International Exhibition of Colonial, Maritime and Flemish Art Antwerp 1930

Colonial, maritime and Flemish Art

April 26, 1930 - November 4, 1930


Back - List of Pavilions

Gazet van Antwerpen

Gazet van Antwerpen at the Exhibition Expo Antwerp 1930

© Exposition d'Anvers 1930

On 3 November 1891 the first issue of the 'Gazet van Antwerpen' appeared. The courageous founders had no idea that this small 4-page newspaper would become the largest Flemish Catholic newspaper in the country.

The birthplace was modest, but the confidence of the people, the friendship of the families and the zeal of the co-operators soon expanded the premises. Who would recognise in the large building in the Rue Nationale with its numerous staff, its large offices, its modern equipment, its spacious workshops built according to all the rules of hygiene, the small premises, the few workers and the old flatbed press of the heroic days?

When you see this monster press, the most modern in Belgium, printing 64 pages at a time, with an impressive speed, you understand the power of the Press.

The tiny four-page newspaper became a large-format newspaper, often with 28 pages; from the city of Antwerp it soon spread throughout the province, then to Flanders and Limburg and even to Wallonia. Every day, from Ostend to Maeseyck, from Turnhout to Charleroi, it visited more than 100,000 families.
Could the "Gazet van Antwerpen" refuse the Antwerp International Exhibition Committee to take care of the official programme in Flemish? No, it couldn't.
It built a pavilion, one of the largest built by a private company, with a surface area of more than 500 m2, including a complete rotogravure printing plant (the first one to be built in Antwerp) with its photographic rooms, retouching rooms, marble rooms, engraving rooms, printing, sanding and polishing workshops, electroplating, management and editorial offices, and typography.
Because the 'Gazet van Antwerpen' did not just print a small programme; it published 'Antwerpen 1930' 189 times. Each daily issue had sixteen large pages, a considerable amount of photos and descriptions: the whole of the Antwerp Exhibition, the daily events, the whole of life during those six months, a unique souvenir, a complete documentation of the Exhibition.
Through a large hall with modern furnishings and numerous photographs, visitors had access to a glass gallery from which they could see the composition and printing of the newspaper. At all hours of the day, from morning to evening, a large number of people looked on with attention and admiration; many even visited the pavilion in all its details. In this way the "Gazet van Antwerpen" achieved the aim of the exhibition: to be instructive for the mass of the population.

This illustrated magazine was so beautiful, so perfect, so lively, that at the repeated request of its readers, the "Gazet van Antwerpen" was obliged to continue its publication under the title "Zondagsvriend". Thousands of families subscribed to it immediately and we have no doubt that this young sister will follow in the footsteps of her elder sister, whose motto is "ever more beautiful, ever greater, ever more perfect".

©Le livre d'or de l'Exposition Internationale Coloniale, Maritime et d'Art Flamand - Anvers 193

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Gazet van Antwerpen


Gazet van Antwerpen à l'exposition de Anvers 1930

© Exposition d'Anvers 1930

Le 3 novembre 1891 paraissait le premier numéro de la "Gazet van Antwerpen". Certes, les courageux fondateurs ne se doutaient pas à ce moment que ce journal de 4 pages, petit format, deviendrait le plus grand journal catholique flamand du pays.

Bien modeste fut le lieu de la naissance; mais rapidement la confiance du peuple, l'amitié des familles, le zèle des coopérateurs agrandirent les locaux. Qui reconnaîtrait dans le grand immeuble de la rue Nationale avec son nombreux personnel, ses grands bureaux, son matériel tout moderne, ses spacieux ateliers édifiés selon toutes les règles de l'hygiène, le petit local, les quelques ouvriers et la vieille presse à plat des jours héroïques?

Quand on voit cette rotative monstre, la plus moderne de Belgique, imprimant 64 pages à la fois, avec une vitesse impressionnante, on comprend la puissance de la Presse.

Le tout petit journal de quatre pages est devenu un journal grand format, composé souvent de 28 pages; de la ville d'Anvers il s'est répandu bientôt dans toute la province, puis dans les Flandres et le Limbourg et même en pays wallon. Chaque jour, d'Ostende à Maeseyck, de Turnhout à Charleroi il visite plus de 100.000 familles.
La "Gazet van Antwerpen" pouvait-elle refuser au Comité de l'Exposition Internationale d'Anvers de se charger du programme officiel en langue flamande? Non, n'est-ce pas.
Elle érigea un pavillon, un des plus grands construits par une entreprise privée, de plus de 500 m2 de superficie, comprenant une imprimerie pour héliogravure complète (la première qui vit le jour à Anvers) avec ses salles de photographie, ses chambres de retouche, ses marbres, ses salles de gravure, ses ateliers d'impression, de ponçage et de polissage, sa galvanoplastie, ses bureaux de direction et de rédaction, sa typographie.
Car la « Gazet van Antwerpen » ne se contenta pas d'imprimer un petit programme; elle fit paraître 189 fois "Antwerpen 1930". Chaque numéro quotidien comptait seize pages grand format, une quantité considérable de photos et de descriptions : toute l'exposition d'Anvers, les événements quotidiens, toute la vie de ces six mois y sont représentés, souvenir unique, documentation complète de l'Exposition.
Par un grand hall garni d'un ameublement moderne, orné de nombreuses photographies, les visiteurs avaient accès à une galerie vitrée d'où ils pouvaient, de haut, voir la composition et l'impression du journal. A toute heure de la journée, du matin au soir, un nombreux public regardait plein d'attention et d'admiration; nombreux même furent ceux qui visitèrent le pavillon dans tous ses détails. De cette façon la "Gazet van Antwerpen" atteignit le but de l'exposition : être instructive pour la masse de la population.

Cette revue illustrée fut si belle, si parfaite, si animée, qu'à la demande réitérée de ses lecteurs, la "Gazet van Antwerpen" fut obligée d'en continuer la publication sous le titre de "Zondagsvriend". Des milliers de familles s'y abonnèrent aussitôt et nous ne doutons pas que cette jeune sœur marchera sur les traces de son ainée, ayant pour devise "toujours plus beau, plus grand, plus parfait".

©Le livre d'or de l'Exposition Internationale Coloniale, Maritime et d'Art Flamand - Anvers 1930