International Exhibition of Colonial, Maritime and Flemish Art Antwerp 1930

Colonial, maritime and Flemish Art

April 26, 1930 - November 4, 1930


Back - List of Pavilions

Community of the Chocolate, Confectionery, Biscuit Factory

Community of the Chocolate, Confectionery, Biscuit Factory at the Exhibition Antwerp 1930

© Exposition d'Anvers 1930

The last twenty-five years have seen the revival, the complete modernisation and the undisputed success of the chocolate and confectionery industry in Belgium, which has become one of the most interesting industries for the national activity and unquestionably a major food industry. The factories are perfectly equipped and possess a wealth of the most advanced equipment. They are models of their kind and can compete with all the producers in the world.

If, since the end of the war, the Belgian chocolate industry has been further modernised so as to possess equipment that is absolutely up to the latest mechanical improvements, it must be added that the production capacity has only been slightly increased; the modernisation of the equipment has been carried out almost exclusively with a view to constantly improving quality, a result that has been fully achieved. Belgian chocolates are now as famous as the best foreign chocolates; they are bought and consumed in all countries on a par with the best. This reputation is due as much to the quality as to the finish and the good taste of the packaging and presentation.

At present, the Belgian chocolate and confectionery industry has about 56 factories or plants employing 8,000 people, using 10,000 horsepower and with a daily production capacity of 300,000 kg of chocolate and various confectionery items. Of course, this production capacity is not all used. Exports of Belgian chocolates nevertheless represented in round figures six million kilograms in 1929 for a value of 99 million francs; these exports brought the reputation of Belgian chocolates in the most distant and diverse countries among which we will quote, in principal order: Canada, the Canary Islands, Ceylon, China, the Belgian Congo, Denmark, Egypt, the Establishments of the Straits, the United States, France, Gibraltar, Hong Kong, British India, Dutch India, French Indo-China, Ireland, Japan, Malta, Morocco, Mesopotamia, Norway, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom, Saarland, Siam, Sweden, Syria, Tunisia, Turkey and the Union of South Africa. And if the proverb says that no one is a prophet in his own country, we can answer that during the same year of 1929, foreign manufacturers only sold one hundred thousand kilograms of chocolate in Belgium and that the majority of this shipment only passed through Antwerp to overseas countries. This fact proves that the Belgian consumer naturally favours domestically produced products.
Participants at the Antwerp Exhibition 1930:
Chocolaterie Antoine, Brussels; Chocolaterie César, Antwerp; Chocolaterie Clovis, Pepinster; Usines De Beukelaer, Antwerp; Etablissements Ad. Delhaize, Brussels; Etablissements Delhaize Frères "Le Lion", Brussels; Biscuiterie Drapeau, Antwerp; Chocolaterie Duc, Antwerp; Chocolaterie Grétry, Liège; Usines Gevers, Antwerp; Chocalat and Cacao Kwatta, Bois d'Haine; Usines Liga, Antwerp; Chocolaterie Martougin, Antwerp; Chocolaterie Meurisse, Antwerp; Chocolaterie Meyers, Brussels; Biscuiterie Le Paon, Brussels; Chocolaterie des Patrons Pâtissiers, Brussels; Biscuiterie Parein, Antwerp; Biscuiterie Phœ-nix, Antwerp; Usines Ruelle, Brussels; Chocolaterie Tobler, Brussels; Usines Victoria, Brussels
The administrative headquarters of the Chambre Syndicale de la Chocolaterie et de la Confiserie Belges is located in Brussels, 19, rue des Chartreux.

©Le livre d'or de l'Exposition Internationale Coloniale, Maritime et d'Art Flamand - Anvers 1930

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Collectivité de la Chocolaterie, Confiserie, Biscuiterie


Collectivité de la Chocolaterie, Confiserie, Biscuiterie à l'exposition de Anvers 1930

© Exposition d'Anvers 1930

Les vingt-cinq dernières années ont enregistré en Belgique le réveil, la modernisation complète et le succès incontesté de l'industrie de la chocolaterie et de la confiserie, devenue une des industries les plus intéressantes pour l'activité nationale et incontestablement une grosse industrie d'alimentation. Les usines se sont outillées d'une manière parfaite et possèdent à profusion le matériel le plus perfectionné. Elles sont des modèles dans le genre et peuvent accepter la lutte avec tous les producteurs du monde.

