Milan World Expo 2015 - Expo Milano 2015

Feed the planet, Energy for life

May 1, 2015 - October 31, 2015


Back - List of Pavilions

Malaysia

Malaysia at the Exhibition Milan 2015

© victorillen

Architect(s) : Hijjas Architects + Planners

The theme of the Malaysia pavilion is "Towards a Sustainable Food Ecosystem". The theme emphasises Malaysia's transformation agenda towards sustainability while focusing on various efforts undertaken in key economic areas of the Economic Transformation Programme, particularly agriculture, the palm oil and rubber sectors, tourism and business services. An important theme showing the dynamic between economic progress and environmental preservation; and between biodiversity and commercial agriculture.

The pavilion covers 2047 square metres, and takes the form of four seeds. The curves of the design and the weaving patterns on the structure reflect the versatility and dynamism of the nation.

The architectural design incorporates ecological and sustainable functions in line with the Expo's sustainability theme. The exterior structure of the seeds is constructed of "glulam" or glued laminated timber, an innovative local sustainable structural timber. The choice of glulam, combined with the complex structural form of our pavilion at Expo Milano 2015 is a deliberate effort to showcase Malaysia's capabilities in both design and innovative materials. This method of construction is able to produce long spans, and also less costly on the environment compared to steel fabrication. In addition, the ramps and walkways surrounding the pavilion are made from recycled rice husk decking.

As the country's main resource, the forest plays an important role in the lives of all Malaysians. The use of a wide variety of rainforest seeds dates back hundreds of years, and to this day is prepared and served in countless recipes that natively and gastronomically reflect the diverse backgrounds of Malaysia's multi-ethnic diaspora.

Conceptually, the building seed form expresses the nation's food source from the seeds of the rainforest to celebrate the seeds of the rainforest and its rich biodiversity.
The formation of the four seeds takes us through a kaleidoscopic journey of Malaysia with each seed encompassing visitors with different experience and level of engagement at the same time drawing our attention to the symbiotic relationship that Malaysians have with the rainforest.
This seed is a metaphor for Malaysia's own economic transformation based primarily on raw materials and agriculture through export-oriented industrialisation. It is also driven by higher value-added industries and services.

The Malaysia Pavilion reflects a continuous journey of Malaysia to develop and mature into a nation that is underpinned by a system that drives the life cycle, promotes sustainability and responsible use and consumption of natural resources.


THE SEED STORY

The Seeds of the Rainforest mark the beginning of the cycle of life in the rainforest. Its dispersal by animals, insects, water, wind and rain ensures that this humble seed generates and continues to build a vital ecosystem on which millions of people depend.

The Malaysia Pavilion, whose design is inspired by the Seeds of the Rainforest, offers a taste of the nation's efforts and achievements.

Like the forest itself, which is a home rich in biodiversity, the Malaysia Pavilion symbolises the diversity of Malaysia's cultural heritage, reflected through a web of multi-ethnic sites, sounds, tastes and flavours as a tribute to the nation's rich dynamism


CONCEPT & EXPRESSION

Seed 1

"Our home - for the present and the future" (Malaysia's diversity)


"Our Home" describes a country where the balance between preservation of the environment, and the need for progress and modernity is placed in the heart and mind of the visitor from the outset.

Seed 2

"Haven of Biodiversity" (protect and preserve)

The importance of preserving Malaysia's tropical forests and rich biodiversity to ensure a sustainable ecosystem for future generations.

Seed 3

"Seeds of Change" (present and future)

Amplifies how the seeds of the rainforest have changed the economy of this nation, and the livelihoods of its people. The future of industries is fuelled by innovation. Forests and cultivated plantations provide the raw materials via R&D that has significantly powered the world. Global consumption is balanced with sustainable efforts by the country.

Seed 4

"Colours of Malaysia" (Music, Arts and Culture)

The true spirit of Malaysia, the fun side of Malaysia known through its food, Music, Culture and multi-ethnicity. There are cultural performances, traditional games, arts, demonstrations, musical performances and educational programmes.

Visitors can also sample a selection of Malaysian culinary delights in a dedicated area.

Exposition Universelle de Milan 2015 - Expo 2015 - Expo Milano 2015

Nourrir la planète, Energie pour la vie

1 mai 2015 – 31 octobre 2015


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Malaisie

Malaisie à l'exposition de Milan 2015

© victorillen

Architecte(s) : Hijjas Architects + Planners

Le pavillon de la Malaisie a pour thème, «Vers un écosystème alimentaire durable". Le thème met l'accent sur le programme de transformation de la Malaisie vers la durabilité tout en se concentrant sur divers efforts entrepris dans les zones économiques clés du Programme de transformation économique, en particulier l'agriculture, les secteurs de l'huile de palme et du caoutchouc, du tourisme et des services d'affaires. Un thème important montrant la dynamique entre le progrès économique et la préservation de l'environnement; et entre la biodiversité et l'agriculture commerciale.

