Milan World Expo 2015 - Expo Milano 2015

Feed the planet, Energy for life

May 1, 2015 - October 31, 2015


Back - List of Pavilions

France

France at the Exhibition Milan 2015

© victorillen

Architect(s) : Anouk Legendre & Nicolas Desmazieres

On the occasion of the first Universal Exhibition dedicated to food safety and diversity, the French Pavilion will showcase French agriculture, fishing and agri-food on 3,600 m², of which 2,000 m² will be built.

A hall open to the city, a large roof that provides shade, pillars that support the building, light, air...

The building is a two-storey wooden construction nestled in the middle of a landscape shaped by farmers and lush vegetation. Like the market halls found throughout the region, the Pavilion France is a place of exchange but also of production.

Under the horizontal roof, this hall is like an inverted landscape. Its ceiling, full of animal and vegetable production and processed products, illustrates the French identity by expressing its great variety: from its local products to its cutting-edge agribusiness.

A sustainable building: made of Jura wood, which can be dismantled and reassembled!

Just as the Pavillon Baltard was a testament to the steel structure know-how of its time, the Pavilion France expresses contemporary know-how in terms of wood framing.

This is implemented in its most spectacular and technological form: free forms. The assemblies are invisible. The complex geometry is achieved by digital cutting.

A LOW-TECH INSPIRED BUILDING WITH LOCAL WOOD
The Pavilion France can be completely dismantled and reassembled and consists of a framework of local wood from the Jura region, less than 50 kilometres from the factory and 200 kilometres from Milan. The low-tech concept is inspired by short circuits. The architecture of this passive building highlights unique innovations in France in terms of wood architecture (invisible assemblies, complex geometry and curved shapes).

NATURAL VENTILATION AND COOLING
The Pavilion France is a very low-energy building designed to allow natural ventilation and cooling. It provides for through-air flows and a thermal draft process through the skylight in the centre. On the terrace, natural cooling is achieved by circulating the airflow over the floating crops.

AQUAPONICS AND HYDROPONICS
The French Pavilion will showcase France's capacity for innovation by displaying advanced techniques in soil-less cultivation (hops on the façade, aromatic herbs on the terrace, fruit and vegetables in the restaurants).

Producing and feeding differently: the scenography
Through its pavilion and more particularly its scenography, France wishes to highlight its response to this global problem.

On the theme "Produce and feed differently", the story told to visitors will be based on the presentation of our territories and our responses: scientific and technological, while being sustainable.

The tour starts with a labyrinthine and lush garden. This nourishing garden presents a succession of landscapes illustrating the diversity and richness of our regions. Passing through cereal crops, livestock, mixed farming, market gardening, its alternating sun and shade, its educational and entertaining features, will allow visitors to be already immersed in our most beautiful territories.

In the garden you can also see a work of art by Patrick Laroche: Artichokes
This work contrasts with the classical taste, inspired by Rodin and Carpeaux who marked his first works, Patrick Laroche wanted to combine his passion for gastronomy and sculpture. This is how the "Vegetables" collection, of which this work is a part, came into being. All the sculptures are enlargements and reproductions of plants, made of bronze or resin covered with chrome paint.

The Pavilion France stands proudly at the end of this garden. Designed as a large timber-framed market, this building embodies a physical, social and cultural territory to be re-seeded with new visions of food. A landscape woven of plants and products, people and projects, it rests on powerful pillars on the ground.

The Pavilion France is both an attic and a cellar, a pantry and a kitchen, a place of delectation and tasting. The collective intelligence is expressed under this vault of abundance. Among the plantations and products, researchers, producers and consumers debate throughout the exhibition.

Perched on vast trays of agricultural trailers, LED screens provide keys to understanding the issues at stake in a playful, poetic and accessible way. Animated films summarise in three minutes France's answers to the question posed by Expo Milano 2015.

Visitors learn that to feed the planet, France intends to "produce more", "produce better", "reduce the global food divide" and "defend healthy, high-quality food".