Si, depuis la fin de la guerre, la chocolaterie belge s'est encore modernisée de manière à posséder un outillage absolument à la hauteur des derniers perfectionnements mécaniques, il faut ajouter que la capacité de production n'a été que très légèrement augmentée ; la modernisation de l'outillage s'est faite presqu'exclusivement en vue de l'amélioration constante de la qualité, résultat qui a été pleinement atteint. Les chocolats belges sont à l'heure actuelle aussi réputés que les meilleurs chocolats étrangers; ils sont achetés et consommés dans tous les pays au même titre que les plus réputés. Cette renommée est due autant à la qualité qu'au fini et au bon goût de l'emballage et de la présentation.

A l'heure actuelle, l'industrie belge de la chocolaterie et de la confiserie compte environ 56 fabriques ou usines qui occupent 8,000 personnes, utilisent 10,000 Chevaux de force motrice et possèdent une capacité de production journalière de 300,000 kg. de chocolat et articles divers de confiserie. Certes, cette capacité de production n'est pas toute utilisée. Les exportations de chocolats belges ont cependant représenté en chiffres ronds six millions de kilogrammes en 1929 pour une valeur de 99 millions de francs; ces exportations ont porté le renom des chocolats belges dans les pays les plus lointains et les plus divers parmi lesquels nous citerons, en ordre principal : le Canada, les Iles Canaries, Ceylan, la Chine, le Congo belge, le Danemark, l'Egypte, les Etablissements des Détroits, les Etats-Unis, la France, Gibraltar, Hong-Kong, l'Inde britannique, les Indes néerlandaises, l'Indo-Chine française, l'Irlande, le Japon, Malte, le Maroc, la Mésopotamie, la Norvège, les Pays-Bas, le Royaume-Uni, la Sarre, le Siam, la Suède, la Syrie, la Tunisie, la Turquie, l'Union Sud-Africaine. Et si le proverbe dit que nul n'est prophète en son pays, l'on peut répondre que pendant cette même année de 1929, les fabricants étrangers n'ont vendu que cent mille kilogrammes de chocolat en Belgique et que la plus grande partie de cet envoi n'a fait que passer par Anvers à destination des pays d'outre-mer. Ce fait prouve à suffisance que la faveur du consommateur belge va naturellement aux produits de la fabrication nationale.
Participants a l'Exposition d'Anvers 1930:
Chocolaterie Antoine, Bruxelles; Chocolaterie César, Anvers; Chocolaterie Clovis, Pepinster; Usines De Beukelaer, Anvers; Etablissements Ad. Delhaize, Bruxelles; Etablissements Delhaize Frères «Le Lion», Bruxelles; Biscuiterie Drapeau, Anvers ; Chocolaterie Duc, Anvers ; Chocolaterie Grétry, Liège ; Usines Gevers, Anvers ; Chocalat et Cacao Kwatta, Bois d'Haine; Usines Liga, Anvers; Chocolaterie Martougin, Anvers; Chocolaterie Meurisse, Anvers; Chocolaterie Meyers, Bruxelles; Biscuiterie Le Paon, Bruxelles; Chocolaterie des Patrons Pâtissiers, Bruxelles; Biscuiterie Parein, Anvers; Biscuiterie Phœ-nix, Anvers; Usines Ruelle, Bruxelles; Chocolaterie Tobler, Bruxelles ; Usines Victoria, Bruxelles.
Le siège administratif de la Chambre- Syndicale de la Chocolaterie et de la Confiserie belges est établi à Bruxelles, 19, rue des Chartreux.

©Le livre d'or de l'Exposition Internationale Coloniale, Maritime et d'Art Flamand - Anvers 1930