'initiative locaux exposaient également, d'une façon plus modeste.


4. CONCLUSIONS

Il ne peut surprendre personne que la participation luxembourgeoise n'ait pas été complète. Certaines classes du Programme général ne pouvaient manifestement tenter les organisateurs de cette section. Il en était ainsi, par exemple, des classes scientifiques (1, 2 et 3), de celles concernant les voies de communication par eau (4 à 8), des autres ayant trait à la navigation et aux constructions navales (17, 18 et 19) et des classes coloniales (22 et 23).

L'effort principal de la participation a donc porté sur :
a)Les travaux urbains et ruraux (classe 9) ,
b)Certains produits métallurgiques (palplanches) et du domaine de la construction (céramiques, etc.) ;
c) Le tourisme.

En outre, mention doit être faite des eaux minérales et thermales, des bières et des vins.

Dans les domaines traités, et qui étaient les seuls que le Luxembourg pouvait aborder dans une compétition internationale de ce genre, les organisateurs ne se sont visiblement ménagé aucun effort et ont réussi à réaliser une représentation bien digne de leur pays. Peut-être, aurait-on pu s'attendre à une participation un peu plus étendue encore du tourisme qui, comme on le sait, constitue une des industries vitales du pays. C'était une matière qu'il eût été facile de développer avec plus d'ampleur : les mystères de quelques belles vallées, qui chaque année attirent une foule de touristes, auraient pu être mieux encore mis en valeur.

Le tableau statistique ci-joint renseigne le nombre de récompenses obtenues par les exposants. On constate que le pourcentage de récompenses de premières catégories s'élève à 88 pour les exposants officiels et à 48 pour les exposants privés. Mais, pour ces derniers, ce pourcentage traduit fort mal la valeur des produits exposés. Cela provient du fait que dans la classe du tourisme (27é), tous les syndicats d'initiative locaux ont été inscrits individuellement. Leur participation était fort modeste et le Jury leur a attribué à chacun seulement la Médaille d'Argent. Leur nombre assez élevé par rapport au chiffre total d'exposants influe fortement sur la moyenne générale. Si l'on excepte la classe 27é, le pourcentage de hautes récompenses décernées aux exposants privés s'élève à 76 au lieu de 48. Cela correspond mieux à la valeur des produits industriels présentés. Ils ne figuraient pas en grand nombre, mais leur qualité était de premier ordre.

Aux collaborateurs des exposants, il a été attribué en outre 37 récompenses dont 2 Grands Prix, 9 Diplômes d'Honneur, 8 Médailles d'Or, 10 Médailles d'Argent, 5 Médailles de Bronze et 3 Diplômes Spéciaux.

© Rapport Général - Exposition Internationale de la Technique de l'Eau - Liège 1939