The areas of the France Pavilion

The France Pavilion at Expo Milano 2015 has three floors:

ON THE GROUND FLOOR :
the space is organised around the large pillars that carry the 4 messages of France, which will be museographed and scenographed. It also includes a shop and a demonstration area for know-how, a bakery with bread and pastries and the partner areas.

ON THE FIRST FLOOR:
there are the VIP areas organised in a series of large lounges that can be assembled into a single reception area.

THE FRENCH-STYLE BRASSERIE IS LOCATED ON THE SECOND FLOOR:
It is accessed from the terrace, through the floating herb gardens. Another message, fragrant and perfumed, which expresses quality, refinement and sobriety while opening up new gustatory horizons.

The brasserie has terraces shaded by pergolas. Inside, the visitor is bathed in a shady atmosphere, with above-ground crops stretching to the ceiling. The atmosphere is uncluttered, with raw materials, visible networks, natural ventilation...

In this space, the "show kitchen" is noteworthy, which showcases the cooks and their know-how. It allows a visual exchange and materializes the cultural dimension of food.

Exposition Universelle de Milan 2015 - Expo 2015 - Expo Milano 2015

Nourrir la planète, Energie pour la vie

1 mai 2015 – 31 octobre 2015


Retour - Liste Pavillons

France

France à l'exposition de Milan 2015

© victorillen

Architecte(s) : Anouk Legendre & Nicolas Desmazieres

À l’occasion de la première Exposition Universelle consacrée à la sécurité alimentaire et à la diversité de l’alimentation, le Pavillon France mettra en avant l’agriculture, la pêche et l’agroalimentaire français sur 3 600 m², dont 2 000 m² bâtis.

Une halle ouverte sur la ville, un grand toit qui fait de l’ombre, des piliers qui supportent l’édifice, de la lumière, de l’air…

Ce bâtiment décline le thème du marché sur deux étages d’une construction en bois nichée au centre de paysages façonnés par les agriculteurs et d’une végétation luxuriante. À l’image des halles présentes partout sur le territoire, le Pavillon France est un lieu d’échanges mais aussi de production.

Sous l’horizontale du toit, cette halle se présente comme un paysage inversé. Son plafond, qui regorge de productions animales et végétales, de produits transformés, illustre l’identité française en exprimant sa grande variété : de ses produits de terroirs à son agro-industrie de pointe.

Un bâtiment durable : en bois du Jura, démontable et remontable !

Comme le Pavillon Baltard témoignait des savoir-faire de son temps en matière de structure acier, le Pavillon France exprime les savoir-faire contemporains en matière d’ossature bois.

Celle-ci est mise en œuvre dans sa forme la plus spectaculaire et la plus technologique : des formes libres. Les assemblages sont invisibles. La géométrie complexe est réalisée en découpe numérique.

UN BÂTIMENT D’INSPIRATION LOW-TECH AVEC DES BOIS LOCAUX
Entièrement démontable et remontable, le Pavillon France consiste en une ossature de bois locaux en provenance du Jura, à moins de 50 kilomètres de l’usine et à 200 kilomètres de Milan. Le concept, d’esprit “low-tech”, s’inspire des circuits courts. L’architecture de ce bâtiment passif met en valeur des innovations uniques en France en matière d’architecture bois (assemblages invisibles, géométrie complexe et formes courbes).

VENTILATION ET RAFRAÎCHISSEMENT NATURELS
Bâtiment à très basse consommation d’énergie, le Pavillon France est conçu pour permettre une ventilation et un rafraîchissement naturels. Il prévoit des flux d’air traversant et un procédé de tirage thermique par le lanterneau du centre. En terrasse, un rafraîchissement naturel est réalisé en faisant circuler le flux d’air sur les cultures flottantes.

DES CULTURES EN AQUAPONIE ET EN HYDROPONIE
Espace de mise en scène de la capacité d’innovation française, le Pavillon France sera le lieu d’exposition de techniques avancées en matière de culture hors-sol (houblon en façade, herbes aromatiques sur la terrasse, fruits et légumes dans les restaurants).

