Milan World Expo 2015 - Expo Milano 2015

Feed the planet, Energy for life

May 1, 2015 - October 31, 2015


Back - List of Pavilions

Save the Children

Save the Children at the Exhibition Milan 2015

© Philippe Lemaire

Architect(s) : "Argot" Study of Milan

Save the Children is participating in the Expo with an Experimental Village, a welcoming place made of simple materials such as wood and bamboo and recycled materials. It is surrounded by green space and is located on an 800 square metre site. Outside, there are cultivated areas and gardens, reminiscent of the structures seen in the countries where the organisation works.

"Save the Children is the largest and most important independent international children's rights organisation.

The pavilion was designed by "Argot" Etude of Milan, and includes wooden structures, walls in various natural materials and with a green roof (green grass and simple metal sheet) to link the principles of ecology of self-construction and reuse, in perfect harmony with the production philosophy Legnolandia (the builder of the pavilion).

The pavilion's wooden structures recreate a hypothetical village where visitors can find images of distant places, which refer to those realities of the world in which it operates

Inside the village, interactive, digital and analogue installations and sensory experiences raise awareness of the impact of malnutrition on many children, of good feeding practices and of the crucial role of the mother, through her close and intimate relationship with the newborn and child, in ensuring good nutrition, care and the transmission of good feeding habits.

The concept

At the beginning of the tour, the visitor is invited to pair up with one of the children who benefits from the organisation's interventions through an installation called the birth machine.
After receiving his or her new identity and the birth bracelet, the visitor begins a journey through 5 areas of the village. They discover the story of the child they are paired with and experience situations from their life, trying to imagine what their life would be like if they were born somewhere else and what they can do to change the life of that child. Be the Change is the recurring "call to action" in the village!

Demonstration areas and facilities, such as the community garden, are also located in the green space. Save the Children Village hosts various events and tours specially designed for schools, partners and testimonies, with the possible presence of government representatives and other charities.

Participation in Expo Milano 2015 is an important step in bringing these issues to the attention of institutions and in raising visitors' awareness of the causes and effects of malnutrition, asking them about the challenges and the most effective solutions to combat it.

Exposition Universelle de Milan 2015 - Expo 2015 - Expo Milano 2015

Nourrir la planète, Energie pour la vie

1 mai 2015 – 31 octobre 2015


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Save the Children

Save the Children à l'exposition de Milan 2015

© Philippe Lemaire

Architecte(s) : "Argot" Study of Milan

Save the Children participe à l’Expo avec un Village d’expérimentation, un lieu accueillant réalisé en matériaux simples comme le bois et le bambou et en matériaux recyclés. Il est entouré d'un espace vert et est situé sur un terrain de 800 mètres carrés. À l’extérieur, des espaces cultivées et des jardins, qui rappellent les structures visibles dans les pays où l'organisation travaille.

"Save the Children" la plus grande et la plus importante organisation internationale indépendante pour la défense des droits des enfants.

Le pavillon a été conçu par "Argot" Etude de Milan, et comprend des structures en bois, murs dans divers matériaux naturels et avec une couverture végétale (toit d'herbe verte et de la feuille métallique simple) pour relier les principes de l'écologie de l'auto-construction et la réutilisation, en parfaite harmonie avec la philosophie de production Legnolandia (le constructeur du pavillon).

Le pavillon de par les structures en bois de l'espace recrée un village hypothétique où les visiteurs peuvent trouver des images de lieux lointains, qui se réfèrent à ces réalités du monde dans lequel elle opère

À l’intérieur du village, des installations interactives, numériques et analogiques ainsi que des expériences sensorielles permettent de prendre conscience de l'impact de la malnutrition dont souffrent de nombreux enfants, des bonnes pratiques alimentaires et du rôle crucial de la mère, par sa relation étroite et intime avec le nouveau-né et l'enfant, pour lui assurer une bonne alimentation, des soins, et lui transmettre les bonnes habitudes alimentaires.

Le concept

Au début du parcours, le visiteur est invité à se jumeler avec l'un des enfants qui bénéficie des interventions de l'organisation à travers une installation appelée la machine des naissances.
Après avoir reçu sa nouvelle identité et le bracelet des naissances, le visiteur entame un parcours à travers 5 espaces du village. Il découvre ainsi l'histoire de l'enfant avec lequel il est jumelé et vit des situations de sa vie, en essayant d'imaginer comment serait sa vie s'il était né ailleurs et ce qu'il peut faire pour changer la vie de cet enfant. Be the Change est l'«appel à l'action» récurrent dans le village!

Les zones de démonstration et des installations, tels que le jardin communautaire, sont également disposés dans l'espace vert. Save the Children Village accueille différents événements et des visites spécialement conçues pour les écoles, des partenaires et des témoignages, avec la présence éventuelle de représentants des gouvernements et d'autres organisations caritatives.

La participation à l'Expo Milano 2015 constitue une étape importante pour attirer l'attention des institutions sur ces thèmes et pour stimuler la conscience des visiteurs sur les causes et les effets de la malnutrition, en s'interrogeant sur les défis et les solutions les plus efficaces pour la combattre.