Back - List of Pavilions

Gevaert -

Gevaert at the Exhibition Expo Antwerp 1930
© Exposition d'Anvers 1930
Architect(s) : A. De Backer

In one of the most prominent places in the central square of the exhibition stood the simple and distinguished pavilion of the Gevaert firm. Its sober, unpretentious modern forms were the work of the architect A. De Backer. De Backer, who had taken full advantage of the unique location of the site.
In fact, the beautiful green area surrounding the beautiful building made it stand out even more, so that this beautiful combination of technical know-how and natural attractions did not fail to arouse the curiosity of the passing crowd.
The visitors were not disappointed, because despite the essentially practical aims pursued here as everywhere else at the exhibition, the dominant note of the advertisement did not make the S. A. pavilion any less attractive. A. Photo-Products Gevaert pavilion a real art exhibition.

It was conclusively proven that any general discussion about the value of photography as an expression of art must remain idle, and that in particular the products manufactured by Gevaert Factories are wonderfully suited to the cult of modern art.

Enlargements, which, despite their respectable size, did not show any grain; a rich collection of photographs on the many varieties of each of the papers manufactured and which have fixed the world fame of the firm, negatives and slides on various plates, Roll-film and Film-Pack, were the admiration of connoisseurs.

Both negative and positive motion picture film, coloured positive film and Ge-vaert sound film, used by the world's leading studios, were also represented.

The public was also able to see for itself that the Gevaert company is keen to keep up with the scientific and technical developments of our time: it also exhibited its X-ray films, films and plates for graphic processes.

Around 1890, Mr. L. Gevaert, like the other photographers of the time, emulsified his own paper. He improved the processes generally used. He improved them to such an extent that other photographers bought his paper. The demand grew. In 1894, the general partnership L. Gevaert & Co, with a capital of frs. 20,000, was founded. Five workers were employed there. Today, the S. A. Photo-Products Gevaert employs more than 3,000 workers and has a capital of 100,000,000 francs.

At the beginning, the Gevaert company had buildings covering an area of 500 m2. At present, the usable area of the factories is 67,000 m2. The actual surface area exceeds 7 hectares in Vieux-Dieu and 10 hectares in Heultje.

This evolution, which was achieved by the tireless energy of the company's founder, was summarised in three eloquent statistics, a fourth one represented the family tree of the products launched and gave a graphic overview of the continuous rise in turnover.

Long before certain laws were passed, the company's social institutions: sickness fund, medical service, life insurance, widows and orphans fund, family allowance, library etc., had already been created, proving the founder's broad-mindedness and strong social feeling.

When our august Sovereigns visited the pavilion on 25 July 1930, they expressed their pleasure at having been able to learn so thoroughly about the rapid and magnificent development of the firm, which ranks among the world's leading industries in this field.

©Le livre d'or de l'Exposition Internationale Coloniale, Maritime et d'Art Flamand - Anvers 1930

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Gevaert


Gevaert à l'exposition de Anvers 1930

© Exposition d'Anvers 1930
Architecte(s) : A. De Backer

A un des endroits les plus en vue du square central de l'exposition s'élevait le pavillon simple et distingué de la firme Gevaert. Ses formes sobres, d'un modernisme sans prétention, étaient dues à l'architecte A. De Backer, qui avait parfaitement tiré parti de la situation unique du terrain mis à sa disposition.
En effet, le beau massif de verdure qui encadrait la jolie construction la faisait valoir encore davantage, de sorte que ce bel ensemble de savoir faire technique et d'attraits naturels ne manquait pas d'exciter la curiosité de la foule de passants.
Les visiteurs ne s'en allaient pas déçus, car nonobstant les buts essentiellement pratiques poursuivis ici comme partout à l'exposition, la note dominante de la réclame n'en faisait pas moins du pavillon de la S. A. Photo-Produits Gevaert un véritable salon d'art.

Il y était prouvé de façon péremptoire que toute discussion d'ordre général sur la valeur de la photographie en tant qu'expression d'art doit rester oiseuse, et qu'en particulier les produits fabriqués par les Usines Gevaert sont merveilleusement appropriés au culte de l'art moderne.

Des agrandissements, qui, malgré leurs dimensions respectables, ne montraient aucun grain; une riche collection de photos sur les nombreuses variétés de chacun des papiers fabriqués et qui ont fixé la renommée mondiale de la firme, des négatifs et diapositives sur diverses plaques, Roll-film et Film-Pack, faisaient l'admiration des connaisseurs.

Le film cinématographique tant négatif que positif, le positif coloré et le film sonore Ge-vaert, employés par les grands Studios mondiaux étaient également représentés.

Le public a pu se convaincre également de ce que la firme Gevaert tient à suivre l'évolution scientifique et technique de notre temps: elle exposait aussi ses films radiographiques, ses films et ses plaques pour les procédés graphiques.

Aux environs de 1890, M. L. Gevaert, comme les autres photographes d'alors, émulsionnait lui-même son papier. Il améliorait les procédés généralement employés. Il les améliorait à tel point que les autres photographes lui achetèrent son papier. Les demandes s'intensifièrent. En 1894, la société en nom collectif L. Gevaert & Co, au capital de frs. 20.000,— fut fondée. Cinq ouvriers y étaient occupés. Aujourd'hui, la S. A. Photo-Produits Gevaert occupe plus de 3.000 ouvriers et dispose d'un capital de frs. 100.000.000,—.

A son début, la firme Gevaert possédait des bâtiments se développant sur une superficie de 500 m2. Actuellement la superficie utile des usines est de 67.000 m2. Sa superficie réelle dépasse 7 hectares à Vieux-Dieu, et 10 hectares à Heultje.

Cette évolution réalisée par l'énergie inlassable du fondateur de la firme, se trouvait résumée en trois statistiques éloquentes, une quatrième représentait l'arbre généalogique des produits lancés et donnait un aperçu graphique de l'ascension continuelle du chiffre d'affaires.

Longtemps avant que certaines lois étaient votées, les institutions sociales de la firme : caisse de secours pour maladie, service médical, assurances vie, caisse des veuves et orphelins, allocation familiale, bibliothèque etc., avaient déjà été créées, prouvant la largesse d'esprit et le sentiment social très prononcé du fondateur.

Lorsque le 25 juillet 1930 nos augustes Souverains visitèrent le pavillon, ils se sont déclarés heureux d'avoir pu se renseigner si complètement sur l'essor rapide et magnifique de la firme qui se classe parmi les plus grandes industries mondiales en l'espèce.

©Le livre d'or de l'Exposition Internationale Coloniale, Maritime et d'Art Flamand - Anvers 1930