Back - List of Pavilions

Beukelaer factory -

Beukelaer factory at the Exhibition Expo Antwerp 1930
© Exposition d'Anvers 1930

The De Beukelaer factory was founded in 1869 by a simple baker, who by dint of hard work and perseverance was able to create an important position for himself in the Belgian industrial world, while at the same time providing his country with a new industry, that of biscuit making.

The boldness of the company's founder was able to develop the main business, to which a chocolate factory, a wafer factory and a confectionery were successively added.

The idea of industrial integration was continued with the addition of the packaging departments, which produced all kinds of printed matter, cardboard and tin boxes, and wooden crates. A huge repair shop ensures the maintenance of all this equipment, to which a group of eight lean gas engines provides the motive power of twelve hundred HP.

The production capacity of the factories, calculated per eight-hour day, is: forty-five tons of biscuits and wafers; ten tons of chocolates; four tons of toffees. All these products are consumed mainly in the country itself. However, a large part of them is sent abroad.

The participation of the factories in the Antwerp Exhibition was based on a pious idea. It is worth recalling the role played by Edouard De Beukelaer in the organisation of the Antwerp Exhibition in 1894. He was one of the promoters and took on the role of Mayor of the famous Old Antwerp of that time, which the Old Belgium of 1930 has brought back to life with such intensity. It is to his memory that the splendid pavilion was dedicated, covering an area of five hundred and twenty square metres, with its flowery surroundings and the pond in which it was reflected.

This pavilion, made of light and clarity, a construction with hard and clean lines, with clear and cheerful colours, commemorated the breadth of vision, the clarity of spirit, the cheerfulness of heart and the ardour to live and undertake, of the man who was the founder of an industrial enterprise which employs sixteen hundred workers and employees.

©Le livre d'or de l'Exposition Internationale Coloniale, Maritime et d'Art Flamand - Anvers 1930

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Usine de Beukelaer


Usine de Beukelaer à l'exposition de Anvers 1930

© Exposition d'Anvers 1930

Les Usines De Beukelaer furent fondées en 1869 par un simple ouvrier boulanger, qui à force de travail et de persévérance a su se créer une situation importante dans le monde industriel belge, tout en dotant sa patrie d'une industrie nouvelle, celle de la biscuiterie.

L'audace du fondateur de la firme sut développer l'entreprise principale, à laquelle furent successivement adjointes une chocolaterie, une fabrique de gaufrettes et une confiserie.

Poursuivant une idée d'intégration industrielle, l'entreprise fut complétée par les départements d'emballage, s'occupant de la confection de tous imprimés, boîtes en carton et en fer blanc, et de caisses en bois. Un immense atelier de réparations veille à l'entretien de tout ce matériel, auquel un groupe de huit moteurs à gaz pauvre fournit la force motrice de douze cents HP.

La capacité de production des usines, calculée par journée de huit heures est de : quarante-cinq tonnes de biscuits et gaufrettes; dix tonnes de chocolats; quatre tonnes de caramels. Tous ces produits trouvent leur plus large consommation dans le pays même. Une grande partie cependant prend la route de l'étranger.

Une pieuse idée fût à la base de la participation des Usines à l'Exposition d'Anvers. Il est utile de rappeler à ce sujet le rôle joué par Edouard De Beukelaer dans l'organisation de l'Exposition d'Anvers en 1894. Il en fût un des promoteurs et assuma la charge de Bourgmestre du fameux Vieil Anvers de cette époque, que la Vieille Belgique de 1930 a fait revivre avec une telle intensité. C'est à son souvenir que fût dédié le splendide pavillon couvrant avec ses abords fleuris et le bassin où il se mirait, une superficie de cinq cent et vingt M2.

Ce pavillon, fait de lumière et de clarté, construction aux lignes dures et nettes, aux teintes claires et gaies, commémora la largeur de vue, la netteté d'esprit, la gaieté de cœur et l'ardeur de vivre et d'entreprendre, de celui qui fût le fondateur d'une entreprise industrielle qui occupe seize cents ouvriers et employés.

©Le livre d'or de l'Exposition Internationale Coloniale, Maritime et d'Art Flamand - Anvers 1930