Le pavillon s’étale sur 2047 mètres carrés, et prend la forme de quatre graines. Les courbes de la conception et les motifs de tissage sur la structure reflètent la polyvalence et le dynamisme de la nation.

La conception architecturale intègre des fonctions écologiques et durables en ligne avec le thème de la durabilité de l'Expo. La structure extérieure des graines est construite en "lamellé collé" ou bois lamellé-collé, un bois de structure innovante en matière local durable. Le choix du bois lamellé collé, combiné avec la forme de structure complexe de notre pavillon à l'Expo Milano 2015 est un effort délibéré pour montrer les capacités de la Malaisie à la fois la conception et des matériaux novateurs. Ce mode de construction est en mesure de produire des portées de grande longueur, et également moins coûteux sur l'environnement par rapport à la fabrication de l'acier. En outre, les rampes et les allées entourant le pavillon sont fabriquées à partir de platelage de balle de riz recyclé .

Comme principale ressource du pays, la forêt joue un rôle important dans la vie de tous les Malaisiens. L'utilisation d'une large variété de graines de la forêt tropicale remontent à des centaines d'années, et à ce jour est préparé et servi dans d'innombrables recettes qui reflètent nativement et gastronomiquement divers milieux de la diaspora multiethnique de la Malaisie.

Conceptuellement, la forme de graines de bâtiment exprime la source de nourriture de la nation à partir des graines de la forêt tropicale pour célébrer les graines de la forêt tropicale et sa riche biodiversité.
La formation des quatre graines nous emmène à travers un voyage kaléidoscopique de Malaisie avec chaque graine englobant les visiteurs avec l'expérience et le niveau d'engagement différente dans le même temps mettent à profit notre attention sur la relation symbiotique que les malaysiens ont avec la forêt tropicale.
Cette graine est une métaphore pour la propre transformation économique de la Malaisie basée principalement sur les matières premières et l'agriculture grâce à l'industrialisation orientée vers l'exportation. Il est également conduit par les industries et les services à valeur ajoutée plus élevée.

Le Pavillon Malaisie reflète un voyage continu de la Malaisie pour développer et mûrir dans une nation qui est sous-tendu par un système qui entraîne le cycle de la vie, favorise la durabilité et de l'utilisation responsable et la consommation des ressources naturelles.


L'HISTOIRE DE SEMENCES

Les Graines de la forêt tropicale marquent le début du cycle de la vie dans la forêt tropicale. Sa dispersion par les animaux, les insectes, l'eau, le vent et la pluie assure que cette humble graine génère et continue de construire un écosystème vital duquel des millions de personnes dépendent.

Le Pavillon de la Malaisie, dont le design est inspiré par les Graines de la forêt tropicale, offre un avant-goût des efforts et des réalisations de la nation.

Comme la forêt elle-même, qui est une maison riche en biodiversité, le Pavillon Malaisie symbolise la diversité du patrimoine culturel de la Malaisie, qui se reflète à travers une toile de sites multi-ethniques, les sons, les goûts et les saveurs comme un hommage au riche dynamisme de la nation


CONCEPT & EXPRESSION

Graine 1

«Notre maison - pour le présent et l'avenir» (la diversité de la Malaisie)


"Notre maison" décrit un pays où l'équilibre entre la préservation de l'environnement, et la nécessité de progrès ainsi que la modernité est placé dans le cœur et l'esprit du visiteur dès le début.

Graine 2

« Havre de la biodiversité» (protéger et préserver)

L'importance de préserver les forêts tropicales et la riche biodiversité de la Malaisie afin d'assurer un écosystème durable pour les générations futures.

Graine 3

« Graines du changement » (présents et futurs)

Amplifie comment les graines de la forêt tropicale ont changé l'économie de cette nation, et les moyens de subsistance de ses habitants. L'avenir des industries est alimenté par l'innovation. Forêts et plantations cultivées fournissent les matières premières via la R & D qui a considérablement alimenté le monde. La consommation mondiale est équilibrée avec des efforts durables de la part du pays.

Graine 4

"Couleurs de la Malaisie" (Musique, Arts et Culture)

L'esprit vrai de la Malaisie, le côté amusant de la Malaisie a connu à travers son alimentation, Musique, Culture et multi-ethnique. Il y a des spectacles culturels, des jeux traditionnels, des arts, des démonstrations, des spectacles musicaux et des programmes d'éducation.

Les visiteurs peuvent également déguster une sélection de délices culinaires malaisiens dans une zone dédiée.