Milan World Expo 2015 - Expo Milano 2015

Feed the planet, Energy for life

May 1, 2015 - October 31, 2015


Back - List of Pavilions

Nepal

Nepal at the Exhibition Milan 2015

© Philippe Lemaire

Architect(s) : Implementing Expert Group (Ieg)

Following the terrible earthquake that hit Nepal in April, 11 of the 13 Nepalese workers who were working on it decided to return home, but thanks to EV-K2 and many Italian companies and associations volunteered to complete the pavilion and allow it to open in time.
But the pavilion was actually completed and presented to the public on 12 July.

The shape of the structure is reminiscent of the mandala, the circular diagram formed by the union of different geometric figures (the point, the triangle, the circle and the square), which recalls the circle of life.
To immerse visitors in the atmosphere of the oldest inhabited sites in the valleys of Kathmandu, several architectural elements of the Nepalese tradition have been reproduced: porticoes and temples with 42 hand-carved columns.

The theme of the Nepalese participation is "Food security and sustainability for development".
The country has a high level of biodiversity and, due to the geomorphological characteristics of its territory, it is an example for mountain agriculture thanks to its natural methods, its terracing and the richness of its organic products.

Exposition Universelle de Milan 2015 - Expo 2015 - Expo Milano 2015

Nourrir la planète, Energie pour la vie

1 mai 2015 – 31 octobre 2015


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Népal

Népal à l'exposition de Milan 2015

© Philippe Lemaire

Architecte(s) : Implementing Expert Group (Ieg)

Suite au terrible séisme qui a frappé le Népal en avril, 11 des 13 ouvriers népalais qui y travaillaient ont décidé de rentrer au pays, mais grâce à EV-K2 et de nombreuses entreprises et associations italiennes se sont portées volontaires pour achever bénévolement le pavillon et lui permettre d’ouvrir ses portes à temps.
Mais le pavillon fut réellement achevé et présenté au public le 12 juillet.

La forme de la structure rappelle celle du mandala, le diagramme circulaire formé par l'union de différentes figures géométriques (le point, le triangle, le cercle et le carré), qui rappelle le cercle de la vie.
Pour plonger les visiteurs dans les atmosphères des plus anciens sites habités des vallées de Katmandou, plusieurs éléments architecturaux de la tradition népalaise ont été reproduits: portiques et temples à 42 colonnes gravées à la main.

Le thème de la participation népalaise est "La sécurité alimentaire et la durabilité pour le développement".
Le pays a un taux de biodiversité élevé et, en raison des caractéristiques géomorphologiques de son territoire, il est un exemple pour l’agriculture de montagne grâce à ses méthodes naturelles, à ses terrassements et à la richesse de ses produits biologiques.