Produire et nourrir autrement : la scénographie
Au travers de son pavillon et plus particulièrement de sa scénographie, la France souhaite mettre en exergue ses éléments de réponse à cette problématique mondiale.

Sur le thème “Produire et nourrir autrement”, l’histoire racontée aux visiteurs se déclinera autour de la mise en avant de nos territoires et de nos éléments de réponse : scientifiques et technologiques, tout en étant durables.

Le parcours démarre par un jardin labyrinthique et luxuriant. Ce jardin nourricier présente une succession de paysages illustrant toute la diversité et la richesse de nos régions. En passant par les cultures céréalières, l’élevage, la polyculture, la culture maraîchère, son alternance de soleil et de zones ombragées, ses dispositifs pédagogiques et ludiques, permettront aux visiteurs d’être déjà immergés dans nos plus beaux territoires.

Dans le jardin vous pouvez remarquer aussi une oeuvre d'art de Patrick Laroche : Artichauts
Cette oeuvre en contraste avec le goût classique, inspiré par Rodin et par Carpeaux qui marque ses premières œuvres, Patrick Laroche a voulu conjuguer sa passion de la gastronomie et la sculpture. C'est ainsi que la collection « Vegetables », dont cette œuvre fait partie, a vu le jour. Toutes les sculptures sont des agrandissements et des reproductions de végétaux, réalisés en bronze ou en résine recouverte de peinture chromée.

Le Pavillon France se dresse fièrement au fond de ce jardin. Conçu comme un grand marché en ossature bois, ce bâtiment incarne un territoire physique, social et culturel à réensemencer de nouvelles visions de l’alimentation. Paysage tissé de végétaux et de produits, d’hommes et de projets, il repose au sol sur de puissants piliers.

Le Pavillon France est à la fois un grenier et une cave, un garde-manger et une cuisine, un lieu de délectation et de dégustation. L’intelligence collective s’exprime sous cette voûte d’abondance. Parmi les plantations et les produits, des chercheurs, des producteurs et des consommateurs débattent tout au long de l’exposition.

Juchés sur de vastes plateaux de remorques agricoles, des écrans LED donnent des clés de compréhension des enjeux sur un mode ludique, poétique et accessible à tous. Des films d’animation synthétisent en trois minutes les réponses de la France à la question posée par l’Expo Milano 2015.

Les visiteurs y apprennent que pour nourrir la planète, la France entend “produire plus”, “produire mieux”, “réduire la fracture agroalimentaire mondiale” et “défendre une alimentation saine et de qualité”.

Les espaces du Pavillon France

Le Pavillon France à l’Expo Milano 2015 se décline sur 3 étages :

AU REZ-DE-CHAUSSÉE :
l’espace s’organise autour des grands piliers qui portent les 4 messages de la France, qui seront muséographiés et scénographiés. Il comporte également une boutique et un espace de démonstration des savoir-faire, une boulangerie avec du pain et des viennoiseries et les espaces partenaires.

AU PREMIER ÉTAGE :
on trouve les espaces VIP organisés en une suite de grands salons qui peuvent être assemblés en un seul espace de réception.

LA BRASSERIE “À LA FRANÇAISE” SE SITUE AU DEUXIÈME ÉTAGE :
on y accède par la terrasse, en traversant les jardins flottants d’herbes aromatiques. Encore un message, odorant et parfumé, qui exprime la qualité, le raffinement et la sobriété tout en ouvrant de nouveaux horizons gustatifs.

La brasserie dispose de terrasses ombragées par des pergolas. À l’intérieur, le visiteur baigne dans une ambiance ombragée, des cultures hors sol filent jusqu’au plafond. L’ambiance est dépouillée, avec des matériaux bruts, des réseaux apparents, de la ventilation naturelle…

Sur cet espace, on remarque la “cuisine-spectacle”, qui met en scène les cuisiniers et leurs savoir-faire. Elle permet un échange visuel et matérialise la dimension culturelle de l’alimentation.